GMAT Club

Square One Prep Admissions Consulting Reviews

We have been where you are now - square one with the application process for business school. We know this juncture is critical to you and can help you just as we've helped hundreds of other MBA applicants since 2009. Our approach is immersive, methodical and proven.
Square One Prep Deal Page

Square One Prep Admissions Consulting Reviews

Square One Prep Premium Service
$5900
Reviews
284
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Square One Prep consultants

Kathryn Lucas
Reviews
155
Average Rating
4.9
Lara Avsar
Reviews
9
Average Rating
5.0
Crystal Nwokorie
Reviews
7
Average Rating
5.0
Kathleen Danoher
Reviews
6
Average Rating
5.0
Julia Kurnik
Reviews
6
Average Rating
4.8

Reviews:

321 Reviews
4.9 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
November 29, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
590 Q41 V31

Working with Square One Prep was the BEST decision I ever made. Kathryn and her consultants were a

tremendous resource and help in each and every step of the way. From explaining the application

process/interview procedures, etc. to providing tailored advice regarding essays and fit with each school.

Their expertise and dedication to  my success paid off. I am truly grateful for everything they have helped

me with and here are 3 reasons of many why I'd recommend them:

1. Full dedication and availability - Even though I was halfway across the world, they were there 24/7 full

of energy and support with sound advice, whether it was about my goals, my essays, my overall story,

even my tone of voice in my mock interview, you name it. I actually started my work with Square One

Prep with one of Kathryn's consultants, who was amazing. Then she left Square One Prep unexpectedly.

Kathryn didn't give me to another consultant even though it would have been fine for her to because I'd

just finished my resume, hadn't started essays or LORs yet. Instead, she surprisingly stepped in to guide

me the rest of the way. It was first class service.

2. Someone to keep you focused and on track/schedule - Although at times, I really didn't believe I could

make the application deadline, Kathryn's push and motivation helped make this goal a reality.

3. Experience with other international applicants - She knew what to look out for and exactly how I could

make my application distinct from other applicants from South East Asia.

Kathryn, I can't thank you enough!!! I could not have gotten into Columbia without you!!!

Read More

September 03, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

In late Spring 2015 I decided to apply to graduate school, and given the tight timelines for submitting the applications I decided I needed professional support to address the many nuances of the different processes of the schools I was interested in attending. I conducted detailed research to see what options were available in the marketplace, including talking to friends who had gone through similar processes, and in the end my analysis led me to Square One Prep.

I reached out to the CEO Kathryn Lucas with whom I spoke to on the phone for over an hour, and by the end of our conversation it was clear to me that she had deep experience and understanding of how to manage the processes, and Square One Prep was the right partner to assist me. After listening intently to my situation and goals, Kathryn provided a detailed and thoughtful breakdown of her approach to my application process, and was very honest with me of what she thought was achievable and I was confident we would work well together. I was also a different case as I was looking to apply to graduate school for Communications and not Business school.

Shortly after our initial conversation, Kathryn introduced me to Mary Huffman who had experience working in the communications industry, and had a solid understanding of what the schools I was applying to were looking for. From the get go working with Mary, we defined a disciplined project schedule given the tight timelines, and she provided personal insight with regard to each aspect of the application process. What immediately impressed me was Mary's personal touch, her thoughtful suggestions, and her immediate availability to review my submissions. Mary was a great partner who helped guide me down the right path to ensure I positioned myself properly in this competitive process. She has a great outlook and wonderful personality to de-stress what can be a stressful process. Without question, Square One Prep was a great partner for me throughout my graduate school application process. In the end, I was accepted into all four schools I applied to - Georgetown, NYU, American University, and DePaul. I can also say unquestionably, my partnership with Square One Prep was key. I was extremely satisfied with the quality of support and professionalism of team. I would strongly recommend Square One Prep to anyone pursuing admission to graduate school.

Read More

July 20, 2015
juliandeseg

Joined: Nov 07, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
720 Q43 V47

The business school application process was, without doubt, one of the most stressful and agonising periods of my life. But I’m sure that it would have been a hell of a lot worse and less successful without Kathryn’s help.

