GMAT Club

Personal MBA Coach Admissions Consulting Reviews

About Personal MBA Coach

Founded 14 years ago by Scott Edinburgh, a Wharton and MIT graduate, Personal MBA Coach has helped hundreds of applicants around the world get into top MBA, EMBA, part-time MBA and specialized master’s programs (including Master of Finance, Master of Analytics, Master of Public Policy, law school) with a 96% success rate. Personal MBA Coach is consistently ranked #1 or #2 by leading sources. Last year, our clients earned more than $6M in scholarships!

All clients have direct access to Scott, who serves on the Board of Directors for AIGAC, the Association of International Graduate Admissions Consultants and is invited to speak at MBA Admissions events globally, including the annual Graduate Management Admissions Council (GMAC) conference.

Scott is supported by a boutique team including MJ Shores, a former Wharton MBA Admissions Director, GMAT/GRE/EA tutors who scored above the 99th percentile (most with 780+) and former M7 admissions interviewers.

Personal MBA Coach Services:

Pre-Application Support:

  • Early MBA Planning 
  • Customized One-on-One GMAT/GRE/EA Tutoring

Application Development:

  • Comprehensive Packages Including:
  1. Application strategy
  2. School selection
  3. Personal story development
  4. Resume editing
  5. Essay brainstorming and unlimited essay editing
  6. Video essay feedback
  7. Letters of recommendation support
  8. Interview preparation with former M7 interviewers
  9. Pre/post interview essay editing 
  10. Waitlist strategy and waitlist essay editing
  11. Post acceptance support 

Ad Hoc Services:

  • Interview Preparation (with former M7 interviewers)
  • Waitlist Strategy
  • Ding Report

Schedule Your 30-Minute Consultation Today!

Take a look at our package options and contact us to discuss your situation!

Working With Personal MBA Coach:

Personal MBA Coach Deal Page

Personal MBA Coach Admissions Consulting Reviews

Personal MBA Coach Comprehensive School Packages
$4900
Reviews
102
Average Rating
5
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Personal MBA Coach Consultants

Scott Edinburgh
Reviews
109
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

109 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
May 02, 2021
niajmccarthy

Joined: May 02, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Most Supportive Team!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I met Scott a year before I decided to work with him and his team. Initially, I thought I could go through the process alone. I was wrong. When I decided to reapply, I spoke with different admissions consultants, but none had confidence in my profile. When I reached out to Personal MBA Coach, Scott not only remembered me from our first meeting but was confident that by working together I could go to business school.

Scott and his team were honest about how my application would stand up at certain schools and thoughtful in helping me pick which ones to apply to. Throughout the process Scott and his team were there to answer big questions like am I telling the right story and minor questions like should I included this extracurricular in my application. The Personal MBA Coach team gave me and my recommenders detailed feedback on what we wrote. Their guidance is invaluable. There is no other team I would want to work with.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 29, 2021
rib94

Joined: Jun 29, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

An Integrated Approach to the MBA application Process

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Scott was instrumental in enabling me to stay focused, positive, and motivated during my application journey.

Firstly, I connected with Scott after failing to achieve the necessary GMAT score during the pandemic. Through my conversations with him, he gave me perspective and newfound hope in the application process.

Secondly, Scott connected me with an incredible tutor, who helped improve my score by more than 50 points.

Thirdly, Scott is always quick to respond. His overall process and utilization of a project management platform kept me at easy when writing essays, short answers, etc. I found the proofreading team to be another excellent resource after the basis of the writing materials were completed.

Lastly, I decided to apply to a few schools within a very short window prior to the applications being due. Scott was able to help me get up and down in a matter of days despite the constrained timeline.

I received interviews from every school that Scott helped me with and look forward to hearing from their admissions teams over the coming weeks.

Read More

April 26, 2021
bigbeaver111

Joined: Apr 26, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

5/5 stars - absolutely recommend Personal MBA Coach

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Everyone has their own needs when applying to school, and I found that the structure and personalized support offered by the Personal MBA Coach team was the perfect fit for me. I was by no means a "traditional" candidate so I needed a lot of help navigating the MBA application process. Scott and his team have a very structured process in place for all aspects of the application process including essay writing, video essays, and interviews. They checked in with me consistently to make sure I was still moving forward when I was procrastinating and provided 110% support up until the very last minute I had to submit my applications. Their interview prep was excellent since they work so closely with folks who have actually done admissions interviews. Throughout the last 16 months, I had a number of small questions from how to talk to adcoms to switching my recommenders, and always received a fast and helpful response from Scott and his team with guidance.
In the end, I received interview invites to all five schools I applied to and have been accepted so far at three, with scholarships from two! I never imagined I would be accepted anywhere, much less have options, so I'm incredibly grateful for Scott and the Personal MBA Coach team!

Read More

April 24, 2021
briantoth6

Joined: Apr 27, 2019

Posts: 7

Kudos: 2

Verified score:
760 Q50 V41

Phenomenal Comprehensive Service

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I cannot recommend Scott more highly.

I reached out to Personal MBA Coach in mid-November after working with another consultant for 3+ months without making much progress on my applications. I wound up starting from scratch, but in spite of the relatively late start, I was able to submit 6 complete applications (MIT, NYU, Wharton, Stanford, HBS, Columbia) for round 2. Scott and his team were incredible, and as soon as I was on board with Scott the progress was immediate and tangible. Thereafter, any delays in my applications were of my own making and I was continually surprised by the promptness with which essays were turned. The service is truly “turnkey” and I received comprehensive help for all of the schools I was fortunate enough to interview with and be waitlisted at.

