GMAT Club

Sharon Joyce Reviews

Company: Fortuna Admissions

With over 25 years of experience in admissions and student affairs, Sharon is a seasoned professional in higher education who has been lauded for her innovative approaches in streamlining interview processes at multiple institutions and her efforts to create inclusive communities in graduate education. At UC Berkeley’s Haas School of Business, she served as the Associate Director of Admissions for the full-time program MBA program, while also collaborating on the overall strategic plan for Haas admissions as a member of the Senior Management team. While at Carnegie Mellon’s Tepper School of Business, she contributed to the success of the MBA program in a role that encompassed admissions and career services. Sharon received her BA from Chatham University and holds a doctoral degree in Administrative and Policy Studies in Higher Education from the University of Pittsburgh; her doctoral research was focused on first-generation college students and their rise into graduate programs. Sharon is also a Certified Coach in CliftonStrengths, and specializes in early stage planning with many of our Fortuna clients.

5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 23 reviews
April 09, 2021
oaa5053

Joined: Sep 24, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 2

Above & Beyond!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

This application process has been an inspirational journey of self-reflection that made me truly think about who I was, who I am, and who I want to be. When I first had my first free consultation, I was lost. I did not know where I wanted to apply and which school suits me best. Matt showed a great deal of knowledge about the schools and quickly understood what I was looking for, and hence matched me with Sharon.
Sharon was not only an admission coach but also an emotional support system. She fostered an environment of trust, honesty, respect, and above all, faith! From our first preparation meeting, it was evident that she spent proper time in my strategy document and made sure she knew everything about me. She even made me take a CliftonStrength assessment to understand my strengths and weaknesses. Sharon pushed me to truly reflect on my past experiences and how they shaped me to become who I am today. She helped me truly present my personal brand in the best way possible and knew what each school was looking for. Because of her great attention to detail, she often reviewed my submissions multiple times before deadlines to ensure nothing slips through the cracks. When she wasn’t sure about something, she always levered Fortuna resources and availed all necessary experiences and knowledge from other coaches to help me prepare. During the interview preparation process, she absolutely went above and beyond! We must have done a dozen interviews because she genuinely wanted me to get admitted to my dream school.
Overall, I am 100% satisfied and would definitely recommend Sharon from Fortuna to everyone!

Read More

March 22, 2021
dchicka

Joined: May 26, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
670 Q47 V35

Higly recommended MBA Coach

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Sharon on my HAAS EWMBA application through Fortuna using their Hourly services package. Sharon’s nuanced understanding of what the Ad com looks for in a candidate was extremely useful in building my application. She was very good at identifying my strengths and did an excellent job of crafting an application strategy around them. Her attention to detail is extremely impressive and is very easy to work with. We connected a month before the deadline and her focused work helped me complete my application with a week left. I highly recommend Sharon as a MBA coach to anyone.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 28, 2020
davisz2010

Joined: Oct 28, 2019

Posts: 6

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
700 Q49 V36

Hourly Service Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

highly recommend Sharon due to her ability to help me be more introspective in my essays and to find the right story/voice in my materials. I didn’t have a strong understanding of what business schools are looking for and Sharon was able to help fill that gap. With her phenomenal knowledge of the schools on my list, she helped me understand how my unique background aligned with the mission of the schools I was targeting and how to bring those stories out in my application essays and while on interviews. Please note I am an engineer by training, so not a storyteller by nature! Her continuous encouragement and positivity bolstered my confidence during the MBA application process and her prompt replies to me, whether over email or text, were appreciated during what is typically a stressful time. There were a few occasions when I urgently needed her assistance and she always responded in a timely manner, even when she was travelling. I appreciated the genuine care she placed on the success of my application and I am thrilled to have been admitted to a top program on the East Coast and was also awarded a generous scholarship.

Read More

July 27, 2020
Noobasaur

Joined: Jul 20, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

A Top Notch Experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I had an exceptional experience working with Sharon Joyce and I highly recommend her as an admissions consultant.


Sharon and I began our work together in early 2020 with only months to go before the April submission deadline and a single Top-10 MBA program in my sights. Her deep knowledge about process and timing paid dividends from the start - within days of our first meeting she had prepared an action plan that made our ambitious goal seem not just achievable but downright reasonable.


As we executed on said plan, Sharon’s feedback was always thoughtful, well-informed, and refreshingly direct. She identified my strengths and weaknesses as a candidate and knew precisely how to showcase the former and “buttress” the latter, all while making authenticity a top priority. Each iteration of my application improved dramatically with Sharon’s input, even over the course of just a few weeks, and her guidance ultimately helped me achieve my goal: I applied to a single Top-10 school and was accepted into its Class of 2022.


Sharon provided all of the above help with extraordinary flexibility. Whether related to pricing, timing, or other logistical matters, Sharon was understanding, generous, and gracious. I am extremely thankful to have found Sharon and to have had her help throughout the process, and I recommend her enthusiastically.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 29, 2020
sanu92

Joined: Apr 01, 2019

Posts: 3

Kudos: 0

The mentor I needed

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Sharon on my Fall 2020 MBA applications and I highly recommend her. Since the beginning of my journey to enroll in a top program, I was very anxious about the process due to my lower undergraduate GPA. Sharon not only guided me through the process by developing a systematic plan of action, she also helped me gain confidence about my chances for admission. Looking back, the best decision I made for applying to b-school was partnering with Sharon - I couldn’t have done it without her help and support in the process. She was less of a consultant and more of a mentor to me - to not only guide me towards efficient ways of networking and crafting essays, but she also thoroughly prepared me for interviews and how to approach interacting with b-schools in a more sophisticated manner. She was extremely patient with me, understood my shortcomings deeply and then helped me recognize my strengths and taught me how to leverage them in applications and while on interviews. She has a very warm and welcoming personality and great experience as a Fortuna Coach. Those who have doubts about themselves and those who aspire to be successful MBA candidates should definitely talk to Sharon! She will work with him/her to bring out the best in their background/create the best positioning possible. I wish I could add 5 more stars to this rating because in working with Dr. Sharon Joyce, I found the mentor I desperately needed. Thanks a lot!

