GMAT Club

Katharine Lewis Reviews

Company: mbaMission

Spending several years reading and evaluating MBA applications for the Stanford Graduate School of Business inspired Katharine Lewis to coach business school applicants on her own for a time before becoming an mbaMission Senior Consultant. She has since earned more than 70 five-star reviews on GMAT Club, making her one of the top-rated admissions consultants in the industry. With 12 MBAs from six schools in her family, she passionately believes that business school provides essential leadership training for any career. After graduating summa cum laude from Yale, Katharine earned her JD and MBA (with distinction) from Harvard. She then joined McKinsey & Company, where she completed consulting projects for finance, forest products, retail and nonprofit clients, and designed and established two business-government advocacy groups: a roundtable partnership under David Rockefeller comprising the top New York–based CEOs, and a Washington, DC, coalition of AMEX-listed, midsize companies committed to pro-growth tax and regulatory policies. After reluctantly declining a teaching offer from Harvard Business School, Katharine practiced law with Morrison & Foerster before switching her focus to education and nonprofit consulting. She chaired finance at a highly successful start-up school, served on four school boards, and completed projects for the S.D. Bechtel, Jr. Foundation and the San Francisco Foundation. Katharine also assisted Professor Kathleen M. Connell (the former California State Controller) in her finance class at the Haas School of Business at the University of California, Berkeley, and contributed to Moving Up to Millions: The Life Calculator Guide to Wealth (Wiley, 2007)

5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 119 reviews
April 08, 2021
User1138

Joined: Apr 08, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Confidence is key

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Katy did a terrific job of helping me discern what to highlight on my MBA applications. She took the time to understand my background and aspirations, helping me grasp the cultures of the programs to which I was applying. She was incredibly responsive throughout the application process. I wrote her a panicked request for help when one of my programs scheduled an interview for a mere three days down the road: Katy responded within 30 minutes and offered me a selection of time slots for a mock interview with her the next day. She gave me the confidence I needed to represent my genuine self on my MBA applications.

Read More

August 17, 2020
lollo123

Joined: Feb 17, 2019

Posts: 3

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
740 Q49 V42

Accepted to HBS 2+2 thanks to Katy!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

As an HBS 2+2 applicant, I knew that every little thing could make the difference between being accepted and rejected. I contacted Katharine after doing thorough research on basically every consultant available. I probably did 15-20 free consultations with different firms and consultants before deciding to go with her. Already in our first call, she showed that her knowledge about what HBS is actually looking for is remarkable. During the process, she helped me craft my application to make sure I really stood out - and that I didn’t just look like the usual male, econ undergrad, incoming consultant.

I can confidently say I think Katharine made the difference for me - and I would recommend her to anyone who wants to increase their odds of admittance to a top school!

Read More

August 06, 2020
mbaapplicant8

Joined: Apr 25, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Amazing support start to finish

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Katy was an incredible consultant and mentor throughout the entire process, from the initial consultation to navigating the waitlist process through the summer. I was ecstatic to get off the waitlist for Stanford GSB – my top choice – with Katy’s help, and couldn’t have done it without her! When I was waitlisted, Katy immediately helped me come up with a plan to stay engaged with schools throughout the summer, regularly and proactively checked in with me to see how things were going, reviewed all of my update posts, and gave me invaluable insights and motivation to stay committed to the process. The waitlist process can be nerve-wracking and confusing to navigate at times, and Katy’s endless support and encouragement made a world of difference in helping me ultimately get accepted. Katy is the best and I truly can’t recommend her enough.

Read More

June 29, 2020
Tango10

Joined: Jun 29, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Superstar who brought out my absolute best

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I initially contacted Katharine upon a strong recommendation from a friend. I thought it would be useful to have a quick consultation with Katharine to understand the process further.
After 30 minutes, I definitely knew that I wanted Katharine to assist me with my applications!

Not only did she convince me to apply to much stronger schools than I had initially planned for, during the brainstorming process, we discussed my personal and professional stories which she brought out in the best possible light!

Her organization and timing were impeccable, always returning document reviews on time. She was always happy to schedule regular calls to discuss at length. She always made me feel that I was a priority and was able to discuss at a moment’s notice.

Most importantly, her experience in Stanford GSB admissions really showed in all our discussions, and that was truly the most valuable aspect. As a Middle Eastern male in financial services, I wanted to highlight myself in a unique manner. Her experience on the other side provided me with the A-Z details of what admissions are really looking for (both within the essay reviews as well as the interview preparations) and assisted me to present my story in the best approach.

