GMAT Club

Personal MBA Coach Admissions Consulting Reviews

Work directly with a Wharton MBA and MIT BS graduate
Personalized and boutique support, instead of a large,cookie cutter approach.
10 years of experience placing 96% of applicants into top global schools.
From GMAT/GRE tutoring to interview prep, comprehensive support to get you in.

See package options and email me to discuss further.
Personal MBA Coach Deal Page

Personal MBA Coach Admissions Consulting Reviews

Personal MBA Coach Comprehensive School Packages
$4700
Reviews
64
Average Rating
5
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Personal MBA Coach consultants

Scott Edinburgh
Reviews
70
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

70 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
June 18, 2019
ds910

Joined: Jun 18, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Couldn't have done it without him!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Scott was an absolutely amazing resource throughout the application process. When I first started working with Scott I hadn't hit my desired GMAT/GRE score and he was up front and candid about what was realistic considering my score at that time. I really appreciated that he didn't pander but was honest and constructive in his feedback. I found him to be extremely knowledgeable on the nuance of what each school is looking for and he gave me great advice for tailoring my story accordingly. His comments on my essays etc were always very constructive and helped me to think about my message from an outsiders perspective. He was always really quick to respond and I felt like I got a tailored, personal approach rather than a one size fits all package.

I got into some really great schools and will be attending Booth in the Fall - I definitely accredit my success to the support I received from Scott. Would 100% recommend him!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 07, 2019
Carminaburana13

Joined: Dec 23, 2017

Posts: 3

Kudos: 0

Particularly helpful for liberal arts people like me!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

My background: I graduated from Temple University with a Bachelor's in Arts. My career has been in public service for the past 5 years. No one in my family has ever pursued an MBA or works in business. While speaking with MBA admits at top bschool programs who were also first generation immigrants, they recommended an MBA coach.

I'm so glad that I chose to work with a coach, especially Scott here who went to Wharton and who really helped me develop an essay that spoke better to Wharton admissions. I spoke with a number of other MBA coaches before deciding on Scott, but with him being a recent graduate of Wharton, he became my top choice. I only asked Scott to help me with my Wharton application, so I can't speak to what an experience would be like if you're working with him on multiple applications.

He truly created a safe but rigorous space where I was encouraged to excel and question. We went through over 10 iterations of my essay. He pushed me to do better on my GRE (but also knew when to stop pushing because I was seriously mentally done with test taking). He also answered really silly questions like "do you think it's ok to wear red heels to an interview?" (For those of you wondering, I ended up wearing nude color heels --they worked much better with my navy dress though Scott said that red heels are definitely fine). It's so nice to have someone you know who will for sure respond to your email, who is an expert in this field, and who is always on your side.

Scott helped me tell my story in a compelling way and most importantly gave me the confidence to excel. I had a lot of self doubt but I didn't feel that way while working with Scott!

If you're compelled to work with Scott after this review, one thing to consider if you're on a public income restriction like mine is to request his services by the hour. This would probably only save you money if you're only applying to one school. I'm all for getting more public sector minded individuals into business, so hope this advice helps!

Read More

May 04, 2019
edailey001

Joined: Sep 18, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
Canceled

Wonderful Experience!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I have no words to express how grateful I am for all the guidance and support that Scott provided during the MBA application process. I was admitted into 4 out of 8 MBA programs I applied to and received full scholarship to the one most dear to my heart. My experience with Scott was absolutely invaluable and I know I would not have been able to succeed without him. He was there for me every step of the way. From the first moment I talked to Scott, it was obvious that he truly cares about me and was fully vested in my success. I wholeheartedly recommend Scott to anyone who is looking for an MBA consultant. I could have not asked for a better coach. Thank you Scott!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 10, 2019
varun72

Joined: Sep 18, 2014

Posts: 2

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
760 Q49 V45

Just go with Scott!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

The short version: Researched multiple consultants. Chose Scott over all others. Got into Wharton, Columbia, and Ross despite tremendous odds.

The long one: Since I was an Indian (read: one of the largest demographics) male (the most competitive gender) engineer (the hardest degree type to distinguish yourself in, especially when you are Indian), who was also a re-applicant with 8 years of experience, I knew it was going to be very hard to get into my dream school.

I contacted 10+ consultants and spoke to them at length to understand how they operate. Given my background, I knew that I would need someone who will understand my story properly and help me craft a unique story. After talking to a few of the major consulting firms, I realized that I needed a boutique consultant where I could deal with my consultant directly. Amongst all the boutique consultants I spoke with, I had the best connection with Scott. I liked his calm demeanor, the fact that he seemed to know the colleges well, and most importantly that he had worked with many Indians before and knew how to help them.

