GMAT Club

Rachel Beck Reviews

Company: mbaMission

A graduate of Lehigh University, Rachel Beck holds a master’s degree in journalism and earned her MBA from Columbia Business School, where she was awarded the prestigious Knight-Bagehot Fellowship in Economics Business Journalism. While at Columbia, Rachel was both a teaching assistant and an officer in the retail club. She also served as a resume reviewer for the MBA program’s Career Management Center and volunteered for iPrep, a program that helps the underprivileged learn and improve their interview skills. Since graduating from Columbia, Rachel has been an alumni admissions interviewer for the school. Before joining mbaMission, Rachel was the national business columnist and features writer for The Associated Press, where she covered such topics as the financial crisis and Great Recession, consumer trends, accounting issues in corporate America and executive pay. Rachel has interviewed dozens of Fortune 500 CEOs and has been featured in numerous radio and TV spots on major news events. Her award-winning columns and stories have appeared in newspapers and on online news sites worldwide.


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 49 reviews
November 24, 2019
nycapplicant2019

Joined: Nov 18, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V41

Incredibly Helpful!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was very fortunate to be connected with Rachel by a friend whom she had recently guided into the Columbia Business School Class of 2021. As a resident of NYC with no intention of moving, I was very focused on earning admission to CBS. Rachel immediately connected with my story, and unlike several other consultants I had spoken with, she was optimistic about my credentials. Rachel’s process is thorough – she requests a ton of information upfront to better understand the candidate’s background and she is masterful at synthesizing that information into a compelling application tailored for each program. Additionally, her superior knowledge of the CBS admissions process was invaluable for crafting an application that would ultimately resonate with the admissions committee. I was admitted to CBS, and I am forever grateful to Rachel for helping me achieve that outcome.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 05, 2019
cbsmba22

Joined: Nov 05, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q49 V38

Rachel Beck - A True Partner!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I got connected to Rachel rather serendipitously: through a random 30 minute free consultation. I honestly hadn’t considered the idea of using a consultant, but my Kaplan GMAT tutor highly recommended mbamission, so I decided to give the free consultation a shot. I consider myself to be a diligent, organized, and process-oriented person, so naturally I was skeptical of the value that a consultant would add to my application. Spending $5,000+ was out of the question unless I was convinced that a consultant would be an invaluable resource throughout the process. Rachel was that and more – I can honestly say that I would have been lost without her. Within 10 minutes of hanging up our initial consultation, I had committed to working with Rachel.
I was blown away not only by Rachel’s incomparable knowledge of the process and intimate understanding of the characteristics adcoms look for in applicants, but also by her bubbly yet firm demeanor. Rachel was always friendly, but very direct and never one to sugarcoat anything. She gives her honest opinion, even if it is not what you want to hear at the time, but your application is stronger as a result.
Rachel’s main strength is her story telling ability. She has a unique talent of transforming monotonous details into a compelling narrative. Thoroughly prepared for every call, Rachel provided a fresh perspective and it was clear that she was invested in your journey. I relied heavily on Rachel to frame up my story and help articulate the message I was trying to convey.
Rachel began our intro call by saying that she is, “tough, but fair and I might not like her at times.” While there were some instances where she gave some tough feedback, she was an absolute pleasure to work with. And most importantly, I felt that she was truly invested in my success. We were a team and by the end of the process, I felt that we had built a strong professional relationship. She was one of the first people I notified when I got into my top choice and I could tell that she was genuinely thrilled for me. That meant a lot. I couldn’t have done it without you, Rachel!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 21, 2019
newyork1892

Joined: Oct 21, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

mbaMission

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I initially wasn't planning on using a consultant due to the financial commitment, but Rachel came highly recommended by a friend who had an incredible experience, and mine was just the same. I am so grateful for Rachel - from our first phone call she not only made me feel like I had the very best guidance but also put me at ease and gave me the confidence that I could achieve my goal (and as a woman with no finance background I was not initially confident going into the MBA application process!) It was clear that Rachel knew all the ins the outs of MBA admissions, and she also made it clear that I would need to work very hard if we worked together, which I was ready for!

