GMAT Club

Leslie Curry Reviews

Company: Admissionado

Leslie Curry’s fascination with messaging originated in the heart of Washington, DC, Capitol Hill, where she began her pre-MBA career stumping for national political candidates and fundraising with the ultimate salespeople —lobbyists. She observed first-hand how identifying and resonating with your target audience makes the difference between wins and losses. Later, using the marketing and management skills she obtained at Darden (Wahoohwa!), Leslie generated sustainable business results at companies both large (Thomson Reuters, IHG, Kaplan) and small (startup e-commerce shops and consulting firms), positioning products and solutions for a range of audiences from B2B customers to internal sales teams to voters. She brings that same passion and expertise to you and your business school efforts. Working hand in hand with you as a partner and cheerleader, Leslie will identify how to message and differentiate yourself from the crowded applicant pool, successfully reaching your own target audience.

Tell us something surprising about you.
I might have left politics and Washington, DC for business school, but they never left me. I still religiously watch “Meet the Press” on Sundays, and miss Tim Russert like crazy.

What’s your biggest weakness?
Outrageously-priced hand-crafted cocktails that feature anything ginger.

Industries
Marketing, Sales, Consulting, Start-Ups, Management, Technology, Education, Politics


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 4 reviews
August 07, 2016
reidse

Joined: Aug 07, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

BEST Decision I ever made!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Using Admissionado to help me prep for my B school interviews was the best decision I have ever made. Leslie was amazing and her coaching helped me succeed in getting into my number top school. She went above and beyond for me during the interview process- from texting me right before interviews to calming my fears on phone calls after. I really got through the chaos of that time with her help. She was much more than just a consultant, she truly cares about her client's success! Interviews are a stressful time but having Leslie and Admissionado in my corner helped me articulate all of the best traits of my applications.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 20, 2016
SD26

Joined: Dec 10, 2012

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
710 Q49 V38

Best Decision I've made in my B school application journey

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

While in the process of applying to the top B schools in US, I reviewed and held calls with many MBA admissions consultants, globally. One of them happened to be Admissionado. The first thing I noticed was their professional yet engaging style of communication – Claudia Aliperta, the Director of Operations, sent me a warm welcome email and introduced me to Leslie Curry, who sent up a free 30-minute consultation call to review my resume, ask about my strategy (if any) for choosing and applying to B schools and also a few basic questions about my background. Leslie was so very helpful, bright and thoughtful in that 30 minutes that I was sold! I had spoken with consultants from 6 agencies in my home country and US but none of them were as polite yet sharp in catching onto opportunities of improvement in a candidate. I signed on for the Deluxe 3-school package and insisted on having Leslie as my adviser.
Leslie is an MBA graduate from Darden but she holds a wealth of knowledge and resources about all the top B schools in US. When we first started working together, my application list was broad and unstructured. I didn’t have any logical reasons for even applying to some of them! Leslie took the effort to understand my strengths (through a very self-reflective and insightful questionnaire) and developed a matrix to help me rank the schools. This was indeed very helpful. Once I had my top 3 schools, we set to work on my resume. Leslie helped me bullet-point my achievements and even bring up points I had forgotten, by regularly asking me about my past work and volunteering activities. She didn’t exactly grill, but dove in to each story of mine so that she could better understand me and qualities I could express. Once we got my resume refined, I began writing the essays. I didn’t want my essays written for me and Admissionado ensures that you do the meat of the work while they guide you in polishing up what you want to convey, which is exactly what I was looking for. I had crazy ideas on why XX School and why I was a perfect fit for YY program, but Leslie broke it down, helped me structure it and even build on it. All the ideas were mine, but she would review them and even pull in a second pair of professional eyes (for a well-rounded perspective) and we would work on them in a timely manner until I was satisfied.
Once I got interview calls, we setup 2 mock interviews over video conference, to help me get an idea of the standard questions asked and how to best be prepared for them. It was great practice and Leslie shared a bunch of questions that I should expect and with her constructive feedback, I drafted my best answers and also, my best style for delivering them.
We hit all three schools and I am extremely proud to say that I am now attending the school that was my top choice. Leslie and I’ve been in touch thereafter even because I know this process helped me gain a friend and a well-wisher, not just a professional adviser. She was my coach and cheerleader at the same time. So for that, Admissionado gets a top rating from me, and I’d recommend it to all my friends and anyone looking for a little bit of help in their B school applications. It’s worth every $! Definitely ask for Leslie if you want someone who is as passionate about your journey as you and a true expert in this field.

Read More

May 12, 2016
psidh

Joined: Jan 29, 2013

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q48 V38

Your best friend during Admission season and maybe even after.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Securing an admission in a top 20 MBA school is never an easy job. Its even worse with a GPA of 3.11 and a GMAT of 710 while being an Indian born male. My consultant Leslie was very honest about my situation and odds when I spoke with her. My very first interaction with Leslie was enough for me to make my decision to go with Admissionado. Out of at least 7-8 conversations I had with as many admission consulting companies prior to choosing Leslie at Admissionado, the passion and involvement that Leslie displayed in my pursuit was unparalleled. She was a great guide, mentor and would absolutely leave no stone unturned when it came to extracting highpoints from my career and life. She helped me take those ideas and craft them into great essays. Leslie was also monumental in helping me finalize my colleges and prioritize how I should distribute my resources while applying to these programs. These helped me not keep any of the elements of the admission process such as informational interviews, thank you emails etc on the back burner. The quality of comments provided after each revision was very high and the communication was extremely prompt. I am writing this note after the end of my first year at B-school waiting to start my summer internship in 4 weeks as a management consultant. Which is what I said I wanted to do in summer, in my essays. Looking back at the admission process, there is only one thing I would change - start working with Leslie and Admissionado earlier, so I could get more money from my college by applying in round 1!!

Very important after thought: Leslie also helped me successfully negotiate an increase in scholarship after admission when I retook the GMAT exam and scored 730. Result: 50% tuition scholarship.

All in all. You are in good hands with Leslie. Start the process early with Admissionado and be honest and patient with your consultant with all the million questions they will have for you in the interest of bringing the best story out for the essays. It won't be an easy process. But like all awesome things in life, getting into a top 20 Business school is not easy and you want the best people with holistic guidance on your side when you are competing with stellar applicants from all around the world.

Read More

December 26, 2015
Dardenwootwoot

Joined: Dec 26, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Admissionado Excellent Service

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I ordered the MBA Standard Interview Prep and worked with Leslie.

Leslie was awesome. She was generous with her time, thoughtful in her approach, and genuinely wanted to see my succeed.

After reading a bit about my background, she helped me think of interview questions that would be specific to my experience. We worked together to hone my responses and she gave excellent advice on developing/communicating my overall profile.

She was very responsive via email, which helped as I was prepping in between our sessions. I really enjoyed working with Leslie and walked away feeling increasingly confident after each session.

I would highly recommend Leslie.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.