When I began researching application consultants, what made Square One stand out was the fact the “free, 30 minute consultation” that all of the consultancies offer lasted about an hour and a half with Kathryn. Unsurprisingly, I was deeply impressed by this level of dedication before I had even decided to commit to Square One.

Although the relationship I had with the consultant that I selected was disappointing, Kathryn was always available to talk to and was extremely quick to step in and offer to be my consultant when I shared my concerns (which led her to let go of that consultant). From then on it felt like I had a full time consultant who was always on call. With her help, I was able to complete all of the applications I wanted to. No mean feat, since I applied to seven schools and had just over a month to do them all, which was made even harder as it was over the festive period. One particular highlight (or lowlight, depending on your point of view) that summed up Kathryn’s commitment was working with her on Christmas Day on one of my applications.

As the interview stage came into view, there was little doubt that I was a truly awful interviewee who needed a whole lot of extra practice. Kathryn was not going to let me go into my interviews until I was truly ready. We must have spent a good 6-8 hours on the phone preparing for my various interviews, which, fortunately, had the desired effect and I came out of each of my interviews feeling confident that they had gone well.

Finally, when I had been put on the waitlist of a couple of schools and had given up virtually all hope, Kathryn refused to let me be defeated and helped me draft letters that finally led to me being offered a place at INSEAD.

In short, I have little doubt that I would not be starting an MBA at INSEAD this fall without Kathryn and Square One’s help. No matter what it took, Kathryn was always there to help. I can’t thank and recommend her enough

Read More

May 03, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

I spoke with 8 MBA consulting firms before finally deciding to go with Kathryn. Why? Kathryn was very generous with her time in explaining my MBA options and application strategies to me, even before I became her client. She is friendly, patient, knowledgeable about what the different schools look for in an application, and extremely organized. Kathryn was always on top of things and would make sure you are too, this was important to me especially during essay writing and managing my recommenders, which was both time-consuming and labor intensive. Above all, the part that really made Kathryn stand out was that, unlike most MBA consultants who recommend applicants to apply to certain reach schools, a few realistic schools and a few safety schools based on a 5-minute glance at your GMAT, GPA and your unpolished resume during your first phone consultation, Kathryn encouraged me to never curb my potentials to apply to great schools based on what programs others think you can get into, which was critical in me ultimately getting into Columbia.

Read More

May 01, 2015
laurenfraser

Joined: May 01, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Dear Prospective Student,

You are so lucky you found Square One Prep. I called them, along with many other consultancies, when I first considered business school. I was unclear about what I really wanted to do, but thought it was the logical next step. Square One Prep stood out because they were the one company that encouraged me to find clarity in my mission and objectives--they inspired me to think before I act. Ultimately, with their help, I decided I wasn't ready for b-school. They put my readiness above their profits, and that didn't go unnoticed by me. A year later, when I felt ready to pursue an MBA, Square One Prep was the only company I reached out to.

With their guidance, I beautifully transformed my resume and essays. My consultant knew exactly what the admissions committees wanted to see. By asking insightful, probing questions, she guided me to truly discover my passion and purpose. She then helped me create the right language to convey those messages, which led me to get accepted into my top choice program!

Congratulations of your decision to pursue an MBA. Trust me when I say that your next decision should be to work with Square One Prep. They will inspire you just as they did me. Their investment in you will lead you to succeed with this most daunting process, just as I did!
Genuinely,
Lauren

Read More

April 25, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

As you embark upon your journey towards your dream MBA, you may or may not comprehend the bewildering tasks that lie before you. When I first approached Square One Prep, I was enamored by
the idea of business school but unsure of much more beyond that. My consultant, equal parts warm and firm, skillfully cultivated my voice and narrative while keenly keeping a tactical view of the
adcoms' perspective and potential critiques . My consultant helped me delve into my past and rediscover experiences and anecdotes that I might not have touched on without her. This proved crucial in the recalibrating of my resume and the crafting of each personalized essay. Unbeknownst to me, my creative edge had dulled with the onset of a banking career, and my consultant played a pivotal role in encouraging me to explore all aspects of myself to flesh out a compelling case for admission. In addition, Square One Prep's approach to both the Letters of Recommendation (much trickier than I anticipated ) and interview made two potentially ominous parts of the journey much easier to handle.In short, Square One Prep was an invaluable guiding light through the minutia of a potentially overwhelming couple of months in my life. My consultant was always there for me, offering
encouragement, honesty, and discipline to successfully fulfill my dream. I've had a terrific time at my dream school, Sloan, and
and couldn't have done it without Square One Prep!"