Rachel didn't tell me to be someone else on my application - she helped me shape my own story in a compelling way that was completely genuine and "me." The extra leg-work she required with the brainstorming document helped me get to know myself better and realize my MBA goals in the most authentic way, and in turn I ended up submitting an application that I was truly proud of and reflected exactly who I am. Throughout the process Rachel was very honest and I am so grateful for her thoughtful feedback; it was clear that every essay and thought I sent her she reviewed carefully and responded with deep consideration. She was also completely open when I came back with different ideas too - it was a mutual relationship in which we worked together on every element.

Overall, Rachel was on my team from day one and was a very helpful resource in not only the essay writing but navigating recommendations, formatting my resume, connecting with the school in an appropriate way, staying calm with the test, and prepping for the interview. She was the perfect amount involved and I could not have asked for a better coach/mentor. I also know I will stay in touch with her as I navigate my MBA experience, which in itself shows what a warm, supportive and genuinely kind person she is.

I highly recommend Rachel to anybody who is driven towards an MBA goal; the time and care she took to guide me is priceless and I could not be prouder of the results from this process.

Read More

June 29, 2019
OfftoWharton1989

Joined: Jun 28, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Rachel Beck

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was a challenging case: I was only able to apply in Round 3, I was coming in with a mediocre GRE (didn't even bother with the GMAT), and I only wanted to go to a top 4 school. (Wharton, Stanford, Booth, MIT.) Rachel was able to help me distill my unique, extremely non-traditional background into a coherent, compelling narrative.

She pushed me to dig far deeper into my motivations and story and asked far more difficult, penetrating questions than I would have asked of myself, which I think ended up being one of the most critical aspects of the entire process. Her skills as an editor were readily apparent as she was extraordinarily helpful in cutting out any unnecessary noise in my essays.

Finally, from a personality perspective, I found her to be a perfect fit for me. She is friendly but direct, encouraging but will not coddle you, and she is not afraid to call a spade a spade. She sent me back to the drawing board multiple times, and in the end I had a product I was extremely proud of. And most importantly, that end result was getting into the school of my dreams: Wharton.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 16, 2019
jbmunoz28

Joined: Mar 18, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Unbelievable experience.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Rachel was recommended by a friend who loved working with her. My experience was exactly the same! From the beginning she was very professional, knowledgable, and honest (which is something I really appreciated). She truly helped me figure out the ins and outs of the whole application process which can be very daunting, and she constantly checked on me to make sure things were going according to plan. She pushed me to work hard and I really appreciate all her help. I’ve recommended her to a few friends thinking about their MBA and I suggest if you’re curious at all about getting an MBA, to schedule a call with her. As I mentioned, she’s very honest and will let you know if she can help you or not.

Thank you, Rachel!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 12, 2019
apk008

Joined: Dec 16, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q40 V44

Great Experience!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was very back and forth on hiring a consultant for quite a while - obviously, it is a financial commitment, but then again so is B-school! After speaking with a few consultants I was pleasantly surprised by mbaMission's honesty and integrity. I saw great reviews for Rachel Beck, so I requested to have her as my consultant.

I signed up for an hourly rate and I think this was the best decision for me. I felt confident in my writing abilities and felt that I mostly needed help with determining a direction for each of my essays. I was glad I had Rachel to help me with everything along the way, from responding quickly to questions to brainstorming essay concepts. Rachel was very knowledgeable about the application process and always had creative ideas when we spoke.

It was helpful for me to take thorough notes when I spoke with Rachel to refer back to later, and Rachel was always very direct about what tasks should be done between our conversations. The application process is long and tiring - don't underestimate it! You will have to put in a lot of time, but having a consultant can accelerate the process if you are committed.

I would highly recommend using Rachel Beck if you are interested in hiring a consultant!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 11, 2019
agtexas

Joined: Mar 14, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V44

Thank you Rachel!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had my 30 minute consultation with Rachel after reading her reviews, and knew right away that I wanted to work with her. I started my 4 school package with her about 6 months before the Round 1 deadlines. We walked through my stats and timeline and she helped me map out the next few months so that I would be on top of everything.

