GMAT Club

Rachel Beck Reviews

Company: mbaMission

A graduate of Lehigh University, Rachel Beck holds a master’s degree in journalism and earned her MBA from Columbia Business School, where she was awarded the prestigious Knight-Bagehot Fellowship in Economics Business Journalism. While at Columbia, Rachel was both a teaching assistant and an officer in the retail club. She also served as a resume reviewer for the MBA program’s Career Management Center and volunteered for iPrep, a program that helps the underprivileged learn and improve their interview skills. Since graduating from Columbia, Rachel has been an alumni admissions interviewer for the school. Before joining mbaMission, Rachel was the national business columnist and features writer for The Associated Press, where she covered such topics as the financial crisis and Great Recession, consumer trends, accounting issues in corporate America and executive pay. Rachel has interviewed dozens of Fortune 500 CEOs and has been featured in numerous radio and TV spots on major news events. Her award-winning columns and stories have appeared in newspapers and on online news sites worldwide.


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 46 reviews
June 29, 2019
OfftoWharton1989

Joined: Jun 28, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Rachel Beck

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was a challenging case: I was only able to apply in Round 3, I was coming in with a mediocre GRE (didn't even bother with the GMAT), and I only wanted to go to a top 4 school. (Wharton, Stanford, Booth, MIT.) Rachel was able to help me distill my unique, extremely non-traditional background into a coherent, compelling narrative.

She pushed me to dig far deeper into my motivations and story and asked far more difficult, penetrating questions than I would have asked of myself, which I think ended up being one of the most critical aspects of the entire process. Her skills as an editor were readily apparent as she was extraordinarily helpful in cutting out any unnecessary noise in my essays.

Finally, from a personality perspective, I found her to be a perfect fit for me. She is friendly but direct, encouraging but will not coddle you, and she is not afraid to call a spade a spade. She sent me back to the drawing board multiple times, and in the end I had a product I was extremely proud of. And most importantly, that end result was getting into the school of my dreams: Wharton.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 16, 2019
jbmunoz28

Joined: Mar 18, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Unbelievable experience.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Rachel was recommended by a friend who loved working with her. My experience was exactly the same! From the beginning she was very professional, knowledgable, and honest (which is something I really appreciated). She truly helped me figure out the ins and outs of the whole application process which can be very daunting, and she constantly checked on me to make sure things were going according to plan. She pushed me to work hard and I really appreciate all her help. I’ve recommended her to a few friends thinking about their MBA and I suggest if you’re curious at all about getting an MBA, to schedule a call with her. As I mentioned, she’s very honest and will let you know if she can help you or not.

Thank you, Rachel!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 12, 2019
apk008

Joined: Dec 16, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q40 V44

Great Experience!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was very back and forth on hiring a consultant for quite a while - obviously, it is a financial commitment, but then again so is B-school! After speaking with a few consultants I was pleasantly surprised by mbaMission's honesty and integrity. I saw great reviews for Rachel Beck, so I requested to have her as my consultant.

I signed up for an hourly rate and I think this was the best decision for me. I felt confident in my writing abilities and felt that I mostly needed help with determining a direction for each of my essays. I was glad I had Rachel to help me with everything along the way, from responding quickly to questions to brainstorming essay concepts. Rachel was very knowledgeable about the application process and always had creative ideas when we spoke.

It was helpful for me to take thorough notes when I spoke with Rachel to refer back to later, and Rachel was always very direct about what tasks should be done between our conversations. The application process is long and tiring - don't underestimate it! You will have to put in a lot of time, but having a consultant can accelerate the process if you are committed.

I would highly recommend using Rachel Beck if you are interested in hiring a consultant!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 11, 2019
agtexas

Joined: Mar 14, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V44

Thank you Rachel!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had my 30 minute consultation with Rachel after reading her reviews, and knew right away that I wanted to work with her. I started my 4 school package with her about 6 months before the Round 1 deadlines. We walked through my stats and timeline and she helped me map out the next few months so that I would be on top of everything.