In the end, I was accepted into Chicago Booth, a dream school for me, and one that I didn’t think possible when initially applying for my MBA.

I really can’t recommend Katharine enough; it was sincerely a pleasure working with her and I can’t thank her enough for all of her valuable assistance!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 01, 2020
gbrennan919

Joined: May 01, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Slam Dunk

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Katharine was instrumental in helping me in my goal of getting into Haas. Over the course of two years we worked together to find not only the best time to apply, but also the best way to apply. Katharine consulted me on all things about Haas, and the most important areas I would need to improve on in order to get in. The biggest factor for me though was the confidence that she instilled in me during the process. No hurdle was too big, no blemish on my application too damning. She always was there to be my biggest supporter and fan. Without her I could not have gotten into school, that I am sure of.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 01, 2020
royshillock

Joined: Sep 08, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Slam Dunk!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

As a member of an over-represented group (white male in financial services), I found Katy’s keen insight and expertise to be particularly helpful. With only a 720 GMAT (weak on quant) and a 3.7, I would not have been admitted to Kellogg (and potentially Booth!) without Katy’s brilliance. Here’s what I found helpful in list form:
– Right off the bat, Katy helped me figure out what I want from my MBA with our brainstorming sessions
– She helped me create a plan for which schools to apply to and when I would need to execute each step
– Her expertise really shined on the resume and letters of recommendation. These are without a doubt the most overlooked part of every application, and I think she’s the best in the industry at it. None of my friends applying to M7 programs got anywhere near as acute of advice as Katy gave me.
– She knew how every program interviewed and helped me prepare for each interview based on the school’s specific style
– She has an insanely high hit rate on getting clients admitted from waitlists and navigated me through the waitlist process at Kellogg and Booth.
– Her coaching has been paramount as I’ve negotiated for financial aid

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 30, 2020
aif2107

Joined: Apr 30, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

An absolute pro -- best decision I made

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I initially was unsure whether to use an admissions consultant at all. Looking back, I'm so glad I found Katy and decided to work with her through this process -- I couldn't be happier after having been admitted to my two top choice programs, HBS and GSB. Katy truly "got" my story from day 1 and guided me through the entire process to help me put my best foot forward while staying completely true to myself -- and coaching me through a number of broader life and career choices along the way! Highly recommend for everyone, especially for others who may have very busy day jobs -- the resources and experience Katy was able to bring to bear really made the process as smooth and efficient as it could possibly ave been. Could not be happier with Katy and mbaMission.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 30, 2020
sucemd

Joined: Mar 18, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
780 Q49 V51

A paragon of excellence

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I first heard of Katy when a friend who had worked with her mentioned how generous she was with her time during the initial consultation, going beyond what he had expected from a free consultation. I had the opportunity to see her work in action as we teamed up for an application to my dream school. From basic questions that I'd email off to her at a moment's notice, to long and thorough interview prep sessions, Katy wowed me. She always went above and beyond, never failing to provide timely and discerning feedback and even going so far as to connect me with some of those in her personal network to help me attend a particular class on campus. Her Stanford/Yale/Harvard/McKinsey credentials don't even do her justice. She's a true expert in every sense of the word.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 30, 2020
bperelman

Joined: Apr 30, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q46 V46

Excellent Partner and made the process fun

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Katy was an incredible partner in this process. From the brainstorm document, which was a vital tool in crafting my story, to the essays, Katy was an incredible partner in this process and made it significantly easier to pursue. She was great at providing insight into the process and what to expect, and she was a valuable resource for interview prep and waitlist management. One of the key aspects of this was better understanding where my strengths were and how I could manage any weak points of my application. She was an incredible partner to have, and I am immensely grateful for her help. Signing up was one of the best decisions that I made

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 27, 2020
marcelo24

Joined: Jul 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

My plan to apply to a top Biz school started in 2016. It wasn't until last year that I decided to really figure out what it was going to take to get there. A friend recommended I speak to Katy. In our first 30-min conversation I instantly felt Katy's enthusiasm to help others achieve their MBA goals and also her objective and honest feedback to make sure you understood what that would take. I spoke to many other consultants and none gave me confidence like Katy. For the next four months (albeit a short time frame for apps) we worked diligently on polishing my application. Katy took interest in my personal story, guided me when I felt nervous and motivated to approach applying to business school with determination and optimism. I will be attending my dream school now, and this achievement is in part due to the amazing work and dedication of Katy. Gracias!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

34 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Katharine Lewis