GMAT Club

NTU Nanyang Reviews

MBA Program rating [17]
(4.3)
Submit a review

November 16, 2017
Pravin23

Joined: Oct 02, 2017

Posts: 3

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q43 V41

The Nanyang MBA Advantage

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for

Program

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Background on myself: I have over 8 years of project management and engineering experience in the Oil & Gas and Maritime sectors. Prior to joining the Nanyang Business School, I worked in the UK and Azerbaijan. I also volunteered in Fiji in May this year to assist villagers rebuild their lives following Cyclone Winston. I’m currently serving as the President of the MBA Student Executive Committee.

Application process: The admissions team were very helpful and responsive right from the beginning. Even before I was officially admitted to the school, they put me in contact with one of their career counsellors who gave me some useful insights on the job market and what I needed to do to position myself correctly. In the end, they were one of the reasons I decided to join Nanyang even though I received offers from other top schools in Singapore.

The university / programme: The Nanyang Technological University is currently the top-ranked university in Asia and 11th in the world. We are currently in the fourth month of a challenging 1-year MBA programme designed to maximise your potential. The Nanyang MBA gets you outside your comfort zone and gives you plenty of opportunity to learn from a diverse and knowledgeable group of individuals. I recently returned from a business study mission in Shanghai where we met the top companies and participated in a business case competition in Mumbai. These events make for a holistic and enriching learning experience.

The Faculty: In addition, the programme has some of the best educators in their respective fields, one of whom won the prestigious Economist Intelligence Unit’s business professor of the year award.
http://www.economist.com/whichmba/best-professor

Career Development Office: Depending on your function / industry of focus, the programme has an array of resources to help you pursue internships and job opportunities, such as a dedicated team of career development counsellors with a wealth of industry contacts, current students and alumni. The team puts in a lot of hard work behind the scenes to organise networking events, recruitment talks, etc, giving us students the platform to meet with an array of companies. From speaking with our alumni, we can see that Nanyang MBA graduates are constantly recruited by major global and regional companies.

Accommodation / facilities / campus life: 95% of my classmates live on campus and the university guarantees accommodation for international students. Overall, the facilities are what you would expect from a top-class university. There are plenty of events and activities organised all year round on campus which makes for a vibrant and fulfilling experience.

About Singapore: It’s a fantastic city. A thriving metropolis offering a world-class infrastructure, a fully integrated island-wide transport network, dynamic business environment, vibrant living spaces and a rich culture. Singapore’s strategic location with respect to the emerging economies of the ASEAN countries, China and India ensures that it will have a critical role to play as the centre of gravity of the world economy continues its shift towards Asia.

Summary: So far, I can honestly say that it has been a rewarding experience. Quitting my job and declining better job offers to take a year out to do my MBA at Nanyang was without a doubt the right decision. The biggest differentiator for this programme has been my classmates, who are supportive, competitive and collaborative at the same time. We constantly push each onto greater heights by collectively raising the standards.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

January 04, 2017
helvcn

Joined: Apr 18, 2015

Posts: 26

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
740 Q50 V40

Review for NTU program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2012

Experience during the program

The NTU program is a very comprehensive program. It has collaboration with Carnegie Mellon University and students will spend two months in the final semester. The Nanyang Business School has a good reputation in Asia. If you want a job in Singapore, then it is a good place to be.
The NTU campus is very beautiful and modern. The students can stay in student hostels. The price on campus is quite affordable as well.
Lastly, NTU has been ranked in the top 50 universities in the world and the rank is increasing every year. So consider it as a good investment as well.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Location
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Finance
Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Brand/Ranking


Read More

April 14, 2020
devisha001

Joined: Mar 17, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 2

Nanyang Business School Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2020

Experience during the program

My experience at Nanyang Business School has been very rewarding.

My Background: I had been working as a software engineer for almost four years after which I decided to pursue MBA to gain business acumen and change my domain. I wanted to explore fields like Marketing and General Management. I chose NTU because of its brand value and comprehensive curriculum.