–client from: Singapore/Hong Kong

–admitted to: Sloan

Read More

April 21, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

I don't usually write testimonials, but feel compelled to write one on this occasion. Simply put, deciding to go with Square One Prep was one of the best decisions I've ever made. I applied to London Business School during one of the most competitive rounds, less than 2 weeks before the deadline and with a lower than average GMAT score. From the first call with my consultant, I knew I had made the right choice

Working with them, I was able to turn my story, which I had previously deemed unremarkable, into something compelling that truly struck at the heart of why I wanted to pursue my MBA. My consultant truly cared and guided me through every step of the application process. I never even noticed that there was an ocean between us - the time difference was moot.

Together we experienced the highs (getting an interview), the lows (being on the waitlist) and the delirious (getting accepted).

I truly do not think I would have come this far without Square One.

Read More

April 20, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

It was really the initial consultation and the follow-up that sealed the deal for me to work with Square One Prep. In our first conversation, they did not pressure me to sign on with them or to apply right away. Rather, they encouraged me to take a step back, get prepared, and figure out my own timeline for applying to business school. The owner checked in periodically to see where I was with my GMAT studying and general pre-application prep, but never pestered. She really showed that she wanted me to make the right decision to apply on my own terms.

My biggest concern in applying was the seemingly incongruous nature of my past work experiences. I come from a background that included economics/finance education and work in the
telecommunications and mortgage industries and I didn't know where to begin in explaining this.

I signed on with Square One to work with them on my resume, as the owner explained that if my resume wasn't strong, the admissions officers wouldn't make it to my essays and LORs. They then drew out both connections and strengths in my
experiences and truly helped me craft my story. They were very direct with their guidance and edits.

My resume would be nowhere near the quality it is today without their help. The work put in on my resume paid dividends when I wrote my goals essays and when I went to my interviews - as I was able to tell my story with continuity and conviction.

Thank you Square One Prep - with your help I'm now heading to McCombs!

Read More

April 19, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Square One Prep,

Can you believe it has been one year already? Yep, one year ago I contacted you about helping me win admission to a MBA program. Now in a few months, I’ll be starting at MIT Sloan. When I look back I realize I needed your advice more than I originally suspected.

While writing my essays your feedback was instrumental. As a military candidate I was not completely sure how to translate my experiences into stories the admissions committee would understand and value. You helped me reduce the amount of military jargon in my stories and also helped make my stories more clear, concise, and compelling. In addition, you always responded back in a timely manner (almost always less than 24 hrs).
I feel like you and I built a strong professional relationship, where I felt comfortable sharing very personal stories about my personal and professional life. From the very first phone consultation to the mock-interview (and every conversation in between) I could sense that you genuinely cared about my success as a MBA applicant.

Thank You!

Read More

April 17, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

My only regret is not using Square One Prep the first time I applied to business school. As everyone else starting on the application journey, I asked myself the question "Should I hire an admission consultant or should I do it alone?". I ultimately decided to work on my applications alone and the outcome was not a positive one. After countless hours invested in the prior year's applications with no success, I was in the same place where I was a year before. The second time around, I was determined to collaborate with an admission consultant.

There are a lot of companies out there and searching for the right one can be daunting. Kathryn and Square One Prep was recommended by a close friend who knew Kathryn through his wife, a fellow Wharton alumna of Kathryn's. I shared the application materials before my introductory session with her and during our first call, she immediately pointed out a few weaknesses in my essays and a few other areas of the application. The value the Square One Team could provide was very obvious and I decided to partner with them.

Over the course of a few months, as I was applying and re-applying to a number of top schools in the United States, I built a close working relationship with my consultant. As we were working together to ensure that the right message came through, I felt like he helped me not only tell my story better but also become more introspective about what is important to me in my future career and also my personal life. It was always a pleasure working with my him. My consultant was patient in our interactions but also honest and direct in his feedback. I am very grateful to him and the Square One Prep team for their guidance and support.

For the future applicants reading this testimonial, I strongly recommend Square One Prep!

Read More