GMAT Club

Scheller Reviews

MBA Program rating [10]
(4.3)

September 14, 2017
samtarly87

Joined: Sep 14, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Complete waste of 2 years

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Scheller

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

Scheller's full time MBA program is best defined as bunch of lies. If you are really motivated in moving your career in top shelf then Scheller is definitely not a place for you since not many top employers show up on business school campus. In fact doesn't even recognize the school (speaking from personal experience). Do not get fooled by list of companies provided on school website. Since students get in those companies (e.g. microsoft, oracle, google) through personal connections (remember personal connections and not school alumni list). Career service will not shy for taking credit for these placements. But reality is their credit is zero in this case. During admission process school boasts about their placements and the type of companies. I was fooled by similar stuff. Even some of my classmates have emails from career services claiming top companies like Google, Apple comes on to campus to recruit. But it is totally false and do not fall for that trap. Choice of electives is mediocre. Faculty is average. Few are really exceptionally but mostly really mediocre. Class does not have good diversity in terms of experience. Most of Atlanta locals and veterans are really incompetent. Other than low cost of tuition there is not much in this schools. If you are looking for average career jump in second tier companies then this is the school for you.


Overall BSchool experience (1.0)
Schools contribution (1.0)
Classmates rating (1.0)

Strengths of the program:

No particular strength

Best fit at this program:

Consulting

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support


Read More

September 16, 2017
FuturePM91

I am not sure what happened in your experience at Georgia Tech, however I attended Tech as an undergrad and can assure you that the companies you mention do in fact recruit there both for undergraduate and graduate programs. I know several graduates at top consulting firms and in the tech industry. In addition you mention that companies "don't know" Georgia Tech but that is patently false because Tech is a top ranked engineering school that is one of the top ten feeders into silicon valley, so even if they aren't familiar with the business school they definitely will know GT. I am sorry you had such a poor experience but I felt the need to comment so that others who read this have a different perspective.

December 14, 2017
chrisbergman

I am sorry to hear about your experience with Scheller. I am a current full time MBA student at Scheller and have found the experience to be quite different from what you have described. In this past year, we have placed MBA students at Amazon, Microsoft, Google, Oracle, Tesla, and others within the technology sector. If you are curious to learn more about the employment opportunities Scheller offers with Amazon specifically please see the following article highlighting internship experiences: https://www.scheller.gatech.edu/news-events/latest-news/2017/articles/mba-students-podcast-amazon-internships.html. Although not every company comes directly to Scheller's MBA program for recruiting, Georgia Tech's alumni network is far reaching and has provided many students with opportunities with their dream employers.

The faculty and Career Services at Scheller are critical in the development of our students and deserve credit. The faculty has expertise across a wide range of academic concentrations and industries (strategy, technology management, analytics, etc.) which provides students with the skills necessary for their future careers. Career Services provides guidance and interview preparation for all MBA candidates which make students prepared to interview.

Speaking from personal experience, Scheller's program has allowed me the opportunity to move from aerospace engineering into a top tier consulting firm. I owe significant credit to the Scheller MBA program. As a current MBA student, we are always looking for ways to improve our program. If you would like to have a further conversation about points of improvement please contact me at chris.bergman@gatech.edu.

January 08, 2016
spssarang

Joined: Oct 08, 2012

Posts: 5

Kudos: 0

G-Tech Full Time MBA by International Student

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Scheller

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

1. Its definitely not one of the top 10 MBAs in US , but the ROI is top 5 in the country.
2. If you do well and put in your effort you are guaranteed to get more than what you put.
3. Career services is very supportive and helpful.
4. Overall its a good program at a great location.
5. But keep in mind that if you want the top consulting jobs , top tech jobs , on campus opportunities are limited. Again if you are a good candidate you will anyway get these jobs through the alumni and off campus opportunities. I would say its the cheapest MBA in US that provides great job opportunities post MBA.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Location
Brand/Ranking
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Tech
Management

Can be improved:

