GMAT Club

John Sisk Reviews

Company: mbaMission

John Sisk’s extensive background in journalism, advertising, and television, combined with his MBA from New York University’s Stern School of Business and a career-focused mind-set, have no doubt contributed to his having earned more than 75 five-star reviews on GMAT Club—positioning him as one of the leading consultants in the industry. With a BS in journalism from the Medill School at Northwestern University, John was one of The Huffington Post’s first Chicago-focused bloggers and spent five years in the media industry, starting as a page in the NBC Page Program. After a two-year stint with NBC, he worked as a producer on VH1’s Best Week Ever before transitioning to digital media buying at Starcom Worldwide, where he planned clients’ online marketing campaigns. While at Stern, where he specialized in finance, marketing, and TMT (technology, media, and telecom), John was a vice president of the Media Entertainment & Sports Association and contributed to the student newspaper The Stern Opportunity. And as a Graduate Fellow in Stern’s Office of Career Development, he reviewed students’ resumes and cover letters and conducted mock interviews, while working with recruiters from McKinsey & Company, J.P. Morgan, Boston Consulting Group, and Amazon, along with several other top investment banks, consulting firms, and technology companies.

4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 55 reviews
August 04, 2019
Zakyfish22

Joined: May 17, 2019

Posts: 13

Kudos: 8

Self-reported Score:
740 Q50 V40

Start to Finish Package Review - John Sisk (MBA Mission)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with John in 2018-2019 using MBA Mission's Start to Finish package for 5 different schools. Overall the experience was great!

John is great at brainstorming and helping you articulate your key talking points. As someone who knew almost nothing going into the process, it was very helpful to have John guide me through the process. He helped tremendously with brainstorming and editing. Also, once we got interview invites, his interview prep was particularly helpful. This was one of the most helpful features for me, because walking into my interviews I felt very calm and prepared because I had done so much practice already with John.

I come from a non-traditional background, and don't have too many coworkers or friends getting MBAs, so it was very helpful to have John's expertise along the way.

I ended up getting into Stern, CBS & Booth with John's help! I'll be joining CBS next year!

Read More

May 15, 2019
MBA654321

Joined: Mar 19, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 4

Self-reported Score:
740

Scholarships Galore!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with John using a 3 school package and I believe I would not have had the same outcomes, particularly with scholarship money, that I received if I had not worked with him. I had no idea how to frame my "story" and he came in with great ideas and excellent editing/writing abilities to help me pull my application together into a very compelling application that adcoms loved! I got into 5/6 schools I applied to, all with major scholarship money. I'll be heading to Wharton in the Fall. I think I might have gotten into some of these schools on my own, but John helped push me out of the pack and gave me an edge that led me to substantial scholarship money. He spent hours on the phone with me brainstorming ideas for essays, heavily edited essays for the 3 schools for which I was working with him (and then I rather easily transferred many of these essays to the schools I did on my own), and really helped me prep for interviews. My biggest issues with John were that he was late to almost all of our phone meetings, sometimes forgot to respond to my emails and would return essay drafts to me way after his promised deadlines. Also, there were times where I felt John lacked emotional support and was biased i.e. not congratulating me when I received scholarships to schools he didn't help me with, and when I got dinged from my top school he focused on defending himself instead of supporting me. Overall I would highly recommend John! He was not without his faults, but he definitely helped me achieve my goals and in the end that's all that really matters.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 06, 2019
mbamav2019

Joined: Sep 23, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q50 V42

Admitted To Wharton Thanks To John!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Going to business school was a goal I had set for myself as a Junior in college. For the past 5 years, I have selected jobs, extracurriculars, and more to improve my chances at attending a top business school. When it finally came to apply last Fall, I wanted to work with someone that shared my high expectations and would help make my application amazing. John helped me put together an incredible application that could have never produced myself, and helped me get into my dream school.

Throughout my application process, John was a superstar for me to have on my team. Every good team needs an MVP, and I am glad I was able to have John throughout this long journey.

