GMAT Club

Stratus Admissions Counseling Admissions Consulting Reviews

With Stratus Admissions Counseling, you don’t just work closely with one experienced MBA admissions counselor to optimize every part of your application. You work with an entire team of specialists who provide extensive feedback throughout the application process.

From reflecting on your past experiences and identifying programs that will move you towards your goals to crafting your essays and conducting mock interviews, Stratus’ team-based approach ensures you stand out and get accepted into your dream business school. We guarantee it.*

We have clients who have been admitted to every top MBA program year after year since 2006.
Stratus Admissions Counseling Deal Page

Stratus Admissions Counseling Admissions Consulting Reviews

Most Reviewed Stratus Admissions Counseling Consultants

Susan Cera
Reviews
42
Average Rating
5.0
Donna Bauman
Reviews
28
Average Rating
5.0
Melisa Prevost
Reviews
21
Average Rating
5.0
Harold Simansky
Reviews
17
Average Rating
4.9
Jennifer Jackson
Reviews
16
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

151 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
April 01, 2016
R2applicant

Joined: Dec 13, 2011

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly recommend Temitope and John

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I had a fantastic experience working with Temitope Abereoje and John Buckingham (both HBS alumni), and was accepted at HBS, Wharton and Booth. Temi was my day to day contact, working closely with me on drafting my story, translating that into essays, and going over resume and interview preparation. John was the senior adviser and provided feedback on final versions of my essays as well as interview prep.

Highlights from my experience:
- Greatly appreciated Temi’s turnaround time and detailed feedback on my essay drafts, and any questions I had. Due to work demands I often didn’t have as long a lead time as suggested, but she still managed to review my work under tight timelines and provided clear suggestions that I really think notably improved my story / overall application
- One time I had an urgent question late at night and she made herself available immediately at 10pm to speak on the phone with me – that’s how helpful she was
- Most memorable part was how kind, thoughtful and funny she was – it felt like I was talking with a friend, she’d been through the process herself. E.g., when it came to interview prep, she helped identify subtle gesture and wording changes I should work on to strike the right impression
- John was also invaluable in providing honest, school-specific advice and improving the direction of my essays and confidence entering the interviews

Consultants may not be for everyone – I do have friends successful in their admissions process who only asked for advice and essay reviews from family, friends and bosses, but for me, it was definitely worth it to have professionals as a sounding board as it removed a significant amount of stress and uncertainty from the process. I would highly recommend Temi and John.

Read More

April 01, 2016
joyandbliss

Joined: May 03, 2015

Posts: 10

Kudos: 11

Verified score:
650 Q49 V30

I had a fantastic experience with the Stratus Prep team's counsellor Harold Simansky. He helped me build my story authentically and comprehensively and identify my goals through introspection exercises. He helped me ensure that my experience before b school through my story was in perfect sync with my post MBA goals. Next, I was also supported through the b school search process. Considering the number of b schools and all the varied rankings available, I felt Harold's advice was invaluable during the b-school selection stage given my specific career goals and personal inclinations. Next, when it came down to the essay editing process, his support was timely and exceptional with every edit till the final essay was ready. Harold also collaborated with his team mates whenever there was a need and I must thank Vinod for his great advice during the essay editing process. During the interview stage, I got a mock interview done with Harold which was very helpful and increased my confidence immensely. I also received a lot of questions to practice with. All in all, my experience was outstanding with the Stratus Prep team and with the counsellor Harold in particular ---the result ---I got into my first choice B school with a pretty average gmat score!

