GMAT Club

Krista Nannery Reviews

Company: mbaMission


4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 58 reviews
May 06, 2021
shashazhaocle

Joined: Oct 05, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

I got best MBA consultant service from mbaMission

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I have been thinking about getting an MBA for a while because as a project manager, I thought my projects would be more successful if my company had strong organizational support, but I do not know how to build a strong and effective organization. After talking with an alumnus from my Master’s program, he strongly recommended Krista to help me with my applications.

Krista helped me position myself and picked the best school combination for me. Before talking with her, MIT was the only school on my list. After reviewing my profile (international female with 10 years of experience in manufacturing and an engineering background), Krista suggested adding Fuqua and Tepper. Because of my undergraduate GPA (3.0), Krista suggested I take a class, Math for Management through UC Berkley online, to strength my profile. I got an A, a great improvement for my understanding of math and also good for my applications.

Krista helped me improve my resume tremendously. The final version is the 7th revision. After sending Krista my brainstorming document, we started the back-and-forth exercise to keep modifying and improving my resume. Her smart questions made me dig deeper. For example, for my project manager role, I only mentioned “led project team”, but Krista asked me things like “How many people did you manage and what did they do?”, “Do you know the male/female ratio in the company? How many project managers are there? “, “How many people did you manage?”, and “What about international work?” Because I am working in a male-dominated industry, I am the only female project manager in the company. But before Krista asked me these questions, I did not notice how unique I was and how impressive my job was!

My hobbies? First time, I simply put running. Then Krista replied ‘I think you probably have more hobbies than what you listed! Think about this and add more! Ok, I sat back and told myself, “Yes, I like watercolor painting, practicing piano, doing home crafts.”

There were times I hoped Krista would take a nap and not reply to my email so quickly, so I can get a little bit of time to relax. She was the one on top of everything and I knew as long as I followed her pace and suggestions, she would guide me to my dream school.

Krista also helped me pick the best people to write recommendations for me. At the beginning, I planned to get recommendation letters from my previous boss and a staff member from my Master’s program as I was hoping to keep my application quiet, so my job will not be jeopardized. After talking with Krista, she pointed me to the right direction: I should pick up someone from my current employer because I am applying for an MBA – Admissions is looking for candidates with strong business skills and potential, not volunteer experience. I took Krista’s suggestion and had a very candid conversation with one of my employer’s vice presidents. Surprisingly, he did not hesitate to support me and was excited to write me the recommendation letter. The resulting letter was really strong. Krista mentioned she loved the letter as the VP provided detailed information about his working experience with me and the strength of my candidacy.
Krista also stuck with me through all the ups and downs. It has been a long time since Krista and I we worked together, from September 2020 until May 2021. For sure, Krista went far beyond her responsibility. Krista was always at my side. When I got the MIT interview invitation, I shared the great news with her immediately. When I got the offer from Duke, Krista was the first one I messaged as I knew she would be as happy I as was. At a few points during my application process, I worried I could not get enrolled this year, Krista showed her empathy to me and at the same time, pushed me to improve my candidacy, take another Executive Assessment test and look for more leadership roles.
Krista set a great example to me to never give up. When I took my 2nd EA exam, I only improved 3 points and was disappointed, Krista told me every point counts and business schools like to see people keep trying. Krista is right. When the Fuqua admissions office called me, the woman told me that I did exactly what they expect a candidate to do - keep trying.
Krista and I we had a lot of fun work together and she helped me to know myself much better. One of Fuqua’s essays is ‘25 random things about yourself”. I scratched my head and was not sure where to start. Krista told me she wanted to see at least 35 random things! That is so demanding! But that was the right thing to do, because we can have a bigger pool to pick the best 25 things. Krista suggested that I search for suggestions and feedback from my friends and coworkers. It was a fun and surprising experience; I got so much feedback from the people around me. their points of views really surprised me. After the 1st draft, Krista and I started to go through each single item on my list and picked and chose the best ones to show the unique side of me.
By looking back the whole application process, the word I heard from Krista the most is “impressive”. Krista made me realize the accomplishments and feel more confident in myself. I highly recommend her as your consultant!

