GMAT Club

Scott Edinburgh Reviews

Company: Personal MBA Coach

A Wharton MBA graduate with a BS from MIT, Scott has been an MBA admissions consultant since he founded Personal MBA Coach in 2008 and has helped hundreds of applicants around the world get into top MBA programs. Besides perfecting the MBA admissions process and making dreams come true for applicants from Tokyo to New York and everywhere in between, Scott has also worked across consulting, financial services and strategy & corporate development roles before becoming a Full-Time admissions consultant.  

As an individual MBA admissions consultant, Scott takes the time to get to know every client personally as you go through the application process together. This starts with a deep analysis into your background, an identification of your objectives and a thorough development of your personal story. Scott’s very direct approach ensures that nothing falls through the cracks and his feedback is honest, non-sugar coated and immediate. 96% of his clients got into one of their top two or three schools. Scott works with applicants applying to full-time MBA programs as well as Executive and part-time MBA programs. Want help getting into HBS, Wharton and other top global programs? Contact Scott for a consultation.  Learn more

5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 104 reviews
March 25, 2021
kelloggco2023

Joined: Mar 25, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q46 V41

BEST IN CLASS - PERSONAL, EFFICIENT, and VALUABLE SUPPORT

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I strongly recommend Scott for those seeking efficient, personable, and incredibly valuable advice on how to navigate the incredibly daunting MBA process. While it is a huge financial commitment (I went all in in 3 schools) to use a consultant and I was initially hesitant, it was worth EVERY cent and would use the Personal MBA Coach team again in a heartbeat.

They are a team that will provide direct and honest feedback, help you refine / strengthen your narrative / essays, and consistently respond to drafts well before the agreed on 2 day timeline. They will not spend countless hours on the phone with you, but will answer emails on every component of the application process very quickly and truly are supportive. Different from my terrible experience with one of the largest consulting companies before I found Scott, the Personal MBA Coach team actually CARED about ME personally, and treated me as a human rather than a data point. Despite my initial conversations with the large, most popular consulting company who told me my school selection was unrealistic, after applying to 3 schools with the help of the Personal MBA Coach team, I got into Ross with a full ride and Kellogg with just over half of my tuition covered. I was also wait-listed at Duke. I am very grateful to the Personal MBA Coach team for making my experience successful and am overjoyed to start my MBA at Kellogg next year!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 13, 2021
ssule

Joined: Jul 15, 2009

Posts: 16

Kudos: 3

Verified score:
710 Q49 V38

AMAZING TEAM!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I couldn’t have made it to my dream school, MIT Sloan, without Scott and his team's timely support and guidance. The team was super responsive and to the point with their questions, prompts and edits. This allowed me to iterate through my ideas and bring relevant information into my essays. The entire process gave me clarity of thought, helped me identify my strengths and even made me a better writer by the end of it.

I am soo glad that I had the Personal MBA Coach team by my side, and I couldn’t recommend them more. It is one of the best decisions that I made to reach my goal.

Read More

November 27, 2020
sloanie2018

Joined: Nov 24, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly Recommended - Experienced, dedicated, professional.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I highly recommend Scott and his team from Personal MBA Coach as an excellent MBA application consultant.(www.personalmbacoach.com) Here is why:

-My primary goal was to get into Sloan and I think I was not a perfect candidate (not a super high GMAT or undergrad GPA, etc.). He really helped to bring my best story to come out in my application.

-He kept me organized in my thought process and with the deadlines throughout the application cycle.

-He gave me an honest assessment of my strengths and weaknesses as an applicant. He knows how to leverage your strengths and mitigate your weaknesses. He is experienced and practical. He listens and crafts a practical strategy that is tailored to your circumstances.

-I am a person who asks a lot of questions (sometimes a little too much) and he is very patient. He is friendly and professional at the same time.

I really enjoyed working with Scott and his team. Looking back I really think it was a very wise decision. With their help, I was able to get into my target program and also got a scholarship. Highly recommended.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 22, 2020
chris0909

Joined: Mar 14, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 1

Honest, Effective & Helpful

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I used Personal MBA Coach for their 5-school package, and I ended up signing up for my sixth school since they broke down the complicated application process into simpler step-by-step process.

Before I started my application process, I did a fair bit of research on consultants, and finally decided to go with Personal MBA Coach. From Day 1, Scott will give you the honest, non-sugarcoated advice that everybody needs. As a business school applicant, you need to understand what your strengths are as well as your weaknesses. Most consultants are good with telling you your strengths, but they are not as good with telling you your weaknesses as they do not want to upset you. Scott was different, and hence I decided to go with Scott and his team.

Throughout the application process, I knew that I could rely on Personal MBA Coach as Scott was always there and would answer my emails/questions even during weekends or Christmas! From minor points in my overall story to locations I should select for my interviews, Scott would answer all my questions (no matter how minor and tedious they might be).

I am now admitted by one of the top 3 programs in the US, and will be matriculating this fall. I highly recommend Personal MBA Coach if you are looking for the best consultant in the industry as I know I probably would not have made it without Scott and his team.

Read More

May 24, 2020
edison2020

Thanks for sharing this information.