Alumni Network


Read More

January 28, 2018
AM2015

Joined: Dec 02, 2014

Posts: 43

Kudos: 18

Self-reported Score:
720 Q50 V38

Blend of Business and Tech/Analytics

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Scheller

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Scheller provides great resources for students looking to work in Consulting and Analytics management positions on graduation. The school prides itself in being at the intersection of Business and Technology; and a strong tech/analytics brand of Georgia Tech University helps. Lots of students end up with high paying jobs in Consulting, Marketing, Analytics, Product Management; with majority of the placements being in Atlanta. So being located in a large city certainly is a plus; but it also makes it difficult to get good alumni in West Coast for those Tech Jobs. Seattle however has many Alums. The school has some excellent professors in Strategy, Analytics and Operations (Supply-Chain); but could do with more faculty and courses in Finance. The low tuition and high scholarships (GRAs) provide a huge ROI as well.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Although not advertised, the school has some awesome Operations courses & professors.

About job placement process

Many placements in Consulting, Marketing and Analytics/Tech-Product Management.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (3.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Location
Brand/Ranking
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Tech
Management

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school


Read More

January 28, 2018
envebuzz

Joined: Mar 13, 2014

Posts: 2

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:

670 Q48 V35

Best Business School in Southeast

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Scheller

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

It's the best business school in the southeast in my opinion. Great location, great atmosphere, excellent facilities, world-class reputation, technology savvy, and excellent alumni network make this school stand out among its peers. I learnt a lot at Georgia Tech. It was a hard work but was very rewarding as can be attested by number of career offers I received at the end of my graduation. Strong alumni network is Georgia Tech's strength, and you've to use it to your advantage. Location in the heart of Atlanta doesn't hurt either. Lastly, campus is really beautiful and lively, with lots of cool places to study at leisure.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Location
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

None


Read More

January 28, 2018
Mo2men

Hi,

Are you international or local student? Si it true that you are allowed to study some courses in Emory if not found in GT?

Thanks

December 19, 2017
kpb05

Joined: Dec 18, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

This review is for Scheller

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

The environment of our program is extremely collaborative due to our relatively small size (about 80 in each class). Each student finds their own niche to get involved in and develop the program. Whether its founding a new club or building out an existing initiative, the flexibility of our program allows students the opportunity to engage directly with alums and local business leaders.
In addition to our collaborative nature, our career services team is incredible. My career advisor, Lauren, knew my goals and interests and would regularly shoot me an email about a company or job opportunity she thought I might be interested in pursuing. Not only do top companies come to campus (Delta, UPS, Amazon, Deloitte, Bank of America), but our alumni network for Scheller and the greater network of Georgia Tech opens doors to any company. I knew I wanted to pursue a full-time career in strategy consulting. Through a GT alum, I was given the opportunity to interview with Accenture and ended up accepting a full-time offer with their Strategy group for next Fall. If you’re willing to put in the work with your career advisor – resume reviews, interview prep, networking – then I truly think any student could land their dream job post-graduation through Scheller.
Lastly, I think our practicum curriculum is a unique opportunity that really sets Scheller apart. I didn’t realize how unique these class styles were until I interned with students from another Top 30 MBA program in Atlanta and told them about my experience in my strategy practicum. They had never heard of anything like it! Practicums are semester-long consulting engagements in a certain focus area (marketing, IT, strategy, real estate, etc), where you and your team work with a company to solve an actual business problem they are facing. So far, I have had the opportunity to work with E&J Gallo Winery and Coca-Cola through my practicum classes. Both opportunities were tangible work experiences that I was able to speak to in my consulting interviews. For students looking to make a career switch, practicums are a great way to gain hands-on experience in a new area.

Overall, Scheller is a collaborative program where you are truly known by the faculty, administration, career services, and your classmates. I would highly recommend Scheller to anyone looking to develop an entrepreneurial, technology-forward business mindset.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity


Read More

December 18, 2017
dnishiyama

Joined: Dec 17, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Great Program for Technology/Product Management

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Scheller

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

This program has been tremendous in helping me with my career switch into a role in a technology company (I recently accepted a full-time PM role at Amazon).

