GMAT Club

Rachel Beck Reviews

Company: mbaMission

A graduate of Lehigh University, Rachel Beck holds a master’s degree in journalism and earned her MBA from Columbia Business School, where she was awarded the prestigious Knight-Bagehot Fellowship in Economics Business Journalism. While at Columbia, Rachel was both a teaching assistant and an officer in the retail club. She also served as a resume reviewer for the MBA program’s Career Management Center and volunteered for iPrep, a program that helps the underprivileged learn and improve their interview skills. Since graduating from Columbia, Rachel has been an alumni admissions interviewer for the school. Before joining mbaMission, Rachel was the national business columnist and features writer for The Associated Press, where she covered such topics as the financial crisis and Great Recession, consumer trends, accounting issues in corporate America and executive pay. Rachel has interviewed dozens of Fortune 500 CEOs and has been featured in numerous radio and TV spots on major news events. Her award-winning columns and stories have appeared in newspapers and on online news sites worldwide.


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 57 reviews
August 20, 2020
isit2022yet

Joined: Apr 04, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Rachel Beck is the Best (10/10)!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Rachel Beck was an incredible help to me throughout my application process!

I have an unconventional work background and a humanities degree from undergrad. In a few screening calls with application advisors, I had a couple folks tell me I should get some conventional work experience before applying to business school. Rachel was the only one who truly believed I'd be a good fit for business school based on my experience to date. She then helped me articulate an authentic and compelling story for my application.

It goes without saying but Rachel was extremely responsive and prompt with her feedback. She has an eye both from the nitty gritty grammar but also high-level messaging and tips and tricks unique to each school-- knowledge that can only come from someone with as much experience as Rachel.

I was also working on my applications while backpacking through Asia in some very remote locations. Rachel was super accommodating to my time zone difference and internet connectivity issue.

Overall Rachel felt like a true partner in my application process. It felt like she was as invested as I was in the outcome of the process-- often times pushing me through multiple rounds of revisions to refine my narrative.

Safe to say I wouldn't have had the success I had in my applications without Rachel's help.

Read More

September 09, 2020
jajajaeje113

Joined: Sep 08, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Rachel Beck is the reason I got into my target school!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I’m sitting at my dream MBA school thanks to Rachel! Trying to get into a top MBA program is daunting! For someone that had never really gone through such an application process before, I didn’t even know where to begin.

I was worried about spending so much money on a consultant, but after working with Rachel on a 5 school program I can tell you that it was worth every penny. There was so much I didn’t know about applying to top MBA program, and having Rachel there to guide me through the process was a lifesaver. From many essay rewrites, to the multiple short answer questions, resume creation and interview preparation - Rachel was there to help me through it all. She did an amazing job on helping ensure my essays had the perfect “flow,” and hit all the key buzz words and topics the admissions committees would be looking for. Rachel was just as invested in this application process as I was and went above and beyond to help me out, especially throughout everything that went on with COVID.

From our kickoff call to starting at my MBA program, I worked with Rachel for a year and the entire process was fantastic. I can honestly say I probably wouldn’t be in the MBA program I am without Rachel’s guidance. When I was choosing a MBA consultant I was worried about making such a big financial commitment, but believe me hiring Rachel is definitely worth it!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 20, 2020
Anonymous28

Joined: Jul 20, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly Recommend Rachel Beck- mbaMission

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Rachel came highly recommended from a very close personal source, my older brother, and after our first 30 minute phone call I knew exactly why.

My timeline was a bit rushed, but with Rachel there was never any doubt. We first connected in January of 2020 as I began toying with the idea of applying to MBA programs, but as my career kept progressing it became increasingly difficult to make the move.

After seeing that my dream school Columbia had extended R3 deadlines due to COVID, in mid-April I reached back out to Rachel to get her POV on my chances during this uncertain time. Her confidence and eagerness to help me craft my application gave me the push I needed to pursue my MBA dreams, and I am SO glad I did!

In less than 2 months time, Rachel helped me string together a top notch application, as I simultaenously completed standardize testing. Opting for the "School Package," Rachel was there to help with even the smallest of details, constantly reassuring me that "there are no stupid questions." She kept things moving and was quick to get back to me, adding value every step of the way. Her tremendous writing and storytelling skills helped me craft a purposeful application that felt cohesive, yet made each section work very hard to convey something unique about me as an applicant, ultimately helping me get into CBS!

