GMAT Club

Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person Reviews

Kaplan’s most popular option offers targeted and focused prep designed for students who need to balance a complete course with their busy lifestyles. For students who want complete prep in a concentrated amount of time. Nine in-person classroom sessions paired with extensive out-of-class instructional resources and practice.

Save $217 on Kaplan courses + $250 bonus savings
4.3 /5 Average Rating
5 star
2
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 6 reviews
May 06, 2018
chadgruzin

Joined: May 06, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q48 V40

Great course!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person

Location Washington, DC USA

Loved my Kaplan course! Instructor was great and always stayed late to answer questions for us. The course moved my score up 50 points and taught me trick I would not have figured out on my own. Definitely utilize the test day experience because it was the most helpful part! After my course experience I am applying to Harvard Business School's 2+2 program where I received an interview. The online experience was great as well! The QBank allows you to answer questions that you are struggling with and focus on specific types of questions. Also there is data that tracks the question types you are getting wrong as well as several practice exams all included in the cost of the course! Overall I would definitely recommend taking this course with Kaplan.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 20, 2017
sasyaharry

Joined: Nov 22, 2016

Posts: 202

Kudos: 135

Good test of your commitment

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person

Instructor Kris Park

Location San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA

Firstly, Kaplan offers many options all over San Jose for GMAT in person prep. I choose the Palo alto high school location since a closer location was unavailable.
For some reason the course I had picked was changed at the last minute and a new course code was assigned. Nothing else changed.
The materials from Kaplan arrived on time and included their GMAT premier course book, a pocket guide and admissions guide. The package also included a pad similar to the on you will get test day and a marker pen.
Our tutor was Kris Park. He broke up the prep into various segments and would always give us a summary of what we would be learning on any given day. The class was an eclectic mix of people from various backgrounds. The classes were held from 6:30 to 9:30 PM. Taking this class in winter meant walking in pitch darkness from the class room to the school parking lot. On the flip side the school was quite during those hours. Also, the room was very hard to find on the first day, specially in the dark. Some more planning like placement of signs would have helped.

The course itself had many facets. The Kaplan flex sessions were helpful in receiving targeted help. The online content was good to recapitulate what you had learnt. The tests were a bit on the harder side in my opinion. What I suggest is not to take these CAT scores as gold standard. You have some room, if you know what i mean.

My only gripe with Kaplan is that their content is not available for a longer duration. 6 months is too less. Taking into consideration the prep time and possible retest, students should have at least 12 months access.

Overall I did benefit from interacting with real people and these live sessions may or may not be your cup of tea. There is no way that the tutor can cover everything in the book and this means you must use your time with the tutor wisely.

Read More

December 08, 2016
NoNameUser111

Joined: Oct 29, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q49 V39

Terrific for Working Professionals

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person

Instructor Meghan Ferrer

Location Princeton, NJ USA

I joined the Kaplan in person course to help me prepare for GMAT. I have a job that requires a lot of travel and I joined the course to help me plan and prepare for my exam. The materials were good (they can be better organized, though). However, the tutor we had (Meghan) was really good and helped us use the materials better and was especially terrific at pointing out patterns and study tips. The class timings were well designed for working professionals.

Meghan was professional, well prepared for each class and went out of the way to cater to the various students in class, each at a different point of their GMAT preparation timeline. Based on what I heard and read (from other review sites), Meghan exceeded my expectations on the value I will get from the class.

The course center in Parsippany, NJ could have been better (white boards did not work).

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 10, 2017
August 26, 2016
KalleeAmara

Joined: May 16, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V44

Kaplan - More Than Sufficient, Less Than Excellent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person

Instructor Shipman

Location Miami, FL USA

In my experience as a first time test taker, Kaplan's in person prep course was more than enough to meet most of my needs. I found their strategies helpful, they completely took away all uncertainty in regards to the test, and the course greatly improved my quantitative skills. There were two factors in particular that I think set Kaplan apart in a positive way. 1) Their online resources are extensive and accurate; they provide more practice questions than I could imagine getting through, their videos and FLEX sessions are concise but thorough, and the analytics they give for analyzing your progress/errors are really wonderful. 2) The "Test Day Experience" is invaluable. Having the chance to go to my test center and take a practice test there, allowing me to work out timing and get a sense of the space (FOR NO EXTRA COST) is worth at least 1 extra month of prep in my opinion. My last note on Kaplan, however, is that they are not targeting students who want a score in the high 700's. I improved from a 630 at my first practice to a 710 on the actual test (highest practice = 740), and now that I am taking the test again and aiming for a 750, I will be turning to another company - one that focuses on those top scores.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 31, 2016
mtria011

Joined: May 31, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q42 V36

Kaplan review 1 year of study

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 150 Points

Course Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person

Instructor Gene

Location Miami, FL USA

I started my GMAT studies on April 2015, paid for the in-person class.
Kaplan was great to build my foundations on the GMAT, but after studying all of their material I still could not reach 700.
I started with a 490 and slowly climbed up, by mid-January 2016 gave the official GMAT a shot and got 640, but on my practice CATs I was getting 660-700.

Their customer service was great, and teachers do respond on time. However I had to email several teachers at once until I found one that really helped with my study strategy, Gene was awesome!!!!. The others did reply with some strategies but not as tailored as I would´ve want.

I went to the in person classes and then took the online classes. I think the online classes were wayyyy better, its easier to make questions because the peer pressure is not there, you can take screenshots, and its easier to be on time for classes.

Overall, I would say Kaplan is great if you have no idea about the GMAT and want to score in the 600-650 range, of course it depends on your needs. But for higher scores I think its hard. However I do have 3 friends who scored 710 on the GMAT thanks to Kaplan.
On my side I had to pay another $75 for some Manhattan extra CATs and more questions but that still didn´t get me far, I´m still at the same score after studying for 4 more months.
I purchased the $50 GMAC exam pack 2 and got 650 on the practice CAT.
So even though I don´t want to spend more money, I will purchase The Economist GMAC complete plan ($719 with the discount), they offer a +50 point guarantee, let´s see how that goes and hopefully that will get me into the 700+ club.

I´m extremely tired of studying for the GMAT, it will have taken me 1.5 years of dedicated studying. But the finish line looks so close that I´m still not giving up.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 06, 2015
mich1216

Joined: Jul 06, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Kaplan GMAT - Hard on Verbal but Soft on Quant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 200 Points

Course Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person

Instructor Murl Smith

Location San Francisco, CA USA

I recommend everyone to use Kaplan if you're weaker on Verbal. the Quant section simply isn't as difficult as some of the most difficult questions you would get in the 750 range. That said, I supplemented my Kaplan materials with Manhattan math materials and scored 740. I took my class in my office with Murl on the weekends and thought he was very engaging. He took the time to grade our essays as well as provide individual attending when we needed it. I also recommend the practice tests with Kaplan - it allows you to schedule to take them IN-PERSON AT THE TEST CENTER. So while everyone was taking their real test, I got to take my practice tests there twice. This helped to take my nerves off of test day because the testing conditions weren't completely foreign.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.