GMAT Club

Katharine Lewis Reviews

Company: mbaMission

Spending several years reading and evaluating MBA applications for the Stanford Graduate School of Business inspired Katharine Lewis to coach business school applicants on her own for a time before becoming an mbaMission Senior Consultant. She has since earned more than 70 five-star reviews on GMAT Club, making her one of the top-rated admissions consultants in the industry. With 12 MBAs from six schools in her family, she passionately believes that business school provides essential leadership training for any career. After graduating summa cum laude from Yale, Katharine earned her JD and MBA (with distinction) from Harvard. She then joined McKinsey & Company, where she completed consulting projects for finance, forest products, retail and nonprofit clients, and designed and established two business-government advocacy groups: a roundtable partnership under David Rockefeller comprising the top New York–based CEOs, and a Washington, DC, coalition of AMEX-listed, midsize companies committed to pro-growth tax and regulatory policies. After reluctantly declining a teaching offer from Harvard Business School, Katharine practiced law with Morrison & Foerster before switching her focus to education and nonprofit consulting. She chaired finance at a highly successful start-up school, served on four school boards, and completed projects for the S.D. Bechtel, Jr. Foundation and the San Francisco Foundation. Katharine also assisted Professor Kathleen M. Connell (the former California State Controller) in her finance class at the Haas School of Business at the University of California, Berkeley, and contributed to Moving Up to Millions: The Life Calculator Guide to Wealth (Wiley, 2007)

4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 97 reviews
June 27, 2019
songyuexu

Joined: Jun 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q50 V42

Go for Katherine Lewis for Deferred Enrollment

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Katy not only read through my whole application to prepare for the mock sessions but also provided me with a great number of extremely helpful tips about selecting schools and reapplication. Katy also generously gave me a 20min call after I received my offers to help me make my decision.

Katy sincerely cares about me as a person and she is always there for me. I will definitely come back to katy if i decide to reapply to HBS and Stanford in the future! Honestly my biggest regret for my past application season is to not meet Katy early enough to have her as my admissions consultant.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 09, 2019
ZaminAli

Joined: Jun 09, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

HBS 2+2 Admit: Katharine Lewis is the Best!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I am an International student from India that managed to get into Harvard's 2+2 MBA program with the help of Katy. I always thought Consultants were overpriced and there wasn't much that they could do to help one get into these schools. I couldn't have been more wrong about it.
I phone screened about 10 Consultants before I decided to go with Katy. I was planning to apply to only two Schools: Stanford and Harvard. Since Katy graduated from one and was the admission officer at the other, I thought she would be great and she indeed was.
Katy made me fill out a 14-page word document to get to know me which had various questions including where I was born, my parents, incidents from my childhood, people who influenced me when I was young, my pre-MBA skills, post-MBA skills I plan on acquiring, etc. That word document made me reevaluate my whole life and after reading it, I think Katy knew more about me than most people. She guided me about what are my strong points, what the outline of my essay should be like, what points my recommenders need to emphasize, etc. She was prompt, accurate and clear in replying. What distinguished her from other consultants was her ability to relate to me and tell my own story to the admission committee in a way that made me stand out from other applicants. She also helped me a great deal with Interview preparation.

In my limited experience, I think Katy is the best Consultant for 2+2 MBA programs.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 05, 2019
SSSWF

Joined: Aug 15, 2017

Posts: 8

Kudos: 0

2+2 Admit: Katy was the best decision I made!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

I phone screened many consultants prior to starting my application journey. I was the person who thought admission consultants were overrated and overpriced. Although a skeptic of the process, I trusted Katy to guide me through the application because I knew I had one chance and I wanted to get it right. I was not disappointed. Our brainstorming session gave me insights on not just the application, but my future career as a whole. She saw the pages of stories that defined who I am and crafted them eloquently into a cohesive package, which ultimately led to the HBS 2+2 program, DESPITE a much lower than average GMAT! She was always quick to turnaround essay drafts, even working on weekends when necessary. She TRULY cares deeply about each of her clients and will tell it like it is - which helped keep me grounded throughout the process.

These reviews were crucial in me deciding to pursue a relationship with Katy. As a lower GMAT, average stat 2+2 ADMIT, I trusted Katy and she delivered. She is able to find each person's unique story and package it into an effective profile. There were many hurdles especially with last minute recommendation cancellations and essay revisions. Katy was quick to call and helped plan out immediate next steps. She has experience that is, in my experience, invaluable. Reflecting on the entire process, what may seem like a large sum of money to pay to work with Katy, was in the long term, TRULY the best investment I ever made going through this process. You won't regret working with Katy.