Read More

March 28, 2016
stierney

Joined: Mar 28, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Highly recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had a wonderful experience working with my advisor at Stratus prep, Harold Simansky. Harold not only helped me pick the best schools to fit my background and career goals, but also showed me how to tell my “story”. I got into two great schools Owen and Olin and I can honestly say that I don’t think I could have done it without his guidance. Harold always responded in a timely manner and provided the support and encouragement I needed to get through this process. Harold helped me change the course of my life and I am forever grateful.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 23, 2016
janelane212

Joined: Mar 23, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V42

Efficient and effective consulting

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I came from a non-traditional background in Fashion Design so when I decided to apply to business schools, many of them top tier, I knew I needed some guidance in the application process. I had already taken the Veritas prep course, so I decided to add on their Admissions Consulting service as well. I knew which schools I was applying to already so I really just needed help reviewing my essays. At first I was a little hesitant that our communication was going to be via email or phone only, but it was never an issue. Joe was excellent at going through my essays and providing insightful comments to improve specific sentences, as well as highlighting key areas that were unclear. We were able to go through all my essays for 8 schools within the 3 hour time block. Joe was also good at providing honest advice about my shortcomings and how to address them. In addition to reviewing my essays, Joe answered any questions I had about the admissions process and discussed with me the best steps I should take to improve my chances. Overall, I felt that having an admissions consultant was an invaluable resource for me throughout the process.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 14, 2016
AD3400

Joined: Mar 14, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

A Highly Worthwhile Investment

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Going with Veritas Prep is one of the best decisions I made during the MBA apps process. Coming from a nontraditional background, I didn't realize how immersive and time-consuming applying would be. Veritas helped me set a game plan and easily extracted what the strengths and weaknesses were in my profile. From there it was an exercise in speaking to my strengths while doing what I could to improve in other areas, notably, everything to do with quantitative materials.

Joe was an amazing consultant: great listener, great mentor, and I knew he had my back throughout the whole process. Joe & the Veritas team wanted me to succeed, so they certainly didn't sugarcoat it when they needed to give me tough love. But that was the best thing they could have done in order to manage my expectations and to show where exactly I needed to push harder.

Veritas goes the extra mile for you. Your success is their success so you know they are giving you premium advice and attention.

Though I am still waiting to hear back from one more school, I have been accepted to a dream school, and I have Veritas to thank for that.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 13, 2016
HillbillyCH

Joined: Feb 14, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Very helpful mock interview sessions with excellent feedback

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I had already used Veritas Prep during my preparation for the GMAT (mock exam package), and while I had completed my MBA applications without using any consulting service, I decided to purchase Veritas Prep's Mock Interview Package costing $600.

The package included two mock interview sessions (an hour each). Veritas Prep assigned an admission consultant who used to interview applicants on behalf of the very business school that invited me for an interview. First, I sent all relevant information about myself (resume, application essays, and any other specific demands), to which the consultant replied with very minute and specific replies and comments regarding how I should prepare the first mock interview. After the first mock interview, the consultant sent me a very detailed feedback with suggestions on how to improve and how to craft the answers in a more impactful way. The second mock interview went the same way as the first one, followed by a very minute feedback as well.

The sessions were very helpful. In my particular case, as a government worker, I had a rather non-traditional profile for business schools, and I was particularly concerned by my relative youth (graduated college just a little bit over a year ago). The consultant showed very clearly what was expected of me as well as which points I should emphasize the most. The sessions also made me a lot less stressed about the real interview, since the two hours of mock interview made me familiarized with the admission interview environment. Another positive aspect was that before, during and after the consulting period, I could ask any question by mail and a reply would soon land in my mailbox within 24 to at most 36 hours.

I wholeheartedly recommend Veritas Prep's mock interview sessions to anyone who requires an optimal preparation for his or her MBA admission interviews.

Read More

January 30, 2016
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
620 Q39 V36

Highly recommend Stratus Prep counseling package

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I thoroughly enjoyed working with Stratus Prep. I'll admit that I did not know that using an admissions counseling service was so popular when I first decided to pursue my MBA. After attending fairs and doing some online research, it became clear to me that I only had one shot at this and I should be sure I'm putting the strongest application forward. I currently work in media/advertising, and not many of my colleagues have their MBA or were considering pursuing one. It was clear to me that I needed the advice and expertise of a seasoned counselor to help me make my application shine.

