GMAT Club

Daniel Richards Reviews

Company: mbaMission

With over a decade of MBA admissions experience, Daniel Richards has earned more than 50 five-star reviews on GMAT Club and assisted hundreds of clients in pursuing their business school goals. Dan himself holds a MBA from Columbia Business School (CBS), with a focus on marketing and corporate strategy, in addition to a BA in journalism from Northwestern University.

A former writer and editor for several print and online publications, Dan spent three years as the retail and consumer packaged goods editor for SmartBrief, Inc., a publishing company specializing in email newsletters for trade associations. His clients at SmartBrief included the U.S. Chamber of Commerce and the National Retail Federation.

While at CBS, Dan was active in the Marketing Association and was elected by his cluster to represent the group in alumni development activities. He developed an expertise in digital marketing and strategy and in social media while working in online marketing and product development at American Express in New York City. There, he designed and released the first American Express social media app, managed a company-wide Innovation Challenge, and relaunched a small business email newsletter that reached one million customers. He also managed the online marketing strategy for the first-ever Small Business Saturday—a complex, multichannel event credited with having the fastest-growing Facebook page in history. Dan lives with his family in Washington, DC.

4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 69 reviews
September 12, 2019
dmkcmj14

Joined: Sep 05, 2019

Posts: 1

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
700 Q43 V42

Daniel Richards - Highly Recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I would highly recommend both mbaMission and the specific consultant I utilized (Daniel Richards) for perspective MBA applicants.

The Beginning: I set up free consultations with 3 consultants at 3 different firms based on reviews. Dan was the first consultant I spoke to and the other 2 didn't come close to meeting his bar - Dan made sure to make our free consultation about ME, my needs, my interests, he provided me with a solid action plan and recommendations going forward. The other two agencies spent the 30 minutes selling me on their services in a generic pitch.

The Middle: After hiring Dan he provided me with excellent recommendations and feedback from each part of the application - from ironing out my post-MBA goals, to helping me select schools, to meeting with me in person (he's in DC, i'm in NYC), writing (MANY) rounds of essays, and everything in between. All of our communication was quick, straight forward, specific, and actionable. Dan is not afraid to be blunt in his feedback which I personally appreciated greatly - the purpose of a consultant is not to build up your ego but to be realistic and help you present the best version of yourself in an application, which Dan does beautifully.

The End: Came sooner than expected for me because I was accepted into my top choice program which was my first application! Throughout the entire processes and while (impatiently) waiting for a rolling application decision Dan was reassuring. Every single piece of advice and timing estimates from schools he provided was spot on. When deciding if I should continue applying to alternate programs he provided extremely realistic and honest feedback.

Working with Dan and mbaMission eased the arduous task of applying to top tier MBA programs in Round 1. Moreover, while waiting for a decision Dan would check in which truly made me feel like we were in this together. I sincerely thank mbaMission and specifically Dan for a wonderful experience!

Tip - if you're going to work with a consultant start early. I began in February for summer-2019 applications which allowed us plenty of time to talk about things I could change, i.e. taking the HBS CORe course before applications started

Read More

August 29, 2019
avc1234

Joined: Aug 29, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Dan Richards - Highly Recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Dan was so great to work with!! He really helped me think about my story and how everything came together. I applied a little last minute for a part-time program starting this Fall, and Dan and I put together a timeline that we kept to very closely. Dan also was very flexible - he has a planned vacation when I needed to make progress on my application, but made sure a colleague of his could help me while he was out, and he picked right back up when he came back. It was really appreciated and I got into the program I wanted to!

I highly recommend Dan - super nice, understanding, flexible, and supportive!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 04, 2019
testtaker11111

Joined: Jun 04, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q46 V42

Great admissions and writing coach

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Dan on a Complete Start-to-Finish Package for two schools during the Fall of 2018. Coming from a purely engineering background, I was not very “in the know” about business schools and was looking for someone with both insight and strong written skills to help me navigate my applications. After initial calls with consultants at the main admissions consulting companies, I selected Dan because I found it incredibly easy to talk candidly with him and because I knew his background in marketing and journalism would help bring out my best “story”.
I couldn’t have been happier as I got into my first-choice school (HSW) thanks to Dan’s help. Specifically, I found Dan to stand out in a couple of ways:
Responsiveness: Despite me sending countless revisions of my essays and short answers, Dan almost always got back before the 2-day response time. He was quick to answer emails and was always able to work with me and my hectic work/travel schedule to find a time if we needed to jump on a call. His feedback was both actionable and prompt, and he held me accountable to the tight internal deadlines we set. Also, Dan was good at communicating his own travel and personal plans, so we were always aware of his availability.
Coaching: Dan helped me decide what angle to approach the applications from, hone my initial brainstorming, and was very candid about what was working and what was not during drafts and my mock interview. As application deadlines rolled near, Dan was always level-headed and let me know when I was overthinking things, helping assuage my last-minute nervousness and be confident in the applications.
Written Skills: I think this is where Dan added the most value for me since essays are really the differentiator amongst thousands of amazing candidates for top business schools. From selecting the best essay outlines and strategy, to overcoming writer’s block on a total re-write, to cutting, crafting, and rearranging minutae, Dan helped me craft and present the best version of myself and my aspirations. As an engineer, I had not written a serious essay for many years and Dan really helped to improve my writing.
I highly recommend Dan to anyone interested in applying to business schools.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 17, 2019
nyc201

Joined: May 17, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly Recommend Daniel Richards

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Dan Richards on three schools and he was extremely helpful and professional. He made the process a lot less stressful and helped me get into my goal school and then some. I highly recommend using him. He keeps you on track and focused to make sure you are ready to submit for the deadlines but is not overbearing. Lastly, and maybe most importantly, he really prepared me for the interview stage with his mock interviews. This is a crucial step and practicing with him gave me a lot of confidence. We went through a whole list of questions and because of the mock with him, the actual interview that day was a breeze.

