GMAT Club

Harshad Mali Reviews

Company: mbaMission

With an MBA from the University of Chicago Booth School of Business, a BE in mechanical engineering from the Government College of Engineering in Aurangabad, India, and an ME in mechanical and aerospace engineering from the Illinois Institute of Technology, Harshad Mali has enjoyed a successful career as both an engineer and an entrepreneur. In addition to having worked in design and product development within the automotive industry for the truck manufacturer Navistar, he has traveled extensively in Europe, Asia, and South America to evaluate and create supply chains for critical hardware. After graduating from Chicago Booth, Harshad co-founded a consulting start-up to address the operational and product commercialization challenges faced by small- and medium-sized manufacturing companies. His corporate and entrepreneurial experiences have given him valuable insight into the various career paths MBAs pursue. An avid mentor and coach, Harshad has participated in university career fairs, discussing professional goals and career paths with graduating students, and has also freelanced as an MBA essay consultant.

4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 31 reviews
August 19, 2019
AComplicatedStory

Joined: Jul 13, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q46 V47

Harshad's help was incredible and put me in a position to choose between offers from Top 10 schools. I don't believe I would have been as successful without his help, and here are his strengths to support why -

1) He is exceptional at distilling your experiences and actions into clear and compelling messages that can be understood by admissions committees. For someone who has a tendency to dive right into the complexities of situations, this was incredibly helpful.

2) As other reviews have stated, his feedback is concise, direct, insightful, and constructive. He regularly suggested course corrections that ended up producing excellent application materials.

3) He is an incredibly hard worker who has your best interests in mind. He always provided feedback in a very timely manner and rest assured that when crunch time comes, he will not be the bottleneck in the process.

4) While he frequently does have strong views on materials, he was always more than happy to get on the phone for additional brainstorming and to thoroughly go over any questions or doubts I had. This combination of conviction with the willingness to discuss how to improve upon his suggestions further by taking them in new directions is a powerful combination that ensured materials were completed efficiently and effectively.

In addition to all of the skills and traits mentioned above, perhaps what I have valued most is his persistent realism and optimism. While he does not sugar coat anything, he always sees a path to success and is clear about what it will require. I have absolutely no doubts about recommending that you hire Harshad. I am thankful I did.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 08, 2019
anon12121212

Joined: Jul 08, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Harshad+mbaMission are WELL worth the money

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Wow! What a hardworking consultant. Harshad will spend as much time as you need to make sure you feel 100% confident in your application/ interview/ whatever really!

He does an amazing job at helping you dig deep to find your strengths and ultimately, your story. Harshad never once was late with an email or deadline and honestly exceeded my expectations in every area.

Going in to the process I was highly skeptical that a consultant would be necessary/ worth the money. After going through the process I keep recommending my friends to use a consultant/ Harshad specifically.

I used a five school package for R2 and felt like the extra push from a consultant in terms of helping you spend more time on each app was well worth the effort as well. In short, when you work with a consultant you will spend MUCH more time on apps but it will be all worth it in the end. I promise.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 17, 2019
eland

Joined: Jun 17, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
540 Q40 V25

Harshad is THE MAN!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Harshad was absolutely fantastic to work with! We started working together in the fall of 2018 when I was preparing for the GMAT. After failing to hit my target GMAT score three times (..or anywhere close to it for that matter), I was honestly ready to give up on my MBA dreams. But Harshad wasn’t going to let that happen. His constant support and encouragement kept me pushing though the late-night brainstorming sessions and essay writing when I worried it was all going to be a waste of time due to my low GMAT score. His very detailed and thorough questions allowed me to dig deep and discover my true story, which he then helped me tell in the most compelling way possible. After landing an interview, I was thrilled I had made it that far, but extremely nervous as it was the final hurdle to clear in the application process. The mock interview Harshad held with me a few days before my real interview was a life saver. He helped me relax by reminding me of all the great qualities I possessed and told me that I truly did have what it takes to succeed in a great MBA program. A few days later, I confidently walk into the Admissions Office and nailed my interview, earning an acceptance letter the following week! There is absolutely no way I could have done it without Harshad’s expertise and encouragement every step of the way. He’s a humble man and will deny this, but all the credit goes to him. He’s the reason my MBA dreams are now a reality. I’m now off to start the most exciting chapter of my life and it’s all thanks to Harshad! If you’re considering hiring a consultant, I couldn’t recommend him enough.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 30, 2019
valmikee

