GMAT Club

Helen Summers Reviews

Company: mbaMission

Before joining mbaMission, Helen Summers served as the director of MBA Programs at Management Leadership for Tomorrow—a national nonprofit that guides underrepresented minorities through the business school application process—where she developed curriculum and programming for nearly 1,000 fellows. Helen’s passion for business school admissions began when she was earning her MBA from Harvard Business School (HBS). In recognition of her significant involvement in admissions efforts and outreach there, Helen received the HBS Student Association Award and the Bert King Fellowship. Before attending business school, Helen was a senior financial analyst with Johnson & Johnson (J&J)—during which time she earned her CPA—and began her five years with the company as part of the Financial Leadership Development Program (FLDP). She gained valuable experience through rotations in finance and accounting, managing Motrin Franchise marketing expenses and analyzing the financial impact of new initiatives in the production process of cardiac catheters and stents. As a graduate of FLDP, Helen returned to J&J’s corporate headquarters, where she helped develop a new financial reporting system and managed the $160M budgets of the company’s CEO and CFO. She is a former Division I scholarship tennis player and has completed two Chicago marathons in recent years. Helen now enjoys exploring vegetarian and vegan cooking.

5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 45 reviews
February 17, 2020
gmr

Joined: Aug 14, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

Thank you, Helen!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Helen was essential in my business school application process. When I started working with Helen, I was already significantly behind the recommended Round 1 timeline, but Helen helped at every step along the way and pushed me develop two strong applications in only a couple of months to get my application in by the R1 deadline! Helen was particularly helpful in brainstorming essay topics, thinking strategically about recommenders, generally making sure that all of my ducks were in a row come application submission time, and interview preparation / mock interviews. Helen helped me achieve my goal of getting into all of my schools of interest, and I could not recommend her highly enough!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 09, 2020
acfmp

Joined: Jul 01, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q47 V38

Helen was an essential part of my MBA application journey!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Working with Helen was awesome! I had had experience with an independent consultant the year prior, and I can’t believe the difference. Working with a below 700 GMAT, I knew I had to tell my story very strategically in order to reach my T10 goal, and Helen helped me do exactly that.

Helen was incredibly friendly, yet honest and direct when my work or approach was less than she expected of me. She also made me dig deep to find my story and even helped me have a clear sense of where I wanted to go in the future. Turnaround time was outstanding, in that I NEVER had to wait for the turnaround policy specified on the welcome package because Helen was so responsive. She was also very patient with me considering that I often made last minute changes or came up with new ideas for essays that had already been revised.

Helen was not only outstanding professionally, but she also made me feel like I had a new friend—she got as excited as I did whenever I received good news! But let the results speak for themselves. The year before, I had applied to one M7 and didn’t even get an interview. With Helen, I applied to three other M7s and a top 10 (U.S. News) business school, and not only did I get into my top choice, but I also got in everywhere else I applied to except one M7 school, and got scholarship money everywhere I was admitted to, which I never even dreamed of! Thank you Helen, you were an essential part of my MBA application journey!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 07, 2020
jwd23

Joined: Jan 02, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Headed to Palo Alto!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Working with Helen was an absolute pleasure and one of the best decisions I've ever made. She came highly recommended to me by a close friend and I quickly saw why. I primarily utilized the hourly package offering to help me with some of the items on the application that I heard often get overlooked by candidates. This included the resume, short answer questions, extracurricular activities, and job descriptions. I was amazed at how thorough she could be with her recommenders. In a firm but polite manner, she let me know where she thought I could make a section, sentence, or even a phrase more impactful. She asked me guiding questions that helped me remember better examples that I could use to show the impact that I've had in the past.

Another incredibly useful service Helen provided me was with my word count. I often had sections that I struggled to bring under the tight word or character limit. She was an expert at helping me make my story more concise without diluting the message (usually even making it stronger than it was when I started).

I have gone on to recommend her to my closest friends that are applying too. Like a good trainer at the gym, Helen will push you to heights you didn't know you could reach!

