GMAT Club

NTU Nanyang Reviews

MBA Program rating [7]
(4.3)

November 16, 2017
Pravin23

Joined: Oct 02, 2017

Posts: 3

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q43 V41

The Nanyang MBA Advantage

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for

Program

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Background on myself: I have over 8 years of project management and engineering experience in the Oil & Gas and Maritime sectors. Prior to joining the Nanyang Business School, I worked in the UK and Azerbaijan. I also volunteered in Fiji in May this year to assist villagers rebuild their lives following Cyclone Winston. I’m currently serving as the President of the MBA Student Executive Committee.

Application process: The admissions team were very helpful and responsive right from the beginning. Even before I was officially admitted to the school, they put me in contact with one of their career counsellors who gave me some useful insights on the job market and what I needed to do to position myself correctly. In the end, they were one of the reasons I decided to join Nanyang even though I received offers from other top schools in Singapore.

The university / programme: The Nanyang Technological University is currently the top-ranked university in Asia and 11th in the world. We are currently in the fourth month of a challenging 1-year MBA programme designed to maximise your potential. The Nanyang MBA gets you outside your comfort zone and gives you plenty of opportunity to learn from a diverse and knowledgeable group of individuals. I recently returned from a business study mission in Shanghai where we met the top companies and participated in a business case competition in Mumbai. These events make for a holistic and enriching learning experience.

The Faculty: In addition, the programme has some of the best educators in their respective fields, one of whom won the prestigious Economist Intelligence Unit’s business professor of the year award.
http://www.economist.com/whichmba/best-professor

Career Development Office: Depending on your function / industry of focus, the programme has an array of resources to help you pursue internships and job opportunities, such as a dedicated team of career development counsellors with a wealth of industry contacts, current students and alumni. The team puts in a lot of hard work behind the scenes to organise networking events, recruitment talks, etc, giving us students the platform to meet with an array of companies. From speaking with our alumni, we can see that Nanyang MBA graduates are constantly recruited by major global and regional companies.

Accommodation / facilities / campus life: 95% of my classmates live on campus and the university guarantees accommodation for international students. Overall, the facilities are what you would expect from a top-class university. There are plenty of events and activities organised all year round on campus which makes for a vibrant and fulfilling experience.

About Singapore: It’s a fantastic city. A thriving metropolis offering a world-class infrastructure, a fully integrated island-wide transport network, dynamic business environment, vibrant living spaces and a rich culture. Singapore’s strategic location with respect to the emerging economies of the ASEAN countries, China and India ensures that it will have a critical role to play as the centre of gravity of the world economy continues its shift towards Asia.

Summary: So far, I can honestly say that it has been a rewarding experience. Quitting my job and declining better job offers to take a year out to do my MBA at Nanyang was without a doubt the right decision. The biggest differentiator for this programme has been my classmates, who are supportive, competitive and collaborative at the same time. We constantly push each onto greater heights by collectively raising the standards.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

January 04, 2017
helvcn

Joined: Apr 18, 2015

Posts: 26

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
740 Q50 V40

Review for NTU program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2012

Experience during the program

The NTU program is a very comprehensive program. It has collaboration with Carnegie Mellon University and students will spend two months in the final semester. The Nanyang Business School has a good reputation in Asia. If you want a job in Singapore, then it is a good place to be.
The NTU campus is very beautiful and modern. The students can stay in student hostels. The price on campus is quite affordable as well.
Lastly, NTU has been ranked in the top 50 universities in the world and the rank is increasing every year. So consider it as a good investment as well.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Location
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Finance
Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Brand/Ranking


Read More

February 23, 2019
abjmbantu

Joined: Feb 23, 2019

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

MBA Program Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

I joined the NTU MBA program after 4 years of work experience in Market research.

My intention behind joining this program was to get rid of some stagnation with respect to work. I believed that an MBA program would lead to new experiences and greater career opportunities.
The academic aspect of the program is fairly hectic, given that it is a one-year course. Juggling career development with classes and events requires a high level of time management.
The cohort is active and not overly competitive. It is indeed a great experience to listen to multiple viewpoints during class discussions.
NTU is a really big campus with multiple schools spread across. Hence if you want to interact and build connections with the Tech or Engineering schools you need to be proactive.
The Career Development office helps students with resumes, networking events and coaching.

