GMAT Club

Jen Kedrowski Reviews

Company: mbaMission

Having been accepted at several top U.S. and international business schools, Jen Kedrowski ultimately chose to earn her MBA at Cambridge University’s Judge Business School in the United Kingdom. There she focused on marketing and entrepreneurship and was on the winning team of the A.T. Kearney Global Prize Competition, an annual strategic case competition. She also worked closely with the school’s admissions office and founded the Judge Student Ambassadors Club to assist with MBA admissions. After graduating, Jen returned to the United States to work at the corporate headquarters of Kaplan Test Prep and Admissions in the areas of brand management, strategic marketing, GMAT curriculum and MBA admissions. Jen spent several years in London, advising applicants to the leading U.S. and international MBA programs and has served as the featured MBA admissions presenter at seminars across the United States, United Kingdom and Canada, representing Kaplan and the World MBA Tour. In addition, Jen has provided articles and admissions advice to such organizations and publications as TopMBA.com, MSN, Vault, Bloomberg Businessweek and the Association of MBAs, and has developed MBA admissions seminars and workshops that have been used in hundreds of test prep centers in both the United States and the United Kingdom.

4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 35 reviews
October 18, 2017
tet28

Joined: Apr 11, 2014

Posts: 1

Kudos: 3

Self-reported Score:
660 Q50 V30

Improve your candidacy along cultural differences

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I totally recommend Jen Kedrowski to you to brush up your candidacy and create the best application packages.

I am a non-English native as well as a re-applicant aiming at British business schools. Before starting the collaboration with Jen, I took several free consulting sections offered several consulting service providers. Then, I found that Jen would be the best to revise my applications, and decided to choose the Hourly Services at mbaMission.

There are 2 main reasons why I recommend Jen to you as your partner.

First, she has splendid analytical and editorial skills to cover your weaknesses and stand out your strengths. It is hard for most applicants to differentiate your candidacy from others. Additionally, almost all of the candidates who attempt to enroll in business schools have piled up similar careers. So, her analytical skills will help you in finding your uniqueness, and editorial ones will strongly contribute to brushing up your applications sentence by sentence, along with each school culture. In my case, she always identified points that I had to deepen or reconsider clearly. She gave me a hand to construct stories of applications as total packages accompanying consistency in the last applications. In some cases, she asked me to reconstruct whole sentences along the latest career progress, but in other cases, she simply improved part of the essays I’d hand in the last term in order to consolidate my candidacy.

Second, you will gain experience about how cultural differences should be expressed on your essays. I live in a more high-context society than the UK and the USA. In my country, people require reading between the lines, which prevented me from writing suitable sentences or showing connections of each sentence clearly. But, through the communication with Jen, I found these were signs not only to fit my sentences to each school, but also to improve sentences to best reveal my experiences with cultural differences (I did not notice this when I asked a consultant in my country last year).

If you feel you might be the lack of confidence to create best sentences for admission committees, Jen's skills to enhance your candidacies and edit your applications will become the best to bridge the gaps.

Finally, this book will help in understanding cultural differences between countries (you and admission staff), or in improving your sentences along experiences in diverse cultures (international exposures are a key for every candidate).
"The Culture Map: Decoding How People Think, Lead, and Get Things Done Across Cultures"
http://amzn.to/2xKoZMs

Read More

May 11, 2017
wonbae86

Joined: May 22, 2016

Posts: 3

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
670 Q48 V34
680 Q49 V33

Worth it

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

After a free 30 min consulting, I was referred to consultant, Jen Kedrowski, who was recommended after the initial point of contact decided that my style, story, and direction would be best matched with Jen. I purchased 3 hours, which I thought to be quite pricey for the amount of time, but I was willing to pay that price because I was in a place where I just needed someone I could trust to verify that my thoughts and ideas made cohesive sense. There's only so much that your friends can do, and they can only be so invested in YOUR future. So I sought a consultant because it's their fulltime job to be invested in you. So what I was actually paying for was peace of mind and another set of eyes that would help me formulate a plan for each school that I was applying to. Upon introducing my story to Jen, she listened, and gave very helpful feed back in terms of what ideas were good and what ideas weren't so great. I told her in the beginning that I want feedback to be straight up, and to not worry about hurting my feelings, because what I want from all this is the best possible application and essays I can make, and that is exactly what she delivered. I had applied to McCombs (WL), Foster (Admitted with scholarship), and Wisconsin (admitted with scholarship) with a GMAT score of 680 and a GPA of 3.1. As you can see, my scores aren't particularly exceptional, and what I believe gave my applications the edge were my essays that Jen helped me formulate. She doesn't play any gimmicks with making things up with what you should say. What she does is gather all your information, tell you what about your past stands out the most, and help you tie those important pieces together in a way that you are able to articulate your strengths while making cohesive sense to your overall past, present, and future. Even though I had gone over my time limit that I purchased, she always responded with answers to any questions I had beyond what she was paid to do, and even helped me decide which school I should attend. Long story short, she's genuine, smart as hell, and trustworthy. I would highly recommend her to anyone seeking help on essays and which schools would best suit your needs.

