GMAT Club

Kellogg Reviews

MBA Program rating [30]
(4.7)
Submit a review

November 25, 2016
ThreetoFive

Joined: Jun 18, 2012

Posts: 8

Kudos: 7

Self-reported Score:
700 Q38 V47

Just graduated Kellogg, loved it

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

Kellogg was the perfect school for me: challenging and inspiring curriculum; diverse, supportive classmates who remain some of my best friends; a perfect location on a traditional campus but right near a major city; and incredible opportunities for personal development on a very student-driven campus. I would advise applicants to cover both their career and academic successes and their character/cultural fit. I've known people who had incredible professional experience but haven't gotten in for cultural fit reasons. For applicants now (lucky you) the facilities will be amazing and brand new when you arrive so that's another perk! :) Visit if at all possible to get a feel for the place.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech

Can be improved:

Facilities


Read More

November 25, 2016
SirJamesRufusEsquire

Joined: May 26, 2015

Posts: 19

Kudos: 2

Self-reported Score:
730 Q46 V44

First Year Kellogg Student - Loving It!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Kellogg has done a great job meeting and exceeding my expectations. Kellogg is providing far more than just a stamp on my resume. All of the classes I've taken thus far have been engaging and I've picked up skills that I will be able to apply on day one of my internship/job as well as skills, such as Organizational Behavior, that will prove invaluable to me throughout my career.

The career center has been useful for teaching the basics about recruiting/interviewing, but as at any top program, the most helpful source of information comes from 2nd year students and alumni, who have been incredibly supportive of me thus far. My first year counterparts are also remarkably driven and intelligent, which can be quite intimidating until you realize how friendly and collaborative they all are.

My only complaint is that the classes might be too much work, which has thus far diluted my efforts to really focus on my career and networking, although I'm sure this will all even out after I get my internship in the spring.

About professors, classes and curriculum

We lost 2 all-star professors this year to other schools, but the caliber of all the professors with whom I have taken classes thus far have been quite high, so I have no complaints.

About job placement process

Outside of a few PE/VC/Rotation Programs, which only recruit at Harvard/Stanford, all of the blue-chip companies that you want to be a part of recruit at Kellogg or have alumni that would be more than willing to help you land a job there.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors


Read More

November 25, 2016
sdiasti

Joined: Mar 31, 2015

Posts: 4

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
650 Q36 V42
680 Q42 V41

A program that is true to it's reputation

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Evening/Weekend MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

I've been pleasantly surprised by how true the Kellogg MBA Program has been to what was touted during the application process. The diversity, culture and curriculum are exactly what I hoped it would be when I accepted my admission. My student colleagues have enhanced the learning experience with their diverse backgrounds (engineers, bankers, lawyers, managers, etc.) across all industries. Kellogg focuses intensely on creating a collaborative learning experience where we maximize the potential of our student network in and out of the classroom. I've already experienced the power of the Kellogg brand behind my name and am confident that this new network, the alumni network, and academic experience will propel my career over the coming years.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Facilities


Read More

November 25, 2016
craigf

Joined: Mar 23, 2015

Posts: 1

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
700 Q46 V40

Kellogg Saturday

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Evening/Weekend MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Saturday program is excellent for those working during thr week in careers they already enjoy but want to expand upon. The professors are top notch and the content is engaging. The downtown Chicago campus is very convenient for me as I drive in and out on Saturdays. Every Saturday (compared to every other) is a PITA sometimes, but it's worth it for the in-class experience. Attendance is fairly strict, although missing a class each quarter is generally acceptable. There are also a tremendous amount of clubs and activities to get involved with outside of class, even for part time folks. Professors will often have talks at lunchtime regarding special topics such as Brexit or the election that are very interesting. I'm very happy with Kellogg and would highly recommend it.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Very diverse (career and otherwise) class. For Saturday program, about half fly in from outside Chicago.

About job placement process

All the big consulting firms do on campus recruiting. CPG is big as well.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Location
Brand/Ranking
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school


Read More

November 25, 2016
florist

Joined: Mar 25, 2014

Posts: 3

Kudos: 6

Kellogg

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program MMM

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

A totally amazing experience. Classes and professional development opportunities were truly world class. I came from a non traditional background and was looking for a career outside the normal on-campus recruiting experience... students similarly looking for off the beaten path career opportunities should expect to find career services less helpful than your peers. It's definitely doable, just takes a little more leg work than consulting, etc. The best part of school was being around so many incredibly talented, motivated, and genuinely nice people- the culture of Kellogg means that despite the stress of b-school, you can expect to have a lot of fun


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Facilities


Read More

January 26, 2016
hello1234

Joined: May 08, 2010

Posts: 14

Kudos: 12

Self-reported Score:
770

Kellogg was Fantastic

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program MMM

Class of 2014

Experience during the program

Great professors, amazingly freindly and warm student body, someone 10 years out told me it would be the best 2 years of my life, I did not believe him as lilfe has treated me fairly well, but he was right. The level of comradery you feel is through the roof.

It's a large enough school where you can find your groove and your favorite type of people and then form friends for life.

