GMAT Club

Ross Michigan Reviews

MBA Program rating [30]
(4.7)
Submit a review

November 26, 2016
andykim721

Joined: Jul 13, 2015

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
720 Q47 V42

Awesome!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Program has been more fun than I anticipated. It's also been much more hectic and busy than I had anticipated--people aren't lying when they say the hardest thing will be picking what NOT to participate in! Recruiting has been as intense, yet collaborative, as people told me. I would suggest future applicants do some soul searching as soon as possible so they can come to school with an idea of what industry and/or function they want to go into. Recruiting starts very early so having tbat type of focus helps prioritize early on. Also, don't forget to stay calm during admissions and in recruiting! It will all work out in the end and looking nervous never helped nobody. ;)


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Investment Banking
Tech

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Location


Read More

November 25, 2016
Ward2012

Joined: Sep 13, 2011

Posts: 572

Kudos: 147

Self-reported Score:
720

School suffers from lack of direction

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

The school tries to please everyone and offers a buffet of options. However because of that resources are scarce and the school doesn't give a lot of support to certai groups of students. People say that if you're not interested in consulting or marketing, you're on your own, and I would agree with that.

Also the school needs to do something about having to share everything with the undergrads. Had I know this would be such an issue I probably would have picked another school.

Finally I was a little disappointed with the caliber of my classmates. Lots of smart people but they quickly regressed to frat type parties. It got old pretty quickly.

Suggestion for future applicants: I interviewed candidates and saw some amazing resumes from amazing people who didn't get accepted. I'd say the most important thing is to really understand how Ross will help you.


Overall BSchool experience (3.0)
Schools contribution (2.0)
Classmates rating (3.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Access to rest of university

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Location
Brand/Ranking
Facilities


Read More

November 25, 2016
1234567890asdf

Joined: Nov 25, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Michigan can get you where you want to go

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Michigan is a great school, but it has some weaknesses. At the end of the day, it's most important that you find the program that you fit in the best because Michigan and all of its peers can get you where you want to go.

What is the fit of Michigan?
Focus is on teamwork and "paying it forward". A lot of work is in groups and second years are expected to help and/or coach first years, though they do so with mixed results. Of course, there is the action-based learning component for which Michigan is best known. Lastly, look into the Sanger Leadership Center and the Center for Positive Organizations, they look to mold future leaders and have lots of resources.

The good?
- Professors have been good; know the material and are approachable
- Career Services is top notch; if you work hard on your candidacy, you will get a great job
- Some classmates are "givers", always have time with help with anything
- Many off the beaten path experiences that are awesome. Read all of your emails and make time!

The bad?
- Some classmates clearly aren't at the caliber of a graduate business degree
- Brand recognition for Ross could be better

The neutral?
- Alumni are hit or miss. Some love the school and respond with great help, some ignore your requests
- A lot of school will be what you make out of it: how much you devote to class or career. Many classmates will complain that you can't do everything, but you can if you are targeted (i.e. don't recruit for McKinsey just because of the name)

Overall, just be honest with yourself about what you want to get out of the MBA and only do things that are aligned with that mission. Write yourself a letter the summer before to have something to remind you. That way when 200 people go to the Google presentation and you are recruiting for banking, you skip it. You're paying $200k for a life-changing experience, don't let anyone or anything stop you from getting all the value from Michigan during your time here.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Have started shifting to a more academic program from a more casual one. Workload can be a lot at times, but never overwhelming if you budget your time.

About job placement process

Every one of the major players recruits here.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (2.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Brand/Ranking


Read More

January 30, 2016
MBADreams_2012

Joined: Oct 29, 2011

Posts: 4

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
710 Q49 V38
730 Q50 V38

Ross - Go Blue - for life !

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2014

Experience during the program

My time at Ross was among the most satisfactory 2 years spent. I gained tremendously from school's action based learning approach, student body and brand (specially in midwest).