Read More

May 02, 2017
FraserHolt

Joined: May 02, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q48 V38

MBA Mission Complete School Package

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I found the whole process to be fantastic. From the initial free consultation through to the interview prep, Jen was always prepared and knew my application inside out. The initial brainstorming session was great and very thorough as it got me to remember things that I had forgotten. When reviewing my essays, Jen looked for more than just grammar and format. A lot of care was taken with each draft and the response was very timely. When prepping for interviews, Jen had a lot of clear and concise guidance on how to improve.
Jen helped a lot to answer all my many silly questions and she exceeded my expectations.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 10, 2017
castlesburning

Joined: Jan 09, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q46 V42

Jen Kedrowski is the best!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

My consultant - Jen Kedrowski - was very attentive and helpful throughout our process. I highly recommend her, particularly for those like myself who are "Nontraditional Applicants". With her help I was admitted to Columbia Business School, my first choice.

She really helped me craft a story, focus only on what was important and squeeze the most out of the limited real estate provided by an MBA application. I would say this is where I got the most value out of the experience. I needed to structure my "pitch" if you will and Jen was invaluable in helping me hone in on what was compelling. Also, as a novice with no real insider sense of what MBA admissions wants, she gave me little tips about how to conduct an interview, or how to structure an admissions (vs professional) resume. These tips were definitely not readily apparent to me and gave my application a polish I don't think it would have had otherwise.

She was also upfront with me about what was feasible in the school selection phase - I had a couple target schools. She said that they were a doable stretch. I mentioned a couple others that were more competitive, she said don't do it. I never felt like she was upselling anything, leading me on etc. I really felt like she was on my team, as though she was personally invested in my success.

Her phone demeanor is really kind, friendly, and very easy to talk to. Our conversations were fun, professional, and always productive.

I will say if you are expecting the consultants to write your essay for you, or do all the copy editing I think realistically you are not going to get what you want here. They will help you craft your story in detail. They will line edit, they will make suggestions and point you where you need to go. Still ultimately you have to take most of the ownership of the prose, syntax, structure etc if you really want this to be your voice. I hope that goes without saying for anyone considering these services.

Overall, the only weakness of these services is the steep price tag. That is what it is. I knew what the costs would be and sprung for it. My consultant was absolutely awesome and I got the results I was after. Would I have achieved the same results without her? Nobody knows, but I think she pushed my candidacy over the edge.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 23, 2017
eatkeson

Joined: Jan 23, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Could Not Have Done It Without MBAMission!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Working with Jen at MBAMission saved my business school application process. I had taken my tests, chosen my schools, and prepared my essay topics, but when I sat down to start writing, it became clear I needed help. I was brutally honest in my 30-minute interview, which led to an exceptional match with Jen. I started working with Jen in August (later than they would prefer) and was still able to meet the Round 1 deadlines at my chosen schools.

Jen is amazing. She worked around the clock with me and was always patient when I struggled with essay topics or vague MBA program language. She is incredibly prompt and professional and, always, made me feel like I could do anything I set my mind to. I was so excited to email her after an interview to tell her that I finally understood what they meant by "fit" and that I had nailed the interview at my first-choice school - this feeling turned out to be mutual when I ended up getting in.

Jen helped me both be myself and take chances, like choosing to make a video over writing an essay, by asking the right questions and getting to know me.

I would recommend MBAMission to anyone applying to school.

Read More

June 19, 2016
twehner

Joined: Feb 22, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
690 Q47 V38
750 Q49 V44

Thorough and methodical

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I initially decided to do my free 30-minute consultation with Jen because I saw that she had done her MBA studies overseas (at Cambridge) and might possibly have better insight than other consultants with regard to my background (I had spent half my career overseas and didn't want to just come across as "the international guy"). Jen told me in that call, that any of mbaMission's consultants could help me present a solid narrative with my background, but I stayed with Jen because she came across very professionally and agreeably and came into that meeting with some great feedback prepared.