Joined: May 25, 2016

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
720 Q49 V40

No credit to admissions consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I got the multiple school package and applied to five schools in R2. I chose to go with Harshad because I thought he would be able to understand my background and help tell my story. Working with Harshad was difficult to say the least. On our essay brainstorming calls, he would go off topic talking about his other students' profiles and essays to the point of gloating about how high profile some of his clients were. While working on school essays, at one point, he made it very clear that he didn't think much of one of the schools I was applying to. This reflected in his effort as well where he refused on start working on that schools' application until a week before the due date and expressed his contempt for the school culture as well as essay prompt. To top that off he wouldn't respond earlier than the stipulated 48 hours even though we were less than a week from the deadline. He glossed over other parts of my application without any insightful feedback in spite of sending it to him well in advance. The ultimate result was that I got dinged without an interview by every school I applied to with him.
On the other hand, I applied to one school in R3 without him and got in with a scholarship. No credit to him for this one.

Read More

June 20, 2019
harshadm

Congratulations on your acceptance and scholarship! And, thank you for your feedback! Looking back, my only hope would have been that you would have addressed your concerns with me directly, as I worked feedback into our process and never heard a negative word from you. Personally, I felt that we had become friendly over the course of our engagement. In fact, you asked for and received my help on an additional school, beyond what you had signed-up for, and added me as a contact on LinkedIn. I am sorry to learn that you were not happy with your experience with me, and will take what you have written to heart. Meantime, I wish you nothing but the best with your MBA studies and in any pursuit going forward.

~Harshad Mali, mbaMission

April 27, 2019
mlfleischman

Joined: Oct 17, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Thank you for your help Harshad

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was referred to Harshad by another mbamission consultant, who spoke highly of him. I used hourly services with Harshad since I needed help with certain aspects of my application, and without a doubt, it was the best decision. After my first two consultations with Harshad, I was impressed by his authenticity, honesty, and willingness to help me. He and I explored all areas of my background to come up with a clear, cohesive story. Harshad recommended a four-pronged strategy that became the foundation for my essays, considerably strengthening my application for the four schools that I applied. I applied in the January round, and I started my application in November of the prior year, leaving me about three months to complete my applications (I already took my standardized tests when I first contacted Harshad). The time to complete my application seemed short and daunting, but Harshad made the experience so much better. We both had a great work rhythm, and Harshad was always responsive to my emails, answering my questions clearly and in detail. In each step of the way, I felt very comfortable and confident working with him.

In the end, I got into all four top schools schools, with significant scholarship money. I’m thrilled about the results, and I truly recommend working with Harshad. Thank you for all of your help!

Read More

April 22, 2019
edberglionel

Joined: Mar 18, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

The perfect coach for the MBA application process!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Right from the moment I started working with Harshad on my MBA application journey, he has always been there by my side and motivated me to bring out the best in myself and this helped me build a strong and authentic application – one which wouldn’t have been possible without his support. Harshad treats your success as his own and this trait of his is evident through all his efforts throughout the application process. Harshad always provides constructive criticism and doesn’t hold back from giving you his honest and straightforward opinion and this quality has helped me correct course numerous times be it while editing an essay or preparing for interviews. What makes him the best is that he is relatable! Whenever I have had my self-doubts about the whole MBA process, he has always highlighted my strengths and reassured me that this is indeed possible, often times quoting from his vast experience. His pep talks and positivity has helped me transform into a confident and self-sufficient MBA candidate. I strongly recommend Harshad for anyone looking for a MBA consultant!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 19, 2019
mbaapplicant0129

Joined: Apr 19, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q49 V47

Can't recommend him strongly enough!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

When I first started the MBA application process, I was very confused and had no idea what admissions committees were “looking for.” During my initial calls with Harshad, it became abundantly clear that he was the person I needed to guide me through the process. He was extremely attentive to my concerns about weak points in my profile, and he could provide direct answers to all my questions about various schools, essays, etc.

I could go on and on about my time working with him, but I think it’s best to highlight what I feel are a few of his greatest strengths.

1) He was a friend, not just a consultant. Harshad truly wanted to get to know me as a person. During our initial brainstorming call, he continued to ask follow up questions as we dove deeper into my stories; it was clear he wanted to understand the underlying meaning each one had to me. And this is one of the many ways he was able to push me to write essays that truly reflect who I am as a person. It never felt like he was “working” or “doing his job,” just a friend who genuinely wanted to help me achieve my goals.

