GMAT Club

Ross Michigan Reviews

MBA Program rating [30]
(4.7)

January 28, 2016
IndigoIntentions

Joined: Sep 26, 2010

Posts: 122

Kudos: 78

Self-reported Score:
760

Good program but lots of cliques

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2015

Experience during the program

Ross is a good program, but not a great program yet. Student diversity and course strength could use a lot of work.

The good:
The school does a good job of career stuff: we have career treks, enough companies engaging with students and the alumni network is large and helpful. Inspite of the easy going student culture, the students do well in courses and I was constantly surprised by my peers' grades. Some of the students have an exceptional background.

The bad:
I felt the school was very "fratty" - the culture feels like high school where everyone had their clique. There are easy divides you can easily spot - domestic/internationals, white/others etc. Ski trips where cliques choose to cohabit a house, spring break trips where predictable groups go off together to South America etc., are most visible manifestations of this divide. Further, the selection of student-led committees for school-wide activities like GBR was not transparent - it was mostly 'friends and family'.
One reason is because Michigan football has a big impact on the culture, e.g. the Bus where club members act crazy (e.g. dance on top of a bus) during football tailgates. Others who don't identify with such stuff feel alienated and either stop coming or just hang out with their own groups.

About professors, classes and curriculum

The electives are weaker compared to something like Booth or HBS. Second, most of core classes have good professors but there are still some classes like Marketing that could use better professors.

About job placement process

Most students are smart and yet, down to earth. At work, I'm surrounded by Ross alumni and I've heard first hand from senior management that Rossers bring a good general management focus unlike other schools.


Overall BSchool experience (3.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (3.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Culture & Student Support


Read More

June 08, 2017
mromain8ga

Joined: Jun 26, 2012

Posts: 0

Kudos: 1

Great MBA value

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

I'd suggest applicants take the time to visit the school. I strongly believe that this one one of the country's best MBA programs however, it is too often underestimated. The caliber of the student body, breadth of opportunities for career growth and professional development, and access to alumni and professors is key. Most schools merely give students a brand name whereas Ross gives them a sound foundation to be great leaders upon graduation.

I would recommend speaking to alums from the schools you are considering, put rankings aside, put names aside, and simply ask about experiences. I don't believe there is a comparison to the total MBA experience at Ross and after speaking with many of my peers feel this would be cooberated by them as well.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school


Read More

March 29, 2018
redfield

Could you add some commentary as to why the pretty low "Schools contribution" rating or just expand upon it a bit? You rave about the experience but then there's a pretty clear downmark.

June 01, 2017
dcg1113

Joined: Jun 01, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Ross Insights!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

The Action-Based Learning nature of the curriculum, which Ross pioneered, helped me transition as a career switcher because it gave me some practical experience which I could apply in my internship immediately. This was invaluable to the success of my internship and recruiting.

I was able to grow at Ross not only academically but also as a person. The supportive nature of the Ross community made me realize the importance of asking for and giving help. I used to rely on myself in my previous work life but quickly learned that I had some talents that were unique to myself and others had talents which helped them achieve great success.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Location
Brand/Ranking


Read More

May 31, 2017
Mksmith

Joined: May 31, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Best experience of my life

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

The best part of the Ross program has been the current students and the alumni network. I have learned so much from others and really grown. I have had amazing career opportunities in healthcare marketing and have had the chance to help being others into my career path. The social aspect of Ross really adds to the value of my degree because I have had an opportunity to truly get to know my classmates and alumni. At first, I was concerned about the location, but I have grown to respect and appreciate Ann Arbor and the healthcare opportunities it offers.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school

Best fit at this program:

Marketing

Can be improved:

Location


Read More

May 31, 2017
pierreboncy

Joined: May 30, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Know What You Want

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

I was a career switcher with only a few years of work experience in engineering, so the transition to business was definitely difficult, but the high quality and collaborative nature of the school made it a great learning experience. While Ann Arbor is definitely not known as a metro hub, it is a great environment of really getting to know your classmates without all the distractions of a big city. Most companies that you may be recruiting for will not have offices in Ann Arbor, but Ann Arbor's central location in the country make other cities on both coasts accessible for recruiting/networking.

