GMAT Club

Liza Weale Reviews

Company: mbaMission

Liza Weale’s more than 75 five-star reviews on GMAT Club make her one of the industry’s top-rated consultants and stand as a testament to her more than 15 years of experience in the admissions industry. She earned her own MBA from MIT Sloan, where she coached her classmates on cover letters and resumes as the teaching assistant for first-year communications. Since graduating, she has been active in the MIT Sloan alumni community. Her MBA experience marked her career transition from private sector technology to management consulting and later to product management.

At Bain & Company, she advised clients in education, health care, and consumer products while making time to guide her associate consultants through the MBA admissions process. She also served on the Bain-MIT Sloan recruiting team to help attract, evaluate, and hire MIT Sloan first and second years. She later joined Scholastic as director of product marketing for its fledgling math programs, which she grew by five times in two years, all the while coaching junior colleagues and acquaintances on their business school applications. Wanting to further her marketing expertise, Liza then became executive director of Kaplan Test Prep’s GMAT and GRE business lines, not only owning the programs’ strategic decisions but also heading up all marketing and curriculum development efforts. Although she enjoyed marketing products and helping companies achieve growth, her true passion lies in helping individuals “market” themselves in their MBA applications.

5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 98 reviews
April 28, 2018
JJ2018

Joined: Jan 18, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q47 V45

Liza is the best decision you could make!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

The best decision I made throughout this whole MBA application process was choosing to work with Liza. I was admitted (R2) to 5 schools with scholarships at all 5, including full scholarships at 4 of the 5. I will be heading to Wharton this fall, with a full scholarship, and there is absolutely no way I could have done it without Liza.

I am a female applicant with a more traditional profile, coming from a financial services background, and with a 750 GMAT and 3.4 GPA. I started studying for the GMAT pretty late in the game, in August for round 2 application deadlines, so I was juggling GMAT stress with the need to make sure my applications were moving along. I ended up completing the two at the same time (end of December), which I highly recommend that you try to NOT do -- save yourself the extra stress and get the GMAT done early! It was all thanks to Liza though that I was able to get through it successfully; she not only encouraged me throughout the GMAT journey, but also made sure that I was getting my essays drafted/revised, my recommendations in, etc. to make sure I was producing quality work throughout the rest of my application as well.

Going into the application process, my biggest concern was figuring out how to best present my story. After reading through my initial Brainstorming document, Liza was able to expertly sift through my rambling stream of consciousness to pinpoint the key things that I had mentioned that represented essential aspects of who I am, which I hadn't even realized when writing them down. That drove further self-reflection that helped me to identify my fundamental values (and where they came from) and highlighted the things that I really care about, which is what then really made my "why an MBA" story real, and gave it meaning and authenticity.

Liza helped me transform my essays into narratives better than anything I could have hoped for going into the writing process. It was certainly up to me write all the content and make it meaningful and genuine, but Liza helped me to make sure I was picking the right topics, addressing the points that mattered, and tell the story in a way that was interesting and would catch the reader’s attention. She really challenged me to think and re-think about the things that I was writing, and revise, revise, revise. By the end product, I can confidently say that those essays are the best things I’ve ever written.

Liza also helped me make my resume really shine. When it came time for me to request my letters of recommendations, she made herself available to my recommenders to answer questions and provide thoughts and feedback, which my recommenders found to be extremely valuable. When interview invites came, I was invited to interview with all of the schools that I had applied to. Almost all of the interviews needed to be completed in the month of February, so I thought it was a hectic month for me, but it must have been a chaotic time for Liza. Never once throughout the whole process did she make me feel like I was competing with other clients for her time; she made me feel like her top priority whenever I needed her. Liza coached me through all of the interviews and pushed me to deliver my stories confidently and effectively. The toughest challenge for me, in the whole application process, was the Wharton TBD interview. About a week before the interview, I was at a point where I was feeling really discouraged and intimidated by the caliber of other applicants that I was up against. When I shared my doubts with her, Liza got on the phone with me right away, and she not only provided the support and encouragement that I needed, but also came armed with a slew of concrete suggestions, tips for responses, thoughts on topics, etc. Through that she really gave me the boost of confidence that I needed to go in and crush it. I could not have been more ecstatic with how the interview turned out, and in the end things turned out as best as they could have with not only an offer of admission, but a full scholarship as well.