Beyond being professional, responsive, and pleasant to work with, the most valuable part about working with Stratus Prep was that they encouraged me to broaden my target school list, and made me think critically about what was most important to me in an MBA program. I was initially set on staying in my home state of California, and did not want to move. My counselor told me that I should seriously consider a program on the east coast, and recommended why I would be such a great fit given my strong interest in the culture and community of a school. She ended up being right in the end, and I am so glad I followed her advice as I will be attending a top ranked program next fall.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 22, 2015
sabeaners

Joined: Dec 08, 2014

Posts: 1

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

A great counselor makes Stratus Prep a great choice

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

My overall experience with Stratus Prep was extremely positive, and while there are definitely flaws in the process, the company gets five stars from me because I absolutely would not be in the same place I am now without them.

A bit of background - I signed up for the 4 school MBA package (I chose 4 schools because they guaranteed that if I was rejected from all 4, they would work with me in Round 2 to re-apply). Before applying, my main reason for choosing to have a company guide me through the app process was my low GPA - I wanted guidance as to how to alleviate that. Stratus Prep, and specifically my counselor Temi, did a whole lot more than tell me how to make a good application with one less-than-stellar piece of the puzzle.

The beginning of the process for me with Stratus Prep was stressful. My initial assigned counselor told me during my first call that I would not get into a top tier school and should look at 'B level' programs. She told me I was over a year out from applying, and to get in touch with her in 6 months. I shrugged her off, and luckily, a month later, was told she was no longer with the company and was assigned a new counselor.

The second counselor I was assigned to was an older gentlemen who, while nice and helpful, seemed a bit out of touch with the application process. We had two initial phone calls and then planned a face-to-face meeting. I was skeptical about his ability to really get me where I wanted to be. Two weeks later, I received yet another email that my counselor was no longer with the company and a new one would be assigned to me.

My frustration grew and I complained to Shawn directly. He promised he would assign me a third, and final, counselor - Temi. She turned out to be heaven-sent. She was encouraging, thoughtful, helpful, and responsive. She offered advice without being pushy, and supported me both when I wanted to laugh and wanted to cry. The thought exercises and all the stuff they make you fill out that you don't want to will be worth it at the end of the day, no matter how inconsequential it may seem at the getgo. Trust me on this. Temi guided me in the right direction without putting words in my mouth, led me to write essays that I was proud of, and, at the end of the day, helped me turn in outstanding applications that I would have never been able to put together on my own.

I ended up applying to three schools, all Top Ten programs, and was accepted to two and waitlisted at one.

A final word - The most integral part of the whole package is definitely the consultant you are paired with. My biggest piece of advice to you, should you choose Stratus Prep, is to be vocal about finding a good counselor. If you don't vibe with someone, ask for someone else. If your counselor isn't responsive, ask for someone else. Once you find the right person to work with, Stratus Prep will prove itself to be more than worth its price.

Read More

July 16, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
640

MBA Admissions

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

It was a pleasure of working with Shawn O'Connor and Jeff Mroz. From start to finish both Shawn and Jeff provided me with both support and advice. Although their process is rigorous, at the end if you want to get into a good business school it is definitely worth it. Through multiple iterations my initial drafts were changed considerably in order to put together the best application possible. Jeff was also very helpful with the interview process, as well as making a final decision on what school to go. I would highly recommend Stratus Prep to anyone who wants to get into a great school.

Read More

May 31, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 300

Kudos: 28

Self-reported Score:
680 Q47 V37

Extremely flexible and patient counselors!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

I engaged Stratus Prep way back in 2013 when I was applying for the 2014 MBA season. They were flexible enough to allow me to “defer” to the 2015 application season if I, together with my counselor, felt that it would be in my best interest to do so because of my relatively low GMAT score. I couldn’t get my score up in time to apply and decided to defer to the 2015 season. My Stratus Prep counselor Jeff was really patient with me guiding me every step of the way and encouraging me to work harder on my application. Shawn O’Connor was also instrumental in his feedback in the entire process, from selecting schools to final preparation for my interviews. While I didn’t get into my top school choice, Stratus Prep helped me get into a top-15 school even with my low GPA and below average GMAT score. Would definitely recommend these guys!

Read More


1 Older and Non-Verified Review for Stratus Admissions Counseling