Read More

June 27, 2020
elnino33

Joined: May 14, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Absolutely must-use B School consultant!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I first worked with Sharon during the summer of 2019 and she helped me massively overcome hurdles I faced in the application process. Working with Sharon on the "early stage planning" MBA process aided me tremendously in strategizing my weaknesses and strengths in applying for full-time programs. Sharon's expertise with top programs, Clifton Strengths, and her ability to give sound and cogent advice make her a great consultant to work with!

Since working with her I've proudly applied to several top MBA programs (full-time) with confidence and am currently awaiting final decisions. If your certain you want to pursue an MBA however need help in the planning and strategizing piece I cannot recommend working with another consultant but Sharon!

Read More

May 18, 2020
ldyer

Joined: Jun 05, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q42 V40

Hourly Consulting with Sharon from Fortuna

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I highly recommend working with Sharon on MBA applications, interviews, strategy, etc.

When I decided to purchase an hourly consulting package, I was expecting help with overall strategy and a few essay prompts. In the short time Sharon and I spent together, she helped me with my overall strategy, every single essay (for 5 schools!), and short answer questions. She even proofread 2 applications before I hit submit. Sharon was extremely conscious of my time and was transparent about how the hours were spent. She made the stressful process of business school applications more manageable and enjoyable.

I was invited to interview at 4 out the 5 schools I applied to. After 2 of the interviews, I decided to do an additional hour of interview prep with Sharon. I wish I had done the hour of prep in the beginning. One hour of prep with Sharon was more beneficial than days spent on my own.

In the end, I received admission offers (with scholarships!) from the 4 schools I interviewed at. I'm beyond thrilled! Even in this stage of the process, Sharon has continued to help me with my decision.

Overall, I highly recommend working with Sharon. She's honest, funny, and truly goes above and beyond to help her clients in any way she can.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 16, 2020
orangebroccoli

Joined: Jan 25, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q43 V44

So Grateful To Have Found Sharon!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I am so grateful that I found Sharon early on in this process. Fortuna gave me a candid assessment of my chances at my target schools and then paired me with Sharon based on the schools I was applying to. From the first phone call, I knew I’d found a good match and that she GOT me, and we proceeded with hourly consulting after that. I appreciated that in every essay, short answer, interview prep session, etc., she helped me show myself to my full potential, rather than trying to make me out to be something different than I am. She’s organized, caring, funny, savvy, and will be your ultimate cheerleader during this process. She’s also efficient and would never waste your time or money, which is so important to me. I thrilled to be able to say that I was admitted to UCLA Anderson, NYU Stern, Yale SOM, and Northwestern Kellogg–all with at least $40k in scholarships at each. THANK YOU, Sharon, for helping me through this arduous process–I’m forever indebted to you!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 30, 2020
Ezlife

Joined: Feb 20, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

I expected a T25 not HWS!!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Who am I? I am a military pilot with a good GPA from a state school and an average GRE score for my target programs.

My success: 2019-2020 application cycle, applying R2, I had done zero work on my applications or essays and had roughly 45 days until the R2 deadlines. Sharon was instrumental in my ability to complete applications to 7 Top 10 MBA programs within 45 days— I was working full time. I received 6 admits, 1 waitlist, and ultimately accepted an offer to attend Wharton w/$.

How she helped:
1) Identifying the characteristics, each school was looking for and the underlying questions each essay was asking.
2) Selecting my best story to tackle each question.
3) She changed my writing style from procedural to creative writing, AKA good storytelling. Also, she corrected grammar mistakes and improved my word choice.
4) Helped me avoid applications landmines, that would have otherwise suck my applications.
5) Supporting and kept me on task, on schedule (accountability).

I worked with Sharon on an hourly basis, which was the most cost-effective route given my situation. She was very generous with her time. I felt as if she was there anytime I need help, and that my money was well spent.

I contribute much of my success to Sharon, my name is Eric, if you contact her, she can pass you my contact information, and I would gladly chat 1:1.

Read More

March 30, 2020
zynyek

Joined: Jan 28, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Strongly recommend Sharon Joyce!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I have worked with Sharon from start to finish on a number of applications and I can safely say that it was the best decision I made. I was admitted to Yale SOM, UCLA Anderson, NYU Stern, USC Marshall and other schools on my list and I could not have done it without her excellent guidance and help during the admissions process. She knows the business school application process and different programs really well and thoroughly cares about her clients. She dedicated an incredible amount of time to getting to know me (including discussing my strengths after a CliftonStrengths assessment) brainstorming my professional goals, gave detailed feedback on my resume, all my essays (including many drafts) and all parts of the written application and worked extensively on interview prep with me which I believe made all the difference in my applications. Despite our time difference, she was very flexible and responsive over phone, Skype and Google Docs and was available at very short notice close to the deadlines. Even at most stressful times during the application process, she kept me on track with her support, positivity and mentorship. I 110% recommend her to anyone looking to apply to the top MBA programs because you will not find a better teammate than Sharon in this process, she is a rockstar!

Read More