GMAT Club

Amy Hugo Reviews

Company: Fortuna Admissions

Amy worked at the London Business School for eight years. Her early years were spent in the MBA Admissions Office, managing the admissions process for candidates applying from Europe and Latin America. She was most recently the Senior Manager of Client Services, leading the LBS recruitment activities for their suite of Degree Programmes, and working closely with the admissions teams to ensure the best candidates were selected. 

Amy has done a vast amount of application file reading. She has travelled extensively to represent LBS at numerous cities across the world, presenting to and meeting thousands of prospective applicants on her way.

Amy has a BA Hons Degree in Hispanic Studies from the University of Nottingham and is also a qualified EFL teacher. She speaks Spanish, Portuguese and French, was born in Cape Town, South Africa, and has also lived in Brazil and Mexico.


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 5 reviews
June 13, 2018
MaMz1989

Joined: Jun 13, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best choice!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Amy during the second round applications, and I’m now MBA 2020 student for London Business School. I was also accepted by INSEAD.

Amy was an outstanding coach, but I would like to highlight three specific aspects, that let Amy be the best choice for everyone searching for an advisor:

1) She is realistic: She always says what she thinks, even if you would dislike it. She will be your rational eyes during stressful situations. This is an invaluable aspect during the admission process

2) She is super organized: Amy has the capacity to be always well organized both in her mind and in her notes. She prioritizes your work in the most efficient way, saving you a lot of time

3) She is great with human interactions: Amy has a deep understanding of the human psyche. You will never feel overwhelmed by her comments or requests for changes. She knows how to speak and deal with stressed people. You will always feel comfortable with her requests

If anyone who is reading has already “joined the battle” for an MBA admission, she/he would perfectly understand, through my comments, why I voted her 5 stars.

I would also like to add that Fortuna Admission has a team of great professionals, it was really a beautiful experience.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 26, 2018
AnonymousTPJ

Joined: Feb 16, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
710 Q49 V38

Amy is your go-to expert!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Amy on my application for two schools – LBS and Kellogg and I am more than thrilled by the outcome from both schools. I couldn’t stress enough that this wouldn’t have been possible without her guidance.
One of the advantages of working with a Fortuna coach is access to well-structured resources. I was short on time when I started my applications and Amy really helped me bring my timelines back on track. The guideline documents provided by her really helped me expedite the process and put together a strong first draft.
Amy not only helps you in identifying your strengths and bringing them to life, but also in addressing your weakness head-on in your applications. When she reviewed my first draft of essays she said, “we need to make every single word in your application count” and she stuck by it till the end. Her attention to detail is impeccable and she really helps you put forward the best version of your story in a well-articulated succinct manner. She questions every aspect of your story making sure you have left no loopholes. There was a time when I felt the essays were in a really good shape but she still thought we could make them better. Amy is also very collaborative and we reached out to Emma (Director) for a fresh perspective once we had a strong story in place, which proved to be extremely helpful.
Having been on the admission committee herself, Amy has immense knowledge of the process and the school which becomes a huge asset and a confidence booster. I took her help to prepare for my interviews too and I couldn’t have been better prepared. No part of the interview came to me as a surprise and there were no questions that I hadn’t prepared for or thought about.
Choosing her for my application process was one of the best decisions I made. Amy is so warm and helpful that she makes it look so easy. She is now more of a guide I look up to than an admission consultant. To any applicant seeking expert help especially for LBS, I highly recommend Amy!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 11, 2018
rthawrani

Joined: Mar 26, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Amy Hugo is the BEST!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

When I first got on an intro call with Amy she came across as warm, genuine and someone who really cared about helping me get into my dream school (LBS)!

I had spoken to a number of counselors before I decided to go with Amy, and what really stood out was the fact that she sent me an e-mail saying how much she enjoyed talking to me and that she would love to help me work toward my goals! And she truly meant it!

Amy was meticulous, thorough and always on top of things. Her feedback was always honest and she kept me in check several times. It was not an easy journey for me, from retaking my GMAT, to working on my essays to giving the necessary level of attention to an app as detailed as the LBS one. I had several questions through the process, but Amy was always ready to help and never once made it seem like i was demanding too much!

Her detailed feedback at every stage, from my essays, to my interviews to my application was crucial! She never once settled for less than the best and always helped me strive to achieve more. I remember several last minute edits I had to make to my app just the night before the deadline, but Amy remained calm and gave me the necessary feedback and guidance even then. She did not once make me feel like I was asking for too much (after more than 10+ essay edits!

If I were to redo the whole process again, I would go with no one by Amy Hugo for this! I love her dedication, her warmth and in her desire to see her clients succeed! She was my guiding star through the process!

Having Emma Bond, Co-Director at Fortuna, as my second voice of reason, was also very helpful! She was as warm and genuine as Amy. Though Emma perhaps did not have to spend much time with my essays, she still did go above and beyond to provide genuine and detailed feedback. She was fantastic with her reviews and provided the necessary guidance!

Both Amy and Emma are LBS experts and you can never go wrong with them! I would recommend no one but the two of them for any business school app! I think when you choose a counselor, you also choose someone who needs to believe in you and keep you positive through this process and Amy and Emma are exactly those people!

Thank you to both of you for making this happen for me!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 20, 2017
LirenLi

Joined: Sep 06, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q51 V44

8-hour application package

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Amy Hugo from Fortuna Admissions helped me with my LBS application for the full-time MBA programme. I am really happy with what we put together for the application within a month, which I initially thought was a very tight timeline.

Amy was extremely professional and efficient, and she gave me loads of insightful advice on every aspect of my application, especially the essays. We only needed about 3 iterations for each essay, because she really knows what LBS is looking for in a candidate and was excellent at helping me streamline my stories into a concise and yet personal statement to reflect my strengths and values. Her comments made a huge difference to the final products.

She also helped me prepare the video interview and we did a mock interview together, which were also really helpful.

With her help, I got an offer from LBS with a significant scholarship, which I am so pleased about. I can definitely recommend her to anyone seeking professional help polishing their MBA application materials.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 16, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 9

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q49 V39

Fortuna knows how to get you across the line

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was very lucky to work with Amy and Caroline from Fortuna. Right from day one they kept me honest about my prospects, always highlighting both my strengths and weaknesses, which ensured that I did every bit under my control to the best of my abilities. I was quite amazed by the quality uplift I saw between draft 1 of the application and the final piece that was submitted to the schools. The best thing about Fortuna is that there is no limit to the number of reviews or edits, unlike with some other MBA application consulting firms; no matter how many times I updated my essays Amy always reviewed them for me. Further, the quick turnaround time and candour of each review really helped me prepare a solid application within compressed timeframes. They really know their stuff and ensure that every possible aspect of the one’s application/candidacy is well covered. I applied to 3 of FT’s top 10 MBA programs and received offers from 2 of them. I highly recommend Fortuna.

Read More