I cannot recommend Liza enough. I am certain that I would not have gotten the same results without her and working with her has led me to a fully life-changing outcome. If there is anything you can do to give yourself the best chance of success through this process, it is to have Liza by your side!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 26, 2018
Tyrontham

Joined: May 30, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q46 V42

Liza is a miracle worker - Made it into the M7 (Round 3)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Liza on three schools (full package): Columbia, Cambridge, and Oxford.

With Liza's help, I got in to Columbia Business School (Full-time MBA). I also got interview invites from Cambridge and Oxford - I rejected these because I got Columbia.

My stats: 720 GMAT, Male, 29 years old, Non-URM, Lawyer (Mergers & Acquisitions) at a boutique law firm in Asia, have been practicing M&A law for 5 years.

Liza is a fantastic admissions consultant who came highly recommended from friends who had worked with her previously - these friends were admitted into HBS/Wharton/Stanford with Liza's help.

Now, having worked with Liza myself, I strongly recommend that you consider working with her on your business school applications.

July 2017, I was gearing up to apply to Columbia, which was my first choice. I knew I was going to be a late applicant (Round 3) given that I had not yet hit my target 700+ GMAT score. I finally hit my 720 GMAT late December, and started working with Liza soon after for a target submission to Columbia by end of January. Given that I was a Round 3 applicant, I knew that the odds were not in my favour.

Liza was a fantastic motivator and made the daunting MBA application process a lot more manageable. For example, she was always supportive and patient with me, despite my anxiousness. It was a pleasure to work with Liza.

Liza was also very clear in crafting my overall application strategy which comprised such components as the 1. essays, 2. CV, 3. recommendation letters, 4. short answer questions, and 5. interviews. Liza gave each of these components an incredible amount of attention - nothing slipped through the cracks.

A special strength of Liza's is her ability to tease out the best qualities in an applicant. Coming from a relatively "non-traditional" background (law), my initial concern was that an admissions consultant would not be able to flesh out my stories / experiences in law adequately. I was wrong. Liza picked up on my experiences in law and translated them into tangible MBA qualities that I was able to illustrate in my essays and interviews. Liza is NOT your average admissions consultant - she is, quite frankly, the best.

Looking back on my MBA application journey, and the fantastic results I got, I am certain that I could not have gotten Columbia without Liza's help.

Liza changed my life for the better and I cannot recommend her enough.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 23, 2018
MBA2020AdmitR2

Joined: Apr 15, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

I highly recommend Liza! I have no doubt that I could not have done it without Liza. I came to her with less than a month left to go before the R2 deadline and was not confident that I would be able to get all the work I needed to get done and be able to be thoughtful about it. After talking to Liza though my disposition immediately changed - I not only felt confident in myself but knew that together we could develop the tools to help me be successful.

I did the single school package for round 2 admission to HBS, to which I was accepted. My background is an ivy league undergraduate education, bulge bracket IB analyst, and upper middle market PE associate.

As with all mbaMission consultants, we started by going through a brainstorming session where I wrote down and then discussed almost all aspects of my background. After I put together the comprehensive document, we took over an hour to discuss. It was clear immediately that she had spent a significant amount of time reading and understanding my story and who I really was as a person. She asked insightful questions that not only helped her understand me better but also helped me understand myself! I knew from that point that I had found a great match in Liza and that we would be able to craft an excellent story.