From our first brainstorming call, I could tell that Rachel knew so much about this process that I would never have figured out. Her experience in the industry is extremely helpful and she is able to make such a hectic process run so smoothly. Through that first call, Rachel helped me figure out my story and which areas of my application I should highlight in my essays. When it came to writing my essays, Rachel already knew me so well from the brainstorming call that we were both able to quickly and efficiently outline each essay. It got to the point where Rachel would suggest using examples from my life that I hadn’t even thought of – a testament to how much Rachel works to get to know each of her clients. She is extremely punctual and often returned drafts back to me within 24 hours. She was my cheerleader throughout the entire process and I can confidently say that I would not have gotten into 3 business schools without her help. I cannot thank her enough for encouraging me and keeping a positive attitude when things did not look like they were going well. I highly recommend working with Rachel and mbaMission!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 09, 2019
ajs128

Joined: Oct 05, 2018

Posts: 5

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
740 Q49 V42

Highly Recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was originally reluctant to work with an admissions consultant because I consider myself a good writer and thought I could put together competitive applications without spending the money. After working with Rachel Beck at mbaMission for the past few months and getting into my dream school, I realize that her time is 100% worth the cost. Here's a brief list with a few of the many reasons I'd recommend Rachel to anyone hoping to get into a top-tier MBA program:

- She has years of experience navigating the admissions process and has a profound understanding of what adcoms like to see
- She's a highly skilled editor of essays, which can likely be attributed to her impressive background in journalism
- She's extremely organized and responsive
- She's very direct and always 100% honest (even when the truth may be hard to hear)

When I first started working with Rachel, I sent her an essay draft that I had been working on (which I thought was ready for submission at the time). Rachel didn't sugarcoat her feedback, and provided dozens of pointers that would help me improve the essay. Now when I look at that original draft versus the draft I wound up submitting, I realize that I never would've gotten into a top-tier program without her services. If youre a prospective student looking for an edge in applying to your dream school, Rachel is the consultant you're looking for.

Without Rachel, I wouldn't be going to my dream school this coming fall. The money spent for her time and assistance is the best investment I've ever made.

Read More

December 27, 2018
AnnFabensLassen

Joined: Dec 27, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q40 V44

Great Experience With Consultant!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I began working with Rachel after taking the GMAT twice and beginning the application process. I shopped around quite a bit (I spoke to 5 other consultants). Rachel was by far the most genuine - she has a way of being candid without being overly harsh.

Rachel was blunt upfront that she thought I needed to get my GMAT score higher to get into Columbia (my number one choice). But when I explained I wasn't willing to do that she didn't dwell and we immediately got to work doing all the other things we could to make my application as strong as possible.

I really liked Rachel's brainstorming method upfront. It seems like a lot of leg work but it forces you to really think through your narrative, and she helps you highlight things you might not have even thought were noteworthy.

Rachel also has great insight into what information the school actually want you to provide in your essays, which usually isn't exactly what the essay question actually asks.

Rachel always provided prompt responses and was very clear upfront about how to best work with her. My only regret is that I didn't start working with her earlier on in the process since I paid a flat fee.

In the end I got into Columbia, and I think it had a lot to do with the strong essays that Rachel helped me right. She is a journalist in training and she's an amazing editor. She also had great advice with other part of my app, like taking the HBX Core math course to boost my quant profile.

Overall, I would definitely spend the money to work with Rachel again. She was instrumental in me getting into the business school I really wanted to go to.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 21, 2018
zkrakovitz

Joined: Dec 21, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q49 V35

Thank you Rachel Beck (MBA Mission)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I initially was matched with Rachel during MBA Mission's free 30 minute consultation. She was extremely helpful at helping me develop a strategy to go about tackling the application process and I felt that her expertise would be vital to writing strong essays.

I worked with Rachel on an hourly basis where she assisted with everything from Resume formatting, topic generation, and essay editing for a number of different programs. She was always on-time in providing back updates or ideas and was excellent at pushing me to take the next step in my essays.

At the end of the day Rachel was extremely helpful and worth every penny. I owe her a great deal for successfully getting into some of my top choice schools.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 20, 2018
yungul

Joined: Aug 20, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q48 V40

Great application journey

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I started working with Rachel 15 months before submitting my application. In the beginning, we scheduled a kick-off call in which I told her about my background and why I thought I wanted to get an MBA. Upon analyzing my documents, she gave me a detailed roadmap. For example, as my undergraduate GPA was low, she recommended that I take summer courses. She thought that I lacked volunteer work and suggested that I try to find ways to give back to the community and my previous schools.