From our first brainstorming call, I could tell that Rachel knew so much about this process that I would never have figured out. Her experience in the industry is extremely helpful and she is able to make such a hectic process run so smoothly. Through that first call, Rachel helped me figure out my story and which areas of my application I should highlight in my essays. When it came to writing my essays, Rachel already knew me so well from the brainstorming call that we were both able to quickly and efficiently outline each essay. It got to the point where Rachel would suggest using examples from my life that I hadn’t even thought of – a testament to how much Rachel works to get to know each of her clients. She is extremely punctual and often returned drafts back to me within 24 hours. She was my cheerleader throughout the entire process and I can confidently say that I would not have gotten into 3 business schools without her help. I cannot thank her enough for encouraging me and keeping a positive attitude when things did not look like they were going well. I highly recommend working with Rachel and mbaMission!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 09, 2019
ajs128

Joined: Oct 05, 2018

Posts: 5

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
740 Q49 V42

Highly Recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was originally reluctant to work with an admissions consultant because I consider myself a good writer and thought I could put together competitive applications without spending the money. After working with Rachel Beck at mbaMission for the past few months and getting into my dream school, I realize that her time is 100% worth the cost. Here's a brief list with a few of the many reasons I'd recommend Rachel to anyone hoping to get into a top-tier MBA program:

- She has years of experience navigating the admissions process and has a profound understanding of what adcoms like to see
- She's a highly skilled editor of essays, which can likely be attributed to her impressive background in journalism
- She's extremely organized and responsive
- She's very direct and always 100% honest (even when the truth may be hard to hear)

When I first started working with Rachel, I sent her an essay draft that I had been working on (which I thought was ready for submission at the time). Rachel didn't sugarcoat her feedback, and provided dozens of pointers that would help me improve the essay. Now when I look at that original draft versus the draft I wound up submitting, I realize that I never would've gotten into a top-tier program without her services. If youre a prospective student looking for an edge in applying to your dream school, Rachel is the consultant you're looking for.

Without Rachel, I wouldn't be going to my dream school this coming fall. The money spent for her time and assistance is the best investment I've ever made.

Read More

December 27, 2018
AnnFabensLassen

Joined: Dec 27, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q40 V44

Great Experience With Consultant!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I began working with Rachel after taking the GMAT twice and beginning the application process. I shopped around quite a bit (I spoke to 5 other consultants). Rachel was by far the most genuine - she has a way of being candid without being overly harsh.

Rachel was blunt upfront that she thought I needed to get my GMAT score higher to get into Columbia (my number one choice). But when I explained I wasn't willing to do that she didn't dwell and we immediately got to work doing all the other things we could to make my application as strong as possible.

I really liked Rachel's brainstorming method upfront. It seems like a lot of leg work but it forces you to really think through your narrative, and she helps you highlight things you might not have even thought were noteworthy.

Rachel also has great insight into what information the school actually want you to provide in your essays, which usually isn't exactly what the essay question actually asks.

Rachel always provided prompt responses and was very clear upfront about how to best work with her. My only regret is that I didn't start working with her earlier on in the process since I paid a flat fee.

In the end I got into Columbia, and I think it had a lot to do with the strong essays that Rachel helped me right. She is a journalist in training and she's an amazing editor. She also had great advice with other part of my app, like taking the HBX Core math course to boost my quant profile.

Overall, I would definitely spend the money to work with Rachel again. She was instrumental in me getting into the business school I really wanted to go to.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 21, 2018
zkrakovitz

Joined: Dec 21, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q49 V35

Thank you Rachel Beck (MBA Mission)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I initially was matched with Rachel during MBA Mission's free 30 minute consultation. She was extremely helpful at helping me develop a strategy to go about tackling the application process and I felt that her expertise would be vital to writing strong essays.

I worked with Rachel on an hourly basis where she assisted with everything from Resume formatting, topic generation, and essay editing for a number of different programs. She was always on-time in providing back updates or ideas and was excellent at pushing me to take the next step in my essays.

At the end of the day Rachel was extremely helpful and worth every penny. I owe her a great deal for successfully getting into some of my top choice schools.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

21 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Rachel Beck