The TIGER program is a hidden gem that provides you with hands-on experience creating a business out of engineering research. My project is on hardware developed by a PhD in the College of Computing; we're looking at applications in the self-driving vehicle industry. Since I didn't have a technology background, mentioning this experience has been key in all my interviews.

The recruiting pipelines to major technology companies are great, too. This year more than 10% of the class is going out to Seattle to work at Amazon or Microsoft. Career services brings the companies to us and makes recruiting very straightforward.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Culture & Student Support
TIGER Program

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Tech

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking


Read More

December 17, 2017
JeffCroft1

Joined: Dec 17, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Top Tier Tech/Consulting MBA

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Scheller

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

Scheller is in my opinion, a top 10 MBA program for those looking for a career in the Tech sector. The school has integrated a Tech focus across all disciplines and it is driving innovation across all sectors.

The location, in the heart of Midtown, is surrounded by 15+ Fortune 50 innovation centers, a world-class start-up incubator, and seamlessly integrated with one of the best engineering schools in the world. Because of this access, we engaged in multiple real-world consulting projects and practicums, gaining valuable experience.

A combination of the above factors has lead Scheller to placing a very large percentage of each class in Top-5 consulting firms and nearly every major Tech company. (I joined Microsoft, in Seattle). Due to the relatively small class size, 80 students per class, every company we have a relationship with does not bring recruiters on campus, but that does not stop us from placing students there every year. IMO, if not for the class size, Scheller is a top 10-15 school.

If you are definitly looking to get into Tech, Consulting, or Supply Chain, I would put Scheller at the top of your list, you won't regret it.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Location

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking
Facilities


Read More

May 25, 2017
tejshree

Joined: Sep 22, 2015

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
700 Q48 V37

Hidden Gem in the MBA programs

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Scheller

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

The first year has been a fantastic experience. I was pleasantly surprised at how competitive the program is. The compressed core is a huge plus point for this program as it gives us the opportunity to start taking electives sooner. The program office does a great job in ensuring that you transition to graduate school is as smooth as possible. The faculty are extremely approachable and are a great asset to the program. They are as enthusiastic, if not more, about the courses and their research and that translates to a great classroom experience.

Career services has a great network with a wide range of companies in all parts of the country and they invest a lot of time in ensuring you are prepared the best you can be.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Tech
Management
Operations

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking
Facilities


Read More

May 25, 2017
domohu

Joined: Oct 31, 2015

Posts: 9

Kudos: 1

Great School..Lack of Diversity

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Scheller

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

The size of the program is great but there is a real lack of diversity in the full time program. There are things in place to correct this but it will take time. I suggest applicants attend as many info sessions as possible because it will be pretty indicative of what the incoming class will look like.

I am pursuing a career in real estate development and there are not that many courses offered through Scheller. However, we have the flexibility to take courses at GSU and Emory and in the building and construction school at Tech. There is also a new Masters of Real Estate Development program and maybe an opportunity to dual degree int he future.


Overall BSchool experience (3.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (3.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Tech

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity


Read More

January 08, 2016
DWHue

Joined: Jul 30, 2012

Posts: 1

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
640
680

Georgia Tech (Scheller) is all business!!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Scheller

Program Scheller Evening MBA Program

Class of 2015

Experience during the program

I was pleasantly surprised by the output of the school community and alumni community. The school is continuously budding new ways to expand and grow to new heights - regarding program rank, corporate connections, alumni network, and specializationa. The professors are top-notch, career services is amazing, and the school is located in the heart of Atlanta. I enjoyed the marketing classes the most, as the professors were able to really tie in how technology challenges strategists to develop new ways to market to old and new consumer bases. The operations courses were also very challenging while being very educational - which helped this communications undergrad major round out my skills and go into international product management. I would HIGHLY recommend the Scheller MBA to anyone looking for an affordable program (for a Top 30 MBA program).


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Tech
Management

Can be improved:

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More