I realized his value while working with him on my first application itself. After we figured out my story, we exchanged a lot of drafts on bringing out the 'why'. Scott adds detailed notes in each draft and he always responds within 48 hours. The final essays were really really good, even if I say so myself. They made so much sense and compared to the essays I had written myself during the previous application cycle, these were crystal clear. There was a perfect balance - the essays logically and clearly told the adcom what I wanted to do while bringing out the emotional angle to support why I wanted to do it. Moreover, the last aspect which is so important - the interview prep - is the best part about working with him. My mock interviews were super important in making sure that I do well on the day! In fact without them I am confident I would not have been nearly as good.

Lastly, if there is one thing I can say that would convince you of how good Scott is, it is this - When I took the 5 school package with him, I followed his instructions precisely for 3 schools and went with my gut for the other 2. It just so happens that I got into all the 3 where I listened to him and got rejected from the other 2. Now, I could put that down as a remarkable co-incidence but after working with him over 9 months, I am inclined to believe that Scott knows what he is talking about.

I truly believe that he is the reason I am going to Wharton and I recommend if you are looking for a consultant, look no further than Scott.

Read More

April 08, 2019
ens0613

Joined: Jul 04, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 2

Verified score:
760 Q49 V44

Multiple options.. and scholarships!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Working with Scott was wonderful - he took the time to get to know me, hear a number of stories, and help me understand what stories would work best in an application. Not only did he help with the application itself, but he was phenomenal in teaching me about various schools and how to take advantage of my extracurriculars to make my application shine. Scott was incredibly responsive over email and had great edits all of my work, including a video essay. Not only did I get into all 3 schools I applied to with Scott in 2nd Round, I got $$ at two of the three, including a full ride! Super happy to have worked with him.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 08, 2019
edinardo2011

Joined: Apr 08, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Amazing Consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had an amazing experience with Scott. He is willing to go above and beyond to help you throughout the admission process-regardless of where you are or what you need help with. Personally, he helped me with school selection, presenting my resume, essays, interview prep, and everything that happens in between. Scott and his team are always happy to answer any ad hoc questions I had and will jump on the phone day or night. Scott was an amazing resource to have and helped me get into my #1 choice. I strongly recommend other students to use Personal MBA Coach. Thank you Scott!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 08, 2019
redhawks7

Joined: Oct 06, 2014

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V44

A reliable companion along your journey toward a top MBA

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Thanks to Scott's support, I have secured admission to HBS ($$), Wharton ($$), and Kellogg ($$$). I greatly appreciate Scott's support during my whole application process!

Scott is very professional: despite our time difference (I'm an international application), Scott always ensure timely response to my question / request. When he can't, he would let me know in advance and propose a suitable timeline.

Scott is very experienced and rest assured that you can trust his knowledge on MBA applications, whether it's about what the Adcom focuses on or what differentiates each school. As I was applying to multiple schools, some obviously are different from others. Scott was able to make sure I know how to present myself and put myself in the best possible position. While Scott didn't change my life story or career goal in any way, he did help me better tell it to the Adcom.

Finally, Scott didn't try to act like he knew everything, as he introduced his connections that are more familiar with specific school's interview process as we were preparing for the final interviews.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my experience work with Scott and would highly recommend Personal MBA Coach for anyone who's considering an MBA consultant!

Read More

April 04, 2019
dstrategy

Joined: Dec 06, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
740 Q49 V41

Highly Recommend Scott!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

The MBA application process is a daunting task, but Scott was wonderful at laying out a clear framework that walked me through the entire process. He got to know my "story" inside out right away, which added significant value when we were brainstorming essay topics and editing my resume. Scott's quick turnaround time allowed me to continue with the momentum that I had while in the middle of writing my essays. His edits were insightful and helped me craft a compelling story for why I was pursuing an MBA. At the end of the process, I landed a significant scholarship to one of my top choices.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 02, 2019
mba512

Joined: Mar 22, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Experience at Personal MBA

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I called up Scott to help me maneuver the admissions process and was pretty happy about the overall experience. Had an initial discussion over the phone where he listened to my story and advised me on whether to retake GMAT or not. He also helped narrow down my school list to 3-4. When it came time to interview, Scott helped brushing up my interviewing skills by helping me craft a coherent story, having his partner conduct a 1-on-1 mock interview session (though I didn't find his partner as friendly), and giving feedback afterwards. I found it helpful and recommend it to anyone who has not done bschool interviews before.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 02, 2019
cu2014

Joined: Jul 09, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
750 Q51 V40

Superior Service and Results

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had an incredible experience working with Scott. I appreciated Scott the most for providing direct, honest advice - from school selection based on a detailed review of my profile, to providing guidance on potential essay ideas. As a slow, sometimes inefficient writer, it was helpful to brainstorm ideas with Scott before diving headfirst into writing drafts. Scott also worked around my busy schedule and ensured quick turnaround times - never more than 48 hours and frequently within 24 hours. Ultimately I secured admission into the M7 school of my dreams and I firmly believe Scott’s services played a critical role in helping me achieve this.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

1 Older and Non-Verified Review for Personal MBA Coach