GMAT Club

Keith Blume Reviews

Company: Manhattan Prep GMAT

Keith Blume is an MBA graduate of the University of Chicago Graduate School of Business (GSB, now Booth). He is the senior most Chicago instructor for Manhattan Prep and scored a 780 on the GMAT.

As a U.S. Marine, Keith served in the northern most capital in the world, the southernmost capital in the western hemisphere, and watched the sun rise on the Pacific Ocean and set on the Atlantic Ocean. He earned his Bachelor's Degree in electrical engineering from Texas A&M University and worked in the circuit protection and wireless industries. As an MBA student and after he graduated, Keith evaluated applications and conducted interviews for the GSB and often gives students a glimpse "behind the velvet curtain" of the application/admissions process. Keith's work with Manhattan Prep has allowed him to "live the dream." He loves teaching and helping students overcome their fears and achieve the scores they desire. His work with Manhattan Prep has also given him the latitude to pursue the other main passion in his life, martial arts. While at first glance the two pursuits may not seem related, Keith believes that the mental and physical discipline necessary to becoming a good martial artist is also necessary to performing at a high level on the GMAT. Students attending his classes are not only trained in content, but also coached on the importance of the mental and physical aspects of the test.

Source: https://www.manhattanprep.com/gmat/instructors/keith-blume/


4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 25 reviews
May 20, 2017
khchi

Joined: May 18, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q46 V44

Worth the money

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I debated between doing and online or in-person course for the GMAT. I never regretted going for the in person option. The extra personalized attention you get the in-person course made the money for the course worth it. I found the post course assessment and study plan that Keith put together particularly helpful. I also did an hour of private tutoring to help me revise my study plan after taking the test and not reaching my target score. Keith was also always happy to answer questions via email, which made me feel like I was continuing to benefit from the in-person course even when I wasn't physically in class.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 20, 2016
nbeazy

Joined: Sep 16, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Great experience with Keith & Manhatttan Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Keith and Manhattan Prep were instrumental in my preparation for a successful GMAT score. Every week we learned new tips and tricks to help master how to take the exam that I am sure I would not have picked up otherwise. Keith is a great instructor who actively tries to make sure everyone in the class is understanding the problems we are working on at that time. Also, the general breadth of resources the course comes with are invaluable. The online homework tracking tool helped me not only perfect my timing, but also easily track how I was doing and where improvement was needed. The Manhattan Prep practice exams, combined with the GMAT practice exams, are more than enough in that respect. I definitely believe this was worth the money!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 18, 2016
AGSA

Joined: Jul 21, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q50 V40

Overall Great

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

My experience with Manhattan was great, especially for the quant section. My tutor Keith is very experienced and knows the material really well. He is also very personable. Setting up the post course assessment with him was easy. Manhattan's proprietary tests are also helpful. The quant section on those tests is brutal, but good for training you to manage the pace. I would not fret too much if you are not getting perfect scores in the first 2 attempts with the Manhattan practice tests. Gradually i did see my performance improve. If you are a working professional like I am, i highly recommend the course. It did really really hold me accountable.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 15, 2016
GMATstudent94

Joined: Sep 15, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V45

Materials & Instructor Overview Were Very Helpful

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I found the Manhattan Prep test books and the overview of the GMAT that my instructor provided to be very helpful. I personally got more out of the books and the first class than I did the remaining eight classes, but everybody learns differently and I have a more independent learning style. That being said, my instructor (Keith) was great. He was supportive, patient, and encouraging. Even if I didn't find the class to be particularly helpful, I think access to an instructor is invaluable. If nothing else, purchase the Manhattan Prep Test Books and work through them on your own. I can't emphasize how helpful and manageable they were.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 20, 2016
blangner1

Q52, V51?

May 29, 2017
XavierAlexander

"VERIFIED SCORE" is written in front of this review. How in the world could you get 52 out of 51?
Unbelievable.

August 25, 2016
ctansey

Joined: Aug 25, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q50 V42

I highly recommend Manhattan Prep for GMAT preparation. When I was researching test prep options, most sources suggested Manhattan Prep was the best. In my opinion, Manhattan Prep has the best material and strategies to effectively prepare for and perform well on the GMAT exam.

I took the 9 session Live Instruction course with Keith Blume. Keith was an amazing instructor. It was evident from the first class how genuinely interested he was in getting to know his students individual strengths and weaknesses and helping each one succeed. Keith is truly passionate about his job and is a highly effective teacher. I am grateful for his guidance in helping me exceed my expectations on the GMAT exam.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 01, 2016
chitowngmat

Joined: Aug 01, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q48 V47

Very Satisfied with Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I signed up for the 9 session prep course with the expectation that most of the benefit I'd get out of it would be from the books themselves and from the motivation to stick to a study schedule (something I had previously failed at). However, it turned out that in addition to those benefits, the live classes taught by Keith were extremely helpful in making the strategy tips work for me. He helped us understand the nuances of the more difficult GMAT questions, especially for Quant. I also appreciated that we started the sessions with an open forum where people could bring up questions or concerns that had come up over the past week, either specific to a certain problem or general testing/admissions strategy questions.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 24, 2014
TJR

Joined: Sep 24, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
730 Q48 V42

640 to 730 with Keith

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Keith helped me increase my GMAT score by 90 points, from 640 to 730. We focused mostly on math but that seemed to be his greatest strength. His teaching style covers both basic lectures and question and answer formats but he also approaches the test in an abstract way as well, showing how each math topic relates to other math topics and how to quickly assess a problem and identify the steps needed to solve it. Because the GMAT only allows about 2 minutes per problem, speed as well as accuracy is incredibly important. Keith helped me tremendously on my timing. I was finishing tests either guessing the last 7 questions or sometimes even finishing the test with 5 minutes extra and my quant score was very poor. Almost every problem we did together was timed, no matter how hard it was. He also helped me identify lost cause problems, or problems that are so complicated and time consuming that is best to guess an answer and then move forward to the next question. Because of Keith my quant increased 40 to 48 and my verbal increased by 4 points from 38 to 42 and I was able to apply to a much higher caliber of schools due to my new increased score.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 23, 2012
sirpeterh

Joined: May 22, 2012

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
640 Q39 V38
750 Q47 V46

Great tool to keep you on track

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I found the 9 session GMAT prep course very helpful for a few reasons. The primary reason was to motivate me to stay on track with weekly assignments and a structured review plan. I think that some people would be fine to buy the books and work through them on his/her own and at his/her own pace. With my busy work and social schedule, I found the structure to be incredibly helpful.

Another reason that I thought the class was helpful was for the little tricks of the trade that the instructor provided. At some points I felt the classes were a waste of time, but every once in a while we would learn something that could save me 20 seconds on a quant problem and would make it all worth while.

I did not find the verbal review to be very helpful. On the actual test I ended up using only 1-2 things that I learned in the classes. My improvements in verbal came really as a result of simply doing a lot of practice problems.

Read More


7 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Keith Blume