GMAT Club

Helen Summers Reviews

Company: mbaMission

Before joining mbaMission, Helen Summers served as the director of MBA Programs at Management Leadership for Tomorrow—a national nonprofit that guides underrepresented minorities through the business school application process—where she developed curriculum and programming for nearly 1,000 fellows. Helen’s passion for business school admissions began when she was earning her MBA from Harvard Business School (HBS). In recognition of her significant involvement in admissions efforts and outreach there, Helen received the HBS Student Association Award and the Bert King Fellowship. Before attending business school, Helen was a senior financial analyst with Johnson & Johnson (J&J)—during which time she earned her CPA—and began her five years with the company as part of the Financial Leadership Development Program (FLDP). She gained valuable experience through rotations in finance and accounting, managing Motrin Franchise marketing expenses and analyzing the financial impact of new initiatives in the production process of cardiac catheters and stents. As a graduate of FLDP, Helen returned to J&J’s corporate headquarters, where she helped develop a new financial reporting system and managed the $160M budgets of the company’s CEO and CFO. She is a former Division I scholarship tennis player and has completed two Chicago marathons in recent years. Helen now enjoys exploring vegetarian and vegan cooking.

4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 55 reviews
April 12, 2021
stang21

Joined: Apr 02, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q51 V40

VERY enjoyable and rewarding experience with Helen Summers

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Helen was very patient in guiding me through the whole process. She was super responsive to emails and I got feedback usually the same day/next day. She was also very flexible with phone calls, even if I was just perplexed or wanted a quick mock. Overall, I found Helen's style to be encouraging, frank and not pressuring at all, which worked well for me. She really helped steer me in the right general direction and was able to spot interesting elements from my drafts to make sure I've highlighted them. I got into both M7 schools I worked with Helen, and definitely couldn't have done this without her help!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 03, 2021
codytranbarger

Joined: Apr 03, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q47 V41

Getting Into HBS with mbaMission

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Helen Summers from mbaMission on an hourly basis for my application to HBS for the Class of 2023. I'm happy to say that I was admitted, and as happy to endorse Helen and the mbaMission team. As an HBS alum herself, Helen's perspective was instrumental in honing and framing my story throughout the entire process, from the application to the essay to the interview / reflection. Furthermore, she was professional, responsive, and incredibly supportive along the way - we've even kept in touch well after my acceptance. I simply could not recommend Helen / mbaMission more strongly for anyone considering a consulting service for MBA applications.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 01, 2021
Hawkenlord

Joined: Apr 01, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
670 Q46 V36 (Online)

Helen Summers - Results Speak for Themselves

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Helen for over a year and would not have been able to finish the application process without her. The brainstorming session with Helen was critical as she took the time to understand who I am as a professional and where my true passions lie. With her help, I was able to convey my "story" clearly to the admissions committees. My interview prep with Helen helped me gain the confidence needed to outperform my own expectations. I was accepted at both Harvard and Wharton. Helen is not afraid to tell it to you straight and if you're willing to listen, your application will come out very strong. I highly recommend her.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 25, 2021
apasternak

Joined: Feb 25, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Amazing Experience With Helen Summers - Highly Recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Helen for ~3.5 months on three different b-school applications. Over this time period I also became a first-time dad, and broke my hand and had a large surgery on it. While these types of life occurrences happen to everyone and often derail plans and processes, Helen kept me on top of my applications and deadlines and enabled me to submit all three applications for R1. Helen was incredibly straightforward to work with, and did not beat around the bush when she thought my essays / short answer questions needed work and were not up to par. Helen was excellent at providing insightful advice on how to make my application better, and was super helpful for the interview processes as well. I ended up getting into 2/3 schools, including my #1 school!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 18, 2021
christianb115

Joined: Feb 18, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Helen was the best!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Helen really pushed me to think outside the box in identifying my story. She was very encouraging about ideas that had legs, and was honest about those that weren't really going anywhere. She was very quick to respond to questions and provided fantastic feedback on all my essays that kept the big picture in mind. This is a process of self discovery, and Helen was a wonderful guide throughout. The application and testing process is definitely tough, but Helen's structured approach kept me ahead of deadlines and helped me feel very confident in my applications and interviews. I would absolutely recommend Helen and MBAmission to anyone applying to schools!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 15, 2021
dsfl23123

