GMAT Club

Kellogg Reviews

MBA Program rating [30]
(4.7)
Submit a review

May 25, 2017
LAtoChi

Joined: Oct 15, 2013

Posts: 5

Kudos: 2

Self-reported Score:
700

An amazing experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

Kellogg exceeded my expectations. From the very beginning, the program provided a lot of support and networking opportunities. They did a good job with ensuring that students felt prepared upon started. Even though most incoming students claim to know what exactly they want to do post MBA, Kellogg encourages students to do self discovery and really think about lots of possibilities. I loved getting involved with many organizations and programs while in school. There really was an option for everything. I ended up going with a non traditional career path for recruiting, so the hardest part about my experience was having fewer resources and networking contacts immediately available to me. Instead, I had to do more off-campus networking and searching, which can become frustrating when you see lots of classmates going through a completely on-campus process. Kellogg has offered some interesting alumni events in major cities since graduation as well.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school


Read More

January 25, 2017
StratusMBACounselor

Joined: May 31, 2016

Posts: 1441

Kudos: 159

Amazing alumni network

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Full Time 1 Year MBA

Class of 1993

Experience during the program

I have the benefit of many years to reflect upon my Kellogg experience in what was then called the 4Q program (now the 1Yr MBA). In hindsight, I kind of wish I had done the 2 yr program because even if you think you know your post MBA plans, you could change from what you learn at Kellogg and I wish I had time to have done an internship. Or maybe it is just now looking back I wish I had more time to take some of the classes I did not have time to take! But other than that, I have to say that I had amazing classmates and peers, energetic professors and the entire atmosphere at Kellogg was very supportive and collaborative. I also am not sure what kinds of program changes have been made in that I feel like I selected most of my team members for group projects. I think you may end up interacting with more diverse people if you are randomly matched up. But even if you do select your group project members, I would encourage you to always seek new people and people outside your "comfort" zone to work with. So start the conversation with the woman from India or the man from China or someone who is somehow different than you. I remember the strong diversity of my classmates and that added so much to the richness of the experience to hear how people all over the world addressed the issues they had. I was there during the Dean Jacobs years and it was so clear the great love he had for Kellogg. I am very excited to see the new building and to see how Kellogg continues to grow itself in being able to offer so many more learning opportunities in this new environment!


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech
Management

Can be improved:

Facilities
And in fact they are opening a new building!


Read More

January 04, 2017
dmrscl

Joined: Oct 09, 2014

Posts: 9

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
710 Q49 V38

Great school

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

International student, applied to Kellogg with a goal to work in consulting the US after graduation, so far school provides tremendous resources ( both the career management center and from the student body) for you to (1) succeed in interviewing, (2) integrate seamlessly into the US culture.

Moreover, being a campus-centric school and having a strong communal spirit, Kellogg provides ample opportunities to make new friends.

Finally, a mix of core classes and flexible curriculum ensures that first, everybody is put on the base required level of business knowledge, and second, everyone is able to tailor their education to support their professional aspirations - be it entrepreneurship, healthcare or tech.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking


Read More

January 04, 2017
archonizm

Joined: Jun 13, 2015

Posts: 3

Kudos: 6

Kellogg: Amazing Program, You Get Out What You Put In

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Kellogg really is the teamwork and marketing school you hear about. Students run everything and are generally very intelligent, outgoing and helpful in all aspects of student life. The vibe is very diverse and inclusive.

Social events start the school year with a frenzy, but as the the first year continues school work and especially recruiting begin to take a bulk of the time and attention of the students. Second year students generally are more laid back, especially after securing their full-time offer.

Classes are challenging if you're coming from a non-traditional background, and easier if you've spent the bulk of your career in a quantitative field. Professors are excellent and available if you want to face-time beyond class. Some people don't take classes very seriously, while others are dying for A's.

The toughest part of the experience is managing time. People told me how hard it would be to balance everything before coming here, but you REALLY feel that once you're here. It's not quite possible to fully prepare for it, but rather just accept it as a way of life, particularly in the first half of the first year. It gets easier.

For careers, the career center is as helpful as you want them to be -- to get the most out of them you have to be smart and strategic about which events you go to and who you talk to. The clubs (Tech Club, Marketing Club, Consulting Club, etc.) are more helpful overall for careers, in particular the guidance from second year students. You will be prepared for your interviews if you put in the time and effort and sit down with enough second years.

