GMAT Club

IE Reviews

MBA Program rating [5]
(4.4)

August 23, 2018
Greg123

Joined: Aug 23, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Good school with no careers service

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for IE

Program January Intake Class of

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

I thoroughly enjoyed my student experience at IE. The quality of education is first class. Overall I am very satisfied with the educational outcomes and the value for money in terms of education.

The problem with the school is that they offer no support in finding employment post MBA and the career services they claim to offer do not exist. I received no assistance during my entire student experience.

The other issue the school has in the way they have the 'final exam'. This task is a huge waste of time and really ruins the final part of the course when there are so many higher value topics which could be covered in its place.

About job placement process

The lack of career services is a big issue with studying at IE. I cannot stress enough how bad the school is at this and they appear to not be taking any steps to remedy this situation.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (1.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Marketing
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support


Read More

January 22, 2019
Ponchovi

Thanks for sharing. I am in the middle of the admission process for a Master Program in IE and this lack of support for employment is really concerning.

January 26, 2016
NARESHSHAH139

Joined: Aug 21, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

IE Business School: A Transformative Experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for IE

Program September Intake Class of

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

The IE Master in Business Analytics and Big Data has been a truly thought-provoking experience for me. I have learnt a lot from my colleagues in class. I have learnt how to dress better (I promise I will get better at that 😉 ), give presentations, organize myself better and work better in teams. The program truly improves you as a person outside of the Data Science curriculum as well. In addition, from the Data Science perspective, I enjoy the wide variety of problems we are exposed to throughout our coursework. In just 12 weeks I/we have looked at:

1. Shop/Cinema location planning and discovery using Google Places (API) Data in KDD
2. Churn Modeling for a major bank in Introduction to Big Data and Analytics
3. Devising a Hadoop Ecosystem for batch processing in El Corte Ingles in Hadoop
4. Clustering customers for an online air-ticket selling company in Algorithms
5. Classification-based churn modeling for a telco company in Algorithms
6. Exploring the IMDB dataset in R Programming
7. Exploring the Airplanes dataset in SQL
8. Working with and understanding the technology behind IBM Watson

My class is probably the most proactive class I have seen in terms of signing up and attending events, networking and learning new tools and techniques. We have attended hackathons, tech conferences and won case competitions.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Get to know the professors outside of classes. They are likely to be your next employers. Especially the professors who have a professional background.

About job placement process

Network well and the entirety of Europe will be your playfield.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)
Strong in Finance and Digital Transformation

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school
Facilities


Read More

January 27, 2016
jigarhg

Hi Naresh, can you suggest the prerequisites for the program? Do one need to be a keen programmer having the knowledge of C++, C#, Hadoop, Java, Python etc or having the strong quantitative and verbal skill is sufficient??

June 05, 2016
RPgolucky

Hi ,

I have been accepted into the IMBA + MS in Business analytics and Big data dual degree program for the June 2017 intake. I wanted to know how are the job prospects after the course. I was unable to find any info on the placement statistics for the dual degree programs. Can you please help me out in this aspect if possible ?

August 20, 2019
anshuman40

Hi Naresh,

I have been accepted into the IMBA + MS in Business Analytics and Big Data Dual Degree program for the Jan 2020 intake. I already have good exposure in Data Analytics and have knowledge of Python, Hadoop, Spark and other Big data technologies. I want to enhance my knowledge in Machine Learning and AI. Could you please suggest with already having good exposure in Analytics should I opt for IMBA or Dual Degree Program. I am looking to work in Senior Managerial position post completion of my program in Consulting/Financial Services Area. You inputs will be greatly appreciated.

May 31, 2017
as1985

Joined: Nov 13, 2015

Posts: 7

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:

Truly Diverse, Great Experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for IE

Program September Intake Class of

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

If I had to chose just 1 thing out of IE's MBA program, it would have to be its diverse student body. I have had the opportunity to work and / or meet people from so many different countries and cultures that it is amazing. Living in Madrid has also been a great benefit of attending IE. The program's focus on entrepreneurship is great for aspiring entrepreneurs like myself, but if you're looking for a deeper program into specific tracks like finance / technology then maybe this program is too general. Facilities could be better, but they are already working on developing a brand new IE building.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (2.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Location

Best fit at this program:

Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Facilities


Read More

May 28, 2017
goofy29

Joined: Mar 17, 2016

Posts: 4

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
680

Unusual MBA for unusual MBAs

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for IE

Program January Intake Class of

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

It is all about the classmates. No other program can offer the variety of IE. Variety here is not only about nationalities, but also about backgrounds. My group mates were from Nigeria, Lebanon, Nicaragua, Russia and Mexico, but they were also a Lawyer, a financial analyst, an investment banker, a cyber security expert and an HR. I was an Italian with a background in operations...

The main strengths of the program are in marketing, entrepreneurship and general management. However, what characterizes it is the presence of a vast majority of soul searchers. I actually did not expect that more than half of my class really had no clue about what to do in the future. Amazingly, after three to six months into the program, people start changing their expectations. Who starts as a serious student, begins to party like an animal, and who initially looked to be a party animal, find her vocation in social impact projects...

To future applicants, I suggest them to craft their own story making a serious effort to enhance what makes them unique. At IE everybody seems to have a truly unique experience. The only aspect in common to everybody, what cannot be waived, is a sincere passion for traveling and discovering new cultures.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Due to the fast pace of the one year program, it is very difficult to find an internship during the summer period (no time for applications, limited time availability during summer due to courses). This problem is overcome by the possibility to work on startups, create your own, work on social impact projects around the world or on a consulting project.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (2.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Marketing
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school
Admissions Team


Read More

May 28, 2017
showmethemoney

Joined: Jan 08, 2015

Posts: 5

Kudos: 0

This review is for IE

Program January Intake Class of

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

IE Business School has a great MBA program. I met my expectations as it really helped me in my career. Although the IE brand is well-known in Europe, I do recognize that in the US most of the people never heard of the school - and this will take some time to improve. However, as I wanted to become an entrepreneur, the curriculum helped me a lot, with super objective, to-the-point classes. Many professors are also entrepreneurs and/or investors, and the networking was super valuable. For future applicants, for you application process I suggest you think about 2-3 business ideas you have, and what you want to develop in the MBA - this may become handy in the application interview.

About professors, classes and curriculum

The professors are really good, very knowledgeable and experienced, from all over the world (I had many professors from the US, and also UK, Canada, Brazil, Japan, and obviously Spain). The diversity of the class is also fantastic, with more than 70 different nationalities in my intake. The curriculum is super flexible, meaning you have 2 core terms, and then a lab that can be focused on Startups, Business Management, Social Impact, or you can have a summer internship. If you prefer, you can also take the summer internship at the end of the course. There are a large number of electives.

About job placement process

Job placement services provided by the career center at IE Business School are not as good as the US schools. As IE focuses on entrepreneurship, and Spain isn't a target for many companies to recruit, if you want to find a good job after the MBA, you may want to go to career fairs in London, Paris or Berlin.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)
Focus on entrepreneurship

Best fit at this program:

Marketing
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking


Read More