Joined: Jan 15, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

They can sell themselves but not you!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Ask yourself, why would an HBS MBA grad do admissions consulting. The work is neither challenging not impactful. I worked with Helen in 2018.

mbaMission promises that they'll get back to you within 24-48 hours with feedback. Whenever I would receive feedback, it would not be tangible and would really miss on the key characteristics that the question is asking for. As a result, my essays were horrible and I got rejected. I later took Fortuna Admissions in 2020 and as a reapplicant got accepted though I still didn't manage to get into my top choice because of my history as a reapplicant. mbaMission has more than a thousand good reviews but that also means that each consultant is looking after 20-30 clients and not really spending the time you need them to. I would not recommend Helen or mbaMission.

Read More

July 06, 2020
crob717717

Joined: Apr 27, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q46 V41

A truly wonderful experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

When I began my coaching with Helen, I had some idea of the schools I was looking to apply to but not much insight into what details of my life my application would cover. Helen was patient, kind, and discerning. She first helped me think critically about how my own qualifications lined up with the MBA programs I was interested in. With an incredibly deep knowledge of what each program is looking for, Helen then helped me to expertly tailor my applications. She was particularly supportive in helping me write about difficult life experiences. Helen's interview prep was realistic and helpful, she does not hold back in asking the tough questions and I felt very prepared for the real things. She also was very critical in resume review and made my resume top tier. She takes her job seriously and is many times over worth the money!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 31, 2020
DGD99

Joined: May 31, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Helen Summers: a true, thoughtful and sharp professional

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I had considered pursuing an MBA for some time before embarking on the journey, so I had accumulated quite a bit of knowledge about the overall process and some of the specificities of the different schools I was applying to. However, my background and professional advancement made the pursuit of an MBA harder to justify, so I needed to aim high and be very on point in applying to the top US and European schools. Helen supported me through this ambitious goal.
Helen proved to be instrumental in my acceptance to one of my target schools. She helped survey my entire background and find gold nuggets where I would not have suspected. Her advice and thoughts were also very helpful in methodically building my story narrative and distilling the content in a clear and concise, yet impactful way. For example, it becomes very easy to try to stuff a lot content that appears meaningful and significant to oneself, when in fact putting the spotlight on fewer and targeted aspects is much more effective and compelling.
One of the great value-adds was that Helen will challenge your work in a constructive and polite way (i.e. no sugar coating or complacency): if what you're saying is weak, unclear or unconvincing, she will tell you and she will ask the right questions to help you improve or consider a better approach.
Beyond the essay drafting, Helen's knowledge and judgment were a reassuring force : from strategy to video-essays, to video interviews, to cv crafting and questionnaires, she provided reasoned advice and suggestions.
All in all, what made my experience with Helen so delightful is simply that she is passionate (from my very first conversation with her, she overflowed with positive energy!), dedicated, supportive and incredibly astute. A+

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 16, 2020
rea2019

Joined: Apr 29, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q42 V45

Incredible Experience with Helen Summers

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Helen Summers for ~3 months on my MBA essays and she provided invaluable support and guidance, ultimately helping me get accepted into 4 M7 programs. Helen is honest and direct and will not BS you when your essays need work. She is supportive and consistently pushed me to dig deeper and improve upon how I got my points across in all my essays. She is extremely organized and prompt, I never waited more than 2 days for a response on a question or essay draft. She was always willing to hop on a quick call to talk through questions or hard topics. I highly recommend working with Helen on any and all parts of your MBA applications.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 06, 2020
alexa123

Joined: Dec 22, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q46 V45

I couldn't recommend Helen and mbaMission highly enough

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was so happy with Helen as my consultant. I was reapplying to a couple schools this year and decided to use Helen to help craft my story. I found her when I was struggling with my story the most, unsure of how to cohesively weave my background, work experience, and goals into one story. Helen was incredibly resourceful in digging deep to my story and understand what drives and has shaped me and how I can make an impact in the future. She gave me confidence in my story while also being honest about what needed to be cut - somethings were better off being discarded than salvaged and I really appreciated her honesty in the process. In the end I was accepted to Wharton, which my family and I are thrilled about. Thank you so much, Helen!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

13 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Helen Summers