My experience: The program at NTU is divided into three terms. In the first term, we were exposed to core courses like finance, accounting, marketing; all of which helped in creating a foundation of business knowledge. Coming from a technical background, all the courses helped me develop a holistic understanding of business world. In the second and third term, we can choose electives to develop deeper understanding of any track; marketing, strategy, finance or general management.

While a lot of credit goes to the curriculum and professors, I truly benefited a lot from my batchmates. Group projects, presentations, classroom discussions helped shape new ideas and grasp concepts easily. I learnt new skills and I am grateful for the friendships and connections formed during this time in my program.




Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Tech
Management

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school


Read More

April 13, 2020
TanmayP

Joined: Apr 13, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 1

You make your own experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2020

Experience during the program

APPLICATION PROCESS
Its been a long time but I do remember my application process. It was pretty smooth with writing the right essays and choosing your recommenders. Fairly smooth.
The interviews I had were pretty conversational. There were a mix of questions asked about my experience and motivations - which did tie back to my essays - so practice them often.
Post getting the offer, the on-boarding process was pretty simple. The university and the admissions team was easily reachable and approachable. They readily solved all queries and difficulties I had in the admission process.

COHORT:
My cohort is fairly diverse. There are people across the globe with varied backgrounds. This has actually helped having a great cross cultural experience here. Further, when you have Core modules like Leading People Globally, it is essential to see how you can actually work across people from different cultures and language barriers.

PROGRAM:
The program is hectic. If you are looking for a MBA with a chill life, trust me, no one year program suits you. There is ample free time to socialize, network and travel. However, do bear it in mind it totally depends on your investment in the degree and the outcome you want from it.
The program is fairly balanced with a good mix of core and elective courses. The core courses are taught by some of the renowned and knowledgeable professors. You could choose a specialization track and opt for electives accordingly. However, if any other elective is of keen interest, you can take that up too. The teaching environment is pretty open and the Admin team is very welcoming.
I was extremely happy with how my Business Study Mission to Tokyo (for company visits) and SPAN (live consulting project) went. These are one of the USPs of the program and it was great to be a part of both.

SUMMARY:
Overall, the NTU MBA program is demanding but does bring out the best in you. It is one of the few programs globally which provides great return on your investment with an amazing experience. As the review title mentions - You make your own experience here....

About professors, classes and curriculum

PROFESSORS:
The Professors are very knowledgeable and provide good guidance. Some courses and lectures do blow up your mind. The Professors are easily approachable and entertain any queries and concerns about the course or otherwise. Further, they are also willing to help you in case you need any professional guidance on a personal level.

CLASSES AND CURRICULUM:
Classes are well balanced out. However, do keep in mind this is a one year MBA. So prepare to be hectic, sacrifice some sleep if you want to excel. Balancing out things is one of the key learning from this hectic and demanding lifestyle.

About job placement process

PLACEMENTS:
There is no "placement" process here. That is usually limited to Indian schools. However, the University does dip into their network and list down the available opportunities on our portal. We also have career coaches, who are supremely experienced in their own regard. They are super helpful to make you learn the key tricks to set up your career ahead.
Further, it is extremely necessary to network here. It is useful not only on a personal level but also academically and professionally.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Location
Culture & Student Support
Facilities
Admissions Team

Best fit at this program:

Finance
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Brand/Ranking


Read More

January 18, 2020
Priya98

Joined: Sep 04, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

NBS MBA experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2020

Experience during the program

Background:
I worked in the construction industry in USA as an engineer for about four years before joining the MBA program. I decided to go for the MBA program to transition to a more non-technical and managerial role and chose Nanyang MBA program.
Nanyang MBA/Double-MBA program:
In addition to full time MBA program , NTU also offers a double MBA program in collaboration with Waseda university in Japan. As a part of this program, students can take the last term in Japan and the MBA program will be for 14 months instead of 12 months. I decided to opt for the double MBA program as it provides more exposure in a very conservative work environment.
Experience in Nanyang MBA program:
The MBA program is divided into three terms. T1 offers only core courses and the electives can be chosen from T2 onwards. Students can choose from various specialization tracks like Finance, marketing, strategy and innovation, HR and general management. Students pursing full time MBA program will have a chance to undertake BSM (business study mission), where they get to travel to different countries to understand the working culture in that region ( this year the choice was between Japan and China), and SPAN which is a strategy planning oriented project which runs from T1 through T3. All these programs provide exposure to real world scenarios and are beneficial in acquiring industry insights.
Admin team:
The admin team are quite helpful with any issues right from the accommodations to any issues regarding assimilating to Singapore for international students. However, information regarding courses or Japan courses,particularly for me, takes a long time to be answered which is one of the major drawbacks I faced.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Class and curriculum:
As expected with an one year program, the course schedule is very intense. There are various interesting courses in the first term taught by exemplary professors. I particularly enjoyed the Tech & E-business course which was highly interactive and encourages broader thinking. Electives are offered from T2 term . One of my favorite courses in T2 was Strategy management where we had to work with real cases and develop solutions as a consultant.

About job placement process

Career opportunities:
In terms of career opportunities, the GSCDO organizes various networking events and alumni event to encourage communication with prospective employers. In addition, they conduct internship fairs where we can network with companies from various industries. In terms of companies visiting campus to recruit, the opportunities are limited. Companies visiting on campus are more focused towards undergraduates.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Culture & Student Support
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)
Finance, Healthcare, Tech

Best fit at this program:

Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Tech

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school
Facilities


Read More

January 08, 2020
TamPhan

Joined: Jan 08, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Good Value to Some Extent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2020

Experience during the program

My background is in hospitality industry with specialization in marketing. I chose to do MBA full time at Nanyang, opting for Marketing Management track. The two reasons why I chose to complete my degree at Nanyang is firstly the duration of the course which is 10 months and secondly the reputation of the school.

For MBA level, I believe Nanyang is strong in Finance and Strategic & Innovation track as in the career path after graduation. The school offers a lot of career opportunities such as internships and job postings, career events from start up to major corporations in these fields. However, there is very little career support for marketing jobs. You are pretty much on your own to make connections and find opportunities. On another side, the majority of the courses offered was useful and necessary. You get to learn a lot from the professors and your peers and get to view things differently.

For future applicants, first term may be overwhelmed with heavy course load but you will get used to it. Term 2 & 3 will come more peacefully as you have overcome term 1. Time at Nanyang flies so dont forget to enjoy yourself at school. Make friends as these connections are precious.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Investment Banking
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

December 15, 2019
NormanSheng

Joined: Dec 14, 2019

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Fantastic campus experience at Nanyang MBA program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2020

Experience during the program

Brief Introduction about myself
I worked in a Chinese joint-stock commercial bank and acted fixed income supporting staff before I came to Nanyang MBA program. I have decided to select FICC as my future career motivated by my first internship in HSBC. I chose my SPDB fixed income group as my starting point of career path to accumulate practical experience.

Motivation about Nanyang MBA program
After accumulating three working experience in bond supporting works. I find that only achieving professional knowledge is not qualified with an excellent FICC banker. I am still not good at communication and coordination skills. In order to change my career position from trading support to sales & trading and improve my soft skills I decided to join in NTU MBA program.

Experience in Nanyang MBA program
Except for Nanyang MBA offer, I also received finance master offer from HKUST. Many friends are very surprised about my determination as Nanyang MBA offer. Many of them think that considering my previous working background and limited working experience I should choose master program instead of MBA program. Even for myself, I am also not confident about my choice. However, after several months study life, I am satisfied and enjoy a lot from MBA program. As an NTU MBA cohort, you can not only learn some class knowledge but also learn some insights from your classmates. Since many cohorts have rich working experience you can get some inspiration about problem solution and coordination skills. Nanyang MBA program give me a good platform to improve my soft skills which is more important for my future career.

