GMAT Club

MGMAT Self-Study Toolkit Reviews

There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT.
Save up to $100 on Manhattan GMAT courses + $250 bonus with GMAT Club
4.7 /5 Average Rating
5 star
26
4 star
9
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 35 reviews
December 21, 2017
alh13

Joined: Nov 01, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q44 V38

One of the best Quant resources to practice with!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Self-Study Toolkit

Location Online

Manhattan is one of the best Quant resources to practice with. The self study basics kit had the tricky questions of the GMAT pinned down. Learning the question patterns helped me recognize question traps on the GMAT. Very good practice resource especially for those aiming to score 700+.

The verbal review of Manhattan was also above average. However, it may not be as detailed as the math sections.

I recommend the Manhattan self prep for those targeting Gmat scores above 700. Also, the self study tool is helpful in tracking progress and mistakes throughout the review process. If you are an independent and disciplined individual, self study prep would be perfect for you! It is cheaper, but just as effective.

Good luck!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 28, 2017
aastha93

Joined: Jul 02, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
700 Q46 V40

MGMAT Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Self-Study Toolkit

Location Online

these books are great starting tool for GMAT. Although these lack enough practice material, the online content makes for up for it. The material is presented in a comprehensible and cohesive manner, with enough focus on what needs to be practiced, excluding extra useless content. These books combined with official material make for a great combination for GMAT. The books come with free access to 6 practice tests and quizzes for each topic. The online tools also include OG guide book which tells the answers to official guide questions and helps selects question as per difficulty order. Also, MGMAT blogs are a great place to learn tips and tricks from experienced professionals.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 24, 2017
asthagupta

Joined: Sep 10, 2015

Posts: 74

Kudos: 58

Verified score:
700 Q49 V36

Manhattan Mocks

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Self-Study Toolkit

Location Online

The best replica of real gmat after gmat prep. Best part is quant which is a little bit more difficult but trains you for the worst. If you are planning to by any test series then go for the manhattan one. These guys also allow you to reset the exams so that you can give it again. I shared it with my friend as we were giving n different time periods. First i used it then my friend. Verbal is more or less same as present in the official guide or in test. I gave gmat twice and got q50 and q47 respectively. And i got it by preparing only with manhattan nothing else. The solutions provided by them are very very informative and one can have take aways with every questions.

Read More

September 15, 2017
Haardvark

Joined: Aug 15, 2017

Posts: 25

Kudos: 15

Verified score:
770 Q49 V47

No score ceiling for MGMAT

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Self-Study Toolkit

Location Online

My zero-experience baseline was about a 660, but MGMAT's books and online CATs provided both keen insight on the flaws in my knowledge / strategy and the skills to correct my various deficiencies. The quant section was excellent -- I wish I had known about the 'advanced quant' series, as I am sure it would have been a tremendous help as well. I didn't spend very much time on the verbal at all, but in the areas where I was shaky, I was able to quickly improve. It doesn't matter if your target score is 600 or 800 -- if you have the aptitude and attitude, this course will get you where you want to go!

Read More

August 29, 2017
premprabhs111

Joined: Feb 17, 2017

Posts: 77

Kudos: 64

Verified score:
720 Q49 V40

mixed reviews

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Self-Study Toolkit

Location Online

The manhatten tests which i used were very un-gmat like when it came to math. The math was unexceptionally hard. For someone scoring a 49-50 in the gmatprep i was scoring between 44 and 47 in manhattan. So a suggestion to them would be to decrease their quant difficulty level because a person getting q50 would waste time on math thinking is actually bad instead of working on verbal. The verbal part of the test was accurate and had some great questions. Also their book on sentence correction was good for developing concepts but should have proper gmat like questions to solve. Also study material were very good

