GMAT Club

Carey Hopkins Reviews

MBA Program rating [4]
(4.3)

October 11, 2016
prinka

Joined: Sep 02, 2015

Posts: 10

Kudos: 8

Relatively new business school, same old Hopkins legacy

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Carey

Program Full-Time

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Johns Hopkins Carey business school was my top choice because of its two unique flagship programs - 1) Innovation for Humanity I4H(a 3 week residential program in project sponsor country, consulting the client/sponsor deal with real life situations/problems) and 2)Discovery to Market D2M(working with scientists helping inventions go from brand new to new brand).
Although the business school is relatively new(7 years), it stands true to the legacy of the Johns Hopkins brand. Also, the Hopkins alumni base of 200,000+ is very helpful.
The Career Development Office is very active with mentoring beginning even before you arrive on campus. The student body is comprised of 50% internationals, hence the name Global MBA. The placements have seen an increasing curve since the first batch and the % is now comparable to other good bschools. The school offers plenty of merit-based scholarships, so applying in the earlier rounds is advantageous.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Location
Culture & Student Support
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Healthcare

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking


Read More

October 18, 2016
JoshNash94

Thanks so much for your review, really gets me excited going into my first year at Carey!

October 19, 2016
yuvaksh

Cool.. I am thinking to apply there too!! Can you help me out with some details. If yes please inbox me. :)

February 07, 2017
yuvaksh

Joined: Apr 17, 2014

Posts: 3

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
690 Q50 V32

Amazing school, full of opportunities

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Carey

Program Full-Time

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

Hey everyone!

I am Yuvaksh Thukral, I have recently been admitted to Carey GMBA'17 program.
My experience with the admission team has been fantastic and they are very cooperative. During the whole process I interacted with assistant director of admission twice and he was able to resolve all my queries. They made sure that I get all the information needed.
Also I interacted with the current students in the school. They all have different yet exciting backgrounds. The diversity in this school is amazing, Though the school is relatively new but offers ample opportunities to connect with a lot of business leaders.
Last but not the least, the school comes under the prestigious Johns Hopkins University. I guess the name says it all.

About professors, classes and curriculum

What make this school stand out among the others is its flagship course GMBA, that include unique I4H and D2M courses.
In the I4H curriculum one actually works on the live project and the real problem statement. This gives the student the first-hand experience in the first year itself.
Discovery 2 Market is another course where the leadership and marketing skills are honed. Bringing an innovation to the market is a real challenge and many don't even get a chance to do so. But with D2M school provides this amazing opportunity to its students where they gain the experience even before graduating.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support
Admissions Team
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Entrepreneurship
Healthcare

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking
Admissions Team


Read More

January 27, 2018
mpehch

Joined: Jan 25, 2016

Posts: 10

Kudos: 9

Self-reported Score:
650

Carey Business School - Johns Hopkins University

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Carey

Program Full-Time

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

I am a current dual-degree student also pursuing a Master's at another Hopkins graduate school concurrently. For me it was great to gain business acumen at Carey especially in a healthcare context. I cannot speak to the general MBA program very much as it is structured differently. The school is very young which is reflected in the ranking however the Johns Hopkins name does carry a lot of weight, especially in healthcare and tech fields. The program runs on 8-week terms so it is great if you like a fast-paced environment. I have had both fantastic and disappointing professors during my time here. The career services staff are fantastic and I see this school rising in the rankings quickly in the next few years.

About job placement process

In Healthcare there are a few major companies that recruit heavily, including:

Johnson & Johnson
AstraZeneca
Inventiv Health
Kaiser Permanente


Overall BSchool experience (3.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Location
Admissions Team
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)
Healthcare

Best fit at this program:

Entrepreneurship
Management
Healthcare

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Brand/Ranking
Facilities


Read More

February 10, 2017
tinythukral4MBA

Joined: Feb 10, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
690 Q50 V32

Carey Business School - JHU

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for Carey

Program Full-Time

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

Johns Hopkins is a very renown brand among the research universities. Though B-school is relatively new, and not so famous yet but definitely has a great curriculum.
The school is yet to get the AACSB accreditation. But when I inquired it was in process of getting accreditation.
Healthcare courses are really great here. Also, school has almost 50% of global students that create an amazing diverse culture. People from diverse background given an amazing experience in the campus
The location of campus is in downtown Baltimore close to harbor. it is pretty close to Washington DC that adds to a networking experience as many companies are situated in DC and with alumni all over the globe there are definitely good networking opportunities.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Brand/Ranking
Admissions Team
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

healthcare

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school


Read More