GMAT Club

Kathryn Lucas Reviews

Company: Square One Prep


4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 158 reviews
January 03, 2019
afurlot

Joined: May 15, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
780 Q50 V48

Square One and in particular Kathryn are outstanding

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I chose Kathryn from a number of different potential options because of her philosophy, focusing on bringing out an individual's personality. Over the course of just a few conversations she got to the root of who I am as a person, my motivations and goals, and made me realise things I didn't even know myself. I valued her insight and analysis as well as her candour, making very clear her view on any particular issue and what would be the best way to proceed, drawing on her extensive and unrivaled body of experience.

I went being rejected without interview from four schools to applying to the same four schools with two offers, including one scholarship. Kathryn was absolutely instrumental in this.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 31, 2018
egordon

Joined: Dec 31, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q46 V42

Amazing Results!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

The MBA journey was a tough one for me. After an unsuccessful attempt last year (I applied 4 schools with no interviews), I decided to work with Kathryn for a second attempt. Not only did Kathryn work tirelessly with me to put together the best materials possible, I felt like she was genuinely invested in my success.

Given that MBA applications are time consuming and extremely introspective, it's important to work with an adviser who brings both compassion and advanced expertise to the process.

Thanks to Kathryn's help, I secured interviews at all 5 schools I applied to, with acceptances from Columbia, Ross (full scholarship) and Fuqua (70% scholarship). This outcome exceeded my expectations, and I cannot thank Kathryn and SOP for making it a reality!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 28, 2018
r1991k

Joined: Dec 28, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q47 V40

Kathryn and SquareOnePrep - Highly Recommended!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Applying to business school is a stressful and involved process, which can easily take up months of your time if you don’t have the right guidance. I could not be more glad about choosing to work with Kathryn, who not only made much easier and less-stressful, but also constantly pushed me to achieve the best version of the story I wanted to tell.

I can bucket the advantages of working with Kathryn into two parts - one, process and two, content development. On the first, Kathryn had broken my application journey into a series of concrete and achievable goals, taking me through various elements of Resume, Career Narrative, Essays, App, LoRs and Interview prep in a manner that it never got too stressful or out of control. I also had the comfort her always being prompt and easy to reach for advice and turn-arounds, while she dealt very patiently with my one-too-many versions of essays!

On content development, Kathryn contributed meaningfully to helping me shape my story. While she helped me structure my thoughts and delve deeper into my experiences, she was also open to my pushing back on things I felt strongly about. The end result was that my final essays were truly, honestly, a reflection of me, and I couldn’t be happier with what we submitted.

I am admitted into two of my top schools, and I have Kathryn and SquareOnePrep to thank for that! I highly recommend working with Kathryn to any aspiring business school applicant!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 28, 2018
JT627

Joined: Aug 29, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q48 V37

Excellent Service

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

cannot thank Kathryn and her team enough for guiding me through the application process. Day in and day out, the team put forth 100% effort to help put me in the best possible position to succeed. Kathryn and my personal advisor, Rob, were not afraid to challenge me and always told me what I needed to hear, rather than what I wanted to hear. Their prompt reviews and valuable insights into my application were much appreciated, and their relentless pursuit of excellence did not go unnoticed.

Most importantly, the team produced results. Not only did I get into a great MBA program, I was accepted to my first choice, which is awesome. Initially, I was unsure whether using a consultant would be worth it, but looking back I'm very glad I did. Being accepted to a top MBA program was a huge step in my career, and the Square One team pushed me and made sure I put my absolute best effort into my application. I trusted the process, and I encourage anyone who is looking for an MBA to do the same.