John stood out in every facet of the application process. When I struggled to develop my story and post-MBA goals, John was always quick to hop on a phone for us to brainstorm with anecdotes from previous clients and templates to help me organize my thoughts. When I struggled to come up with ideas my essays, John helped provide me an outline combining my story and what winning essays look like. When I then struggled to keep to the word count of my essays, John provided incredible advice and edits to help make my essays stand out. And every time I was about to make rookie mistakes in the application process, John steered me straight.

Even more, John made the entire process thoroughly enjoyable through his calm demeanor, professionalism, and personal touch. Constantly throughout this process, I was overwhelmed and scared. However, every interaction with John helped keep me focused. Phone calls and e-mails were filled not only with constructive feedback but also humor. John not only saw me as a client, but got to know me for me, which not only made working with him fun, but also made him an amazing partner to bounce ideas off of.

Today, as I re-read my essays and entire application today, I am amazed at the final product. There is no way I could have ever gotten in to the schools I did without John. For anyone considering applying to b-school, I would not hesitate when working with John. He simply is the best there is.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 26, 2019
JA2018

Joined: Jun 25, 2018

Posts: 6

Kudos: 13

Verified score:
720 Q48 V42

Highly Recommend - Headed to an M7 thanks to John!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

John/MbaMission was the first admissions consultant company to take the time to look beyond my stats on paper and hear my story/motivations for applying.

I researched and spoke with several similar companies to gage my chances at different programs and heard I needed to readjust my expectations. My less traditional background (major/undergrad institution), and only 3 years of work experience (4 at program start) would rule out top schools. One company even told me "it doesn't matter if you score an 800 on the GMAT, you're not the type of applicant top programs are looking for." However, mbaMission was different.

John was incredibly encouraging, responsive, and attentive throughout the entire process (even just to check in during the decision waiting period). He restored my confidence and helped me tell my story which clearly articulated my personal and professional reasons for wanting an MBA. The result was a clear illustration of not just why I wanted an MBA but also everything I had done to prepare and how it would be pivotal in my career aspirations.

While I was still slightly jaded by the prior feedback I heard, I chose to only apply small number of schools (a couple M7/T5 and one T10) with the intention of waiting and applying next year if needed to a more "realistic" range. However, this was not needed because not only was I accepted (including a scholarship), but I also had a choice of programs. I am thrilled to say I will be headed to an M7/T5 in the fall! I would highly recommend John and mbaMission to anyone going through this process.

Read More

November 12, 2018
pierocks

Joined: Jan 07, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

Columbia Business School Admit!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

TL;DR: With a somewhat scattered career trajectory, I needed someone very skilled in helping me draw out compelling career and personal narratives (the essays), and present myself in a beautiful package (the whole application). John’s previous reviews share a theme of exceptional storytelling, and he did exactly that with me. It was nice to have John as a partner who cared about the results. I was admitted to Columbia Business School!

Researching Consultants: Quantitative measures aside, the key to a successful MBA application is undoubtedly compelling career and personal narratives, which are also by far the most challenging. As I read detailed reviews of consultants, their key strengths became apparent. John’s previous reviews share a consistent theme of him helping applicants put together compelling applications and stories (he does have a journalism background after all).

Working with John: I went with the hourly package. As I think back on the application process, there were several things John did that maximized the efficiency and results:

1. With hourly services, John is very efficient with time, but most importantly, the feedback that he sends back is direct and actionable. This allowed me to make drastic improvements to my essays between each iteration. The final product was an essay that read so smooth and conveyed so, so much in 500 words.
2. John clarified how I should tackle each essay, which was so helpful given the prompts are vague and cut out the many extra drafts I would have had to do.
3. I found it super helpful to have a call with John, especially when I hit writer’s block, to bounce ideas off of him. These sessions were extremely productive in moving things along rather than spending days stuck on something.
4. Lastly, I will say that the road of an MBA application is a lonely one. John was a partner who cared about the success of my application, and his professional and calm demeanor kept me going and focused.

