GMAT Club

NTU Nanyang Reviews

logo-NTU.jpg
MBA Program rating [25]
(4.5)
Submit a review

November 16, 2017
Pravin23

Joined: Oct 02, 2017

Posts: 3

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q43 V41

The Nanyang MBA Advantage

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for

Program

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Background on myself: I have over 8 years of project management and engineering experience in the Oil & Gas and Maritime sectors. Prior to joining the Nanyang Business School, I worked in the UK and Azerbaijan. I also volunteered in Fiji in May this year to assist villagers rebuild their lives following Cyclone Winston. I’m currently serving as the President of the MBA Student Executive Committee.

Application process: The admissions team were very helpful and responsive right from the beginning. Even before I was officially admitted to the school, they put me in contact with one of their career counsellors who gave me some useful insights on the job market and what I needed to do to position myself correctly. In the end, they were one of the reasons I decided to join Nanyang even though I received offers from other top schools in Singapore.

The university / programme: The Nanyang Technological University is currently the top-ranked university in Asia and 11th in the world. We are currently in the fourth month of a challenging 1-year MBA programme designed to maximise your potential. The Nanyang MBA gets you outside your comfort zone and gives you plenty of opportunity to learn from a diverse and knowledgeable group of individuals. I recently returned from a business study mission in Shanghai where we met the top companies and participated in a business case competition in Mumbai. These events make for a holistic and enriching learning experience.

The Faculty: In addition, the programme has some of the best educators in their respective fields, one of whom won the prestigious Economist Intelligence Unit’s business professor of the year award.
http://www.economist.com/whichmba/best-professor

Career Development Office: Depending on your function / industry of focus, the programme has an array of resources to help you pursue internships and job opportunities, such as a dedicated team of career development counsellors with a wealth of industry contacts, current students and alumni. The team puts in a lot of hard work behind the scenes to organise networking events, recruitment talks, etc, giving us students the platform to meet with an array of companies. From speaking with our alumni, we can see that Nanyang MBA graduates are constantly recruited by major global and regional companies.

Accommodation / facilities / campus life: 95% of my classmates live on campus and the university guarantees accommodation for international students. Overall, the facilities are what you would expect from a top-class university. There are plenty of events and activities organised all year round on campus which makes for a vibrant and fulfilling experience.

About Singapore: It’s a fantastic city. A thriving metropolis offering a world-class infrastructure, a fully integrated island-wide transport network, dynamic business environment, vibrant living spaces and a rich culture. Singapore’s strategic location with respect to the emerging economies of the ASEAN countries, China and India ensures that it will have a critical role to play as the centre of gravity of the world economy continues its shift towards Asia.

Summary: So far, I can honestly say that it has been a rewarding experience. Quitting my job and declining better job offers to take a year out to do my MBA at Nanyang was without a doubt the right decision. The biggest differentiator for this programme has been my classmates, who are supportive, competitive and collaborative at the same time. We constantly push each onto greater heights by collectively raising the standards.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

January 04, 2017
helvcn

Joined: Apr 18, 2015

Posts: 26

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
740 Q50 V40

Review for NTU program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2012

Experience during the program

The NTU program is a very comprehensive program. It has collaboration with Carnegie Mellon University and students will spend two months in the final semester. The Nanyang Business School has a good reputation in Asia. If you want a job in Singapore, then it is a good place to be.
The NTU campus is very beautiful and modern. The students can stay in student hostels. The price on campus is quite affordable as well.
Lastly, NTU has been ranked in the top 50 universities in the world and the rank is increasing every year. So consider it as a good investment as well.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Location
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Finance
Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Brand/Ranking


Read More

January 25, 2021
lihaibo

Joined: Jan 25, 2021

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Nanyang MBA Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2021

Experience during the program

For me, it’s really special backing to school after working for so many years.
First, I finally get time to learn new things from school and also from reflection on past experiences, which made me much clearer about my career and life. Moreover, I am so impressed by the rich resources the school has, either for academic or career development. I could always find some references or get someone to ask when need help. In addition, the cohort, which holds abundant diversity in culture and background, is also an invaluable treasure, providing us a great opportunity to quickly know the business in different cultures and industries.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity


Read More

December 30, 2020
mnkm

Joined: Dec 29, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Nanyang-Waseda double degree program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2021

Experience during the program

I'm currently studying in Nanyang-Waseda double degree MBA program.
This double degree program lasts for 14 months; first two trimester in NBS and third trimester in Waseda. Since Waseda students have more compulsory courses than NBS full-time students and have to leave Singapore before trimester 3, learning flexibility might be a little bit low. For example, Waseda students cannot take any NBS electives scheduled in the final trimester. Instead, you’ll get the opportunity of experiencing both Singapore and Japan culture in one program.

