GMAT Club

Malvina Miller Complainville Reviews

Company: Fortuna Admissions

Malvina has an extensive background in recruitment and career development having worked at Harvard Business School (HBS) as the Assistant Director of Careers Services, and in the corporate world with LVMH, L’Oreal USA.

At HBS Malvina worked in Career Services and led the Programs and Communication team, developing career development programs for HBS students. In this capacity, Malvina also provided hundreds of hours of one-on-one career coaching to HBS students. Her article in Forbes, ‘10 Tips For Acing The MBA Interview‘, has been viewed over 70,000 times, and she was invited by the Financial Times to share her interview expertise in the video you can see below.

At L’Oreal USA, Malvina was head of Talent for the Luxury Products Division and in this role her responsibilities included full-time and intern MBA selection as well as designing and heading the Marketing Management Development Program for Luxury. Malvina’s role then expanded to lead the marketing campus recruitment initiative for L’Oreal USA.

Malvina graduated from Vassar College in psychology (1995), and holds a Master of Human Resources from Universite Paris V (1999).

5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 10 reviews
March 07, 2021
Visiativity

Joined: Sep 05, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
730 Q50 V38

Great coach, highly recommended!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had an excellent experience working with Malvina. As a reapplicant, I can tell her feedback on my applications really made a difference. Her insights about the schools helped me submit authentic, high-quality applications and thanks to her detailed feedback on our mock interview, I felt very well prepared for the real one. In addition to being very professional, Malvina was also a pleasure to work with, always delivering feedback in a very kind and supportive way, and providing guidance throughout the entire process. In the end, I secured an offer from my top choice school. I very much recommend working with her!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 15, 2021
dsfl23123

Joined: Jan 15, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Amazing coach! Go for her!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Working with Malvina has been a fantastic experience. I was a reapplicant (rejected without interview), coming from an over-represented background to being accepted into a top-tier program. She spent countless hours reviewing my essays and application questions and guided me as I doubted each answer. When I struggled to figure out what I am trying to convey, she helped me understand the nuances of the questions I am answering and how to best differentiate myself. During my interviews, she worked tirelessly to conduct mock interviews (and she was tough!) so that I am well-prepared for any question that I tackle. I would highly recommend her.

Read More

May 07, 2019
bec0426

Joined: Aug 24, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

HIGHLY RECOMMEND - ADMITTED TO WHARTON WITH $$

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Karla, Malvina, and Judith on my applications. I highly recommend this team! I was accepted to Wharton with a significant fellowship. I could not have done it without them. They spent countless hours reviewing my resume and essays. Their feedback was always spot on and truly shaped the way I presented myself in my applications. They also performed mock interviews that greatly increased my confidence.

I looked at several other consulting firms prior to selecting Fortuna. I am so glad I made the decision that I did. Their attention to detail, dedicated attention, and expertise is second to none.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 23, 2018
mindyh

Joined: Dec 23, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Extremely helpful and committed. 100% Recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I didn't have the chance to work with Malvina on my applications, but had the pleasure of her help on my HBS interview. Despite her being located in London, she was highly responsive and flexible in accommodating to my work schedule to speak with me on the phone and answer my questions. Malvina was extremely knowledgeable of the HBS interview and was able to make the whole prep process very tailored. Based on my application, she was able to suggest areas of my profile I should highlight, what the interviewer may ask, and how to respond to those questions. The interview process is daunting, but Malvina was patient and honest yet supportive which made it all the more enjoyable. I couldn't have gotten into HBS without her help and I 100% would recommend Malvina!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 03, 2018
keekaroo

Joined: Jan 08, 2017

Posts: 2

Kudos: 2

Self-reported Score:
760 Q48 V48

Encouraging, Kind and Knowledgable - Highly Recommended

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I looked to Fortuna for help with my HBS admissions process after I was deferred in Round 1. I was paired with Malvina for interview coaching, and I really couldn't have asked for a better guide. She was compassionate in approaching the often stressful process of interview prep, and curious to understand me as an applicant. Moreover, she was clearly very knowledgable about the subject matter of HBS, and what specifically defines their interview process.

We started our coaching with an introductory call in which she sought to better understand my application and goals, while also providing a thorough summary of what I should expect in my interview (a robust written guide with tips and practice questions was also provided). She followed up with an hour-long practice interview with specific questions tailored to my background and the "HBS way." I'd note that there was an incredible amount of overlap between the questions she asked in my practice interview, and the questions asked in my actual interview, which allowed me to feel confident and well-prepared.

I engaged her services for the post-interview reflection as well, where she continued to offer incredibly useful support and direction.