Using our brainstorming session as a base she helped me to weave together a thoughtful and cohesive story about my background. She helped me to showcase parts of my background that I was proud of, but perhaps had not come to mind at first or didn't fit into the original framework I had developed. She was highly organized, thorough and thoughtful. She was also very patient with me as we iterated back and forth in quick succession (as I only had 3 weeks to complete my application!). If you are trying to get things done and tap into a wealth of knowledge and expertise I highly recommend Liza. She is not a hand holder - she will push you to discover yourself and understand who you are for yourself. However you will not be alone through the journey. She will also help guide you and provide expertise and insight into how the admissions officers will be thinking about your application.

I've already recommended Liza to many of my friends who are applying for the Class of 2021 and think you'd be crazy not to use her!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 10, 2018
gsb2020hc

Joined: Jan 18, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q48 V46

Look no further: Liza is the absolute best

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I did the full school packages with Liza for my round 2 applications to HBS and GSB. I am very grateful to have been admitted to both schools (and was admitted to Wharton with a generous merit scholarship leveraging material from the other two applications). I truly could not have done it without Liza.
Though I come from what’s probably a more favorable background (top Ivy undergrad, 3.8 GPA in STEM, 760 GMAT, untraditional career experience – banking/PE/startup) – if those exist in this process – my story would not have come together had it not been for Liza. I cannot speak more highly of her and the trust she enabled us to build during our time working together. Liza displays a rare combination of attributes that may seem contradictory: the ability to provide both high-level and in-the-weeds guidance; the propensity for both professionalism and genuine kindness towards her clients.
Liza has the shrewd ability to cut through all the noise and weave together key themes in your life that you yourself were not even aware of to get to an essay topic. Liza really got to know me during the brainstorming process and I grew to trust her so that we could discuss the most personal of topics. Her help doesn’t stop at idea conception – she provided invaluable structural, grammatical, and aesthetic input during the entire essay writing process. I can’t count the number of times she posited something so insightful that I could only respond “Wow, you know me better than I know myself!”
Equally as important, Liza actually made the entire process fun (or at least not painful!). A few months in, I had a self-imposed mini freakout about my essay topics that almost derailed the writing process. Instead of getting upset that I was costing her more time or just brushing it aside, Liza genuinely cared about why I was feeling insecure and tried to address the root of the problem. Both her strength and care for me helped guide me back on track. It truly feels like she’s a supporter and rock to lean on throughout the process – from the “good luck!!” emails she’d send before interview and decision notifications to debriefing with her after every major step of the way.
All in all, I cannot imagine a better person to work with through what’s an intellectually and emotionally draining process, and I think many people including myself can truly attribute their success to Liza.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 12, 2018
mba2020applicant

Joined: Mar 07, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best decision I’ve made!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Liza is literally an angel. I’m not sure if I could have gotten into business school without her – I truly believe that she not just boosted my chances, but helped make the whole process a lot less painful. Truly worth every penny!

In terms of my background, I am a female applicant who was accepted to HBS and Wharton, but rejected from Stanford GSB. I went to an Ivy League university with a 3.7 GPA with a 730 GMAT score. I worked at a bulge bracket investment bank and then worked in the finance department of a startup.

I started my business school application process about 2-3 months before the Round 1 deadline. When I sat down to begin drafting the application, my thoughts were pretty scattered and I found it hard to structure how I wanted to bring each part of my history together. After a free 30-minute consultation with Liza (offered through the mbaMission website), I was completely sold. In 30 minutes, she helped answer the top burning questions in my mind (Was my GMAT high enough? What were her thoughts on my initial essay outline? What were the parts of my application were “lacking”? What would be the best use of my time if I wanted to go with an hourly package?). She was upfront about the harder parts of my application (i.e. lots of bankers apply) but helped me structure what I would work on with her if I were to become a client.

