GMAT Club

Haas Reviews

MBA Program rating [17]
(4.8)

January 08, 2016
braindancer

Joined: Aug 08, 2006

Posts: 342

Kudos: 34

My Rants and Raves - Class of 2009

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Berkeley Haas

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2009

Experience during the program

Rants:
- budget totally screwed. Lots of unexpected expenditures (having never traveled abroad before B-school sucks)
- time management is a pain. LOTS of things happening; wherever you are, you're missing something cool elsewhere.
- being 'second-tier' sucks. I want HBS's 800-pound-gorilla feeling.
- career office is struggling to sell us, but I feel they could do much better job.
- most clubs are totally disorganized.
- some professors are booooooring.
- some classes are too basic - looks like same class at Wharton has a 3 times longer syllabus.
- some classmates are retarded. (just a few though.)
- my study group was full of hardcore 4.0 maniacs.

Raves:
- my study group was full of hardcore 4.0 maniacs. With some skill, it eases things up.
- LOTS of collaboration and positive attitude. People are incredibly laid-back.
- most people are damn smart. Some are totally razor-sharp.
- looks like MUCH less stress, pain and frustration than other schools.
- most times, I sleep stable 7-8 hours, work out 3 times a week and travel the roundabouts on weekends.
- LOADS of interesting things to learn. Marketing class was awesome.
- LOTS of clubs - which, being quite disorganized, are an excellent opportunity to exercise your leadership skill.
- 5-week break ROCKS! I'm pretty much idling for 2 weeks now, and will idle more. :-P

Overall: if you don't want to stress your a$$ off, West Coast is your spot. The smell of pot is the most characteristic thing about these places, if you know what I mean, ;)

About job placement process

1) Well, there is no factual support of us being a second tier, but it's pretty much obvious for everyone that we're not H, not S and not W. By far. And even not Chicago, Columbia, or MIT. Everyone keeps telling us "prepare super-hard, as you have to win against those branded guys". All the major companies (I can only talk consulting, didn't pay attention to other stuff) do recruit here, and invest quite a lot of time, so I can't say we're treated as crap. It's mostly internal perceived second-tierness. :) You can't just think "okay, I'm from a cool school, go hire me fast". Not gonna happen.

2) Career office could do more to prepare us for battle. The single introductory "case practice bootcamp" was put together by Consulting club. The advanced one I had to put together myself. (Not alone, but that's not the point). There is some activity, like mock interviews and career advising sessions with hired professionals, but I feel it is totally not enough.

3) For clubs - they're just chaotic :) No one really controls what's going on there, which is good for independent action, but bad when people just don't do anything. Given the overcommitment of many active people, it often happens that they are elected to leadership positions but don't have enough time to actually drive things. (It's not the same for all clubs though.)

P.S. I've painted it black somewhat; it's not my point, most of things are really awesome :) I just specifically highlighted several things that could be better.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Not posted

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school


Read More

January 29, 2016
secondtimesthecharm

Joined: Nov 20, 2013

Posts: 138

Kudos: 33

Self-reported Score:
700 Q44 V42
730 Q48 V44

Haasome Whirlwind

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Berkeley Haas

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

Business school is going by in a (wonderful, intense) blur. I recommend taking some time to reflect on what you want out of b-school and your career before school starts. As soon as August comes around, you will be too busy to do any real reflecting.

Haas is an extraordinary place to be part of. If the school's values match with your own, b-school at Haas will be the best time of your life.

Culture is everything here at Haas. Admissions takes it seriously, as do the students. One huge benefit of having a small class with truly humble, smart students, is the level of trust we place in each other (and our Alumni place in us). I would trust every single one of my classmates with an assignment or a job, and that is a big deal.

Finally, every school talks about its collaborative environment, but Haas actually delivers on this front. The curriculum and grading is designed so we are encouraged to work together vs compete.

Good luck in your b-school search!