Some of the unique things to leverage at Ross are: Wolverine Venture Fund (real world student run VC fund investing in healthcare and tech), MAP (pioneering action based learning project with real companies solving real world problems) and collaborative culture (students help each other prep for interviews etc as peer counselors).

Suggestions for future students would be consider Michigan for its traditional strengths (consulting, entrepreneurship, marketing). Gmat is getting increasingly critical and that is raising the bar for students overall.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Facilities
Admissions Team


Read More

January 28, 2016
IndigoIntentions

Joined: Sep 26, 2010

Posts: 122

Kudos: 84

Self-reported Score:
760

Good program but lots of cliques

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2015

Experience during the program

Ross is a good program, but not a great program yet. Student diversity and course strength could use a lot of work.

The good:
The school does a good job of career stuff: we have career treks, enough companies engaging with students and the alumni network is large and helpful. Inspite of the easy going student culture, the students do well in courses and I was constantly surprised by my peers' grades. Some of the students have an exceptional background.

The bad:
I felt the school was very "fratty" - the culture feels like high school where everyone had their clique. There are easy divides you can easily spot - domestic/internationals, white/others etc. Ski trips where cliques choose to cohabit a house, spring break trips where predictable groups go off together to South America etc., are most visible manifestations of this divide. Further, the selection of student-led committees for school-wide activities like GBR was not transparent - it was mostly 'friends and family'.
One reason is because Michigan football has a big impact on the culture, e.g. the Bus where club members act crazy (e.g. dance on top of a bus) during football tailgates. Others who don't identify with such stuff feel alienated and either stop coming or just hang out with their own groups.

About professors, classes and curriculum

The electives are weaker compared to something like Booth or HBS. Second, most of core classes have good professors but there are still some classes like Marketing that could use better professors.

About job placement process

Most students are smart and yet, down to earth. At work, I'm surrounded by Ross alumni and I've heard first hand from senior management that Rossers bring a good general management focus unlike other schools.


Overall BSchool experience (3.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (3.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Culture & Student Support


Read More

January 27, 2016
AN225

Joined: Sep 29, 2010

Posts: 248

Kudos: 206

Self-reported Score:


Great school for a GM, Tech or Corp Finance career

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2014

Experience during the program

I was looking for a Top-15 US school located in an inexpensive place (bye-bye New York) with specialization in General management and consulting.

Ross nicely met my expectations:
-Ann Arbor is a tiny, cheap-to-live, fun-to-be place AND it's located close to a major Delta hub so getting to see places is viable
-Facilities are new. The main building was completed in 2009 and a library complex is being constructed currently.
-Faculty are great! I really liked Finance, Corporate Accounting and Advanced Strategy courses - the professors are fantastic! On the other hand, General (Basic) Strategy, General (Basic) Accounting were quite disappointing courses
-Career Services are very weak BUT they employ 2nd year students to conduct FREE one-to-one coaching on cases, behavioral interviews, CV preparation etc. These students, being employed by top consulting and GM companies, just rock! That was by far the most useful element of my job hunting
-Brand name. In the US, everyone knows Michigan. See my note about employers

About professors, classes and curriculum

You can take ANY 2nd year Strategy course and it'll rock! Ross is a really strong school in the strategy field. At the same time, 'Soft' courses such as Leadership, Team building etc are quite weak.

About job placement process

Consulting LOVES Ross! A third of all Rossers join major and minor consulting firms. Then comes Amazon as a major employer at Ross.
Among other blue chip top employers, only a fruit-shape-logo competitor of Microsoft and Samsung did not visit the campus (yet interviewed us in person). The rest of top companies (excluding some IB names, but Ross ISNT a school for IB) come and interview on campus


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Tech
Management

Can be improved:

Career services are weak


Read More

January 26, 2016
esoteric22

Joined: Jan 12, 2011

Posts: 6

Kudos: 0

Go blue

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2013

Experience during the program

Excellent education and great network.
Pros: brand, catrier services , alumni network, quality of curriculum, action based learning
Cons: weather
Great choice for marketing, consulting, finance and general management tracks
Excellent network in the tech industry
Really good for aspiring entrepreneurs