In parallel, we started working on my essays. I enjoyed the structure which she provided. We would brainstorm on the phone and then I would send bullets of my notes. After a few revisions, we would have polished essays. We worked on my resume and she provided me tips on how to approach people who would write me recommendations. In addition, we prepared for the interview.

I am now finished with the first semester of the program and a few of the first semester courses, such as Executive Leadership and Leadership and Organizational Change, required me to work on personal development plans. My previous work with Rachel became the foundation of these plans. What started out as an MBA application gave me the opportunity to take a strategic look at my career and personal life. I highly recommend Rachel as she has a unique talent to see through a person's core and reveal that in the application. As a bonus, during this process, you also have a chance to learn about what matters to you in life.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 19, 2018
hartmf

Joined: May 09, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Rachel Beck-mbaMission Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I had never used a consultant before applying to business school, but given my position as an untraditional candidate, I am not sure I would have gained entry to Columbia Business School without the expertise of Rachel Beck at mbaMission.

Despite Rachel's own standing as an alum of CBS, she knows a tremendous amount about the business school industry at large and was extremely deft at reading my own potentiality as an applicant from that first free consultation.

Before this experience, I had stereotyped consultants on being generalists under the guise of being experts, but Rachel learned my background more than any mentor even had. Even though she knew Columbia as a former student and as a consultant, she familiarized herself with minutiae of with the school's budding social enterprise club and leadership programs--two areas I was interested in.

Even though I used the "a la carte" services via mbaMission, Rachel answered my every impromptu question about the process--going beyond her job description and the services I was entitled for--and almost always she would respond within a 24 hour period to boot.

I primarily used Rachel as a consultant for honing my resume and essays, but she was instrumental in helping me prepare for informal interviews with staff and my official interview for Columbia. She was thoughtful in tailoring her responses to any question or situation for me Mollie as a candidate--I cannot emphasize this enough.

As stressful as this process is, Rachel helped me manage my own mental headspace and timeline.
Like others below, I recommend reaching out to Rachel in the early spring before your application is due. As a writer, I struggled with the composition of my written components--I was often too emotional and close to the subjects I was writing about and I was very attached to Columbia; I could not always see my deliverables objectively and that's where Rachel came in--she did not dismiss any part of my story or argument, but she helped me with an economy of language, she helped me with the "so what." We did about 7 drafts for each product and though it was humbling, I have never been prouder of an application in its completion. Speaking candidly, she can be blunt in her criticism of one's writing, but trust me: she's on the money.

In sum, Rachel Beck was a true part of my application to business school and she is part of my success in getting in.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 14, 2018
Bowtye

Joined: Nov 13, 2014

Posts: 108

Kudos: 71

Verified score:
740 Q50 V40

Naive about the process, but Rachel saved the day

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Whether you think you need a consultant or not, everyone, and I mean everyone, should at least have a free consultation. There is no special formula to guarantee admission, but having someone with experience is invaluable. I truly believe that Rachel and I put together my best possible candidacy.

This isn't Rachel's first rodeo and mbaMission definitely takes notes on attributes, application approaches and experiences that has made past candidates successful - so when Rachel makes a suggestion, it comes with insight and knowledge that only someone with experience can provide. It's OK to disagree with Rachel and she is very open to your opinion, but at the same time trust her.

The application process is a marathon, not a sprint, and you two are a team. Rachel takes time to fully digest your life story - from childhood to the time of your candidacy - in order to highlight themes, interesting facts and other strong points. In order for you two to be successful at putting together your best application, the appropriate time is needed for the process to work. Rachel maintains constant communication throughout the process to help guide you as you construct your application(s).

Interview preparation in general is awkward. No matter how bad you want cancel the Skype interview prep with Rachel, fight through it. Nailing the actual interview with the school is so important and there is a fine line between sounding like a robot - and having automated responses - and being well-versed in the practice of interviews. Rachel provides great advice on how to structure responses (yes, even the order for sub-bullets of a response) to help the response flow smoothly or tease future responses, which may help guide the interview in your favor.

Highly recommend reaching out to Rachel if you're new to the MBA application process. Also, starting the application process in April or May will help. You will be surprised how fast spots fill and how detailed this process will be. Most likely you will be working full-time through it all, so allow time for Rachel to do her work and try not submit a first draft a week before the deadline. Rachel and I had 10+ drafts on everything. I think the results from my applications are objective proof of the time and care that the team, Rachel and I, put into everything.

Read More


21 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Rachel Beck