2) He didn’t let me settle for “good enough.” There were a number of times throughout the process where I would send Harshad a draft I thought was solid. On paper, the essay was logical and “made sense.” However, Harshad recognized there was significant room for improvement; he knew these essays didn’t cut deep enough. So he pushed me to continue to dive deeper into my stories until I found something that truly reflected who I was and who I am today. On my own, I would never have pushed myself through this process of deep self-reflection. Looking back, my final essays were night and day compared to my earliest drafts.

3) He was a rockstar consultant all around. Harshad went above and beyond his duties as a consultant: as others have mentioned, he consistently provided feedback on my drafts far in advance of his firm’s required timeframes. Furthermore, he is extremely knowledgeable about the application process as well as the similarities and differences between various top MBA programs. He was also instrumental in helping me drastically cut down the word count on my preliminary drafts without losing the true meaning/message behind my stories.

Since I’m sure some people reading this will be interested to hear how things worked out… I am super excited to say that I’ll be attending an M7 school later this year with a 50% scholarship! I absolutely would not have accomplished this without Harshad. I can’t recommend him strongly enough.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 19, 2019
kma1234

Joined: Jun 23, 2018

Posts: 8

Kudos: 6

Harshad is Amazing

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Working with Harshad throughout the application process was extremely rewarding. I had a very unique and difficult timeline/situation, but Harshad worked with me through it all and supported me during each phase of the process. Harshad is an amazing storyteller; he was able to bring out my best qualities and help me put them into words to show the AdCom what I could bring to a program. He is able to do this because he takes the necessary time to get to know his clients and he is a diligent listener. Harshad was not just interested in my professional background; he cared about what motivated me, he asked questions about my family, my childhood, everything. Personally, my favorite aspect of Harshad was his honesty. As someone who did not have much time to waste, I really appreciated his direct approach--it showed me how much he cared about the quality of my applications and that he knew the quality of work I was capable of.

With the help of Harshad, I was able to land 4 admits to top 10 schools and I know for a fact that I would not be where I am today without him. I signed up with Harshad thinking of him as a consultant, and I am leaving the process thinking of him as a friend. Thank you, Harshad!

Read More

April 17, 2019
MBAshark77

Joined: Jun 19, 2018

Posts: 9

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
680 Q47 V35
710 Q48 V40

To kick off this review, I will say I am not the most straight forward candidate. I have a sub-par (<2.5) GPA, no alternative transcript, and 3 years of work experience at a no-name tech firm.

Every MBA consultant either turned me away, insisted that I apply to part-time programs, or asked that I apply to lower ranked schools. However, I was determined to join a full-time top 20 program and needed a coach to guide me through the process.

Harshad was exactly that and much more. Right from the start he was honest and let me know that if I wanted to punch above my weight, I'd have to approach the process swinging, and that he would help guide me through it. Harshad was always available at a moment's notice and truly helped me refine and craft my essays, story, and pitch. Harshad truly is an awesome story-teller and can really bring out a top notch applicant in anyone he works with.

In the end I not only gained admission to a top 20 full-time program, but I did so with a bloody full scholarship! To this day I can't believe it. Looking back at my essays that I attempted to write before I met Harshad and comparing them to my completed essays after working with Harshad, it is clear that there is no way I would be where I am today without him.

To anyone thinking about working with Harshad - biting the bullet and hiring him saved me two years worth of MBA tuition (>$120k in tuition fees!); unbelievable!

I would recommend Harshad to anyone who is going through the application process. There is no doubt Harshad will put you on the path to achieving your goals!

Read More

April 12, 2019
SCP123

Joined: Feb 27, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
730

Confidence Inspiring

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Harshad and I started working together in August and he helped me through two rounds and applications to seven schools. I can honestly say this feat would have been impossible without him. Fundamentally, he is a warm and kind person who has just the right touch of honesty and pragmatism to keep you focused on what really matters. He is extremely efficient and is more than willing to help you under tight deadlines, which for me was crucial in round 2 where a number of deadlines were back to back. His approach helped me discover a lot about myself and he really pushed me to dig deep and develop unique and interesting ways of defining who I am within each school's vastly different essays.

Harshad made me a better writer and helped me write great essays. He never injected his voice into my content, but simply helped flush out my own ideas in compelling narratives. I felt confident that my essays were the best I could have done and I am not entirely sure what that peace of mind is worth.

Best of all, Harshad's hard work helped me get interviews at every single school I applied to, which was a difficult feat given my competitive but not stellar GMAT.

Four admits, two waitlists (hopefully admits), and one rejection (after an interview) later, you could say Harshad was worth every penny. I am still deciding between two of my dream schools (both in the top 10) and I know I wouldn't be in this position without Harshad. I would highly recommend his consulting services to anyone.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.