Read More

July 23, 2017
sashankvissa

Joined: Jun 07, 2015

Posts: 12

Kudos: 9

Self-reported Score:
640 Q48 V29
680 Q49 V34

MGMAT Self-Study Toolkit - helpful for quants

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Self-Study Toolkit

Location Online

The manhattan prep self-study tool kit is an excellent resource for quantitative aptitude. It is not all that great for verbal, in my opinion.
It includes the following - You get 12 Manhattan GMAT Books + 3 Official Guides
- Includes a one-on-one session with a GMAT instructor
- Includes GMAT Navigator tool
- 5 Video lessons from GMAT Interact
- 6 Manhattan GMAT CATs + online quizzes
- 6-month access to GMAT Club Tests is included, a $250 value

The five video lessons were really helpful. Also, the 6 tests are quite high in rigor. It may not replicate the exact GMAT level but will give you a fair estimate on where you stand.

Read More

June 20, 2017
ryukbyun

Joined: Jun 20, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
760 Q53 V56

great prep course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 200 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Self-Study Toolkit

Location Online

coming form a non traditional background, I decided to use manhattan gmat at my friends' recommendation. When I first took the practice test, I ended up getting a score in the 500s. However, after I studied for 2 weeks with manhattan gmat, I ended up getting 760. it is a great course and I didn't even watch any videos - just reading the books and the practice tests were plenty. I highly recommend manhattan gmat to anyone taking the gmat. the drastic improvement was something experienced by all my friends who ended up taking the gmat to apply to business school. can't recommend it enough

Read More

April 15, 2017
yashbabu

Joined: Jan 01, 2014

Posts: 90

Kudos: 31

Self-reported Score:
690 Q48 V35

NOTHING CAN BEAT MANHATTAN

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement 180 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Self-Study Toolkit

Location Online

If you want to score a 700+, look no further. Going through the well explained Manhattan GMAT guides and watching Thursdays with Ron alone will help you score that 700+.
My verbal did not improve from my diagnostic exam. (I am a native speaker). In my diagnostic exam I got a 41V but on test day I got a 37V. I am not sure why this is as I have scored at least a 38V or higher on all of my practice tests. I do wish that the MGMAT verbal guides had multiple choice questions in the back (to simulate test questions) instead of the short answer questions that they currently have.
For Quant, the books are good to clarify concepts and lay down fundaments but I felt overall the quant tests from MGMAT are a bit more tedious than the actual GMAT which has slightly more witty questions which can make the real GMAT challenging. Along with this I would suggest to use the gmatclub Quant practise tests which are extremely representative. I suggest to focus on verbal for MGMAT and gmatclub tests for Quant.

Read More

March 23, 2017
nitish16k

Joined: Jul 17, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q48 V42

A good investment but need a small supplement

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Self-Study Toolkit

Location Online

As I mentioned, MGMAT Prep is a good investment but I do think to really ace both Verbal and Quant you need a bit more specifically on the quant side. The verbal of MGMAT is brilliant - it seriously helped me clarify my understanding and devise an attack strategy for my verbal. For Quant, the books are good to clarify concepts and lay down fundaments but I felt overall the quant tests from MGMAT are a bit more tedious than the actual GMAT which has slightly more witty questions which can make the real GMAT challenging. Along with this I would suggest to use the gmatclub Quant practise tests which are extremely representative. I suggest to focus on verbal for MGMAT and gmatclub tests for Quant.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 26, 2017
gjonrexha

Joined: Sep 24, 2016

Posts: 33

Kudos: 8

Must USE!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Self-Study Toolkit

Location Online

The MGMAT course review books are so fundamental to picking upn on the basics of the GMAT. I Dont know about all of you but they make concepts so clear and concise and so easy to follow that they really did help me better understand the material. The Quant Section was very good I especially liked the Advanced sections at the end of every book. Verbal was more or less ehhhh but Verbal is not a hard component of this test unless your a non-native speaker would highly recommend!! I would especially recommend the advanced quant book from MGMAT it really is a comprehensive book which lays out all the different tricks and GMAC can formulate questions. Would highly recommend coupled with the OG Guide to perform well on your exam.

Read More


9 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Manhattan Prep GMAT