Read More

May 13, 2019
fvoci

Joined: Dec 26, 2016

Posts: 34

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
610 Q41 V33
710 Q47 V40
710 Q45 V41

mbaMission + Daniel Richards = Gold

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Results: Admitted to Stern R2

Review: 5/5 stars

Daniel helped me through my application process by helping me craft an appealing narrative, through a methodological discovery process. He plays the role of a trusted advisor diligently since he is not afraid of providing honest feedback.


His process is very straightforward and involved. While he enables the applicant to be the primary narrator for his/her story, Daniel provides valuable insight which is critical for success.

I have since recommended Daniel and mbaMission to many friends and will continue to do so going forward.

Adjectives I would use describe Dan: Honest, diligent, insightful, and funny (sometimes)

Thanks again.

Read More

May 10, 2019
shah8

Joined: Jul 24, 2017

Posts: 81

Kudos: 9

Self-reported Score:
710

Dan is the Man Friday you NEED

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Dan Richards worked with me on interview prep and waitlist responses for two top 15 schools. In short, he was a straightforward yet optimistic cheerleader who gave me clear answers and kept me from coming undone, during this very stressful period. He was so pointed with his recommendations that it left me little to figure out on my own. He also prepped me to succeed in a brutal 2 hour business school interview so I think he really knows his stuff. He answered emails in a timely manner and never left me hanging. He was also unafraid to volunteer his own MBA experiences to help me navigate the application process. Therefore, in summary, I couldn't recommend Dan enough.

Read More

March 19, 2019
catch121590

Joined: Nov 18, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Dan Richards - Highly Recommended

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was referred to Dan by a friend and used him on an hourly basis for my applications. He was absolutely fantastic throughout the entire process. He was always honest (which I really appreciated), helpful, and responsive. Dan molded my essays and made them that much more detailed, poignant, and meaningful. For my resume, Dan transformed what I thought to be a polished resume to a business school resume ready to be submitted. Throughout the revision process, it was clear to me that Dan's suggestions and feedback were worthwhile to my entire application. Dan consistently set realistic expectations and guided me through a constructive timeline. In the end, I got into my top choice, and I know that I could not have done it without Dan's help. I would recommend him to anyone interested in applying to business school.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 04, 2019
kkb123

Joined: Jan 04, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Dan R Is a Dream!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was recently admitted to Wharton R1, which would not have done it without the help and support of Dan Richards.

I began working with Dan in February. From the beginning, he was an invaluable resource and advocate who I was thankful to have in my corner throughout the overwhelming and time-consuming application process. We began working together early on in the application process, and he started by helping me narrow down my target list. Upon completing the brainstorming document, which became my foundation throughout the entire process, Dan carefully helped me position my candidacy. Dan pushed me to connect the dots into a compelling story. In doing so, he helped guide me through the essay process, crafting strong essays that added to my story while addressing key themes. Having Dan there to help edit and tighten the language was invaluable, and my application was so much stronger as a result. He was straightforward and critical, which helped me and my application monumentally.

No task was too mundane or question too small for Dan. He read through all of my in-application, short answer responses and also did a last read on my final application. Dan answered my multitude of questions with great patience and sincerity.

Additionally, Dan’s guidance in updating my resume to be more results-oriented was a game-changer. He pushed me to quantify the results and make it more action-forward, which was critical to my success and will continue to serve me well long after school.

Finally, Dan was incredibly quick in his responses. He often delivered feedback, including substantial essay edits, in a fraction of the typical MBA Mission turnaround window. I am incredibly thankful for his responsiveness and punctuality. It certainly helped move the process along and made things much less stressful.

Dan made what can be an overwhelming, exhausting and intense process a lot less painful. It was nice to have an advocate, an advisor and another person to bounce ideas off of throughout the process. While half the battle was done long before I made the decision to apply, I would not have achieved my goals without Dan. I am forever grateful to him and could not recommend him or his services. He cares about his clients and will help get you in to the top MBA programs of your dreams!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 19, 2018
nokia1200

Joined: May 09, 2012

Posts: 26

Kudos: 13

Verified score:
Canceled

Excellent services

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I am writing to give my recommendation to Dan at mbaMission. He is straightforward, efficient, and reliable.

He was recommended by my friend, who got into Kellogg with a big scholarship.

Dan was excellent at finding strong and unique points of my story to reflect them in my application. He is also very critical and don't expect him to sugarcoat his comments about your application, which is a good thing and I enjoyed working with him. I got accepted to Booth, Tuck, and was able to leverage his recommendation to get accepted by some other schools that I applied by myself.

I am happy with his services and would totally recommend Dan to any applicants.

Read More

December 17, 2018
EmilyG2015

Joined: Dec 17, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Patient and Encouraging Advisors!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was referred to mbaMission through a friend who'd applied a few years before me. I didn't yet know anything about the MBA app process, and even before I committed to the package my (future) tutor Dan Richards took the time to lay everything out for me and explain what I could expect. Throughout the process of working with him he was patient, encouraging, and most importantly honest with me - Dan was very honest about where he thought I'd fit in and be happy, as well as where he thought I could stretch to. He also gave very concrete steps I could take to make myself a better applicant and portray my best story. Lastly, the greatest benefit I received from Dan was connections - he made sure to connect me with current or former students from my target schools, so I could learn more, feel comfortable, and have great stories to tell in interviews. Having access to former clients at top schools is a serious plus. I highly recommend Dan and have had an overall excellent experience!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

29 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Daniel Richards