I ultimately decided to go with the hourly package and therefore was very conscious of being very efficient with Liza’s time. She was great about calling out the areas of the application that I should be focusing on (and therefore have her focusing on) versus the parts that were more checkmarks. I also had many questions that came up during the process that were probably overblown in my mind but it was amazing to have Liza there as a resource to lean on and keep my neurosis in check (i.e. I had been a co-head of a club in college – should I write co-head or just head in the title? // I had gotten promoted – should I give the admissions office an update? // I know an alumni of the school whom I hadn’t asked to be my formal recommender – should I have that person write me an informal recommendation and if so, how do I go about asking for that recommendation? // What information should I be giving to my recommenders before having them write the recommendation?) Separately, she was also very diligent about my time – for example, she made sure to double check what essay or paragraph should be the priority with the remaining X hour or minutes I had left in my package.

What I also liked a lot about being her hourly client was that Liza didn’t try to sell me and push me to buy more hours just to make more money on her end. I had expressed some trepidation at times over the cost of the hourly service and she had been helpful in narrowing down essays (or interviews) that I should be spending my limited budget on (versus trying to upsell me). This came out even more so when I received an interview invitation and I had asked her to help with the mock interview: even though she could have billed more hours with me, she insisted that I mock interview with her colleague since the HBS interview was comprehensive (i.e. harder, pointed questions created with full view of your entire application) and she thought that would be the best practice to be tested on what the actual HBS interview would be like. That type of honesty truly shows how Liza is truly thinking of what’s best for her client!

In terms of Liza’s working style, I found her to be the perfect mixture of encouraging (the day before my interview, she sent me an email seeing how I felt and if I had any last minute questions; the morning of decisions, she sent me a note saying that she was rooting for me!) but upfront and direct. I had spoken to friends about choosing an application consultant – they had suggested I go to a “mean” consultant who would kick my butt but I found Liza to be the perfect complement of being actually helpful but calming. She was not afraid to call out a sentence or idea in my essay that she didn’t believe worked. While others who had looked at the essay would just point to the sentence and say to fix this part without providing concrete examples, she helped me brainstorm ideas on how better to express the qualities I was trying to illustrate (for example, instead of saying I was the leader of this club to illustrate leadership, she helped me brainstorm actions I had completed as a leader to illustrate this quality). She helped to overcome many writer’s blocks on my end, making the whole process a lot more smooth. The whole process was very stressful and she was a guiding light!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 12, 2018
Admit2020Anonymous

Joined: Mar 02, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Liza is the absolute BEST!!!!! Don’t look any further.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I cannot say enough good things about Liza. She truly was the best person to have by my side throughout this entire process and made a challenging process as seamless and easy as it possibly could be! When I applied, I felt like I put my best foot forward and had an application that was significantly stronger than it otherwise would have been without Liza.

In February 2017 I spoke with a number of consultants from both mbaMission and other firms. After speaking to about 5-6 other consultants, I spoke with Liza and just felt in my gut that she was the consultant I wanted to work with. From the moment I started working with Liza, she was there to answer my questions and guide me through the process. Liza helped by not only developing and drafting my essays but also by providing guidance on my resume, reviewers, applications, interviews – you name it. Even in March before the official applications were released, Liza was giving me tips for what I could do to best prepare myself as a candidate.

Liza has an uncanny ability to feel like your friend while providing direction at the same time. Before I started the process, my biggest concern about writing my essays was that I wouldn’t have anything to write about – I was a female in private equity with a fortunate upbringing and no major hardships in my life (thankfully). Throughout the brainstorming process Liza was easy to speak to and guided me to think about what I wanted the admissions committee to know about me and how I could make that into a great story. Additionally, I never felt like Liza was “telling” me what I had to write about. Rather, Liza helped me see some critical themes in the stories I was sharing with her and craft those into thoughtful essays.

When I was writing my essays, Liza’s feedback always pushed me to give that one extra detail that I believe showcased more about who I am and made me a stronger applicant. Liza would ask questions like “Can you think of another 2 examples when you did X?” or “Tell me more about Y. Why did you do it? How?” Her comments were thoughtful but also encouraged me to be more self-aware about the candidate that I was presenting to the admissions committees.

