GMAT Club

Heidi Hillis Reviews

Company: Fortuna Admissions

Heidi Hillis graduated from the Stanford Graduate School of Business in 1998, where she was the student chair of the Global Management Program (GMP) and helped craft the first Global Management Immersion Experience (GMIX) to China in 1997. For several years she served as an alumni interviewer for the Stanford GSB.

Heidi’s 24-year career in business has taken her across the globe, helping her to develop a truly international perspective on the value of a business education.  She has worked as a director of micro-finance for a nonprofit in Russia, a amanagement consultant for McKinsey & Co. in London, a senior product manager for a European e-commerce company, and a finance director for a major South American telecom. Most recently she helped launch an industrial minerals company in southern Chile.

In the course of her career Heidi has created several business internship programs and has interviewed hundreds of job applicants. In addition to the MBA she holds an MA (1991) and BA (1990) from Stanford University.


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 38 reviews
July 21, 2022
shszee

Joined: Jul 15, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best admissions coach ever!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I talked with tens of coaches before working with Heidi, and I must say, it's the best decision I could ever have taken! I applied to both the GSB and HBS, and got into both!! She was so helpful as a sounding board and always gave honest, in-depth feedback on my material as well as helpful tips on how to frame my story in the most effective way. Not only was she encouraging and honest in her feedback, but she just has this ability to take the stress out of the application process. Anyone who gets the chance to work with her is very lucky! Heidi exceeded expectations in every possible way I can think of, and I can think of not a single weakness. Deferred MBA applications are thought to be even more selective than traditional applications- and the fact that she helped me get accepted to the most selective deferred MBA programs speaks for itself.

Read More

July 16, 2022
cgd

Joined: Jul 19, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q46 V44

Thank You Heidi!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Heidi last fall for my Round 2 applications with a comprehensive 3-school package, and also leveraged those resources to apply to two other schools. Heidi kept me on track throughout the process, always checking in and turning around feedback in often 24 hours or less. With her extensive experience and knowledge, Heidi’s thoughtful and candid advice was invaluable in crafting a strong and compelling story and pushing my applications to be better. When it came to interview prep, Heidi provided specific, actionable feedback that really helped me feel prepared for the real thing.

Heidi is truly invested in her clients and the results speak for themselves. With her guidance and support, I received acceptances at 5 out of 5 schools (four M7 & LBS) and will be attending HBS this fall. I could not have done it without her!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 28, 2022
tsutherland

Joined: May 28, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Amazing Support!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

My wife used Heidi during her MBA application process and got into HBS and Lauder. Having seen her up close through my wife's experience, Heidi was a no brainer for me when it came time for me to apply as well.

She was patient with me through the process, providing the strategic review I needed early on about the pros and risks of my profile for my target MBA programs. This helped me to prioritize and tailor my key messages to my schools. When I was receiving conflicting messages in the late stages of finalizing my essay, she made time on short notice to speak through the options and coached me to make the decision which was right for me - I deeply appreciated that her style isnt to tell you what she thinks is best but to coach you to find your voice.

She was also invaluable in my mock interview prep sessions, providing focused and tactical feedback on how I needed to approach them.

I was accepted to HBS and grateful to Heidi for her support through the process.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 27, 2022
jjmba1

Joined: Apr 27, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Heidi is brilliant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Heidi is fabulous and I highly endorse/recommend her!

I applied to 3 top-5 Schools and got accepted to one and waitlisted to another. Heidi was instrumental in helping me achieve these results: she really helped me go deeper and show my best version. Although I knew how I wanted to position my application and why I wanted to study an MBA, she was a great soundboard to discuss alternatives, making my application much stronger. She’s a great thought partner with an excellent knowledge of what Schools are looking for.

Beyond being an amazing professional, she’s an excellent person - kind, open and easy to talk to. All in all, I highly recommend anyone considering applying to Business School to work with Heidi.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 12, 2022
beebee23

Joined: Apr 12, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I got a late start to my applications and the guidance and structure from Fortuna was instrumental in helping me and my recommenders meet the deadlines to apply to 4 schools. I didn't have time to get the support of a full school package, but still got a lot of assistance with strategizing, editing and interview prep. Heidi was extremely responsive and straightforward, often sending back actionable comments to me within a few hours. She came to understand my background, stories and strengths to highlight and encouraged me to create detailed and well rounded responses. She clearly knows the MBA landscape very well and was a valuable resource throughout the process.

Read More

April 06, 2022
mehmba24

Joined: Mar 24, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

I can honestly say......if you are wanting to get into Stanford GSB, Heidi is worth every penny!!!!!!! TLDR: admitted to GSB with a lower GMAT/GRE score and starting my application late. Can honestly say Heidi was integral in that result.