Best advice? Take out full loans and prepare your travel budgets. People are very down the earth, especially about travel, but you are going to want to do it all. I think I went to 20+ countries with my classmates and each one was more amazing than the next. Traveling together with so many brilliant classmates was a once in a lifetime experience.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Culture & Student Support
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Spread of career locations


Read More

January 08, 2016
pancaketown

Joined: Mar 21, 2013

Posts: 28

Kudos: 4

Go for the experience, the people

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2015

Experience during the program

I truly believe that the quality of education is pretty comparable at any of the top schools. Given that, I chose Kellogg over other schools due to its collaborative atmosphere, student leadership opportunities, and collegial nature. I'm happy to say that I wasn't wrong about any of these. Even in recruiting, when two of us were going for the same positions at the same office locations, we helped each other, connecting each other with recruiters we might have missed or people we weren't able to network with. And when it came to student leadership, it was unparalleled. The amount of responsibility and leverage you have as a club leader, a student government leader, an event leader, or any other position is truly insane. My only complaint about that is that at times I wish the administration and other Kellogg staff helped the student leaders more and were more proactive instead of reactive (waiting for students to ask them to do something) — it was sometimes like having a full-time job in addition to your studies. If you're an extrovert, Kellogg is for you. Especially the social scene. If you're in introvert, it'll be tougher; I won't lie. But it can still be a very enjoyable experience, especially when people are friendly and willing to help.

Also, Kellogg LOVES diversity, including people from non-business/non-traditional career backgrounds. However, if you are one of these people, you will probably have a little more trouble in your classes and in recruiting. It's frustrating, especially, in recruiting because companies will be very interested in talking to you (because you're not the 15th ex-consultant they've met) but they'll test you harder in interviews and often choose a candidate with a more traditional background over you, all things being relatively equal. This is probably true of any business school you go to, though.

About professors, classes and curriculum

There's a ton of group work. And although this isn't everyone's cup of tea, I think it's an important skill to have. You're going to have to deal with it when you go back into your career — this lets you improve your leadership skills, your coping mechanisms, and your communication.

About job placement process

If you're going for a traditional avenue — consulting, CPG marketing, finance — Kellogg is very supportive, both from the student club side and the career office side. If you're going for something less traditional — media, sports, start-ups, net impact — it's going to be a little tougher. I know Kellogg continues making strides to help these non-traditional folks, but you will have to do a lot of your own legwork.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school


Read More

February 11, 2020
stephenpdao

Did you end up in the industry you desired prior to your MBA? Or did you change your focus during the program.

January 02, 2016
OveragedAspirant

Joined: Jan 27, 2015

Posts: 71

Kudos: 23

Self-reported Score:
690 Q41 V44
740 Q49 V41

Kellogg After 1 Quarter

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

It's my first time in the US as a full-time student, so I've only been blown away by the quality of education and the depth and breadth of resources.

1. Teaching quality - the quality of teaching far surpasses anything I've expected. I came not expecting much. I'd always been pretty good academically, but here, I've been challenged and stimulated. Even when class material is "simple", classmates have consistently elevated the level of learning.

2. Alumni support - alumni are just a phone call away. I don't know if it's the norm at all business schools, but my peers and I are never turned down when we call for help or information.

3. School support/brand recognition in job search - again, my first experience at an elite institution in the USA, and I don't know if it's the same at other schools. The access we get to top-notch employers is without par. Career services and the school's professional clubs also do well in regulating company contact time with students.

4. Environment - perhaps it's only the first quarter; we're not competing directly for jobs yet. So far, people are extremely supportive and helpful. No one withholds resources from another, people are always sharing information and help.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech
Management

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking
Facilities


Read More

December 31, 2015
gsmtftw

Joined: Oct 19, 2013

Posts: 36

Kudos: 14

Self-reported Score:
740 Q51 V38

Kellogg

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

Most professors are serious about teaching, and most students are serious about studying/learning. Classes are quite intense, amplified by the grade non-disclosure policy. Huge student body allows a diverse selection of world-class professors, and thus the variety of classes we can choose from is phenomenal. Also, almost every class has at least some component of team assignments, and thus everyone in the team being committed to working hard is essential. These factors combined together ensure that all teammates work hard together to learn more.

Personally, I am joining my family business after graduation, and the resources here(student club, professors, center, courses) are unmatched at any other top b-school. If you are from a family business background, I would highly recommend Kellogg as your best choice.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking


Read More

November 30, 2015
mgg234

Joined: May 20, 2013

Posts: 601

Kudos: 304

Self-reported Score:
750 Q49 V44

Excellent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

*Got a top tier consulting internship, and ultimately full-time offer, without any prior consulting experience.

* Amazing student body. Everyone is super friendly and helpful. Very collaborative, instead of competitive. Welcome change from my undergrad days at NYU Stern, in which everyone was competitive and cold.

* Great school culture. Multiple Kellogg school events per week and lots of school spirit. Very diverse groups of people, and everyone will find a place to fit in. Definitely the most fun business school in the M7. When we have Kellogg versus Booth school events, literally 4 times Kellogg students attend than Booth students.

* Ton of options with classes, and you can choose to take anywhere between 3 and 5 credits per semester. So you can be lazy and take 3, and put your attention elsewhere (e.g. socially, extracurriculars, start-ups), or 5 every quarter if you value academics

* Have made countless close friends who I expect to still be close to a decade from now.

* Location is great. 30 minutes away from the city, so people tend to hang out with each other and develop strong bonds...but city is close enough that if you get bored it's easy to uber/train out there for cheap.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Great assortment of classes. If you go to a smaller school, you might miss some cool electives. For example, I'm interested in strategy and healthcare, and there's a ton of options.

About job placement process

Everyone recruits from this school. Whereas not everyone will get MBB, Google, GS (although a ton do), everyone can find a join that pays $120k base + quity + signing. People who take less money, or people who aren't employed at graduation have specific job goals (that either pay less, or do just-in-time hiring). If you're worried about finding a job, don't worry. Literally everyone who wants to be employed with a high paying job, is.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Facilities


Read More