Above all, Liza was my biggest cheerleader throughout the process. I applied to four schools (admitted to 3, waitlisted at 1) and Liza not only helped me craft amazing essays for each school but also provided structure and guidance throughout the entire process. When we prepared for interviews Liza gave me honest, candid feedback while encouraging me to think positively. Without fail I always received an email right after my interview asking out it went. Choosing Liza was the best choice I made in the application process – HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 05, 2018
mbaApplicant6000

Joined: Mar 05, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great Mock Interview Experience with Liza Weale

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I am an international applicant recently admitted to my dream program at my dream school, the LGO program at MIT Sloan with its amazing dual-degree offering. I was more nervous than the standard candidate because I set my heart on this program and didn't apply to any other schools. I tried out Liza's free thirty-minute consultation while still writing my application and was blown away by her friendliness and research into the program I was pursuing. The most valuable aspect of that talk was the candor with which she told me some of my ideas didn't make sense and encouraged me to revisit them. She didn’t shy from speaking the hard truth and the constructive criticism allowed me to shine. After being invited for an interview, I happily sprung for an interview prep session with Liza which really boosted my confidence and allowed me to walk into the interview without fear.
Liza was extremely methodical in her approach to helping me. She assigned me some homework and while I was focused on that, she did a thorough study of my application and my candidacy before we met for an in-person interview. During the mock, she played the role of my interviewer and afterwards, she shared her notes and provided feedback on how I could have answered the questions better. During the actual interview, I could hear her voice guiding me and reminding me the best ways to express myself. She helped me put my best foot forward to get the result I wanted.
Liza was helpful, friendly, graceful and full of positive energy. She helped me express all the passion I felt for the program in a fluid, cohesive manner. I am so grateful for this opportunity provided to me, and I could not have done it without Liza's help.

Thank you Liza for everything!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 27, 2018
MBA2020AdmitLW

Joined: Feb 27, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V44

Cannot Recommend Liza Weale Enough!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I applied to HBS and GSB round 1 (for matriculation fall 2018) and was incredibly excited to be admitted to both schools. While I was a competitive candidate (Ivy undergrad, 760+ GMAT, upper middle market private equity), I could not have achieved such an awesome outcome on my own; I owe Liza big time for continuously pushing me throughout my journey and for helping position my applications for success.

I was connected with Liza through a friend and former co-worker who had worked with her the previous year, and I was warned in advance that while Liza was awesome and welcoming, she would not hesitate to push me and tell hard truths if necessary. One of the very first things Liza suggested (even before I formally decided to hire her) was that I retake the GMAT, even though I already had been sitting on a score I was excited about for 3 years with no intention of re-taking the test. Liza could easily have told me what I wanted to hear in hopes of getting me to sign up, but I was remarkably impressed by her honestly when it came to my candidacy, and I became very excited to work with her on my applications.

I recognized immediately how thoughtful Liza was, and she spent an incredible amount of time getting to know me and my personal story through the brainstorming process. She was genuinely interested in (and seemed to enjoy) learning more about me, and this allowed her to make thoughtful suggestions on how to weave my story and personal anecdotes into my applications and essays. She constantly pushed me to dig deeper and reflect more; when she didn't like parts of my work, she did not hesitate to tell me, but most importantly she did so in a constructive way and never failed to be both my support and motivation. I never would have pushed myself as hard as she pushed me, and ultimately I could not be happier with both the work I submitted and with the ultimate results.

Liza's work did not stop with my essays - she was incredibly helpful in selecting and prepping my recommenders, preparing for my interviews, and even helping me think through my school decision after I was admitted. Liza was always one of my biggest supporters, and I cannot recommend her highly enough!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 20, 2018
bballfan93

Joined: Feb 16, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q50 V44

Highly highly recommend Liza Weale!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was recently accepted into every school I applied to (HBS, GSB, Wharton). While I had a good background (750+ on GMAT, 3.6+ GPA from good non-ivy undergrad school, several years at a VC firm), there is no way, at all, I would have had such a great outcome without Liza working with me every step of the journey.