Action based learning a big plus. In house venture capital funds, startup incubators provide great learning environment


MAP provides industry exposure and allows one to try a new industry or function

Great culture: students are collaborative , helpful and smart. Great student and alumni support network

Some of the best professors. Ability to take classes at other schools like ford school of policy or SNRE


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech

Can be improved:

Location


Read More

January 09, 2016
Eshiff

Joined: Aug 29, 2013

Posts: 5

Kudos: 5

Go Blue!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

Ross has a very tight knit community that encourages diversity and inclusion. Its focus on positive leadership and positive business is noticeable compared to other schools and employers (maybe if we train enough future leaders to be positive influences, companies down the road will change). Students are are focused on particular industries are typically successful and I don't know anyone that regrets coming back to school.

If you could call it a complaint, my only complaint is that the school is a bit pragmatic when it comes to the career search. Friends at Stanford or Harvard are told to wait for their dream job, whereas Ross pushes harder for you to take a 'good' job and have a plan B


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors


Read More

January 08, 2016
ulm

Joined: Jun 03, 2010

Posts: 113

Kudos: 212

Exactly what a business school should be

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2014

Experience during the program

Having lived in 4 different countries before coming to Michigan, I was exposed to almost every type of culture possible, different educational and work environments. I had had high expectations, and eventually the Ross School of Business helped me to make a geographical and industry switch. I can't say it was an easy journey (it was one of the most complicated actually), but I survived and deeply appreciate all the support received from peers, professors and alumni. Without them I wouldn't be able to end up in New York.

All future applicants should come prepared and not be shy to speak with alumni and people around them. Michigan Wolverines are extremely responsive and helpful -- you can certainly shoot a note not only to a b-school alum, but to any Michigan graduate and receive a response in a matter of hours/days. Because Michigan is so big, you can find a connection in virtually any company, industry or region. It's one of the most valuable assets Michigan provides you with.

I don't want to sound biased but knowing MBA alumni in different schools, I do know that Michigan should be in a top10 list. In the last couple of years, it became even stronger in the IB space and more and more folks are heading to Wall St.

About job placement process

Deloitte, Amazon, MS, Citi, Big3 and Big5 are huge here.
Every BB bank is also on campus.
Tons of opportunities to network with people in the Bay area.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Culture & Student Support
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Tech
Management

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking


Read More

December 01, 2015
mohater

Joined: Feb 05, 2008

Posts: 1830

Kudos: 1080

Self-reported Score:
610
710 Q48 V38

Excellent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2014

Experience during the program

Ross has a strong connection for people in the MBA program. It can be seen in the way the school was built to facilitate human interaction and connections.

I also found the staff to be very inviting (for the most part) and willing to engage the students on a variety of subjects, especially when it came to defending a position during a discussion.

The ranking of the MBA also makes it desirable as you find all forms of on campus recruiting regardless of what a student is interested in.

If I could suggest one thing: think very hard about what you think your interests are and then look to see who the major hiring firms are at a program. The companies with the most presence dictate a lot of the recruiting events and as such, lends to what the students are interested in. You might actually find lower ranked programs are more in line with your career aspirations when compared to higher ranked programs.

About professors, classes and curriculum

The MBA world is in a state of flux, a bubble of sorts. I feel there will be diminishing returns on the MBA program over time as more and more people obtain the MBA.

Ross has a nice niche of cross campus class, with school of public policy, natural resources, law/med school, engineering among others. This really lends a student to branch out and really experience whatever he/she is interested in. I'm very fortunate to have been part of this.

About job placement process

Mentioned above: make sure you think hard about what you want out of the MBA. It's acceptable to change your mind during the MBA program, but go in with a desired path and seek it.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (3.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school
Location

Best fit at this program:

Operations

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More