Read More

April 30, 2021
jeduardohdzsz

Joined: Oct 12, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Krista- She is the one!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I had the opportunity to work with Krista after I got rejected for all my target schools using other consulting services. After I started working with her I immediately saw the difference and felt way more confident than a year before.

Krista focused on every detail of my application, even those that I had never considered important. She also kept me track of the timeline which sometimes flybys but more importantly she also gave me a lot of feedback that sometimes other consultants try to sugarcoat but as an applicant is important to be aware of, especially in my case since I come from a usually overrepresented pool (finance). She also made a lot of suggestions that I am sure played a pivotal role in my application.

Now I can happily say that I´ll be attending my dream school (Wharton) and received two other offers from great schools. But I am sure that I would not have done it without Krista´s help. She genuinely cared about my application process and all the high and lows that it represented. I am always going to be grateful to Krista for helping me achive one of my dreams.

Read More

February 15, 2021
Blawkay

Joined: Apr 05, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q49 V38

Absolutely comprehensive

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I am the only one of my friends who applied to business school, so working and talking with a consultant was very comforting during an extremely stressful year. From the beginning, Krista helped me break down every piece of the admissions cycle into digestible pieces, so I did not feel overwhelmed at the daunting application year that I had in front of me. I was in a less than ideal situation, still taking the GMAT during the applications process. But throughout the year, Krista helped me understand every single option to consider, including school selection and testing options. Lastly, Krista helped immensely with learning how to tell my story concisely. There is extra work at the beginning to lay out every detail of education of professional background. But the extra work was 100% worth it, when I realized how little 200 words really is.
It felt great to work with Krista because I could not have expected to replicate her experience and knowledge through google researching. At the end of the interviews and before decisions were released, I had a weird sense of content because I felt like I gave everything I had to the applications. Thankfully, that was not the case, and I could not be happier with Krista’s help.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 09, 2021
mbaapp23

Joined: Jan 09, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Thrilled I partnered with Krista Nannery – Admitted to HBS/Booth

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I had a wonderful experience with Krista Nannery – who helped me navigate every step of the MBA admissions process – and get me into my #1 choice. The experience Krista brought the table was clear: she has a successful corporate background and years of MBA admissions consulting. She was a value add at every step of the process.

My undergrad was from a non-target school and I currently working in a ‘niche’ industry – so I wanted to partner with an experienced consultant who could help me put my best foot forward. I spoke with several other firms – but felt like I was solely in a sales pitch. In contrast, in my first meeting with Krista Nannery we were down to business! We did a resume review, goal discussion, and began our game plan. After our intro, I partnered with Krista on a 3-school start to finish package.

In our first few meetings, Krista spent time to really get to know me and my goals. Through our brainstorming exercise, she worked closely with me to review prior experience, undergrad background, and involvement to help form a cohesive story and find areas worth highlighting in MBA applications. Krista also gave tangible, near-term recommendations for ways to bolster my ‘outside of work’ involvement. As part of the package, Krista shared the full library of mbaMission materials (i.e., detailed school overviews, interview guides, etc.).

A less glamorous, but important part of the MBA process was the GMAT. Krista worked with me by reviewing my practice scores for each section, and ultimately recommending a switch to the GRE (the right choice for me!). She gave specific advice on a study plan / where to spend my prep time to get the scores into the ‘sweet spot’ for my target schools (hint – worth taking the real test more than once).

Coming into the process, I was most nervous about the essays. Fortunately, this was one of Krista’s strongest areas. For each school, we had a full hour discussion to talk through the prompt and form initial views on the essay / stories to highlight (each school looks for different elements and need to be tailored). Krista approached this exercise in a highly structured manner – which helped me think about what was most important and how could I convey my strongest areas (without missing any critical elements). In every draft / iteration, it was clear Krista puts significant thought into her feedback – and she consistently challenged me in areas where I could add more detail or enhance elements of my essays. There is limited ‘real estate’ in the MBA applications (essays & short answers) so every word matters – Krista truly challenged me to use the space wisely and her input was critical in forming the final product.