I am so grateful for Rachel and couldn't have imagined going through the application process without her.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 13, 2020
agray

Joined: May 18, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Made a

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I knew Rachel would be the perfect partner for me after our 30 minute consultation. Just 10 minutes into chatting, I had actionable takeaways that would better my application, and I had the tough love and support I needed to sign up for the dreaded GMAT.
As an independent worker, I loved that she pushed me when I needed a kick in the butt, and she would step in with a little more help when I needed it, but she refrained from holding my hand. When I needed to share documents with my recommenders, she pressed me to share more concrete examples with bosses willing to give me there time. When I felt one essay may be good enough, she challenged me to give it another pass.
Rachel is masterful with words; she was able to take my desperate ideas and experiences and help me form a cohesive story for admissions. This was really what I needed in my admissions consultant given that my work lent more to bullet points than real sentences, and it has been a long time since I wrote an essay.
I love working with Rachel, and if I were to do this all over again, I would stick with her.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 10, 2020
esbschool

Joined: Jun 10, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Rachel Beck - the best!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

After chatting with a few other admissions consultants, I was holding out for someone who would be a few things: realistic yet optimistic, firm yet warm, and overall kind. Rachel was all of the above, and from our first call, I knew she would be a true partner in the grueling MBA admissions process.

I felt like I had decent credentials, but I was totally lost when it came to my story. I was all over the place, and Rachel really helped me narrow my focus and pick out which experiences would fit together to form a compelling narrative. In moments where I felt like my experiences weren't strong, she'd force me to dig deeper and understand how those have actually contributed to my development.

On top of really taking the time to understand me, Rachel always boosted me up when I felt down during the process. She'd help me regain the confidence I needed to convey my strengths and my goals, and she was always on my side. After an interview I thought went poorly, she immediately answered up the phone and helped me pick myself back up and move on to the next.

Ultimately, there is simply no one I could recommend more highly than Rachel. I've seen in other reviews here that she's a motherly figure, and I'd absolutely reiterate that. She is the most caring individual and the first person I wanted to call with good news about interviews and then admissions. I was admitted to my first and second choice schools - definitely in large part due to her help. You will not regret working with her!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 15, 2020
PB2021

Joined: Apr 15, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

mbaMission - Rachel Beck

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Despite solid work experience, with an Undergraduate GPA in the low 2's I knew that if I was going to have any chance of obtaining admission somewhere I was going to need to be able to tell my story incredibly well.

As I scanned the profiles of consultants to work with, Rachel immediately stood out. With a background in financial journalism, I knew that if my story needed to be told well, she was the one to help me do it.

From the outset Rachel was candid and realistic about my opportunities. This was not going to be easy, and while Rachel was going to be there to assist me throughout the process, she was not going to drive the process for me.

From our initial consultation through brainstorming and mock interviews, Rachel knew almost instinctively how to interpret where I was going with something and how best to reframe it back to me.

She was there to answer my endless questions about process, or strategy, to soothe my natural paranoia in overthinking every last detail. She was there to challenge me when needed, and apply tough love, too.

I had expected a fairly impersonal process, with someone to act as a sounding board. Instead, Rachel sought to get to know me, personally, to understand my motivations, and talk through *why* I wanted to do these things to help clarify my own thinking.

Rachel half-jokes that she feels like the den-mother to her clients. She means it. She e-mailed the other day, months after we were done, just to check in amidst the COVID crisis. I find that pretty revealing.

And oh by the way, I was accepted to every school that I applied to.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 24, 2020
nycapplicant2020

Joined: Mar 24, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Rachel Beck - Dream Consultant and a Must Hire!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I decided to apply to business school in late December, having not taken any tests, started any applications nor reached out to any recommenders. Most of my friends thought I was crazy that I could get my application in by the January 15 deadline. Rachel proved that my ambitious dreams were possible.

I reached out to Rachel after she was recommended by a friend. I decided I was only applying to Columbia and Stern, so I opted to buy a 5-hour package with Rachel to really perfect my applications. It was the best decision I have ever made.

Rachel helped me start and finish two applications in just three weeks. When I reached out to mbaMission, Rachel got back with me within the day and we scheduled our free consultation. I gave her quite a challenge: not only did I have a fast approaching deadline, but I am a journalist and an untraditional applicant. Yet Rachel helped me brainstorm effectively and allowed me to bring out my strengths throughout the process. She helped me clearly tell my story throughout my application, and highlighted why I would be a great addition to an incoming class with my unique background. Even though writing comes naturally to me, she was a brilliant editor who allowed my personality and skill set shine through in every part of my application, from my resumes to my essays . We would exchange drafts back and forth, and though she had a guaranteed 48-hour response time, she would often get back to me within the day.