Read More

May 30, 2019
kh22

Joined: May 30, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Katy is very knowledgeable and listens to your needs

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I've done a number of consultations with different coaches and Katy by far stands out. I did a free consultation with Katy after I was admitted and wanted some guidance on weighing a new career opportunity versus attending business school in the fall. She thoughtfully listened to my conflicting feelings and helped me to feel confident in either decision. She took away the feeling of now or never--I got in this year and we could work together next year to make it happen again next year. She also made me feel comfortable forgoing the career opportunity and gave me the permission to pursue what I really wanted: to attend school now. I'd highly recommend speaking with Katy--she knows admissions inside and out and is a great career coach to boot!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 25, 2019
Arielcarmeli

Joined: Apr 25, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Katy cares. My X-factor to an HBS admission

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Trusting Katy to guide my MBA admission process (written application + interviews) was best decision I could have made. Uber efficient with your time and money. Do everything you can to work with her. Would do it again 100 times out of 100.

Do you know why you want to go to business school? No, why you really want to go to business school?
What about [insert city name] ecosystem makes you want to spend 2 year of graduate school studying there?
Which business school is the best cultural fit for you?
What about your first job made you see the world differently in your second job?

There is no formula here. Personal answers to these questions require conversations with many people you respect and trust; I felt this about Katy after just one call. In addition, I found Katy's MBA specific experience to be invaluable - of being an HBS student herself and seeing thousands of previous successful and non-successful people go through and come out the other side of business school. Katy cared about my success, became my go to thought partner by asking questions like these, and helped me self-discover and articulate moments in my past that make me special and well suited for a particular business school.

I have a unique perspective on MBA consultants because I actually started my journey with an MBA consultant from a different firm - The Admission Advisory Group - it was a horrendous experience DONT GO THERE!. That other consultant pushed a "formula" on me for the written application and told me to wait a year before applying and I would not get in because my application did not fit into their "formula". I was extremely demoralized after that first experience with the other consultant and knew the advice didn't sound right. Now on the other side I know there is no magic formula (don't go looking for one) to get into business school, and I am grateful I found Katy to help me help myself shine.

Lastly, When it came down to interviews, Katy knows the ins and outs of the different styles at various MBA programs. Her mock interviews with me (even on weekends) helped me shorten my answers, focus on my unique aspects, and go into the interviews with confidence.

Read More

April 03, 2019
mexmex

Joined: Jan 11, 2018

Posts: 3

Kudos: 3

Verified score:
740 Q47 V44

Katy helped me really capture my true self in my applications.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Applying for business schools has been of the most time-consuming and emotionally demanding endeavors I have ever set out to do. In light of this, I highly recommend getting help from a qualified, experienced professional. Early on in the process, someone who knew my background well eagerly recommended that I reach out to Katy Lewis from MBAMission. 1 year and 2 admissions offers later (one of which included a full ride and a named scholarship) I can clearly see why. When I first reached out to Katy for a free consultation, her roster for the year was already full, but we clicked instantly, as we discovered that we were both attorneys and had the same passion for business and the international arena. To avoid overfilling her roster, Katy recommended another consultant from MBAMission. In a twist of fate, however, when the other consultant unexpectedly had to withdraw for personal reasons, Katy jumped right in and picked up my case eagerly. She spent a whole weekend getting up to speed on my materials and by Monday morning she was ready to go. Throughout my admissions process, Katy remained heavily invested in my case. I felt comforted to know she really had my back. Katy paid close attention to detail in every material I sent her for review, challenging me in ways that allowed me to step out of my comfort zone and put my best self forward. She was thorough in my interview preparations, allowing me to spot my weaknesses and correct them. Working with Katy ultimately led me to complete and submit business school applications that I was proud of. I knew from the get-go that given my unusual path to business school, my candidacy was going to be a tough sell. But Katy not only saw my potential, she allowed it to flourish and really show itself to the schools. Looking back on this process, I can confidently say that there is no one I would rather have in my corner when taking on this defining period of my life.