May 19, 2020
sapanda88

Joined: Nov 09, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great Feedback on the Gut Check!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I reached out to PersonalMBACoach for their “Gut Check” service less than two weeks before the deadlines for my two schools - HBS (admitted) and GSB (waitlisted) - and I’m super glad I did. Prior to sending it over, I was positive about my application and had spent two months on it. However Scott and his team dug deep and provided strong constructive feedback that showed I still had a long way to go. They even went beyond the provisions of the package and reviewed additional edits for each application. Within a week, my application was looking much better. I highly recommend Scott and his team at any stage of your application process!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 15, 2020
WorldExplorer

Joined: May 01, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Extremely Helpful, Patient, & Knowledgable

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I can’t say enough good things about Scott and his team. I would 100% recommend him to anyone who is applying to business school. His personal approach is unique. Anytime we needed to chat, he was available for calls. I always spoke to him, as his team operated efficiently in the background. Scott was always expedient on responding to emails and he was meticulous when he provided suggested edits to essays and application prompts. If we did not see eye-to-eye on a certain detail as it pertained to the essays or application, he would explain his thoughts in-depth, and then we would come to an agreed-upon decision on how to approach. Ultimately, he helped me achieve my goal of getting into one of my top choices, and I cannot be any happier. I am so thankful to have had the opportunity to work with Scott and the Personal MBA Coach team to achieve my dream of matriculating at a top-20 MBA program. Thank you again, Scott!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 05, 2020
dmag1991

Joined: May 02, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly Recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Scott provided direct expert advice throughout every step of the application process. I really appreciated the unique and customized approach he took toward each of my schools, playing to my strengths and avoiding my weaknesses. A highlight of my experience working with Scott was how he made the daunting task of starting the application process into a seamless, and even fun exercise. The personal timeline and tasks he assigned made this initial process a lot more manageable than I anticipated, and he provided invaluable advice when helping craft my personal story and career goals so I could start tackling my essays. Scott paid great attention to every aspect of my application, and provided numerous detailed edits to my resume, career goals, short answers, and essays. He truly cared about making sure we got everything right, even if it meant having over 10 versions of my resume. In addition, Scott was always honest with his feedback and always made himself available - he was quick to respond to all my questions, no matter what day or holiday season it was.

Read More

May 04, 2020
lukematic

Joined: Mar 07, 2019

Posts: 16

Kudos: 8

Verified score:
700 Q48 V38

Recommended to anyone serious about the MBA Process!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Scott is on your team on day 1 and tells you exactly what needs to be addressed and how to get it done. He is extremely responsive, direct, and involved throughout the whole process. I am excited to say that I have been accepted to a few of my target programs. When researching potential consultants, PersonalMBACoach struck me as a service that would be provide the greatest value for me and I am happy to say that Scott turned out to be great. In addition, Scott understands your unique application strength and works to highlight them in an effective manner.

I would wholeheartedly recommend PersonalMBACoach to anyone that is serious about the MBA process!

Read More

May 01, 2020
bschool123123

Joined: May 01, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Effective and Informed

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Scott and his team of editors were hugely helpful in my application journey. I was accepted to 3 of the 6 M7 programs I applied to, and I don't know if that would have happened without his support. From the initial work we did together (writing a goal statement and resume from scratch) through the 15+ rounds of edits on each school's essays, his editors had sharp, strong feedback, and what felt like clear knowledge as to what each school was looking for.

If you're looking for a consultant to manage the overwhelming process of applying to b school, someone to help organize your time or to-do list, or someone you'll speak to regularly on the phone, Scott is not your guy.

However, if you're self motivated, want his unmatched one sheeters on how to prepare an application for each school, and want tough critical feedback (that is always returned quickly) that will get your applications to the best possible place, I highly recommend Personal MBA Coach.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 25, 2020
SEAmbaapplicant

Joined: Apr 25, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V42

Direct, supportive, committed

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I decided to work with Scott after doing consultations with four other firms. I was very disillusioned about the industry and wasn't sure if I even wanted to work with anyone. Upon speaking with him, I was very pleasantly surprised by our natural chemistry and his easygoing nature. Rather than pushing a cookie-cutter narrative for my industry, he asked me for my story and pointed out areas that I should give more thought to. I was incredibly aggressive/ambitious in my school selection, however, Scott was very encouraging while still holding me accountable. Scott's team pushed me to take my essays to new levels which I can now appreciate was instrumental to bringing my personality to life in the application. When I did not perform well on my GMAT, Scott was very direct with me that I was jeopardizing my future success. After leveraging Personal MBA Coach's GMAT tutoring service, I was able to hit my target score. The interview prep, specifically for Wharton's TBD, helped me ease my nerves before the actual interviews. I was waitlisted at my top choice and heavily relied on Scott's guidance in writing update letters and also for strategies on how to navigate the smoke and mirrors of being a waitlisted candidate. I have so much respect for Scott and his team at Personal MBA Coach. Their commitment to helping early career individuals achieve their professional goals is unwavering. I would highly recommend Scott to anyone who is looking for a customized partnership in the application process. I am extremely excited and proud to be following in Scott's footsteps by attending Wharton this fall!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

1 Older and Non-Verified Review for Scott Edinburgh