Read More

June 27, 2018
Raammm

Joined: Apr 27, 2017

Posts: 9

Kudos: 1

Highly professional and skilled admission consultants

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

It was an amazing experience to work with Kathryn and Vanessa for my business school admission process. I received some great admission offers with big scholarships. My profile was very complicated because of my age and a lay-off at work, but Kathryn handled it very tactfully and ensured that the positive aspects of my profile were showcased vividly.
I could confidently talk during my interviews because Kathryn and Vanessa helped me understand my own life experiences and craft a genuine, coherent story around them. Kathryn was always accessible and passionate to help pretty much 24x7; I cannot remember a time when I needed Kathryn’s input and I had to wait more than a couple hours (usually she responded within a few minutes). I had some great discussions with Kathryn and Vanessa to understand how to write business school essays. Once I wrote the first draft, they thoroughly checked it and provided input on how I could further enhance it.
Kathryn’s honest and straight-forward personality was a major factor in my successful business school admission process. She provided honest input on my weaknesses (no sugar coating!) and limitations. I could craft a realistic and practical strategy to target the right schools because of Kathryn’s invaluable input.
I would highly recommend working with SquareOne prep if you are looking for a great success in your business school application process!

Read More

May 30, 2018
rtroika

Joined: Feb 28, 2010

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Review by an international applicant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I had a pleasure to work directly with Kathryn on four applications to HBS, Wharton, Columbia, and Booth. An international student, I knew that despite an appropriate work background and good test scores, I had to deliver comprehensive and well-rounded written applications. That said, I had no concerns about interview stage. My goal was to come up with tight and neat essays, properly marketing my profile and story.

Those applying to HBS know that the school is quite random when it comes down to international students (particularly, HBS is notoriously known for admitting people from consulting from CEE, not IB/PE, for example), so I knew beforehand that there was no one to blame if I were dinged. However, I was positive that Kathryn and I could give the best shot to three other schools.

As a result, I was admitted to one of those three schools in R2 with 70k fellowship.

Due diligence: I reached to over 22 top consultants, finally choosing to work with Kathryn because of her experience with PE applicants, and because she identified key improvement areas with my profile during our initial consultation call (which made perfect sense to me – which was not the case with most other consultants)

Applications: due to time constraints (GMAT passed in early Dec), we had to work very fast given R2 deadlines. Kathryn was very accommodating of any requests and concerns I had, while she kept all work streams under her control to make sure I submitted applications on time. On average, turnaround time of files was less than 24 hours (1-2 days for first heavy edits), even as we moved closer to January. One of the things that I appreciate in Kathryn is her ability to push you out of the comfort zone (I didn’t want to do that extra work, but it was necessary for future success) while being very delicate and open to suggestions.

Interview: Kathryn supported me from Day 1, after interview invitations started arriving, offering two full-scale mock interviews and tons of interview tips. For Wharton team-based discussion task, Kathryn was very much involved in challenging my ideas to make sure that I came to the discussion well-prepared.

I believe that the quality of work and support that Kathryn offered was one of the best on the market. The actual experience was very smooth, and I’m glad I had Kathryn on board during my MBA journey.

Read More

May 26, 2018
123498765

Joined: May 26, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly Recommended!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

When I first reached out to Kathryn, I was ready to submit my applications for Round 1. I was working with another consultant in Brazil and thought I had everything ready, but wanted just to "double check" with that 30 minutes free consultation. Kathryn was extremely honest, literally saying I would not get anywhere with what I had, and I loved it! I knew I could do a lot better. I realized I needed someone that truly pushed me to the limits and was absolutely honest about my work. I decided to postpone the submission of my application for Round 2 and worked with Kathryn and Lara on my complete application. I got exactly what I wanted as both of them really made me get the best out of me! Trust me, you will not rest until you can do your best. This is what makes a difference. My written applications were outstanding. I got an interview for the 6 programs I applied to (Booth, Kellogg, Wharton, Yale, Berkeley and Stanford), and I am sure that my essays were great because Lara and Kathryn worked tirelessly with me to make them great. They would both write down things such as "this makes no sense", "sorry but I do not buy it for a second". You read first, get sort of angry, and then totally agree and change it, until it is a piece of art! I got admitted in 5/6 and with large scholarships in 3 of them.

Besides their professionalism, I must say that Kathryn and Lara's availability and quick response time is outstanding! They really do care about helping you out and answering your questions as soon as possible. Round 2 can be pretty stressful because deadlines are right after Christmas holidays. Having both of them answering my e-mails and reviewing my essays through this time is just an example of how committed they are!

