GMAT Club

Judith Silverman Hodara Reviews

Company: Fortuna Admissions

Judith served as a core member of admissions committees at the University of Pennsylvania for almost two decades, most recently as Acting Director at the Wharton School’s MBA Program. She was also an Associate Director in the Office of Undergraduate Admissions.

While at the Wharton School, Judith’s multi-region expertise in Asia, Europe, and the Middle East helped her to shape the incoming Wharton classes from a competitive applicant pool of the world’s best and brightest.

Judith has also served as Director of Admission at the Graduate School of Education at the University of Pennsylvania, and as the Director of Academic Affairs for the Rothberg School at Hebrew University. She holds an EdD from the University of Pennsylvania’s Graduate School of Education.

5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 9 reviews
April 21, 2019
skendall1990

Joined: Apr 01, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly recommended for final profile review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was super confused when looking for an MBA admissions consultant – I wasn’t entirely sure about shelling out a ton of money on top of the ridiculous amount that I spent already. I decided to do a handful of the “free consultations” with various companies before finding Fortuna and talking with Matt. He was super clear, transparent and genuine in how he viewed my profile in the 30-minute call – he didn’t try to sell me on the full package (even though it was the MUCH more expensive route). He was transparent that he thought I didn’t need the full-school package but rather could reach out to him/Fortuna later for a more “ad hoc” engagement. I really appreciated what didn’t seem at all like a sales pitch and rather a genuine conversation.
Onwards to me doing my applications myself…after I completed the vast majority of the applications and decided to reach out to Fortuna for a “last minute check” on the school I considered my top choice. I was connected with Judith at Fortuna and send her my entire application. She thoroughly reviewed all 4 of the essays and other “qualitative comments” sections of my application and provided very useful improvements, one of which was to entirely re-write one of the short response essays. All communication with Judith was via email and a phone call. The final application review process with her was very efficient and really did provide the outside expert view on how to make the essays really “pop”. The end result was me getting accepted to this school (my top choice) with a substantial merit scholarship. Would highly recommend Fortuna, especially with my positive experiences with Matt & Judith.

Read More

March 31, 2018
cyb

Joined: Sep 17, 2015

Posts: 12

Kudos: 6

Verified score:
760 Q50 V42

SO WONDERFUL

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I'll keep it short and sweet... Judith is an outstanding admissions consultant. She is at once a coach, advisor, therapist, and best friend. She can course-correct you with just a few sentences. She knows the top programs inside and out. She helped me craft essays that not only got me into my dream schools, they made me proud and fully represented me. I sincerely hope I get to work with Judith again soon.

Gmat Club is requiring me to write more words on this review. But seriously just hire her. She is awesome. Seven more words required. Thank you Judith!!!!

Read More

January 16, 2018
GB1305

Joined: Feb 24, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V40

Could not have done it without her

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Judith Hodora right before my group interview. From my first touch point with Judith, she was compassionate and encouraged me to focus on my strengths which definitely helped me calm my nerves. We also discussed specific ideas I could undertake on the interview day to tackle aspects I had missed. She was definitely invested in my success and even volunteered to go out of her way to give me extra coaching on the Sunday afternoon right before my interview !! This was quite heart warming and really made me feel like I was ready to ace D-day. Her experience having seen numerous candidate profiles really comes through. I would 100% recommend working with her throughout the process. Great mentor to have !

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 10, 2017
flc17

Joined: Aug 10, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Fortuna and Judith - Strongly Recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

My experience working with Judith was great. I was initially drawn to Fortuna after speaking with both Judith and Matt, her business partner. I had spoken with multiple consulting firms, and Fortuna really impressed me with their attention to detail on my background and what I was hoping to accomplish.

Judith gave a lot of great insight into the admissions process at the various schools, drawing on both her own experience in admissions as well as that of her colleagues. I wasn't sure how much detail was needed for each of the essays. During my first pass at an essay, she came back to me and said that I really needed to go deeper and provided a handful of helpful questions and comments that forced me to get super specific with that school. Throughout the process, she was willing to look over essays and answer last minute questions, and overall was an incredibly useful and calming presence throughout the process. Additionally, she held interview prep sessions for both 1-1 and group interviews, all of which were invaluable.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 28, 2017
pya90

Joined: Apr 27, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Great Experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Judith at Fortuna and could not be more thankful for her help. My first conversation with Judith was great – she was very calm, knowledgeable, and really took the time to hear my story. She provided constructive feedback and advice even during my initial free phone consultation, which immediately drew me to choosing Fortuna. They were initially going to place me with a specific consultant who had extensive experience with Wharton, but he/she was not available at the time – thus, Judith helped me instead and did not charge me extra even though she goes for the higher director’s rate.

