GMAT Club
August 17, 2016
jstecke

Joined: May 27, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q47 V44

Excellent Prep Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

About me: 31 year old attorney, native English speaker, decided to take the GMAT because I want to transition into more of a business role or industry.
I signed up for Magoosh after reading a few of the blog posts on the Magoosh blog written by Mike McGarry. The blog posts were substantive, detailed, and easy to understand. I had never heard of Magoosh before, but after reading Mike's posts and trying a couple of their practice questions, I felt confident enough that the $99 premium subscription would be a good tool and worth the price.
Initially, my quant skills were weak, so I started the course by watching the quant lesson videos and practicing my "number sense" as Magoosh suggested. I watched many of the videos more than once and read the related blog posts and did practice questions. The Magoosh content was thorough, coherent, and well organized.
Since my verbal skills are pretty strong, I didn't watch all of the verbal videos, but I watched the videos on topics I hadn't thought about in a long time and the videos suggested in the related videos section that was provided underneath the explanations to questions I got wrong.
Magoosh's emphasis on mindset and approach was one of the most helpful parts of the course. Mike really emphasized understanding the logic of the question and understanding the concept being tested rather than just trying to get the question right. When I changed my mindset from trying to get the question right to understanding the logic of the question and the logic of the test, my scores really began to improve.
With the help of Magoosh, lots of studying and lots of practice, my test day score of 740 was 80 points higher than my diagnostic score of 660.

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 28, 2016
okfan01

Thanks for the write-up! I'm pretty similar to you. Native English speaker, 31 years old, and I'm also pretty rusty with the math that appears on the GMAT. I'm finding Magoosh to be very good, but just out of curiosity, did you use any other materials in your study plan? Your score would leave me very happy with my performance. Kudos on that!

August 29, 2016
jstecke

I also used the Manhattan guides, read a lot of the Magoosh blog posts and did their practice questions, and various materials put together and posted on GMATclub. The Manhattan materials were very helpful too and GMATclub is absolutely a great resource. They have comprehensive reviews on subjects like exponents and mixture problems and a huge problem database. I also googled all of the OG quant questions I missed and watched video explanations whenever possible.

August 29, 2016
okfan01

Awesome. I'm following the 3 month plan, but I have a little extra time built in to go over Manhattan and other stuff. Did you purchase anything from Manhattan besides the books themselves to go through alone?

August 30, 2016
jstecke

I took the 6 practice tests that come with the book. For more information on specific topics, I searched for it on GMATclub. I always carefully reviewed the explanation to every Manhattan quant problem I missed until I understood the concept.

August 31, 2016
okfan01

Really appreciate the responses! Great score and good luck with everything in the future.

September 09, 2016
DoraKhiari

Thanks for your detailed review.
Just one more question about your experience: how long did you study? Did you follow the daily plan (just to understand how many hours you spent on it)? Thanks and good luck!

September 10, 2016
jstecke

I studied for 5 months. I got a few extra weeks to study because the earliest available exam appointment I could get was a few weeks after the day I registered. If I had one critique of Magoosh, it's that the study plans are written in a way that's a little hard to follow, so I didn't really use them. I studied Thursday, Friday, and most of the weekend because I worked while studying. It varied a lot, but I put in anywhere from 3-8 hours a day and that includes taking full length practice tests. Good luck to you! :)

Login to create/modify/remove your own comments