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

January 31, 2018
ErinC

Joined: Jan 31, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Beyond Haasome

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Berkeley Haas

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

Simply put, Haas rocks. First year has been a whirlwind in the best possible way. To dig in, here are a few more specific details:

Career: The Career Management Group (CMG) has more resources than there is time to take advantage of them. They are particularly well-equipped to help students following more "traditional" paths (consulting, banking, marketing, tech, etc.), but have great general counselors to help those on entrepreneurship, social impact, and other non-traditional pathways. There are also tons of ways outside of CMG to help with career work, including: Bay Area startups looking for part-time interns during the school year, tons of accelerator programs (you can be staff or put a company through), and entrepreneurship classes.

Academics: The Core professors are really strong, and elective faculty are equally or more awesome. Smaller class size means you have great access to faculty. Grade nondisclosure policy means that academics are hard but low-stress.

Social: Saved the best for last. The people are Haas are amazing. They are warm, driven, kind, humble, and tons of fun. Haas truly does recruit against the defining principles, so if those resonate with you that's a sign Haas is a good fit.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Career opportunities provided by school
Location
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Marketing
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

January 30, 2018
admitme123

Joined: Dec 18, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
750 Q48 V46

Tech and great people

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for Berkeley Haas

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

Your classmates are good people (not the stereotypical arrogant MBA master of the universe types) and there is a huge range of background (consultants to teachers to chefs to bankers etc.). It is a public school so there are resource limitations as a consequence (think careers service and on campus food) but the location is unbeatable and the weather is perfect. I came to Berkeley for tech and entrepreneurship and it has an enormous pool of resources to support this (crucially Berkeley is one of the best interdisciplinary universities in the world so you have access to world-leading engineers from a huge range of specializations which is incredibly helpful for testing an idea).


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Location

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Facilities


Read More

January 29, 2018
haasomecard

Joined: Jan 29, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

One of a kind

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Berkeley Haas

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

Haas hadn't been my first choice. Then I visited, and realized pretty quickly that this school was without a doubt the best fit for me. Haas oozes innovation, collaboration, and a genuine desire to transform its students into leaders who are not just self-confident but self-aware. After just one semester, I understand why my HBS friend wished she'd gotten into Haas, and why so many of my classmates turned down more highly-ranked schools. Haasies self-select into this community because the people are incredible. They are brilliant and ambitious but humble and supportive. Also, the weather is great.

I'd recommend future applicants internalize our four defining leadership principles. They really aren't just marketing gimmicks! We represent them going in, strive to embody them while we're here, and champion them after we leave.

About professors, classes and curriculum

I think Haas has had trouble finding superstar professors to teach certain core classes. Many are fantastic; others are awful.

We're also a small school, which is great on the community front but I imagine we have fewer course offerings than large business schools. That said, because we're part of UC Berkeley, you can take classes across the entire university.

About job placement process

I wasn't sure if Haas would have the same recruitment caliber as HSW, but virtually every company recruits here, and Haas definitely has a leg up on entrepreneurship opportunities. My career interests have me working outside the school's formal career resources, and I've been surprised at how strong the Berkeley Haas brand is.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Location
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management
Health Care

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors


Read More

January 29, 2018
dkalb21

Joined: Sep 03, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
690 Q43 V41

Loving the Haas EWMBA!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Berkeley Haas

Program EWMBA

Class of 2020

Experience during the program

The EWMBA program at Haas has far exceeded my expectations. The curriculum is challenging but not overwhelming and the professors are all extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Homework volume fluctuates week to week but overall isn't as bad as I expected.

The fellow classmates are great people and contribute significantly to the educational experience during in class discussions. You get assigned a study group of 5 people at orientation and work closely with them the first year. Your mileage may vary with the group, but most teams seem to work well together.