I really just want to thank Scott and the whole Personal MBA Coach team for all of their efforts on my behalf.

Read More

April 13, 2021
Darvin12

Joined: Dec 29, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best In Class

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Scott is wonderful to work with and you truly feel safe in his hands. Coupled with his experience and commitment you don't feel cheated and you know that your money is being well spent. His guidance helped me get into Cornell with a scholarship and I can say that without his advice I would have been lost and my personal statements would have been weak. He really helps you present yourself at your true best. I would recommend Scott to anybody that is looking to go to graduate school as his knowledge covers more than just MBA programs. Thank you Scott!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 25, 2021
kelloggco2023

Joined: Mar 25, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q46 V41

BEST IN CLASS - PERSONAL, EFFICIENT, and VALUABLE SUPPORT

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I strongly recommend Scott for those seeking efficient, personable, and incredibly valuable advice on how to navigate the incredibly daunting MBA process. While it is a huge financial commitment (I went all in in 3 schools) to use a consultant and I was initially hesitant, it was worth EVERY cent and would use the Personal MBA Coach team again in a heartbeat.

They are a team that will provide direct and honest feedback, help you refine / strengthen your narrative / essays, and consistently respond to drafts well before the agreed on 2 day timeline. They will not spend countless hours on the phone with you, but will answer emails on every component of the application process very quickly and truly are supportive. Different from my terrible experience with one of the largest consulting companies before I found Scott, the Personal MBA Coach team actually CARED about ME personally, and treated me as a human rather than a data point. Despite my initial conversations with the large, most popular consulting company who told me my school selection was unrealistic, after applying to 3 schools with the help of the Personal MBA Coach team, I got into Ross with a full ride and Kellogg with just over half of my tuition covered. I was also wait-listed at Duke. I am very grateful to the Personal MBA Coach team for making my experience successful and am overjoyed to start my MBA at Kellogg next year!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 13, 2021
ssule

Joined: Jul 15, 2009

Posts: 16

Kudos: 3

Verified score:
710 Q49 V38

AMAZING TEAM!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I couldn’t have made it to my dream school, MIT Sloan, without Scott and his team's timely support and guidance. The team was super responsive and to the point with their questions, prompts and edits. This allowed me to iterate through my ideas and bring relevant information into my essays. The entire process gave me clarity of thought, helped me identify my strengths and even made me a better writer by the end of it.

I am soo glad that I had the Personal MBA Coach team by my side, and I couldn’t recommend them more. It is one of the best decisions that I made to reach my goal.

Read More

November 27, 2020
sloanie2018

Joined: Nov 24, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly Recommended - Experienced, dedicated, professional.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I highly recommend Scott and his team from Personal MBA Coach as an excellent MBA application consultant.(www.personalmbacoach.com) Here is why:

-My primary goal was to get into Sloan and I think I was not a perfect candidate (not a super high GMAT or undergrad GPA, etc.). He really helped to bring my best story to come out in my application.

-He kept me organized in my thought process and with the deadlines throughout the application cycle.

-He gave me an honest assessment of my strengths and weaknesses as an applicant. He knows how to leverage your strengths and mitigate your weaknesses. He is experienced and practical. He listens and crafts a practical strategy that is tailored to your circumstances.

-I am a person who asks a lot of questions (sometimes a little too much) and he is very patient. He is friendly and professional at the same time.

I really enjoyed working with Scott and his team. Looking back I really think it was a very wise decision. With their help, I was able to get into my target program and also got a scholarship. Highly recommended.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 22, 2020
chris0909

Joined: Mar 14, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 1

Honest, Effective & Helpful

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I used Personal MBA Coach for their 5-school package, and I ended up signing up for my sixth school since they broke down the complicated application process into simpler step-by-step process.

Before I started my application process, I did a fair bit of research on consultants, and finally decided to go with Personal MBA Coach. From Day 1, Scott will give you the honest, non-sugarcoated advice that everybody needs. As a business school applicant, you need to understand what your strengths are as well as your weaknesses. Most consultants are good with telling you your strengths, but they are not as good with telling you your weaknesses as they do not want to upset you. Scott was different, and hence I decided to go with Scott and his team.

Throughout the application process, I knew that I could rely on Personal MBA Coach as Scott was always there and would answer my emails/questions even during weekends or Christmas! From minor points in my overall story to locations I should select for my interviews, Scott would answer all my questions (no matter how minor and tedious they might be).

I am now admitted by one of the top 3 programs in the US, and will be matriculating this fall. I highly recommend Personal MBA Coach if you are looking for the best consultant in the industry as I know I probably would not have made it without Scott and his team.

Read More

May 24, 2020
edison2020

Thanks for sharing this information.

May 19, 2020
sapanda88

Joined: Nov 09, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great Feedback on the Gut Check!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I reached out to PersonalMBACoach for their “Gut Check” service less than two weeks before the deadlines for my two schools - HBS (admitted) and GSB (waitlisted) - and I’m super glad I did. Prior to sending it over, I was positive about my application and had spent two months on it. However Scott and his team dug deep and provided strong constructive feedback that showed I still had a long way to go. They even went beyond the provisions of the package and reviewed additional edits for each application. Within a week, my application was looking much better. I highly recommend Scott and his team at any stage of your application process!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

1 Older and Non-Verified Review for Personal MBA Coach