GMAT Club

Katie McQuarrie Reviews

Company: Vantage Point



5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 6 reviews
May 16, 2021
brento10

Joined: May 16, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Two Top-Ten Offers with $$$ - Hire Vantage Point!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

The only regret I have about working with Katie McQuarrie and Vantage Point is that I didn't engage them sooner in the application process. It's worth noting that I reached out to Vantage Point in December of 2020, several weeks before R2 applications were due. Despite this challenging timeline, Katie coached me through six top-ten MBA applications, resulting in a full-ride scholarship at NYU Stern and admittance to Northwestern Kellogg's MMM program. Katie provided expert advice that went far beyond mere grammatical essay critique. In fact, while her comments on my essays were always insightful and prompt, she was most helpful in refining my broader applicant narrative before I even set pen to paper. She helped me navigate the shifting sands of various career goals, even suggesting certain paths based on my background that I'd never considered. Nudges like this expanded my perspective and enabled me to present a very compelling "why" behind my application, which helped my essays and interviews stand out. Katie's style is tactful but direct. She encouraged me to lean into my strengths, but also candidly pointed out when she knew something wouldn't resonate well with admissions committees. Katie and Vantage Point played an indispensable role in honing my applicant story, preparing for interviews and negotiating competing scholarship offers. If you're serious about getting into a top MBA program, do yourself a favor and hire Katie McQuarrie at Vantage Point.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 23, 2020
amn123

Joined: Jul 23, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
670 Q41 V41

HIGHLY Recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I cannot express how grateful I am for the assistance I received from Katie McQuarrie from Vantage Point! I always felt like I had a good sense of what I wanted to do in the future, as well as solid and unique work experience, however I didn’t quite know how to build my MBA story around my experience and goals in a way that would be compelling to MBA admissions teams. I didn’t even realize how important it was to have a solid “story” until I started working with Katie.
I also knew in theory why I wanted to get my MBA, however Katie helped me to logically and clearly express how I planned to get from point A (now) to point B (short-term and long-term goals) and exactly why an MBA would be so crucial to my success. Katie also helped me identify those specific short-term and long-term goals and how they connected with my past work experience.
In addition to that, Katie was honest with me about which schools I could and should target, especially with my non-traditional background, however she was always incredibly encouraging too. I knew that my GMAT score was lower than the average at many of the schools I was applying to, and certain quantitative scores that I received during undergrad could have been higher, but Katie helped me to take advantage of the optional essay and express why that should not be a concern to schools.
It was so nice to have someone in my corner who could give me relevant advice, especially since I felt like a deer in the headlights at the start of my application journey! Ultimately, I ended up receiving a full ride to my top choice school through a scholarship that I would not have known about without Katie. I cannot say enough great things! Thank you so much to Vantage Point and to Katie for helping me through the application process!!!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 23, 2020
thaverty101

Joined: Oct 23, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Vantage Point made all the difference in my applications

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

When I first completed my consultation with Melody and Katie, it was clear that I still had a great deal to discover about myself and my professional aspirations. At the time, I had only a vague understanding of my career goals as well as what schools I wanted to apply to. But that uncertainty soon changed.
I was paired with Katie because she had familial ties to the military and picked up very quickly on the terminology and lifestyle I was preparing to depart. She worked extensively with me by first getting a better understanding of who I am at my core in order to shed a humble and encouraging light on the skills I bring to an MBA program. Doing so also greatly enhanced my ability to develop a narrative of my life thus far and materialize a clear trajectory of where I want to be 10 years from now.
Beyond the clear benefits that Katie and Vantage Point provided to improve my applications, I also genuinely enjoyed our conversations together. It never once felt like just a hired service, but a friend I could lean on to help tackle some major life decisions. If you too feel like you are shakey about how to approach your MBA applications or still trying to grasp the "why" behind doing so, Vantage Point is a must.

Read More

July 16, 2020
bmcgregor

Joined: Jul 16, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly Recommend Katie M.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was referred to Vantage Point by a colleague who had previously worked with another consultant. I was initially going to work with that consultant I was introduced to, but she was fully booked, so I was paired with Katie. On our initial call, I could tell she was very skilled at working with people like myself - someone who is set on business school but doesn't have a clear idea of how to portray them self through the application process. Katie was very patient, but also very persistent with me as she helped me craft my story. Just when I was satisfied with the progress we had made, she wanted to take it another layer deeper and make sure it was flawless and could withstand the scrutiny of an admissions panel.

Katie was exactly the sort of person I needed to coach me through the process. I work in a fairly demanding industry with little personal time. Without Katie, I would have procrastinated and let things slip until the last minute. She was assertive, and in a good way. She held me to deadlines and a timeline that allowed us to put a quality product together without rushing. I was amazed and comforted by the amount of time and interest Katie took in crafting my story and getting to know what drives me. Not only did it help me put together the best application I possibly could have, but it also made me look within and think about those personal traits that make me the person I am.

Katie also truly went above and beyond what I expected I would receive out of the comprehensive package. After the applications were submitted, she thought critically about how I could maintain a competitive advantage at the schools I was applying to and how to keep my name top of mind with their admissions teams. She gave personalized advice and was a great sounding board when interviews came around. Buying a comprehensive package should be a personalized, customized service with someone who is very attentive to your process. My experience with Katie was everything and more. I highly recommend her to anyone that is considering a comprehensive service. Very well worth it.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 21, 2019
aoxman

Joined: Oct 21, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q44 V40

Highly Recommend Vantage Point for MBA Application Help

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I starting working with Katie about one month before the application deadline. I had started filling out the application on my own but quickly realized that I needed some expert guidance to put my best application forward. My advice -- don't waste time trying to do it on your own -- just get started from the get-go with one of Vantage Point's expert consultants.

Katie took the time upfront to understand my work and academic experiences. At the start, I couldn't clearly articulate "Why MBA?" but she did a great job of helping me craft a concise and accurate story. Revamping the resume from a traditional one to a b-school one was a strong point for Katie, and she gave me a couple great ideas for the essay. Katie held me accountable to self-imposed deadlines, helped manage my stress and exceeded my overall expectations. She was super responsive, provided great feedback and ideas and used our time efficiently. This was a worthwhile experience and I would not have had nearly as strong an application without working with Vantage Point and Katie.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 19, 2019
brelgof

Joined: May 03, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
740

Highly recommend VP and Katie

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Initially skeptical about using an admissions consultant, I knew I made the right decision shortly after beginning to work with Katie. VantagePoint's approach really helps you think about, craft, and articulate your story in a unique way.

I think a huge part of this was that Katie took the time up front to get to know me personally, which informed her advice throughout the process - from school selection to essays, letters of recommendation, interviews, etc.

Another huge plus for me was her responsiveness. As a consultant traveling every week, my schedule is often unpredictable and Katie was both incredibly responsive (always getting back within 1-2 days max, and often the same day) and flexible, willing to make something work if I felt like we needed to discuss something.

I highly recommend Katie and VantagePoint for anyone that is concerned about working with a larger firm and not getting enough time and individual feedback from their consultant.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.