Read More

February 04, 2020
bschoolbound2020

Joined: Feb 04, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Helen is a rockstar!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Going into the application process I was on the fence on whether I wanted to use a consultant, but by recommendation of a friend who had a great experience with Helen I reached out to schedule an initial phone call. After our 30 minute conversation, the value add that Helen would provide in the process was abundantly clear to me. I ended up working with Helen on a few of the schools I applied to (hey, I at least wanted to do a few on my own!) and do not regret it at all. I only wish I had worked with her on all of them! Helen helped me tell a clear and cohesive story in my apps and provided great clarity and focus throughout the process. I would definitely recommend her to others.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 29, 2019
claiacona4

Joined: May 29, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

I couldn't have done it without Helen!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I decided very late in the game to apply for business school. I was hoping to apply in round 1, but after struggling to get the GMAT score I desired, I suddenly found myself with only 6 weeks to complete my round 2 applications. I knew I was a competent candidate with a strong professional background, but I was worried about overcoming my below average undergraduate GPA and GMAT score for the schools I was targeting (M7). I had some reservations about working with a consultant due to the cost, but when I considered the value of getting into a top school, I decided it was worth my while. I am so thankful I decided to move forward with Helen at mbaMission, because I was able to overcome the obstacles in my application and get into my dream school!!!

Helen is someone who tells it like it is. She can be your toughest critic, but your greatest cheerleader. I really appreciated this quality because it meant I was always putting my absolute best foot forward with the schools I applied to. I worked with Helen on my resume, essays, interviews, and even my scholarship reconsideration letters. She helped me decide which schools to apply to, and ultimately which one to attend. With her help, I got into 5/7 schools I applied to (one of which was my dream school). I owe it all to Helen, and can't speak more highly of the experience. If you want to put your best foot forward, I strongly recommend working with Helen!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 25, 2019
sonias315

Joined: Mar 25, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Couldn't Have Done it Without Helen!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

After deciding to use an admission consultant service for 2 of my R1 applications (HBS, Wharton), I did my research to identify both the company and the consultant that would be the best fit for my needs. Having taken the Manhattan Prep GMAT class, the mbaMission services came highly recommended through my instructor, previous students, and the Forté Program. I chatted with 3 other consultants prior to connecting with Helen, and Helen was by far the most lively, energetic and genuinely excited consultant I had met. From the first day we chatted through the end of our time working together, Helen was genuinely interested and passionate about telling my story and was not afraid to share harsh, direct criticism or review the same essays 6+ times to ensure we had the perfect word choice and flow. She helped me to dig deep from the very beginning, pulling out the stories and interesting tidbits about myself that would truly help me stand out among my peers. She makes herself extremely available, offering to set up phone calls or communicate over email, and is very upfront about expectations to ensure a good working relationship. Helen and I worked on Wharton and HBS together and while I was rejected at HBS, I did receive good news from Wharton & even some money! If you're in the market for a consultant - look no further!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 21, 2019
Hoos20

Joined: Feb 21, 2019

Posts: 1

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
640 Q37 V40

Helen Summers

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was skeptical about working with an admissions consultant at first but a colleague of mine strongly recommended Helen Summers.

I figured my resume was already polished and I knew how to brainstorm and write essays but Helen really helped bring my application to the next level. The detailed brainstorming process was extremely helpful and after establishing the essay framework for my first school it was very easy to modify my story for other applications. Helen challenged me to be more thoughtful and concise which allowed me to highlight a more holistic view of my background. It was also a big advantage to be able to set up mock interviews with the mbaMission team.

I was accepted to all three schools I applied to and would definitely recommend Helen and mbaMission to other applicants.

One consideration for future applicants is that I felt the start-to-finish package for 1 school was sufficient to get me through my other applications.

Read More

January 15, 2019
mbastudent191987

Joined: Jan 15, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly Recommended Program and Consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Helen Summers at mbaMission for a two-school Complete "Start-to-Finish" Package and was accepted into my top choice. I recommend MBAMission, and HIGHLY recommend working with Helen Summers.