Although there have been some changes and constraints due to Covid-19 situation this year, the program is still very attractive and stimulating for those who want to study in a diverse environment. Singapore is the best place to acquire the sense of business around Asia and NBS cohorts consist not only of various nationalities but of diverse industries.

Through this program, you can acquire comprehensive knowledge of business from accounting, finance, marketing to HR and entrepreneurship, not only basic ones but also advanced courses are here as electives.

Also, career development office is so eager to provide students lots of information about internship and job opportunities and support them to develop self-awareness for future career.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Location

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Brand/Ranking


Read More

November 30, 2020
Yijeongae

Joined: Nov 27, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

A Challenge, but valuable program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2021

Experience during the program

Nanyang Business School [full time MBA] has a 1-year program which is extremely challenging and intensive for candidates taking the course, and I am in the process.

This is not an easy-going program.
This program provides not only a comprehensive knowledge required in business but also triggers which help me to motivate myself.
Covid19 interrupts some chances that I could have taken in non-covid situation, but I am fully satisfied with the program. Maybe, I might have missed something provided from NBS program that supported by admin, professors, alumni, and so on. NBS implements countless events and seminars to that extent. Decisively processing program on schedule is a characteristic of NBS, too. I think this attitude rather represents one of their facets, which face and solve a challenge, not avoiding a challenge.

I recommend the program for those who prefer self-upgrade.
Even in a crisis, I could see the diversity and brightness of our cohort.
Don't hesitate to apply. Anytime, numerous challenges are coming in, and you have to solve them. I believe this program contribute to my future in many ways.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Location

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking


Read More

November 04, 2020
tfzc

Joined: Nov 04, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Winning together at NTU

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2021

Experience during the program

I’m a current student of the Nanyang MBA programme, which commenced in July 2020. Although COVID-19 crisis has disrupted the norms of communication and learning, the NTU MBA team has successfully rejuvenated us as students with a series of orientation activities planned online. We thoroughly enjoyed the engaging activities and the networking opportunities during the orientation.

We completed the trimester 1 entirely online via zoom and online learning has been a very rewarding experience because the MBA operation team and professors work together really hard to ensure a better learning experience for students. Besides modifying slides to suit online teaching, Professors make use of the annotation function to enhance content delivery and pay attention at the chat box to answer students queries. The course contents are good and some professors could teach really well, especially the way the professor who teaches e-business. I’m amazed that there is a person who can explain the concept of technology well.

Also, NTU has strong career office and alumni office to support students on networking events. They actively provide advices and connect students with alumni to facilitate event planning and knowledge sharing. Career coaching at NTU is also an amazing part of the mba journey because it helps to understand yourself better and identify the suitable career options.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Admissions Team

Best fit at this program:

Consulting

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school


Read More

October 27, 2020
klbx

Joined: Oct 27, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Lead, Innovate, Transform with the Nanyang MBA programme

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2021

Experience during the program

I am currently a student at the Nanyang MBA programme and I will be starting Trimester 2 this November. I have to say my experience with the programme has been very enriching so far. This is why:

1) Strong support from the school's career services team - NTU has a dedicated team of faculty members who will see through your career needs right from the beginning of the programme. They will hold networking events, practical skills workshop (e.g. branding), arrange a one-on-one career coach for you and provide career consulting sessions.

2) NTU known as the leading tech and innovation school in Singapore, has been constantly updating their curriculum to keep the student's skills and knowledge relevant to today's business world. For example, the school offered data analytics electives to the current cohort and will be opening up a new track for specialization in business analytics next year.

3) Diversity of the student body - close to 90% of the cohort are international students who originated from many different countries (e.g. China, India, Philippines, Thailand, Greece, US, Canada) and close to 40% of the students are females. Many students came from different industries too. It is a good opportunity to build on your cultural understanding and leadership skills when interacting and working with others from different backgrounds.