After receiving interview invitations, Krista was hands on in the preparation and we had mock interviews for each school. She prepped me with details from her prior applicants, predicted specific questions I might get based on my application (correctly!), and gave personalized feedback on interview style. She focused on how I could communicate my story in a concise and effective manner.

The MBA admissions process can be long and complicated (and can be stressful while working a busy job). Having Krista as a partner through the process helped keep me on track and reduce a lot of stress. At every step of the chain, Krista was highly responsive and always adding value. Krista was kind and genuinely wanted to see me succeed – and I have been thrilled to directly recommend Krista to my close friends who are applying for MBA programs this year.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 05, 2021
Sfrie

Joined: Jan 05, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

MBA mission is a KEY to navigating the admissions process

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

If someone is looking to apply to an MBA program, the FIRST thing they should do is contact MBAmission and specifically Krista Nannery.
In the beginning I felt overwhelmed by The MBA application process, but from my first meeting I was given a roadmap to my end goal. Krista helped me be confident throughout the process, from opening my applications to interview and acceptance. She is prompt, clear, committed to each client, and above all extremely knowledgeable about the admissions process. Working with Krista, I felt genuinely supported, valued and also pushed to achieve my full potential as a candidate.

Read More

July 06, 2020
WaiverPanda

Joined: Jun 30, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Krista and mbaMission for the win!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Krista is an amazing coach. Her thoughtfulness, concern, and direction are second to none and it was a pleasure working with her during these last two months.

When GMAT waivers were released around mid-April and early-May, my parents insisted on me applying to every school with a waiver. Krista was extremely fair and honest by pointing out (via each school’s employment reports), that certain schools would unlikely help me reach my goals, despite the fact that this likely meant less work for her.

Krista and I arrived at a four school plan and immediately began a push as the rolling June 1 deadlines approached. Krista was beyond accommodating, at times responding well before the 48-hour requirement, as well as informing me when I would receive her comments. Krista has true gift in helping her clients convey their story and making it shine. As someone who often struggles with feedback, I appreciated the way that Krista reviewed my work while also providing explanations as to why she was suggesting specific changes. Krista also showed a true interest in my experiences and story to fully maximize her ability to help.

During our mock interview sessions, Krista displayed her true expertise. Krista interviews for her alma mater and was able to prepare me for the different question combinations I might face. I’ve never performed so well in an interview in my life and I credit Krista for not only teaching me how to respond but also building my confidence.

My situation was obviously unique due to the pandemic and only applying in rounds 3+ without a GMAT, but I would not have gotten into this top program without Krista.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 31, 2020
kgucinski

Joined: Feb 21, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Krista Made the Difference!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Krista was a tremendously supportive and encouraging influence throughout the whole admissions process. I started out targeting top 40 ranked programs, but Krista helped me realize that I really was capable of being more selective and aiming for top 15 schools. Krista was so consistent with her positivity and energy - this attitude tremendously reduced the stress that is inherent in the admissions process. From essays, to short answer questions, to interview prep Krista really pushed me to craft the most impactful, meaningful story possible. All of her feedback was clear and never She was always willing to answer even the most "in the weeds" questions that I had - there was never a "dumb" question. I highly recommend working with Krista for anyone who is looking to maximize their profile in the MBA admissions process. At the end of the day, I know that the materials and preparation that Krista helped me with were a huge difference maker in my admissions success. I would not have had the same result without her help! The whole experience with Krista and the mbaMission package definitely exceeded my expectations.