Overall, it's a fantastic school. Getting an MBA isn't easy a top school like this, but the rewards are plentiful in all walks of life. You get out of it what you are willing to put in.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech

Can be improved:

Facilities


Read More

November 26, 2016
jmnxp

Joined: Jun 26, 2014

Posts: 4

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
740 Q49 V41

Large class size

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Kellogg has been really great so far. I have been looking forward to business school for a very long time and this has far surpassed my expectations and I am pinching myself every so often to make sure this is real life. The student body is diverse and it is incredible to hear the stories of my classmates- they are so accomplished! One thing I would like to underline for future applicants is how large the class size is. This can be overwhelming at times, whether you are trying to sign up for social events or trying to get some focused career guidance. That being said, this is definitely offset by the huge network you have access to and the number of people you are able to meet.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Professors are great, really care about building relationships with the students, despite the large class size.

About job placement process

Tech is becoming extremely popular at Kellogg, second only to consulting. All of the big tech companies (Apple, Amazon, Microsoft, Google, etc) recruit here on campus but the competition is pretty steep.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Tech

Can be improved:

Facilities


Read More

November 26, 2016
ccasey6

Joined: Oct 09, 2015

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:

Kellogg Full-Time MBA Program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Kellogg's culture is by far the most outstanding thing about the program. The student body has a huge hand in shaping their business school experience and is well-supported by faculty to do so. Each and every event, club, activity, etc. is run with input from the students. Each person can have a direct impact on their experience simply by attending and getting involved in the plethora of available activities. I know Evanston is not the ideal location but is incredibly close to Chicago so you can easily network with companies in the city, go out on the weekends, and still experience the city life. Also, Kellogg will be moving buildings in the spring which will be a HUGE upgrade to their current facilities.

About professors, classes and curriculum

I was pleasantly surprised by how amazing the core class professors were. I thought they would be more focused on research than teaching but they have FAR exceeded my expectations and have made each and every subject exciting.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Location
Facilities


Read More

November 26, 2016
sebasvu1

Joined: Jul 13, 2015

Posts: 23

Kudos: 8

Self-reported Score:
620 Q38 V38
710 Q45 V42

Come to Kellogg!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Overall, Kellogg is a great school and I´m happy I decided to come here. The fact that it´s located in Evanston is actually a great plus for me. Since it´s a small town you never have to walk more than 20 minutes to meet for a group project, and if you want to enjoy the perks of a big city the Metra will take you to Chicago in about 30 minutes.

One thing that could be improved is the fact that most events are planned with a fairly limited capacity. This year more than 100 students were left out of the popular ski trip because there wasn´t enough capacity to accommodate.

Current facilities are not great, the Jake (Kellogg´s building) is outdated and seems small for the amount students. But, everything is going to change next year as we relocate to the brand new Global Hub.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Management

Can be improved:

Facilities


Read More

November 26, 2016
SWIMBA

Joined: Feb 17, 2014

Posts: 10

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710

Two Years at Kellogg

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

I would recommend Kellogg to anyone who is not dead-set on pursuing a career in investment banking. The student body and culture are Kellogg's greatest asset. Everyone is genuinely nice and willing to help you out. As someone who had an alternative career path the career center was pretty much worthless. I had a very meetings with an advisor but received little feedback and no referrals to potential employers. I received my offer late in the year and at that time it seemed like all they cared about was that I had a job not that it was the right job for me. I was underwhelmed but some of the professors. The good ones usually cost a lot of bid points. Many are too research focused and have no touch with the real word. The ones who came out of industry were fantastic and I wish all business school, not just Kellogg, would move more in that direction.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (2.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Facilities


Read More

November 26, 2016
lhtran

Joined: Jul 07, 2015

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Best 2 years ever!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

Kellogg has an unique, one of a kind culture. The student body is very diverse and almost everyone I've met are very out-going and helpful. The school is also great for people who want to target consulting, general management or even high tech career paths. Having just gone through the recruiting season, I could tell that Kellogg's well-rounded program and open culture are the reasons why many recruiters and companies consider the school their favorite.

The only thing that bothers me a bit since I started at Kellogg is the school's outdated facility. Kellogg's new campus that opens up in Spring 2017 will be a great, new addition to the school.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Tech

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school


Read More

November 25, 2016
andyraina

Joined: Dec 29, 2015

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Kellogg is focused on fit

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Kellogg

Program MMM

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Kellogg is a place that's very people focused. They focus on getting people who care about each other, willing to work in teams, and willing to help each other out. If you are not the type of person willing to take time out of your own day to help someone else get a job, this isn't the place for you. Because of that mentality, Kellogg is an amazing place to be. Everyone is amazing and such great people.

The professors are great and with the new building about to be opened, it's easy to see why this is one of the top business schools in the world. The learning opportunities are endless. Always make sure to stay engaged and go to as much as you can to keep learning, even if it isn't necessarily in your wheelhouse.

About job placement process

There's a little bit of everything here, but not a huge focus on anything. I would say CPG is probably the biggest recruiter here. I'm sure there are better schools if you're tech focused but I think the Kellogg brand is a very unique one.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school


Read More