When I received an offer to interview at Columbia, Rachel conducted a mock interview with me that allowed me to further sharpen my answers and explain why I wanted to attend business school. Shortly after my interview, I was accepted to CBS.

To be clear: I don't recommend anyone apply to business school in such a short amount of time. However, I know I wouldn't have gotten into my dream school without Rachel's invaluable assistance. I'm lucky to have her as a cheerleader and friend.

Read More

December 21, 2019
mallorym

Joined: Dec 21, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q42 V47

A+ Experience with Rachel Beck

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I could not have asked for a better experience working with Rachel. She came highly recommended from a family friend, and early into my 30 minute consultation call I could see why. She knew exactly what questions to ask to get the ideas flowing, and her brainstorming activity was an integral tool to the entire application process. She helped me tell MY story and I truly feel like my applications showed the most genuine, honest version of myself and highlighted what made me a strong applicant. I feel like the entire process not only helped me tell my story, but made me reflect on why I want to go to business school, setting me up for success once I actually begin. Her thoughtful approach made the process fulfilling and exciting.
Rachel gave excellent feedback throughout the process, and was prompt in responses. While mbaMission promises a 48 hour turnaround, Rachel often got back to me sooner than that. We communicated via email almost daily, but whenever I wanted to chat on the phone she was super quick to get something on the calendar, even that same day. We worked on three schools together and with each school I could feel myself becoming more confident in my story and a stronger advocate for myself. After the applications were submitted, Rachel was a huge help in my interview prep. mbaMission's insight into interviews made what can often be an intimidating process quite pleasant. I genuinely looked forward to showing off my interview skills at each school, and was saved from being stumped on some really tough questions through the firm's guides.
I would recommend Rachel to anyone. As hard as I worked, I could feel her effort mirroring mine. I only applied to three schools, and used Rachel's services for all three. I could not be more thrilled that I got accepted to all three of those schools, and now Rachel is helping with the hardest part-- choosing the best one for me! Thank you mbaMission for matching me with an awesome consultant, and a great supporter and friend (by this time, she knows me better than most!), in Rachel Beck.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 24, 2019
nycapplicant2019

Joined: Nov 18, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V41

Incredibly Helpful!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was very fortunate to be connected with Rachel by a friend whom she had recently guided into the Columbia Business School Class of 2021. As a resident of NYC with no intention of moving, I was very focused on earning admission to CBS. Rachel immediately connected with my story, and unlike several other consultants I had spoken with, she was optimistic about my credentials. Rachel’s process is thorough – she requests a ton of information upfront to better understand the candidate’s background and she is masterful at synthesizing that information into a compelling application tailored for each program. Additionally, her superior knowledge of the CBS admissions process was invaluable for crafting an application that would ultimately resonate with the admissions committee. I was admitted to CBS, and I am forever grateful to Rachel for helping me achieve that outcome.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 05, 2019
cbsmba22

Joined: Nov 05, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q49 V38

Rachel Beck - A True Partner!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I got connected to Rachel rather serendipitously: through a random 30 minute free consultation. I honestly hadn’t considered the idea of using a consultant, but my Kaplan GMAT tutor highly recommended mbamission, so I decided to give the free consultation a shot. I consider myself to be a diligent, organized, and process-oriented person, so naturally I was skeptical of the value that a consultant would add to my application. Spending $5,000+ was out of the question unless I was convinced that a consultant would be an invaluable resource throughout the process. Rachel was that and more – I can honestly say that I would have been lost without her. Within 10 minutes of hanging up our initial consultation, I had committed to working with Rachel.
I was blown away not only by Rachel’s incomparable knowledge of the process and intimate understanding of the characteristics adcoms look for in applicants, but also by her bubbly yet firm demeanor. Rachel was always friendly, but very direct and never one to sugarcoat anything. She gives her honest opinion, even if it is not what you want to hear at the time, but your application is stronger as a result.
Rachel’s main strength is her story telling ability. She has a unique talent of transforming monotonous details into a compelling narrative. Thoroughly prepared for every call, Rachel provided a fresh perspective and it was clear that she was invested in your journey. I relied heavily on Rachel to frame up my story and help articulate the message I was trying to convey.
Rachel began our intro call by saying that she is, “tough, but fair and I might not like her at times.” While there were some instances where she gave some tough feedback, she was an absolute pleasure to work with. And most importantly, I felt that she was truly invested in my success. We were a team and by the end of the process, I felt that we had built a strong professional relationship. She was one of the first people I notified when I got into my top choice and I could tell that she was genuinely thrilled for me. That meant a lot. I couldn’t have done it without you, Rachel!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

21 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Rachel Beck