The MBAMission program is comprehensive and guides the applicant through a series of brainstorms and reflections. It keeps the applicant moving along the application process and completing critical tasks (like the school application, personal statement, interview prep...etc.). I was very pleased by how thorough and rigorous the program was and felt well-organized and prepared throughout the process.

However, the most important factor in the process was Helen. From day one, Helen was passionate, friendly, helpful and innovative. I'll never forget our initial brainstorm phone call: She was well-prepared, easy to speak with, and we had an "a-ha" moment that set us off on the path towards what became my personal statement. What set her apart for me was that she helped uncover my personal story and I always felt like Helen was in the trenches with me, which was comforting when we approached the application deadlines. Helen brought her passion, experience and insights into each discussion, was always available to speak live via phone, and responded to all inquiries and draft documents in a timely fashion.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 13, 2018
matts55

Joined: Jan 23, 2015

Posts: 3

Kudos: 6

Verified score:
710 Q47 V41

Five-Star Coach – Helen Summers

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Deciding to use a consultant:

During my 1.5 years prior to working with Helen, I secured a >700 GMAT, did extensive school research, and attended a dozen MBA networking events. Although I had an idea of what story and themes I wanted to share on my applications, I was unsure how to tell my story in the most effective manner. I began researching different admissions consulting firms when I discovered Helen’s bio at mbaMission.

Soon into my introductory call with Helen to discuss my profile, career goals, and target schools, I knew I wanted to work with her. Helen displayed her knowledge of consulting applicants in applying to top MBA programs and had experience consulting applicants with a background like mine. She was also more than ready to help me shoot for my target schools – HSW.

Essay writing:

The essay writing portion of MBA applications was my biggest challenge. I am confident in my writing abilities, however producing a common theme across multiple essays and free-form application questions requires vision and skill. This is where I needed the most help.

Helen and I held discussions to brainstorm what personal and professional experiences would be most effective to share with each school. Once we settled on a strategy, including which essays to write first and which experiences to match with what essay prompts, I began to write. Helen never once missed a turnaround deadline. In fact, I can recall more than a few occasions where she delivered one business day earlier than expected. Her comments were always detailed and constructive.

What I enjoyed most about working with Helen was how opinionated she was. When she didn’t like how a story came together, she would simply tell me why and to try again. No sugar-coating. Helen reviewed each essay, which averaged 4 – 6 drafts and provided the same rigor of feedback to my free-form application questions (an often overlooked and valuable portion of the application).

Interview prep:

Once I received interview invitations to each program, Helen quickly transitioned into mock interview mode. She conducted three separate mock interviews, each proving to be accurate simulations of what I encountered. Since one program offered a team-based interview, Helen organized for her company to conduct a virtual group interview.

Final results:

In the end, I was admitted to two programs (including my dream school) and waitlisted (and withdrew before a final decision) at the third.

If you’re looking for an experienced and talented consultant, look no further. Helen was an absolute joy to work with. I highly recommend Helen Summers.

Read More

August 12, 2018
mba2100

Joined: Aug 12, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V45

Could not have done it without Helen!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I could not have asked for a better person to work with than Helen Summers. She went above and beyond to help me with all aspects of my applications through every stage of the process. Whether it was helping me brainstorm, editing multiple drafts of my essays, giving me feedback on video essay recordings, preparing for interviews, and managing an incredibly long waitlist process (successfully!), Helen provided invaluable support, encouragement, and insight every step of the way.

During the writing process Helen pushed me to dig deeper and convey a message that would resonate and set my story apart. She was extremely timely with her comments and was not afraid to provide the direct and honest feedback I needed to hear. After receiving interview invitations Helen helped me practice through mock interviews and understand the different interview styles I could expect from each school.

The MBA application process is a marathon. Helen's guidance helped me navigate the process successfully and achieve results well beyond my expectations. She was there for me at every step of the way. With her help, I received interviews at all of the programs I applied to, generous fellowships from top programs, and I was admitted to my dream school!

To anyone who is hesitant about working with a consultant I would highly recommend it, especially working with Helen!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

13 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Helen Summers