Let's start with how I got connected with Liza. in 2016, she came highly recommended by 2 friends who had used her and both of whom were accepted into HBS. When I spoke with Liza for the first time (prior to me even taking the GMAT), she was generous with her time and unbelievably candid. She told me, very clearly, what she thought my strengths and weaknesses were, and I appreciated that. Three weeks after our initial conversation, I notified her that I was just promoted and would not be applying to business school. She was genuinely happy for me and let me know that if I wanted to apply in the future, she would gladly work with me (so long as I gave her advance notice).

Fast forward a year: in early 2017, I decided I indeed wanted to apply to business school. I was happy with my job, but had still taken the GMAT toward the end of 2016 and scored well, so I wanted to apply to the top schools and see how things played out. When I notified Liza, she excitedly welcomed me into her group of students -- and then immediately put me to work.

Liza pushed me more than I would have ever imagined. She provided me a rigorous yet clear schedule/timeline of work, asked deep questions, made me work my butt off, and candidly critiqued every single piece of work I put in front of her. While many consultants do all of the above, there is one moment to me -- which I'll never forget -- that I think truly captures who Liza is and why she is above and beyond all other consultants.

While I was writing my Stanford essay, I started speaking with Stanford alums about the prompt. I decided to write two completely separate essays that went in 2 wildly different directions. One essay Liza loved; the other essay I loved, and the Stanford alums all agreed with me. But Liza would not give in: she was super confident that the essay she was a fan of was the "right" choice because the essay shared more about me while the other one I liked just focused on Stanford. While in hindsight it is so obvious that she was right, I was very against her thoughts in the moment. Instead of her simply giving in, she did something that is the definition of going above and beyond: without even telling me, she blindly shared my two essays with 5 other consults at her company and asked for their thoughts. Every single one sided with her. When she told me she had done that and presented me with the evidence, I was floored. I went with the essay she felt strongly about, and the rest is history.

That is just one example that stands out. Overall, Liza was unbelievable to work with. She cares deeply, is willing to make time, and will be (sometimes painfully) candid. But that last piece is super important -- because you need to know how to play to your strengths in this process, and Liza does just that.

If it's not obvious at this point, I couldn't give Liza a stronger recommendation. I'd work with her 12 times out of 10 and will (and already have) recommended her to close friends, family, and others. She is a star, and is the best person to have on your side throughout this daunting process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 06, 2018
applyingtomba5

Joined: Feb 06, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Liza was worth every penny (& more)!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was very hesitant about spending the money on a consultant for business school. I was working in private equity, had a strong GMAT score & had a solid sense of who should do my recommendations; so, I questioned the value of a consultant for me (especially since I was only planning on applying to 1-2 schools w/ just a few essays). I am still not sure any other consultant would have been worth it, but Liza was absolutely incredible & I cannot imagine having done the applications without her.

At the end of the day, the business school apps are not that long – which means presenting your story in a genuine yet convincing manner is of upmost importance. Liza spoke with me on the phone, read through my brainstorm documents & seamlessly seemed to understand me. She pushed me on reflecting on my experiences, what motivated me & how that translated to my future goals. Without Liza, I think I may have submitted draft 3 of my essay and felt pretty good about – but with Liza’s third party perspective & guidance, the essay was able to get to a much deeper place (think draft 30!) to the point where I felt emotional as I read the essay over again, as I am not sure I have written anything that so truly captured me & my goals. I got into both of the schools I applied to (HBS and GSB) and I honestly am not sure I would be in either without Liza’s guidance.

Liza is fun, welcoming, and understanding, but gives sharp, pointed feedback – which turns into the perfect mix for a mba consultant, you enjoy every moment you work with her but also get real results (in an incredibly efficient way!). Can’t speak more highly of her & the experience I had. Far exceeded expectations and would highly recommend anyone to use her.

(Few more specifics – Liza did more than just the essays. She was also a great resource on helping frame my recommendations, aligning my short stories w/ my essays, and mock interview prep when I received interview invitations. The full end-to-end service! She tailors her feedback with school specific insights which were spot on)

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

34 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Liza Weale