GMAT Club

Hourly Services Reviews

5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 13 reviews
April 29, 2019
ttttian

Joined: Sep 24, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great investment for your MBA application

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

What I love about working with Melody is that she is able to push me to the best of myself. Working with her is a great investment to my MBA application. I reached out to Melody a little late in the preparation process while I was quite overwhelmed and confused working on the applications myself. After I reached out to Melody, she made sure she understood what I was looking for in schools and helped me strategize my application package. Her feedback to my essays was straight to the point and constructive. She made me feel that we were on the same team and she was committed to help me achieve my goals. Although she was busy, she was always able to meet the timelines that we initially agreed on. I can’t thank Melody enough!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 03, 2019
notabot

Joined: Oct 27, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

It works!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

If you are reading this review and considering an MBA consultant, I recommend you go with Vantage Point. Below are the reasons.

First, the results: for context, I am a re-applicant. Last year I applied to three schools and did not get admitted to any of the three. This year I applied to four -- Harvard, Stanford, Wharton, and Booth. I RECEIVED YES CALLS FROM ALL FOUR, with substantial merit scholarships from Wharton and Booth. The results alone speak for themselves. Meredith at Vantage Point (and her team at-large) was absolutely critical to my success in this process.

Second, since I am a re-applicant, I had previously engaged two large firms in the MBA consulting space. The first big-name company was an absolute disaster of an experience -- my assigned consultant added significant stress to the process with a very condescending attitude, which led me to my second experience with another big-name firm. The second one was helpful more on the tactical level than strategic, which was to be expected given that I went with their hourly service.

I want to be transparent about my previous engagements with the two other firms so as to highlight why Vantage Point (and Meredith in particular) stand out in this field. At the start, she recommended that I go with the hourly service in lieu of the comprehensive (this recommendation was in my best interest despite the fact that I'd be paying her less), and throughout the process engaged my "project" as if it were her own in the sense that she never feared giving big, strategic feedback (e.g. that I should re-write an entire essay because things didn't read right in terms of level of detail, or because it didn't sound like my voice came through) without being imposing. This was exactly what I needed, and I believe is the most helpful approach for people in the MBA application process.

Furthermore, Meredith was a cheerleader and extremely supportive throughout the process. She REALLY cares for her clients.

The MBA application process can be grueling, and picking people who will be on your team and in your corner is crucial. I hope you make the right decision for you (for me that meant Meredith), and good luck on your journey!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 27, 2019
mbaadmit29

Joined: Jan 27, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Melody was a fantastic resource and cannot recommend her enough! I worked with her on an hourly basis since I decided to use a consultant relatively late in the process (I had already written first drafts of all of the essays). Melody was tremendously helpful in helping me refine my story and ensuring that every word of each essay and my resume supported that story. Her feedback was always constructive and relevant and reflected a high level of detail despite me being an hourly client. Furthermore, Melody is extremely professional: she initiated an introductory phone call to discuss my goals, accommodated my timelines, clearly communicated how much time each request would take, and never tried to upsell me. She also following up with me throughout the interview process and offered support and tips. Thanks to Melody I got into 3 of the 4 Top 10 schools I applied to (including my dream school) and was awarded one full merit-based scholarship!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 07, 2019
5578Anon

Joined: Jan 04, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Thank You Meredith!!! Accepted to Kellogg!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Meredith came highly recommended from a friend of mine - and I am SO happy I found her! From our very first chat, Meredith was honest, warm and encouraging. She took the time to understand my desires for wanting to pursue an MBA, and challenged me to craft authentic and engaging essays. Coming from a somewhat non-traditional background, Meredith's help was also invaluable in helping me hone each bullet point on my resume to cut through on my experience and accomplishments.

I genuinely believe Meredith's guidance is what made the difference in helping me receive acceptances (and scholarships!!) from 4 of my top choice schools! Could not recommend her more highly - thank you Meredith!

Read More

December 27, 2018
steven5699

Joined: Dec 27, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q50 V39

Excellent!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

To start, Molly was a critical component of my MBA application process. Without her help, I do not think I would have put forth nearly as strong of an application and ultimately would not have had the acceptances I received.

I came to Molly as a re-applicant. She first helped with a complete evaluation and worked with me to reposition my profile. Following this, I primarily worked with her on my essays and then on interview prep. Throughout the process, Molly was very forthcoming with constructive criticism and did not hold back any of her thoughts. This candid feedback was what really elevated my application and was critical to getting the best application to adcom. Molly was also very timely in her responses and throughout my time with her, I felt that she was 'invested' in my success.