I would encourage future applicants to embrace the 4 defining principals if they are serious about enrolling at Haas. It's not just lip service and the school is really looking for people that live by those standards.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school


Read More

January 29, 2018
ndkkang23

Joined: Dec 05, 2014

Posts: 13

Kudos: 4

UC Berkeley Haas Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Berkeley Haas

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

A Community that cares about Impact

The moment I came to welcome weekend and met all the great people here, I knew I was at home. It was an "aha" moment for me because these were people I could call family even while being thousands of miles apart from my own family on the East Coast.

At Haas, I'm surrounded by a shared passion to be a better person and to pay it forward. Prior to Haas I was always committed to giving back to others; I've helped create a nonprofit in Atlanta and did a lot of volunteering at a hospital in my formative years. That desire to be a great and good business leader is a strong shared tie among Haas students. That was a big selling point for me.

Ultimately I want to see the work I do result in some sort of change. For the International Business Development course I took in Hong Kong, we recommended that our client enter into a strategic partnership or consider an acquisition. A couple weeks later, I opened up LinkedIn to see our client announce the acquisition that we had recommended. It was gratifying to see that I had made a useful contribution.

Choosing your MBA environment

I wanted to be in an environment where I was isolated from work so that I could be present and give it my all. I wanted to really focus on all the parts of the experience, social and academic, and undergo both a personal and professional transformation.

The Bay Area is an ecosystem of cutting-edge companies that are at the forefront of innovation. I wanted to be part of that, and I knew Haas's location, as well as its reputation, would help me connect with that world.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Location
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking


Read More

January 29, 2018
ragreen22

Joined: Jan 29, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

I

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Berkeley Haas

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

I have absolutely loved my time Haas so far. The school's culture and community have exceeded its reputation. All of my peers truly embody Haas's defining principles. Another factor that exceeded my expectations has been the alumni support. All of the Haas alumni I've reached out to have been more than happy to speak with me and provide support for my job search.

I have learned so much already in my classes. They are a mix of case studies, lecture, and discussion which keeps the classes interesting. The homework load is not too much and leaves plenty of time for career exploration and extra curricular activities. Haas has a good number and variety of electives. As someone who is going into renewable energy, I am really happy with the energy related classes as Haas.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Location
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management
Energy

Can be improved:

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

January 29, 2018
ohdarren

Joined: Jan 06, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V42

Great location, inclusive community, great for Tech careers

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for Berkeley Haas

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

- Location: Haas clearly benefits from the strategic location: right in the Bay, well-connected to any city in the States and everywhere in the world. There are always tons of conferences, careers-oriented workshop, inspirational talks in the area...
- Inclusion: The Haas community embodies deeply the idea of diversity, inclusion, and equality. As an international student, I consider this is by far the biggest reason why I picked Haas and I've been not disappointed so far.
- Careers: supporting alumni network, great location and branding give Haas students a huge advantage during the job search. Especially for those considering anything related to tech, including Fintech, AI/ML...


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school
Location

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking
Facilities
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

January 28, 2018
unbounded

Joined: Dec 24, 2010

Posts: 15

Kudos: 33

Self-reported Score:
700 Q47 V40

EWMBA @ Haas

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Berkeley Haas

Program EWMBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

The EWMBA program at Berkeley, Haas has it pluses and minuses. The location of the school is great, alumni network is strong, and the school lends itself to Entrepreneurship well. However there are a few factors that could do with some improvement.
1. Course options for weekenders: This is a relatively small group of classes and there is a strong need to diversify if the school wants to continue attracting strong candidates over the weekend. Other options like Booth, Kellogg, UCLA etc provide strong competition.
2. The student pool is very strong, with experienced individuals with solid backgrounds. However a little diversity in the class would help.
3. On campus recruiting could take some help as well. Currently the school caters heavily to fresh grad jobs. and there arent a lot of opportunities for the experienced candidate pool the EWMBA program attracts.

Having said that, students are great and down to earth, and most of the professors are awesome. The alumni network is huge, and the program has been consistently ranked number 1. So definite pluses there.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (2.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Location

Best fit at this program:

Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school


Read More