I was only applying to one program - Fuqua's Cross Continent MBA, so I didn't take advantage of any school selection or program compatibility services (Jen did advise that the program I'd chosen was a good fit, though).

I worked through the brainstorming exercises, which are used for all of mbaMission's school package consultations. The exercises were very thorough and got me to reveal to myself all the content I needed to put together my application, essays and all. After brainstorming on my own, Jen helped me explore the content I'd generated from many different angles, to create an even more robust collection of information to draw from when it came to essay writing.

Essay writing was an iterative process, where each draft and round of feedback brought my application closer to the story I wanted to tell. Each essay needed 3-6 rounds of revision and feedback, each round taking 1-3 days. I really appreciated the quick turnaround and thoughtful feedback on the essays. The extensive writing and revision process, along with the brainstorm material used as the basis, allowed for very rigorous essay creation.

Jen also advised me on choosing and reconnecting with recommendation writers, and everything went very smoothly on that front.

When it came time to interview, Jen helped me prepare for a mock interview with her, again using the brainstorm material. The mock interview gave me a chance to get my jitters out of the way and get comfortable talking about myself and keeping responses within my overall narrative. The interview with the adcom member went as smoothly as possible and I felt confident and prepared throughout.

To conclude, I hired Jen via mbaMission with a clear goal in mind - to put in as much time and energy as I needed to put together the best application I could for the program I'd already chosen. Jen was an insightful and responsive coach throughout the process and gave , me tools which were extremely helpful in telling my story. I was looking for help primarily with essays and the interview, but Jen helped me make sure my application was strong on all fronts, and I was admitted to my program with scholarship.

Read More

June 19, 2016
akamerow

Joined: Jun 19, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Jen Kedrowski is great!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I contacted Jen because I was experiencing a lot of uncertainty about my resume and admissions essays. Because I come from a non-traditional business background, I wanted to make sure I was working with someone who understood my position. Jen was incredibly helpful and very efficient. She is great at both line edits and general direction edits. She was glad to answer both vague and specific questions that I had. In addition to her technical expertise, I also found her to be genuinely positive. When I heard back about interviews, she was very supportive. I would not have been able to juggle all of the applications without her.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 18, 2016
kyledw

Joined: Jun 18, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Jen Is The Best!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I used Jen to apply to 2 MBA programs, 1 reach school and 1 target school, I purchased the total start to finish application product and worked with Jen for many months including additional essays and preps during the waitlist period. I was waitlisted at my reach and accepted to my target school. At the time of this posting there are only positive reviews of Jen...which is not surprising at all. My experience with Jen was amazing and I second all of the comments regarding deadlines, knowledge of the application process, encouragement, her general attitude while working together, worth the money, ect...I really have nothing negative to say about the experience. One aspect of my experience that I did not see mentioned was Jens ability to work with my learning disability. She was very understanding about my unique needs in absorbing feedback, clarifying goals and clearly articulating our plan. It certainly seemed like she adapted her approach to get the best out of me...not an easy task. It was also clear that she truly cared about the results of our work together. I could not have done this without her.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 06, 2016
mit220

Joined: May 31, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

mbaMission - Jen Kedrowski Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Jen worked towards tight deadlines to help me to submit outstanding applications to LBS and Imperial Business School. She took the time to understand my personal story and helped me to shape essays and a video that brought out the best in me. When I was invited for interviews, Jen provided me with comprehensive mock interviews and followed up with very detailed feedback.

I was offered a place on my dream course at LBS and I was also offered Imperial College Business School’s highest scholarship. Jen was a pleasure to work with and I can’t recommend her highly enough!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 18, 2016
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V42

Well worth the money!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had a wonderful experience working with Jen Kedrowski. I believed the weakest aspect of my application was my work experience and Jen worked very hard to help me highlight my accomplishments and address my weaknesses. We also spent many productive hours preparing for interviews, of which I had six in a two week period. I chose Jen because she received her MBA from Cambridge and I was most interested in LBS, but this does not mean that she has limited knowledge of the American schools. Jen helped me get accepted to Booth, Yale, and Cambridge, and waitlisted at Dartmouth and LBS. If you are looking for a consultant who is very diligent, enthusiastic, reliable, and detail oriented, I would highly recommend Jen Kedrowski at mbaMission.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

4 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Jen Kedrowski