Judith was extremely responsive, efficient, and provided very helpful feedback to each iteration of my essays and application. With not much time to complete my application, Judith was never the bottleneck - she was rather a calming presence. I knew my story, but she helped refine it and frame it in a compelling way on paper. When I got to the interview stage, I had no idea what to expect as Wharton’s group/team-based interview is unique – luckily, Fortuna also offered mock team-based interview training, which I found very helpful. I went into the actual interview feeling confident and well-prepared because I had gone through it with other candidates and received feedback on my performance from Judith. I felt reassured and confident every step of the way with Judith’s help because I knew she had extensive experience evaluating candidates as an admissions director herself.

I will be attending Wharton and am extremely grateful for Fortuna and Judith’s support. I truly received individualized attention (even as an hourly client), and am very happy with the outcome!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 02, 2016
spr380

Joined: Sep 02, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q48 V47

An Applicant's Best Friend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After being rejected last year from several programs, I knew I needed to take a fresh look at my application and if I would even have a chance reapplying. So I reached out to Matt at Fortuna to see if it would be worth it to reapply. Matt spent over an hour on the phone with me and was extremely knowledgeable. He thought I had a chance, but he also mentioned that he worked with a former Wharton Admissions Director named Judith who could review my previous application to see if I had a chance. Judith reviewed my previous application and quickly provided valuable feedback about a couple of holes that could be fixed. I immediately made the decision to move forward with Fortuna and I am extremely glad that I did.

Judith was absolutely amazing throughout the process. She provided great and very specific feedback that maintained my voice, but just helped to slightly tweak the messaging and impact. She was also extremely prompt and we were able to go through multiple revisions of essays in a single week. With each iteration helping to tighten the story and flow of the essays. As an hourly client, I especially appreciated how efficient she was in her feedback and advice because I was able to pack in far more than I initially expected. Overall, I highly highly recommend Judith. She was fantastic!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 15, 2016
fechisel

Joined: May 20, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
720 Q48 V41

Expert service from former adcom staff

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Judith and Michel at Fortuna were astutely knowledgable about the ins and outs of the application process for each of my applications. Their feedback on my personal profile and each essay draft were invaluable to my acceptance into one of my dream MBA programs. It felt like they were on the journey through the application process with me, alleviating a lot of stress along the way. They took the time to get to know my personality and story so well beforehand that they were able to make specific, nuanced comments that heightened my essays to best make my case from their perspective as former adcom members. One of the most important aspects of the consulting experience for me was to commit to a timeline for deliverables. Judith and Michel kept me on track with each of three applications, gently nudging me when I was behind but never aggressively. Each interaction was a pleasure and I would recommend Fortuna to anyone interested in getting into their business school of choice.

Read More

October 28, 2015
EDF0810

Joined: Oct 28, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
540 Q25 V40

I was thoroughly impressed by Fortuna Admissions. I would recommend Fortuna to anyone who is seeking admission to a competitive business school and wants to submit a strong, polished profile.

Two things really struck me in working with Fortuna:

1) They really get to know you before you dig deep into the application process. Judith became familiar with my background, to the extent that she pointed out that there was a cohesiveness to my education, professional background, and strengths that I wasn’t aware of. Not only did this significantly improve my application, but I can communicate in a more compelling way about my background.

2) They are extremely intuitive and detail-oriented. The feedback they gave me on my essays was extremely helpful. I wasn’t going into nearly enough detail in my essays—I mean, I thought I was!—but Judith pushed me to really get into the “why,” why I was passionate about my professional goals.

Finally, the other perk of working with Fortuna is that they know this business inside-and-out. There were things I learned about the application process and making the most of my application materials that I didn’t get from reading “MBA Admissions Strategy” by Avi Gordon or listening to dozens of MBA Podcaster podcasts or picking my MBA cousin’s brain.

Also, this sounds miniscule, but the one other thing that I really liked about working with Fortuna is that 80% of my anxiety about applying to business school went away. I knew that I was working with professionals, they were aware of my deadlines, and it was my job to stay organized and just focus my energy on writing great essays.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 09, 2015
madcatmk3

Joined: Jul 09, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Solid Services, Average pricing

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I contracted Fortuna to do a roadmap for a potential future MBA to see what path would make the most sense given my general career direction. After many interviews and long conversations they provided me a full breakdown of the way admissions would view my strengths and weaknesses and what to improve on before applying.

Not only were the staff professional but the information and strategy they returned was comprehensive. At the end of the day the roadmap itself was very pricey, but not in any way above industry standard. Since I had this done considerably before applying for an MBA I was able to correct all the deficiencies they mentioned.

Overall they were very helpful in guiding me through the options in front of me. I ended up getting an MSc internationally in the end and now have a job that generally requires an MBA. Should I ever decide to return for an MBA I will be in an incredibly strong spot.

In the end while there are a lot of places that offer this kind of service, Fortuna was very easy and pleasant to work with. I would use them again for my application package too if I go that route.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.