I was someone who came into the process deeply sceptical about the value of admissions consultants following a less-than-impressive experience with another company on an application where they added little value to my essays other than grammatical/word choice corrections and seemed to be actively trying to chew up my purchased time. Heidi was the COMPLETE opposite. Right off the bat, she completely changed the direction and style I had in mind for my essays for Stanford compared to those I had prepared for other schools. Each review of a draft, she would mark up detailed comments with clear, actionable comments on how I could strengthen this particular paragraph or needed a new story - extremely helpful. Not only that but she was very efficient and would actively try to conserve our remaining time by pointing out when an 10 min review and email back was sufficient vs when a 30 min call was needed for a more complex draft critique. I actually ended up purchasing additional hours with Heidi willingly because I was getting so much value out of our time - she really has an innate sense of what Stanford GSB is looking for. Yes, Fortuna is expensive compared to other consultants but I actually do think the price reflects the value in this case. If you are serious about getting into the GSB, invest in Heidi.

Read More

March 31, 2022
squidgame

Joined: Mar 31, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Very worth it

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Heidi for HSW applications this past autumn, getting into H and W. I got the 8 hour package for ~$3.5K and thought it was fantastic value for money.
Heidi was a big value add in being a first sounding board for my ideas. Her experience in the field lets her give instant feedback about what's actually unique and what's in fact rather generic. In particular, we did a lot of work articulating a post-MBA career vision, which was a weak spot of mine coming in.
The mock HBS interview that she did was also super helpful in prepping me for the real thing.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 28, 2022
Ba4567

Joined: Mar 28, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q47 V40

Heidi is amazing!! Unparalleled Guidance & Support

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I cannot emphasize enough how lucky I feel to have worked with Heidi. My story was unique and tricky to tell. We re-wrote my first essay several times, and then one day Heidi sent me a message after waking up in the middle of the night with an idea of how to write my story! Her solution was perfect! Even before this event I knew that Heidi truly cared about my success and that I could trust her. She helped me craft a beautiful authentic story that I am beyond proud of.

I recommend her to any and all of my friends going through this process. She was always accessible, and responded/ turned around edits quickly. I loved our calls and I already miss them.

She was amazing during interview prep as well. I felt extremely prepared in all 4 of my interviews. After my first two interviews she recommended that we get a different perspective for my third and we had another coach do my practice interview. Heidi wanted me to succeed and knew when to pull in someone else so we could make sure I was always putting my best foot forward.

I could not have asked for a better coach/ advisor/ resource during this process. I cannot wait to attend my dream school this fall!! Thank you Heidi!!!!!!!!!!!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 20, 2022
jb101

Joined: Dec 24, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best partner!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I have known and worked with Heidi for a little less than two years. Throughout that time, she has been the best MBA application coach and partner that I could have asked for. Starting with results, I applied to four of the M7s, and I got into three of them – one of them my dream school which I will be attending this fall! I certainly put in the blood, sweat, and tears to make this happen, but Heidi was there for everything.

When I decided to pivot my application year due to COVID, she was incredibly supportive and helped me think through the decision and what it would mean. When I struggled through the GMAT, she identified prep programs that could help me improve my score.

She helped me think about my application holistically, and really helped me tell my story in a very compelling and authentic way. She was patient, supportive, and extremely accessible when I iterated again and again on my essays and application wording. Heidi was willing to meet with me however often I needed, and customized her approach to how I liked to review and receive feedback. She was willing to work on my schedule, and helped keep me on track.

I really couldn’t recommend Heidi enough! She is an amazing coach, storyteller, and partner in this incredibly stressful process.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 19, 2022
yanggrowup

Joined: Jul 15, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q51 V39

Heidi Is The Best!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I have known Heidi since this April. I am truly grateful to meet her and have her accompany me on this journey!
The MBA application is filled with ups and downs–moments when I doubt whether I can make it or whether these efforts are worthwhile. Heidi is a true listener when I felt lost and a mentor who will give me the most useful advice when I got hesitated.
I have a very nontraditional background, which makes the application very difficult. Heidi and I have had a weekly call during the entire process: we discussed the details of my essays, the resume, the rec letter, and she always gives me the most honest feedback. Calls with Heidi are these memorable bits during this period.
What I value the most is that she makes me realize how AWESOME I am. She always encourages me to believe in myself and be more confident. In the process, I reap meaningful personal growth.
Each MBA applicant has his or her story and challenges. But working with Heidi will be one of the most right choices you ever make!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.