Class and curriculum
Compared with other master program, MBA program courses seem to be more diversified and broad but don’t underestimate faculty capability and teaching level. All of our professors have rich teaching experience and most of them have related career in world famous companies before. All of course material more focus on practical application instead of book knowledge. We not only have compulsory courses such as e-business, strategic management, accounting, negotiation but also some professional courses like fixed income, international fiancé. What should be noted is that although I have certain financial background I can still gain some insights from financial elective courses because professors will use introduce more real cases and teach us methodology instead of boring concept.

Career Assistance and Opportunities
Except for daily class and curriculum, there are plenty of avenues to network and get attend career talks and job fairs in the university. Every cohort will be allocated one career coach. My career coach is Eric Sim, who has rich management and business experience in leading financial institutions such as UBS and Citi. He gives me a lot of useful suggestions about my future track and how to build network efficiently. Besides, MBA program will also offer us many career workshop and job fair to help us get some interview skills or even position opportunity. My current internship as a quantitative credit analyst is also comes from MBA job fair.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Career opportunities provided by school
Facilities
Admissions Team

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Tech

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking


Read More

December 05, 2019
mmalanda23

Joined: Nov 17, 2019

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Experience during the program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2020

Experience during the program

Background: I have about 4 years experience in Risk Assurance (Internal audits and operational reviews) with PwC, India. I was mostly engaged in a lot of business process audits and was exposed to industries such as manufacturing, retail and IT.

Application process: I mostly applied for schools in Asia, as it was I knew the returns on my investment would be easier to recover. It was also closer to home. I applied for the first round at NTU. The application process was very smooth. The Admissions team was very prompt with responses and also willing to accommodate any specific requests. I decided to be present for a one-on-one interview, but an option for a Skype interview was available for my convenience. The results were out within the deadlines specified on the website.

Typically, post confirmation, a person from the Admissions team will liaise with admitted candidates, and are available on call/ Whatsapp for any questions. Webinars are scheduled with current students at least twice during the applications cycle, for any questions from admitted candidates.

The Program: NTU is very well-reputed and has a diverse program, as well as a diverse cohort. Electives available are very specialised. I have taken the General Management specialisation, where I have the freedom to pick electives across specializations such as Finance, or Strategy and Innovation. Classes involve a lot of case study analysis, and professors make it a point to push you beyond your comfort zone. The curriculum also include a Business Study Mission (I traveled to Tokyo for company visits this year) and a SPAN (real-time consulting project) that goes on for about 6 months. Overall, the program brings about an experiential learning curve, and is value for money.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Faculty and Staff: The professors are very experienced in their fields. They are also very approachable and willing to entertain student's concerns and questions via email/ meetings. The Admin team is also very helpful, and they essentially become your friends. They will go over and above to ensure that all students' interests are catered to, whether schedule-related or other administrative issues. We also have mid-year reviews for every professor/ elective, where the batch gets to voice concerns/ appreciation. There is an online review as well.

About job placement process

The Career Office at NTU is helpful when it comes to networking with alumni and companies. However, you are responsible for your own job applications. The Career Office also allocates a consultant to guide you with your resume and other job application issues. There is also an external career coach who is available for on-on-one coaching sessions.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Culture & Student Support
Admissions Team

Best fit at this program:

Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking


Read More

November 18, 2019
csingaporelove

Joined: Feb 17, 2019

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

My experience at Nanyang MBA Program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2020

Experience during the program

Experience during the program
Background about myself
After 4 years’ working experience as HR for various functions mostly in Tech industry in Shanghai and Singapore, I have been thinking about pursuing my MBA last year to explore other business functions and other industries. My experience of HR operations at GE, recruiting at Uber and people analytics at Grab has challenged me to think bigger and be a bigger person. MBA will be a solid catalyst to equip myself with business acumen, analytics skills, and a strategic thinking mindset. That’s why I am here at Nanyang Business School now. Generally, I prefer a shorter program and push myself to utilize study time to learn as much as possible and then get back to work. I’ve also received NUS MBA offer and after considering many key factors, I’d say I’m really enjoying my decision here at Nanyang MBA. This is also a tip for future applicants that you can consider several key criteria to help with your decisions later if you receive multiple offers, so you won’t be too puzzled which one to choose and be clear what’s most important for you realistically.