For future applicants: One advice would be to be realistic about the extent of future track changes. There are some radical function and industry shifts that might not be possible with a one year program. It is important to assess the scale of your shift before fixating on it.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Location
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Finance
Marketing

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

January 29, 2019
azmba2019

Joined: Jan 29, 2019

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

My Nanyang experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

I am a part of the double degree Nanyang-Waseda programme - one of the 12 who are part of the programme. This means the first two trimesters are spent in Singapore and the final trimester in Japan.
The biggest draw for me was the availability of this programme because I wanted exposure to two different countries. The length of the programme was also a draw since it was less than two years.
Hands-down the best part are my classmates with whom I'm all friends with. They are some of the brightest, hardworking, kindest and most open-hearted people I've ever met. Its amazing being privy to the perspective of students from 25 different nationalities.
The competition for future career opportunities is very external rather than internal. Everyone is helping each other out by sharing job postings and other resources. This culture was a pleasant surprise to me personally, having experienced cutthroat competition during my undergrad.
I am staying in the newest residential hall and as expected it is clean and well-maintained, in spite of the fact that my room is small. I love the convenience of having a canteen and a computer lab as part of your hall.
The weather in Singapore is a real shock and it takes time adjusting to if you are not used to hotter climates.
Overall, the schedule has been hectic, more so than I expected but it keeps you on your toes and prepares you for future business challenges.


Overall BSchool experience (3.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Culture & Student Support
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Marketing
Tech

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Brand/Ranking
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

January 13, 2019
AbhishekB9206

Joined: Oct 06, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
740 Q49 V41

Diverse learning at Nanyang Business School

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

My personal intention behind applying for admission at Nanyang Business School was the attractiveness of the Singapore business market, the proximity to a Technology-focused university and a diverse learning culture. Currently in the sixth month of an 11-month program, it would be fair to say my expectations have held true so far.

With 25 nationalities represented across a class size of 88, it is no surprise that you learn something new every day. It is a level of diversity that is very hard to find across the globe and is very helpful for an individual's personal growth and adaptation.

The Programme in itself is a challenging and gruelling experience with an array of classes, assignments, reports, presentations, examinations, events etc to take care of. It is vital to be able to match the energy to keep up to speed and the highly-qualified teaching faculty and support staff do everything possible to help you achieve that. An experienced adjunct faculty provide actual insights into the business world and a dedicated Career Development Office assist you with the complete recruitment process around full-time jobs and internships.
More than 90% of the class resides on on-campus facilities and the university is always awash with eye-catching events.

To summarize, it has been a rewarding experience so far and the decision to pursue an MBA at Nanyang Business School ticks a lot of boxes in the right direction.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking
Admissions Team

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

January 18, 2019
Shubrat

Hi Abhishek,

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review during your time at NTU! Its great to hear feedback from current students in the program. Could you give us an idea of what the post mba plans are for yourself and your class in general? What percentage plans to stay in Singapore and what's the success rate on getting opportunities there? How has the career services team helped in this regard?

Thanks,
Shubrat

January 24, 2019
AbhishekB9206

Hello Shubrat,

As far as I know, about 50% of the class is looking for post-MBA careers in Singapore or South-East Asia across industries like Technology, Finance, Consulting, Marketing etc.
The success rate is hard to define at this point in time - since it is dependant on factors like the type of job offer received and the industry being targetted.
The Career Services team help you with intricacies like resumes and interview preparations. They also conduct multiple skill-development workshops, career coaches, networking sessions and career fairs to assist with all aspects of job-hunting.

Regards,
Abhishek

December 04, 2017
nikhil008

Joined: Dec 04, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q50 V34

A Holistic MBA Experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

The primary reason I applied to and chose to enrol at the Nanyang Business School was the balanced approach to the curriculum. The program achieves a perfect balance of academic and real-world professional experiences in all aspects. The program's structure does this by providing a faculty of research-driven & world-class professors while at the same time offering courses taught by adjunct professors that have significant experiences the professional world.

Along with a diverse and experienced faculty, the program offer courses such as Leading People Globally and Strategy Projects at Nanyang, which equip the students with real-world skills that can be related to and employed by the students in their professional lives.

The cohort at the school is another commendable aspect of the program. We have a diverse student body with colleagues from around 20 nationalities and varied professional backgrounds which adds many dimensions to disc ussions in class.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Finance
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

December 04, 2017
nikhilgupta1990

Joined: Sep 28, 2014

Posts: 17

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
700 Q50 V34

A Holistic MBA Program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for NTU

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

The primary reason I applied to and chose to enrol at the Nanyang Business School was the balanced approach to the curriculum. The program achieves a perfect balance of academic and real-world professional experiences in all aspects. The program's structure does this by providing a faculty of research-driven & world-class professors while at the same time offering courses taught by adjunct professors that have significant experiences the professional world.

Along with a diverse and experienced faculty, the program offer courses such as Leading People Globally and Strategy Projects at Nanyang, which equip the students with real-world skills that can be related to and employed by the students in their professional lives.

The cohort at the school is another commendable aspect of the program. We have a diverse student body with colleagues from around 20 nationalities and varied professional backgrounds which adds many dimensions to discussions in class.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking
Facilities
Admissions Team

Best fit at this program:

Finance
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Alumni Network


Read More