GMAT Club

Kevin (SBC) Reviews

Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting


4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 13 reviews
May 21, 2018
visgmat

Joined: Dec 05, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

SBC - Booth Admitted - Enhanced Confidence & Fine-tuned Story

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

SBC is great as compared to their competitors, because they gave me the option to have 1 hour chat with a different consultant. So, I chatted twice with a Booth former adcom member and once with a Ross adcom member.

The SBC staff was in scheduling consultants with only 24 hour notice, as compared to the competitors which required one week notice.

I took SBC mock-interview for 1 hour. It was great because it gave me an opportunity to dry run my story. I got good feedback on how to slightly improve my story. I presented the improved story during the actual interview at Booth. The Booth admission com feedback later during the admitted call feedback was that I did very well in the interview.

I also obtained Booth essay feedback. The feedback was good, but, could have been better. The feedback was good because it prevented me from going down the wrong track. However, the consultant was unable to offer me ideas on how to improve the essay.

I also obtained Ross essay feedback. This was really good as the consultant both helped me improve the matter as well as we together brainstormed what stories to tell in the essay.

Overall, great experience. I owe some credit to SBC for helping me get into Booth. They helped me gain confidence and polished my story, which was beneficial for the interview and essays.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 06, 2018
DreamSchool2020

Joined: Jun 19, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Dream school thanks to SBC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

SBC and Kevin played a critical role in my business school application process and I would highly recommend them to anyone applying to school.

Initially, Kevin and I did an in-depth character analysis which helped identify both my strengths and weaknesses as an applicant and also identify schools that would be the right fit for me. He shared invaluable insight into each school’s academic and cultural profile that helped me narrow down my list. Kevin then walked me through each school’s application and helped me create a plan to attack each section, from asking for recommendations to the essay and short answer sections. Kevin was always very prompt in responding to my emails and was happy to hop on the phone to discuss any and all issues. Throughout the writing portion of the applications, Kevin challenged me to constantly revise and improve my essays. He provided honest feedback that helped me craft essays that I was truly proud of. When it came time to submit my application, I was very confident in my final product.

The business school application process can be daunting but Kevin made the process much easier. His guidance was invaluable and ultimately helped me get into my dream M7 school!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 22, 2017
krval

Joined: Feb 18, 2015

Posts: 21

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
710 Q49 V39
750 Q49 V42

Kevin @ SBC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I am from a overrepresented applicant pool and my GPA and work experience were average. So I knew, I needed some help to differentiate myself. I spoke to several admission consultants and decide to go with SBC because of their overall professionalism. I worked with Kevin Rockmael. He helped me decide what stories to tell and what aspects of the stories to focus on. He was always prompt with his responses and helped me stick to my schedule. His insight into the admissions process and his ability to create a clean narrative helped me a lot. SBC's flight test is awesome because, it gives you a real adcom's perspective on your essays. With all this help, I was able to get into a top 15 program with a scholarship. This was a great investment into my future.

Read More

June 06, 2016
Antocobb1

Joined: Jun 06, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Got in top school with low GMAT.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Prepping for admissions into a top MBA program is a rigorous process. A process that requires persistence, detail, and communication of your brand. To help me with the process, I reached out to Stacy Blackman Consulting. I was able to work with Kevin Rockmeal who is extremely skilled with getting student admitted with low GMAT scores. Kevin’s assistance with crafting my MBA admission essays, prepping me for my MBA admission interviews, editing my MBA resume, and assisting me in getting a better grasp of what story I should share with the MBA admission committee to get admitted is world class and I strongly recommend him as a MBA admission consultant.

In the end, I was able to gain admissions into Georgetown’s McDonough School of Business and UVA’s Darden School of Business. I cannot thank Stacy Blackman and Kevin Rockmeal enough. His expertise once again was what allowed me to get admitted to these schools despite having strikingly low than average GMAT scores.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 23, 2016
NewMBACandidate

Joined: Mar 26, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great Experience with SBC , and Thanks to Kevin

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I am delighted to write this review for the comprehensive service rendered by SBC and Kevin. if one word could explain the team it’s their “Professionalism” that stands out.

Kevin was a great support, he spent quite sometime listening to my story..to a much further past, he was a great listener n then he gave some pointers like... 'this is what your essay should look like' and 'your resume should highlight these about you' .. Initially i was quite annoyed as ... i am the one who is paying and i am doing all the work too.

Eventually after 5-6 reviews my resume and essay took shape,and i saw the advantage of doing my own essay and resume, when you are the author,it makes you the person in command, which definitely helped during my interviews as details were queried.

I am so excited that i made it the first time, the risk that i took was to keep all eggs in the same basket (it has it merits too).

Thank you so much to SBC, Bill, Ester and Kevin, keep up the good work and I strongly recommend SBC to anyone seeking consulting service.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 30, 2014
Anonymous

Posts: 45

Kudos: 1

Top Notch !

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Due to various reasons, I could only start working on my MBA applications in early December 2013. With most R2 deadlines fast approaching I chose to get the hourly services from SBC. Kevin was the consultant I worked with and he wasted no time in getting an idea of where I was and what would be the smartest way to go about my applications with the time constraints on hand.

A few months later, I am writing this review with offers from McDonough & Olin. I believe Kevin did a brilliant job and helping me in achieving the best possible outcomes in this situation.

He was extremely understanding and helped me a great deal in expressing myself in the best possible manner in my application.

Thanks Kevin.

Read More


7 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Kevin (SBC)