Read More

May 31, 2020
varunjosh1989

Joined: May 12, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

MBA Interview Preparation

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Approximately three weeks out from my London Business School (LBS) MBA interview in February, I was feeling extremely anxious. Although I had prepared responses to typical MBA interview questions, it felt unnatural for me to practice out loud in front of a mirror or webcam. After several conversations with my partner and family, it became apparent to me that getting help from an expert could go a long way towards being accepted at my target business school.

I had already approached Krista prior to Christmas for a free 30-minute consultation. In that time, Krista provided me with invaluable advice on my application materials and it was clear to me that Krista had come to the meeting thoroughly prepared. Although I did not engage her services during the application season, I was convinced that I could not find a better person to help prepare me for the LBS interview.
Prior to our practice interview session, I used the very informative LBS-specific interview guide which Krista provided. Our session was scheduled approximately 2 weeks prior to the actual interview. I was visibly nervous as I answered Krista’s first question which required me to walk her through my resume. Krista was extremely constructive with her feedback but more importantly, she constantly asked me how I could have improved my response to a given question. With every question, I felt that my speaking style and response improved. Since I was concerned about the impromptu case question, Krista devoted extra time to run through two different case questions. I could already see a difference in my approach to the second case question after taking on Krista’s feedback from the first case question. At the end of our session, I felt more relaxed about the whole interview process and Krista was instrumental in helping me realise that I should treat the interview as a conversation with someone who is interested in knowing more about me as a person and professional.

I used the feedback from my session with Krista to prepare for the actual interview. By the day of the interview, I felt relaxed as I walked into my interviewer’s office in London. As Krista predicted, the interview was conversational and I really got the sense that my interviewer genuinely wanted to get to know me. This allowed me to speak in a calm but confident manner as I approached both the interviewer’s questions and the case-study.

Two weeks before the decision date, I received a more than pleasant surprise- an email from the LBS Admissions office saying that I had been accepted to the MBA Class of 2022! I couldn’t believe my eyes and it took a while for the news to sink in! Along with my family and friends, I made sure I informed Krista because she was pivotal in helping me reach this position. I am truly grateful for her constructive feedback and ongoing support with countless questions relating to both the interview process and my decision to take the GRE before the admission decision was made.

To all future MBA applicants thinking of engaging an admissions consultant in their interview preparation, I highly recommend Krista Nannery!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 31, 2020
samshapiro567

Joined: Jul 30, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Krista was AMAZING!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Coming in with no experience in the application to business school process, Krista was truly a savior. From our first phone call, she detailed everything that needed to be done, in the exact order that made the most sense. While Krista's professional skills were clearly top notch, it was her personality which made me so excited to work with her. Krista was truly invested in my career, interested in my experiences, and eager to learn as much about me as possible. She felt that by becoming closer on a personal level, she would be able to get the most out of me in my application, and this proved to be true, as in the end I was accepted into my first choice school. Our shared passion for international travel will definitely keep us in touch for years to come!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 30, 2020
ramya492

Joined: Jul 29, 2018

Posts: 2

Kudos: 1

Krista made my dream come true!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

I was initially quite hesitant about working with admissions consultants, because of the cost involved. Looking back now, I am extremely glad that I finally decided to do it! I am so grateful for the opportunity I got to work with Krista as I went through my MBA application process. My dream of getting into a top school for an MBA would not have come true if not for her.

Right from the beginning - as we went through my profile to decide the rights schools to apply - till then end - when I was preparing for the interview - Krista has been a great coach and mentor, guiding me in every step of the way.

While I was having second thoughts about applying to one of M7 b-schools, Krista gave me the confidence to go for it. She was able to identify my strengths that made me a good fit - something that I had not seen in myself until then.

I ended up really enjoying the whole admission process. The background memo I filled in for myself was the first step. She pushed me to really think about the motives behind my actions - we were then able to discuss and finalize what I really wanted to share with the adcoms. Thanks to her approach, I truly understood myself a bit better after the process!

Overall, Krista is a great consultant to work with and I would strongly recommend her to future applicants.

Read More