Result: Acceptance to Columbia Business School!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 09, 2018
mbaapplicant365

Joined: Jul 09, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

John is Amazing!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

John Sisk is an outstanding MBA admissions consultant and a pleasure to work with. He really knows what he is talking about regarding each facet of the application process. From start to finish, John was highly professional, easy to talk to, and driven to help me succeed as an MBA applicant. Regarding essays, I could not have been prouder of the final drafts I produced under John’s guidance. John has such a great understanding of how to write in a clear, compelling manner, he was able to really bring out the best in me as a writer, and help me frame my story using parts of my background I would not have initially thought to use. Regarding application strategy, recommendations, short answers, resume, and any questions that came to mind about the admissions process, John also provided expert advice and insight. John’s calm, supportive style also significantly increased my confidence throughout the process. This was invaluable when it came time for interview preparation. John not only anticipated the exact kinds of questions my interviewers ended up asking, but also was able to get me in the right frame of mind going into the interview: to approach the process with an enthusiastic and positive attitude, which I think really came through in terms of making a great impression on my interviewers. This showed in the results. In the end, I got into my dream MBA program: Columbia Business School. I could not have done this without John’s guidance, and I highly recommend him to anyone who wants to gain admission to a top MBA program.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 31, 2018
Bostonfoodie

Joined: May 31, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Awesome experience with John - highly recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I got admitted to a top 5 MBA program after applying in round 2. And I couldn't have done it without John. I started working with John late in the application process. John has so much experience on personal statements and knows what each school looks for and guided me to the right direction for each application. I was not confident about my essays at first, but after many times of discussion and editing rounds with John, I felt confident and was ready to submit my application. Given that I also have a demanding job, John really took a lot of pressure of my shoulders. He was also extremely supportive for any creative ideas. John is very easy to work with. I highly recommend him as an MBA consultant!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 11, 2018
Solsons123

Joined: Sep 29, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excellent Services

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I got partnered up with John late into my application process and looking back am very very glad I did. Working with John was a seamless process - I was able to walk through my general thought process on application plans, school visits, interview preparation, and general story. John was thoughtful, methodical, and efficient with this consulting services. I would absolutely recommend him to other prospective business school applicants, particularly those who are looking for an organized and structured approach to applying to schools. In the end, John was able to help me get admitted to my top choice and was kind enough to do a de-brief call to reflect and also start to plan the first semester in my full-time MBA program!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 20, 2018
mbbmba

Joined: Oct 18, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Review of John Sisk, mbaMission

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

When I was looking to work with an admissions consultant in the summer to put my best foot forward in the application process, a very good friend of mine, who’d gotten into B school, suggested I take John's and mbaMission's help. During my initial conversation, I found John to be refreshingly honest. I knew I was aggressive with my school selection, given my background. John, while mentioning some of the pitfalls with my strategy, told me "You've done half the job. Now, leave all the worrying about your odds of getting in to me!" After this, I was convinced to enlist John’s help with the ‘All-in’ package.
Because I was consulting on a project in John’s city, we decided to meet up at a local Starbucks to go over essay outlines for my top choice school. John’s storytelling skills shone through immediately. I could see that he had taken the time to go over my background and stories from the brainstorming document I’d sent to him earlier. I was very impressed with the way John provided structure and detail to my essays, all while introducing ‘hooks’ from my past to keep the reader engaged. At the end of the essay writing process, I was convinced I presented the best version of myself to the admissions committee.
John also helped refine my message and delivery during a 30 minute mock interview over the phone. When the day of the interview came, I was confident of facing any question my interviewer could potentially throw at me. I was eventually accepted into my top choice program. In hindsight, working with John proved to be a great decision. He truly cares about his client’s success. I’m confident, my investment in mbaMisson and John will prove to be a drop in the bucket over the long run.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 10, 2018
petercahanson

Joined: Apr 08, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q48 V38

I Can't Thank John Enough!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Applying to business school is a daunting task. It’s both difficult and unnatural to compile everything about you into a neat, comprehensive package and then present it to admission committees who will be making a decision that directly impacts your career trajectory. John did an amazing job breaking down the process into manageable pieces, which both calmed my nerves, and gave me direction throughout the process. What I found most helpful when working with John was his ability to adapt as the application process unfolded. I worked with John for almost a full year, and in that year a lot of things changed in my personal and professional lives, which altered my approach to finding the right business school for me. However, John was able to adjust our process along the way, culminating in my acceptance into my dream school. I can confidently say that I would not have been able to get into my top choices without John, and for that, I’ll be forever thankful. I can’t thank John enough!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

20 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for John Sisk