At the end of the day, I was admitted to 4 schools (including my top choice) and waitlisted to a 5th. I also received scholarships from 2 of the schools. For reference, I only applied to top 15 programs.

Overall, I could not speak more highly of her and would recommend any applicant to work with her! Thank you Molly!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 02, 2018
dkilgariff

Joined: Jan 31, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V44

Alicia made the process super easy!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Had an excellent experience working with Alicia and with Vantage Point! I was pretty skeptical of admissions consultants when I reached out, but my initial chat with Melody (Vantage founder) and correspondence made me feel way less pressured than I did in speaking to larger firms that were just trying to upsell me some package that I didn't really need (had been waitlisted year before so was at least close to understanding what to do). Alicia was very warm and delivered feedback in a constructive, optimistic way that made it easy to take her advice! Very glad to have gone to a small firm that clearly cares about its clients! As for Alicia, her feedback as a re-applicant to be less formal and let my personality shine through a bit more, critiques on how to restructure my resume, and the awesome advice on bringing a "hook" to my essay writing all made me feel soooo much more confident this year about the process! Also as a former CBS adcom, her insider knowledge of what CBS cares about and how to highlight my future contributions to them made this feel like a slam dunk. She was able to draw my attention to things that I would have never thought about in my previous app and I felt like an expert on this process by the time I clicked submit! She was very available and did not make me feel like I was less of a priority by not buying some giant comprehensive package. Would highly recommend!!!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 18, 2018
nycmba1234

Joined: Apr 18, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

Vantage Point -- Katherine Canning -- Highly Recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I applied to business school in Round 2 this year and am very glad that I had the opportunity to work with Katherine -- I was admitted to both Wharton and London Business School. I would highly recommend her to anyone considering applying.

When I first started working with Katherine, I had initial drafts of my essays but quickly realized I was nowhere close to being submission-ready. Katherine knows exactly what each school is looking for and gave me a very clear understanding of how to shape my essays for each. She also helped me completely rework and rewrite my essays so that they addressed 1) my past experiences, 2) my personality / interests, 3) my professional goals, 4) and how the schools would help get me there. She helped me really dig deeper and write essays that truly capture where I am now & where I want to go next. The transformation of my initial drafts before working with her to the final drafts after was truly night & day. I truly could not have done it without her help!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 10, 2018
DrFunkenstine

Joined: Oct 16, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q48 V44

A Free Consult Turned My Application Around

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After a round of rejection, I had one free consultation with Melody. Melody is an excellent listener and was able to take all of the information I gave her and focused in on a handful of ways I could quickly improve my applications. I wholeheartedly believe that her advice on how to frame a particular weakness in my application helped me get into every school I applied to in the subsequent round, including to an M7 school. Melody helped me describe why I struggled in one college quant course in a way that seemed natural, whereas my previous writing on the subject likely came off as excuse-making. It says a lot about the company’s integrity that they have refused even token compensation from me, even though the short time I spent with Melody was so impactful.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 12, 2018
nyc123456

Joined: Mar 12, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

High Recommend Hourly Services with Melody!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I'm so thankful for Melody's guidance and support throughout this process. I had initially begun visiting schools and crafting my personal statement for pursuing an MBA without a consultant and found myself overwhelmed with only four weeks left before Round 1 deadlines. Fortunately, through online research, I found Melody at Vantage Point.

During our initial call, we aligned on how far along I was on my applications and school selection process, and she immediately worked with me to strengthen and shape my core story. I admit I was a bit nervous about how much attention I would receive as an hourly client compared to others with more comprehensive services, but I was highly impressed with and appreciative of Melody’s invaluable insight, along with her timely and honest feedback. I was out of practice with my essay writing skills and Melody showed me how to write authentically and in more compelling ways that I believe differentiated my application. In the end, I was thrilled when I was accepted into MIT Sloan and am excited to attend this fall!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 28, 2018
cbarringer17

Joined: Jan 28, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q48 V38

Vantage Point Hourly Services Review- Highly Recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

The hourly services at Vantage Point were the perfect fit for what I needed in the application process. Going into the applications, I felt I had a strong GMAT score and reason for applying to school but needed help with the essays. I had a lower college GPA, so knew I needed to write really strong essays to have a chance at getting in. Melody was great at helping me from the brainstorming process through multiple drafts on different topics to the final polishing to make sure everything was "submit" ready. She was also very helpful in answering my one-off questions as I continued through the process, even after we had wrapped up our final hour. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for help and direction with the overall application!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.