In the end, I received offers to HBS and Wharton, and certainly feel that I have Malvina to thank!

Read More

February 04, 2018
lucila

Joined: Dec 26, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Optimistic, honest and encouraging interview prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Malvina to prep for the Harvard Business School interview. She was great! Malvina was honest about the challenges that I would face, but she was also very encouraging. Ultimately, Malvina made me feel confident in bringing my authentic self to the table. Her feedback after our mock interview was very detailed. The mock interview and debrief helped me work through the natural nerves that came up throughout the process. I would recommend working with Malvina to anyone who can afford the investment and just wants more opportunities for practice and constructive feedback. It is definitely a privilege!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 24, 2017
Tel3768

Joined: Oct 17, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great coach!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Malvina was absolutely brilliant to work with and I would highly recommend her to anyone applying to top business schools. She was always available to offer in-depth guidance (even at very short notice and just before imminent deadlines) and provide reassurance. She has a deep knowledge of the inner workings of top schools and I have no doubt that I wouldn't have been anywhere near as successful with my applications had it not been for her. I would highly recommend her to anybody considering applying to business school, especially international students for whom the whole process can be quite unfamiliar.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 03, 2017
arghhenemy

Joined: Jun 20, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q47 V44

Admitted to GSB and Yale!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I started searching for a company to work with several months prior accepting an offer from Fortuna Admissions. What amazed me about Fortuna Admissions was their expertise and excellent team of coaches with incredible background and expertise.

After initial calls with the company’s head Matt Symonds, I was assigned to work with Malvina. And I must say that that was one of the best experiences I have ever had in my life working with someone. Malvina was an incredible person, coach and mentor who pushed me towards my goal of entering the best MBA program.

Malvina was always there, whenever I needed help and guidance. From the first call we started brainstorming my story and narrative. She helped me to open my eyes on many things, including what makes me special among other qualified peers applying to business schools. We were able to build a unique story highlighting my strengths and adequately addressing my weaknesses. Throughout the span of 8 months, Malvina was my mentor that not only helped me to build a story for business schools but also helped me to discover myself. With what she helped me – helping discover myself and what truly makes me who I am – was and will be an invaluable experience that I will carry from now on. I am extremely grateful and lucky that I had this incredible opportunity of working with Malvina. At the end, I was admitted to GSB and Yale where I hope to accomplish my life goals… thanks to Malvina. I have no idea what would have happened without Malvina. I am so thankful to her and cannot fully express my appreciation for what Malvina helped me to accomplish.

Read More

December 31, 2016
BE123321

Joined: Sep 22, 2015

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Admitted to HBS thanks to Malvina

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I decided to work with an MBA admissions coach 12 weeks before the HBS Round 1 application deadline.
From the first minute of my 1,5h application kick-off call with HBS expert Malvina, I felt that she shared my desire to win. I felt so lucky to work with someone who is passionate about coaching, and even though we would only spend 8 hours together, Malvina clearly considered my application her Full-Time job. Malvina developed a highly customized essay framework based on the “key selling points” that she had identified from my responses to the “Fortuna questionnaire”. Already during my second call, I felt like if Malvina had known me for over 20 years. Between our calls, Malvina reflected in depth on my application and thanks to her excellent essay editing skills and her continuous availability, we managed to come up with a picture-perfect essay in less than four weeks.
Malvina also played a crucial role in helping me to complete the application questionnaire (employment history, additional information, etc) and to select the right recommenders.
The interview-prep call with Malvina was very similar to the actual interview, and she shared extremely valuable HBS insider tips that no-one else (eg. HBS alumni,…) would provide me. Working with Malvina - who knows HBS inside out - really made the difference.
Five months after I started working with Fortuna, I can call myself a proud HBS admit, and I don’t know how I would have done without Malvina’s help.

Read More

July 17, 2016
ns2016

Joined: Jul 06, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
780 Q50 V48

Excellent Access, Professional Counselors

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After working with Malvina and Judith over several months, I can definitely say that Fortuna shines in the following two regards:

1) Approachability – In order to get the best essays out of you, you have to feel comfortable bouncing ideas back and forth with your counselors. I had a million questions regarding my applications, essays and interviews, and never had any qualms about emailing or setting up a skype call with Malvina and Judith. They were prompt and gave me useful, direct advice based on their years of experience.

2) Interview prep – Fortuna not only gave me access to dozens of school-specific interview questions but also connected me with alumni and a prior admissions officer to schedule multiple practice interviews. As someone with little to no connection to any of my target schools, this access was invaluable.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.