I recommend square one prep with my eyes closed and will be forever grateful to Lara and Kathryn for the work they put together with me to get to my dream school.

Read More

May 18, 2018
AmyYi

Joined: May 18, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q50 V36

Success guaranteed consulting service

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I felt lucky that I talked with Kathryn in the darkest time when I had least confidence for myself and hesitated for
the MBA application. When Kathryn told me in that late night call that I could be successful, I saw a light shining
in the darkness. Her sharpness and intelligence are also quite impressive. I knew from the moment she is the
right consultant to work with.
They best part I like Squareone is that I basically have two professional consultants working for me. Both
Kathryn and Jeannice knew where to spend time and how to focus on the most important things. They kept
polishing my idea till it makes sense. It is a rewarding process far beyond putting together application package.
I learned a lot about myself and sharpened my focus in life through the process.
Thank you Squareone. Best MBA consultant ever!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 22, 2018
aaazzz

Joined: Apr 22, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

Go with Square One Prep and Kathryn Lucas!!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Navigating the MBA application process can be very intimidating but Kathryn provided exactly what I needed to get through it. Helping to craft my application strategy, to answering my numerous questions, she was always extremely responsive. In a process that requires you to uncover your personal weaknesses, goals, strengths, and dreams, Kathryn was incredibly easy to talk to and knew exactly what to do with the information that I was telling her, which was incredibly important. There were bumps along the road, and weaknesses that we had to
address, but she was insightful and intuitive to help me develop a strategy that made my strengths as strong as possible. With her help, I applied to 5 schools (including 1 of the 2 top schools) and got accepted to ALL including my top choice program and was offered bursaries/scholarships for 3!

She has bolstered my confidence and provided a larger sense of context regarding the applicant pool, giving me a sense of where I stood; tailored for each school and constantly reinforced my goals and helped me focus on telling my story in a way that best represented my true voice. Together we brainstormed a few options and jointly developed very strong points on how I should write my essays. Thanks to the mock interviews with Kathryn, I felt extremely confident at the interviews and I was able to put my best foot forward. I have no doubt that without her dedication, hard work, and commitment, the entire application process would have been far
more difficult and challenging.

Her initial assessment of my case provided me invaluable advice that gave me a clear direction on how to work toward completing the requirements. She reviewed my essays and gave me great pointers throughout the process and as a result, the essays clearly defined my goal and the reason for pursuing an MBA.

As someone who initially spent a great deal of time contemplating the benefits of investing in an admissions
consultant, I am now completely satisfied with that investment; additionally, I believe that working with SquareOnePrep and especially Kathryn, albeit a pretty rigorous experience - yielded incredible results.

I appreciate the strategic, consistent, detail-oriented approach Kathryn took throughout the process. I highly recommend SquareOnePrep.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 13, 2018
lmp2180

Joined: Apr 13, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q47 V41

Nontraditional background accepted to my top 2 schools!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Kathryn and Square One Prep are single-handedly the reason why I had a successful run with my business school application process. Coming from a non-traditional background in entertainment and television production, I didn’t think I was “business school material” at the beginning. Kathryn gave me both the confidence and the tools to move forward with my applications.

There’s an art to these applications that Kathryn and her team understand better than anyone else – certainly better than I did. She helped me construct a narrative around both my career path and future goals that stayed true to myself but also helped turn me into a great candidate. From resume creation to essay brainstorming and revisions, they truly help you become the best applicant that you can be. Additionally, I found her mock interview prep to be crucially helpful. She prepares you in such a thorough manner that I knew I was getting the best advice possible.

I would recommend Kathryn and any member of her team to anyone who is as bewildered by the initial MBA application process as I was. Their system is straightforward, meaningful and incredibly effective for getting applicants into the best schools possible. When you work with Square One Prep, you will get the most personalized and detailed help available to help you reach your end goals. With Kathryn's help, I got into both Columbia Business School as well as a dual degree MBA/MFA program at Stern and Tisch that only accepts 5 people a year! I can't recommend them more highly.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

68 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Kathryn Lucas