Read More

March 29, 2019
mbastudentadmit

Joined: Mar 29, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q50 V41

Admitted to HBS and Wharton

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I initially did a free 30-minute consultation with Katy. She was very helpful during our chat so I ended up working with her further after that. There were two parts of my application she was extremely helpful with. The first one was brainstorming ideas around what my essays should be about (I applied to HBS and Wharton, and HBS has a notoriously vague prompt). She helped me decide which parts of my story would be interesting to highlight and which parts not so much. Having a third party (Katy) who was great at identifying best parts of my candidacy and working with me to highlight them was invaluable.
The second aspect Katy was extremely helpful with was interview prep. Katy did an amazing job helping me practice my interviews. I had talked to some friends who had previously gone through the interview process and the advice I was getting from them was stressing me out. Katy calmed me down and helped me practice for these interviews. If you end up working with her on your application process, make sure she is your main source of truth for the interviews and not some friends who might’ve gone through the process. As she told me “everyone attributes their success to different parts of their application/interview, it doesn’t mean they are right”. If I were to do the process over, I would practice my interviews with Katy and maybe one more trustworthy friend.
Overall, Katy really knows what she is doing and I would highly recommend her. I ended up getting into both HBS and Wharton and am Boston bound this fall!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 21, 2019
rjaffe

Joined: Mar 21, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Katy made it happen!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

As a career academic and Latin teacher transitioning into sustainability management, I was not your typical MBA applicant. I was making a major career shift and I’m confident that, without Katharine’s guidance, I would not have had the success I did. In just the initial consultation, Katharine helped me create a focused and direct action plan. She guided me through the creation of a narrative that both highlighted my achievements and captured my personality.
Once the applications were in, Katharine led me through mock interviews and the development of an elevator pitch. She boosted my ability to speak with confidence and clarity about my goals. Before interviewing for USC Marshall—to which I was recently accepted!—Katharine provided me with resources for both school-specific and general information and advice. Currently, I’m waitlisted for NYU Stern and Katharine continues to provide support and aid from reviewing update emails to admissions to creating a game plan to get off the waitlist.

Read More

March 07, 2019
WestCoastMBA2

Joined: Mar 07, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
710 Q47 V41

I had trial consultations with three other firms and wasn’t satisfied with their processes or their overt salesmanship. Katy was the first admissions consultant who took the time to fully read and digest my resume and story of why I wanted an MBA without trying to push a package. She understood me and my non-traditional story immediately and had first-hand experience with the schools to which I was applying. So, after I was invited to interview at Berkeley Haas, I purchased a mock interview specifically with her. One of the greatest things about her is that she remembered speaking to me 3 months prior during our trial consultation and was genuinely excited that I got an interview.

She sent me prep work before our mock interview to help me understand the intricacies of the Haas interview as well as general b-school interviewing tips from her own experiences. During our mock interview, she took the time to ask me many more questions than my real interviewer would, ensuring no stone was left unturned. She actively took notes and gave suggestions on how to improve answers and what to stay away from. After the mock interview, she sent me several pages of extremely detailed notes on my own responses and all of the critical talking points we spoke about that I needed to hit. My real interview with Berkeley Haas went fantastic thanks to her prep and I was accepted to the program (as well as UCLA Anderson). I strongly recommend Katharine Lewis to anyone who needs help figuring things out or someone to practice interviewing with. She’s a true professional who actually cares about your success. I will be attending Berkeley Haas in the fall thanks to her!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 25, 2019
AdmitP

Joined: Feb 25, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Katy Lewis became my friend and I couldn't have done it without her!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Over the past two weeks, I've just finished my MBA interviews with HBS, Wharton, and Oxford. As most of you know, each of these interviews are very different in approach and I finished each feeling very confident and also incredibly thankful that Katy Lewis had helped me prepare for each of them. Katy went above and beyond to prepare for each mock interview with me with specific questions tailored to me and based on the tendencies of my interviewer - I can point to specific questions in each of my actual interviews where I am really glad that I not only got to rehearse my answers with Katy, but also brainstormed with her to refine them.

Taking a step back, this is the second year in a row that I've worked with Katy. She has become a friend to me personally and a mentor to me beyond this business school application process. Beyond the tactical of my essays and how to work with my recommenders (which Katy has done an unbelievably great job), Katy helped nudge me toward my most transformative career decision (and self-discovery) between last year's application cycle and this year's. I am very proud of the person I've developed into because of Katy's help. Most importantly, I personally feel how much Katy genuinely cares about me and my success as a friend, from the way we chat and from how often I feel my warm appreciation of "you didn't have to do all this for me but you did!"

I will sum this up by saying - three years ago when I reached out to Katy, I was privately cynical about MBA consultants in general, but I knew an MBA is so important to me that I couldn't take the risk. BEST DECISION EVER THAT I DIDN'T EVEN FULLY KNOW THEN. Whew!

My advice - I still don't know about MBA consultants in general, BUT DO NOT MISS OUT ON KATY LEWIS! SHE IS THE BEST!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

34 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Katharine Lewis