Fantastic application process
I have to say the whole super fast and friendly application process is also one of the reasons I decided to join Nanyang MBA as well. I really appreciate how the whole admissions team value each candidate and I felt very warm and welcome to join the big family. I believe you all will have a great experience as well. But the prerequisite of a fantastic application journey is for sure “Be ready” and “Reflect on yourselves”. I believe all of you will try to do as much research as you can from alumni, current students, GMATclub reviews, etc. These are all great channels but I would say the key to knowing yourself better and it’s not very essential to look at what others are doing and compare with others’ backgrounds. Among tons of applicants, only the real “You” will stand out.
Amazing support from our admin and career offices
We are really lucky to have very supportive admin and career offices and they have provided super support to our cohort. As current Student Exco VP of Carer Development, I have to say we have amazing support for our classmates together with our career office’s help. Each of us also has a career coach and sector mentor.

Diverse and comprehensive curriculum and professors
I enjoy all the courses so far and we get to know how business leaders think and it has been a fantastic journey to learn lots of interesting knowledge. All the professors are great and easy to approach. They have been super supportive to clear our confusion and coach us to think as a global leader.

Study hard and have fun
The one-year full-time program is no doubt very intense as you can imagine so be prepared:) Thanks to our lovely cohort and our admins office, we had quite a lot of fun together and many more events are awaiting us.
Welcome to join our big family very soon:)


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Finance
Tech

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)
Consulting


Read More

November 04, 2019
lclutao

Joined: Sep 23, 2018

Posts: 4

Kudos: 2

Self-reported Score:
660

The Empowering Experience in Nanyang MBA

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2020

Experience during the program

1. The Application Process
After working for 5 years, I decided to apply to business schools in Singapore to improve my leadership skills as I plan to shift from my current industry to another. I ultimately choose Nanyang MBA, aside from its high global rankings and strong alumni network, because of the high-touch application process. The admission team from the start was very accommodating and understanding of my needs which is a great representation of the MBA culture within the institution.

2. The Academic Journey So Far
The modules are conducted by amazing experts of respective fields. Most of the subjects are highly interactive which allows us to learn not only through course materials but through sharing of experiences and knowledge with our classmates. One thing I would like to note is the Leading People Globally modules that greatly develops my soft skills.

3. The Cohort
First of all, the cohort's professional experience is very diverse and competitive and it allows for really healthy and insightful discussion in and outside of class. Secondly, the cohort was relatively small which allows us to have a more close-knit relationship with each other. Lastly, the culture that is being promoted in the program is very friendly and warm which makes the experience very easy to adjust to especially for someone like me who has never been away from my home country for extended period of time before this program.

4. The Extra-Curricula Matters
I can truly say that the MBA experience has met my expectations so far in terms of the program honing my leadership and communication skills beyond the classroom learning. The MBA team spends a lot of effort in ensuring that we have multiple avenues to get involved in development activities such as the executive committees and social/business clubs, marketing events, networking sessions, and social nights. It also provides a very good balance between academics and non-academic matters.

5. Career Assistance and Opportunities
There are plenty of avenues to network and get attend career talks and job fairs in the university. Although as someone who is planning to pursue the MBA, one must understand that securing a job is most likely gonna depend on our own individual efforts and how we utilize all the opportunities available to the students.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Finance
Investment Banking
Management

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school


Read More