GMAT Club

IE Reviews

MBA Program rating [4]
     (4.5)

Your OWN review

Submit a Verified Review and get up to a $10 Amazon gift card

create
MBA Program Review
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By NARESHSHAH139 0 5
This review is for: IE
Program:

September Intake Class of

Class of:

2016

Experience during the program

The IE Master in Business Analytics and Big Data has been a truly thought-provoking experience for me. I have learnt a lot from my colleagues in class. I have learnt how to dress better (I promise I will get better at that 😉 ), give presentations, organize myself better and work better in teams. The program truly improves you as a person outside of the Data Science curriculum as well. In addition, from the Data Science perspective, I enjoy the wide variety of problems we are exposed to throughout our coursework. In just 12 weeks I/we have looked at:

1. Shop/Cinema location planning and discovery using Google Places (API) Data in KDD
2. Churn Modeling for a major bank in Introduction to Big Data and Analytics
3. Devising a Hadoop Ecosystem for batch processing in El Corte Ingles in Hadoop
4. Clustering customers for an online air-ticket selling company in Algorithms
5. Classification-based churn modeling for a telco company in Algorithms
6. Exploring the IMDB dataset in R Programming
7. Exploring the Airplanes dataset in SQL
8. Working with and understanding the technology behind IBM Watson

My class is probably the most proactive class I have seen in terms of signing up and attending events, networking and learning new tools and techniques. We have attended hackathons, tech conferences and won case competitions.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Get to know the professors outside of classes. They are likely to be your next employers. Especially the professors who have a professional background.

About job placement process

Network well and the entirety of Europe will be your playfield.

Overall BSchool experience
     (5.0)
Schools contribution
     (4.0)
Classmates rating
     (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors

Student body, diversity

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Strong in Finance and Digital Transformation

Best fit at this program:

Consulting

Finance

Tech

Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school

Facilities


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [2]
1 Commented by jigarhg on January 27, 2016
Hi Naresh, can you suggest the prerequisites for the program? Do one need to be a keen programmer having the knowledge of C++, C#, Hadoop, Java, Python etc or having the strong quantitative and verbal skill is sufficient??

2 Commented by RPgolucky on June 05, 2016
Hi ,

I have been accepted into the IMBA + MS in Business analytics and Big data dual degree program for the June 2017 intake. I wanted to know how are the job prospects after the course. I was unable to find any info on the placement statistics for the dual degree programs. Can you please help me out in this aspect if possible ?
MBA Program Review
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by school email address
     By as1985 7 6
This review is for: IE
Program:

September Intake Class of

Class of:

2017

Experience during the program

If I had to chose just 1 thing out of IE's MBA program, it would have to be its diverse student body. I have had the opportunity to work and / or meet people from so many different countries and cultures that it is amazing. Living in Madrid has also been a great benefit of attending IE. The program's focus on entrepreneurship is great for aspiring entrepreneurs like myself, but if you're looking for a deeper program into specific tracks like finance / technology then maybe this program is too general. Facilities could be better, but they are already working on developing a brand new IE building.

Overall BSchool experience
     (4.0)
Schools contribution
     (2.0)
Classmates rating
     (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity

Alumni Network

Location

Best fit at this program:

Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors

Career opportunities provided by school

Facilities


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
MBA Program Review
reviewer identity verified by school email address
     By goofy29 4 5
This review is for: IE
Program:

January Intake Class of

Class of:

2017

Experience during the program

It is all about the classmates. No other program can offer the variety of IE. Variety here is not only about nationalities, but also about backgrounds. My group mates were from Nigeria, Lebanon, Nicaragua, Russia and Mexico, but they were also a Lawyer, a financial analyst, an investment banker, a cyber security expert and an HR. I was an Italian with a background in operations...

The main strengths of the program are in marketing, entrepreneurship and general management. However, what characterizes it is the presence of a vast majority of soul searchers. I actually did not expect that more than half of my class really had no clue about what to do in the future. Amazingly, after three to six months into the program, people start changing their expectations. Who starts as a serious student, begins to party like an animal, and who initially looked to be a party animal, find her vocation in social impact projects...

To future applicants, I suggest them to craft their own story making a serious effort to enhance what makes them unique. At IE everybody seems to have a truly unique experience. The only aspect in common to everybody, what cannot be waived, is a sincere passion for traveling and discovering new cultures.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Due to the fast pace of the one year program, it is very difficult to find an internship during the summer period (no time for applications, limited time availability during summer due to courses). This problem is overcome by the possibility to work on startups, create your own, work on social impact projects around the world or on a consulting project.

Overall BSchool experience
     (5.0)
Schools contribution
     (2.0)
Classmates rating
     (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors

Brand/Ranking

Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Marketing

Tech

Entrepreneurship

Management

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school

Admissions Team


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
MBA Program Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By showmethemoney 5 0
This review is for: IE
Program:

January Intake Class of

Class of:

2016

Experience during the program

IE Business School has a great MBA program. I met my expectations as it really helped me in my career. Although the IE brand is well-known in Europe, I do recognize that in the US most of the people never heard of the school - and this will take some time to improve. However, as I wanted to become an entrepreneur, the curriculum helped me a lot, with super objective, to-the-point classes. Many professors are also entrepreneurs and/or investors, and the networking was super valuable. For future applicants, for you application process I suggest you think about 2-3 business ideas you have, and what you want to develop in the MBA - this may become handy in the application interview.

About professors, classes and curriculum

The professors are really good, very knowledgeable and experienced, from all over the world (I had many professors from the US, and also UK, Canada, Brazil, Japan, and obviously Spain). The diversity of the class is also fantastic, with more than 70 different nationalities in my intake. The curriculum is super flexible, meaning you have 2 core terms, and then a lab that can be focused on Startups, Business Management, Social Impact, or you can have a summer internship. If you prefer, you can also take the summer internship at the end of the course. There are a large number of electives.

About job placement process

Job placement services provided by the career center at IE Business School are not as good as the US schools. As IE focuses on entrepreneurship, and Spain isn't a target for many companies to recruit, if you want to find a good job after the MBA, you may want to go to career fairs in London, Paris or Berlin.

Overall BSchool experience
     (4.0)
Schools contribution
     (4.0)
Classmates rating
     (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors

Student body, diversity

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Focus on entrepreneurship

Best fit at this program:

Marketing

Entrepreneurship

Management

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school

Brand/Ranking


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]

Latest IE Updates

New post

in topic:

"Calling all IE IMBA Applicants: January 2018 Intake!"
August 20, 2017 18:19

New post

in topic:

"Calling all IE IMBA Applicants: January 2018 Intake!"
August 20, 2017 16:55

New post

in topic:

"Calling all IE IMBA Applicants: January 2018 Intake!"
August 19, 2017 14:19

New post

in topic:

"IE Global MBA reviews when compared to local USA schools"
August 19, 2017 04:13

New post

in topic:

"IE MBA Admissions and Related Blogs"
August 16, 2017 02:01