About professors, classes and curriculum

At Ross, you have the option of accessing classes, students, and professors at several other top 10 programs thru University of Michigan. Take advantage of that network! Business school students aren't the only ones doing incredible things.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking


Read More

May 31, 2017
Xtra41

Joined: Apr 05, 2013

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Best Two Years of My Life

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2015

Experience during the program

My goal going into business school was to boost my academic acumen and transition into consulting. Michigan provided those opportunities and so much more. The culture at Michigan is such that 2nd years train 1st years and then the next class pays it back to the incoming class. So students really get the opportunity to be leaders and the school merely provides the structure and support for us to be successful. I also took every chance to study abroad and Michigan has a lot of resources around that as well. I would recommend to any incoming student to make the most of their time at Michigan, step outside their comfort zone, and definitely go to as many football games as possible.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)
Finance


Read More

May 31, 2017
meeeshelleee

Joined: Nov 06, 2013

Posts: 10

Kudos: 5

Best decision I've ever made

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2014

Experience during the program

I went to business school for an incredible transformative experience and I got more than I asked for. At Ross, I had classmates from all over the world offering unique perspectives I would have never had access to otherwise. I was able to attend class with world renowned professors who's lectures still resonate with me today. My classmates continue to inspire me everyday with the work they've been doing after graduation. I've often said that even if I didn't have a job today, I would still think the experience was worth every penny. I feel super lucky to be part of this amazing network.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

May 31, 2017
ATolbert2137

Joined: May 31, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Going Blue

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

Having an idea of what you want to gain from going to school is great, whether it be skills, career aspirations, or expanding your network, but not all student walk into school with complete clarity in their next steps post business school. Ross excels in providing students the opportunity to try new ventures, test the boundaries of realities, inside and outside of the classroom. Also, Ross excels at providing a diverse body that is there to support, encourage, and challenge you every step of the way. I walked in school knowing what I wanted to do, which was a huge benefit because it allowed me to focus on developing skills and partaking in some of the opportunities the school offers through their institutes and global programs. There are so many opportunities available, so many that you are unfortunately unable to do everything. And while I wish I had done more (only by virtue of more time could I have done more) I walked out of school prepared academically and professionally (through developed skills); well connected to my classmates, friends, and alumni; ready and able to re-enter the workforce.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking


Read More

May 31, 2017
albertoarguello

Joined: May 31, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Ross MBA

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

The MBA program at Ross exceeded my expectations. I truly enjoyed every single aspect of the program, from the extraordinary professors, to my classmates, to the action-based mentality. It was a very humbling experience since I always felt like I was the least smart person in any team, yet everyone was always extremely helpful and nice. The program has an excellent mix of action-based learning with unique experiences such as MAP and regular cases. The alumni network is also amazing and every alumni I have emailed has responded very quickly and has been eager to help in any way. Recruiting was a little stressful as it always is, but the wide variety of companies that recruited at Ross made it easy to secure a great spot for both internship as well as full-time. I would not change my MBA at Ross for any other.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Operations

Can be improved:

Location


Read More

May 31, 2017
wgtaylor

Joined: Aug 04, 2013

Posts: 3

Kudos: 0

Great Ross Experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Ross Michigan

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

Every top MBA school will offer you a great education and career opportunities, but Ross differentiated itself through the student culture and experience, making us feel like a family. My fellow classmates were an invaluable resource as I underwent my journey to change careers and successfully recruit consulting as well as succeed in my coursework and extra curricular activities​. The Ross experience takes students beyond the classrooms with the emphasis on action-based learning and the MTREK and MAP experiences were exceptional. I would suggest future applicants to visit the school and experience the family as I have before choosing school solely on rank.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Ryan Ball is the best accounting teacher there is. He had been eager to take the class final. Also take the joint class offered by Bill Hall / Jeff Sinclair. Best capstone course for an MBA.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking


Read More