Overall, I think the programme has fairly met my expectations. It is a pity that Trimester 1's classes were online (limited interaction with fellow classmates). Trimester 2's classes in November will be hosted face to face so hopefully, there will be greater opportunities for interactions and networking.

I would highly recommend future applicants to apply!


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Management

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors


Read More

October 26, 2020
leftpatrikis

Joined: Oct 26, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Unique insights into Asia's business environment

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2021

Experience during the program

Coming from Greece, the NTU MBA program gave me the opportunity to gain unique insights into Asia's business landscape.

Despite being an intense program (as it is a 1-year MBA), students normally have the time to participate in many extracurricular activities, but also to get to know each other. Indeed, cultural diversity is one of the main strengths of the program, as the MBA attracts students from all around the world, and of course from Asia.

Finally, the exchange opportunities are one of a kind. Being a double-degree student, at the end of this year, I will get the NTU MBA, but also a Master of Arts in Strategy and International Management by the University of St. Gallen, which is ranked as the top MiM worldwide for 10 consecutive years by FT.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Location
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Finance
Marketing
Tech
Management
HR

Can be improved:

Alumni Network


Read More

October 19, 2020
Prasannabalaji

Joined: Oct 19, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

The Nanyang MBA Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2021

Experience during the program

About Me:

I’m Prasanna from Chennai, India. I carry an overall work experience of 5 years, Prior to my MBA I was working at Unilever as a Sales Officer. I’m an FMCG Marketing Aspirant. On a lighter note, I’m a Songwriter, few of my songs have released on youtube.

Why Nanyang MBA?

As my career goal is to transition from Sales to Marketing in FMCG Brand management. The foundation on which I plan to take my career ahead must be strong. After interactions with a lot of people and after researching, I felt NBS MBA will be the perfect platform for three reasons;
1.Specialization track for Marketing Management
2.Global experience along with how businesses work in APAC through practical learning and peer discussions from different nationalities and diverse backgrounds.
3.SPAN project, BSM, and LPG modules which add a unique element to the Program.

Application Process:

Once I figured that I want to pursue my MBA at NTU, My Application process started with connecting with alumni in my target industry and the role and to get an insider insight on careers and how NTU helped them.  

The Application process was really smooth and the onboarding process was simple and swift too.  Based on the interactions with admin team, I applied in R1 and got my offer within a month. The best part of applying in R1 is that you have the next 6-7 months to plan on other things in advance with respect to personal development, going for a vacation, or learning new skills.

Suggestions for Future Applicants:

1.Research a lot about the course, resonate with your goals with the program to verify the fit.
2.Nanyang MBA website has all the information that you seek in terms of careers, Professors, curriculum, and the application process.
3.Essays are the reflection of your thoughts and career aspirations. So, take the utmost care in bringing out the right content.  Be Creative!!

About professors, classes and curriculum

Since Nanyang MBA is a one year MBA program, the curriculum is intense, and but at the same time, it is exciting too. 

Each course is taught by established professors who carry immense experience in a particular subject.

Usually, Trimester 1 has core courses and from Trimester 2, students can take electives along with core courses.

Classes are very interactive and expand your horizon with a diverse cohort bringing in the unique learning experience.

About job placement process

The school has a dedicated Careers Office where each student is assigned a Career counselor and Career coach to streamline and to help in the Job Hunting Process. 

The careers office organizes Networking events and Personal branding sessions, helping the students to grow and build networks. 

Building good connections during these events and career fairs help students to land their dream job or internship.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Tech

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Brand/Ranking


Read More

October 19, 2020
weixiangchan

Joined: Oct 19, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Take the leap

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2021

Experience during the program

The career office at Nanyang Business School is amazing. A lot of resources have been invested into the students to ensure that they are aware of the end goal. From alumni, to career coaches, guest speakers and assigned industry mentors, everybody wants to help to give you the best platform for you to shine.

If you are looking for a business school that focuses on job opportunities and provides the chance to network with classmates from all over the world, highly recommended to choose NBS.

On a daily basis, I mix with high achievers from many different nationalities and the broad range of ideas that they bring to the table during project discussions and life is very interesting.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Career opportunities provided by school
Location
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Admissions Team


Read More