GMAT Club

Manhattan Prep GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep Powered by Kaplan prepares students to excel on the GMAT and in business school. All of our teachers have scored in the 99th percentile on the GMAT and have a median of 8 years of experience teaching the GMAT. We don't just teach you the skills and strategies essential to achieving a high score on the test. We also teach you how to study, think logically and critically, make effective decisions...in short, we give you all the tools you need so that you're well equipped to succeed on the GMAT and in grad school.
Save up to $100 on Manhattan Prep courses + $250 bonus with GMAT Club
Manhattan Prep Deal Page

Manhattan Prep GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$510
Reviews
88
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep MGMAT Interact
 $999  $899
Reviews
23
Average Rating
4.6
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Live Online
 $1599  $1599
Reviews
133
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$2450
Reviews
88
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Bootcamp
$2599
Reviews
0
Average Rating
0
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$4600
Reviews
88
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$6750
Reviews
88
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Manhattan Prep GMAT Instructors

Jamie Nelson
Reviews
39
Average Rating
5.0
Mark Sullivan
Reviews
31
Average Rating
4.7
Jonathan Schneider
Reviews
29
Average Rating
5.0
Keith Blume
Reviews
25
Average Rating
4.9
Avi Gutman
Reviews
24
Average Rating
4.8

Reviews:

696 Reviews
4.8 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
January 11, 2012
mba2gb

Joined: Sep 27, 2005

Posts: 23

Kudos: 0

MGMAT Online - Systematic Approach

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Location Online

I think the perceptions will vary from one person to another in choosing a course - live online course, classroom teaching ..etc. On the other hand, there are quite a few who will NOT prefer a course at all.

I took the Manhattan live online course (don't ask me why -:)). So my comments

1. You must have already heard this - Some of the Manhattan study guides are exceptional - Sentence Correction, Number properties, Word translations Equations, Inequalities & VICs. Even if you don't take the course, you may need these guides (if you weak in certain areas such as Sentence Correction).

2. The main purpose of any online course or classroom coaching in general is to make any person preparing for the GMAT systematic. There is some homework given, you know what you need to do each week. Manhattan mainly focuses on completing the official guide. Study Guides
separate question types of OG according to each topic, which makes it easy to understand our weakness, clear, our basics etc.

3. There are other things given along with the course.
Math Challenge set
Official Guide general, OG Verbal, OG math,
Labs
Practice exams - Cambridge review - 3, Manhattan GMAT - 3

4. Instructors are good, polite and patient.

I think I have said more than required -:). Any course is another good helper aid in getting us closer to our target score. Bottom-line, it depends a lot on how you prepare and how much you practice if you want to reach a score of 700+ or 750+.

Read More

January 11, 2012
jingy77

Joined: Sep 28, 2007

Posts: 120

Kudos: 18

MGMAT Online - Pleasantly Surprised

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Location Online

I took the MGMAT virtual 9 week course, and it was pretty good. It is mainly to solidify your core skills needed to pass the exam. The extra material they give you is good. I was pleasantly surprised at how learning in the virtual world was just as effective as a classroom setting. I liked the fact that I could wake up Saturday morning, stay in my sleeping clothes, and lounge in front of my computer while I took the class. It is interactive where as you get a microphone and have messaging capabilities. The only thing that is not as good as the classroom would be the actual person-to-person contact. Of course that is better, but the virtual way was not bad at all.

Read More

January 11, 2012
nervousgmat

Joined: Feb 06, 2007

Posts: 935

Kudos: 260

MGMAT Online - Great Instructors

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Location Online

I highly recommend Manhattan GMAT on-line course. It is live and taught by the teachers who scored in the 99th percentile. In addition, MGMAT puts all of the instructors through a 100-hour training program, so they definitely come prepared for the course. I took the on-line course with MGMAT in winter, and I must say that I was very impressed with the quality of the material offered and the instructors (we had 2). The good thing about the on-line course is that you can take in while at home in your bed :) and you can ask questions live (they provide the headphones with microphone). The class is highly interactive, so you will not be bored at all.
I am not affiliated in any way with MGMAT. I'm just a big fan of their teaching model and the quality of the materials. If you are interested, I've dug out a free virtual preview class posting on their web-site. The event is happening tomorrow, so you can sign up for the preview of their on-line class today and see what their program is all about tomorrow :) .

Read More

January 11, 2012
crolph1907

Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posts: 17

Kudos: 3

MGMAT -- Excellent Instructor

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Today is my last MGMAT class. Good course, and instructor Josh Braslow was excellent. He has 8 years of GMAT teaching experience and very well versed in all GMAT subject matter. He is also very good at keeping everyone in the class engaged. There are 9 class sessions, 9 online lab classes. One thing I liked was the ability to watch recorded sessions of any classes you miss. You also get a weekly 30 min session of free phone tutoring. The recordings are from the online class, and the material is pretty much the same. If anyone is considering the online class, I would also recommend it. I live an hour from the MGMAT center, and if I were to do it again, I would consider taking the online one.
I took a Princeton Review practice test last year and got a 550 without ever looking at a gmat question or having an idea of what was on the test. My first MGMAT score was 610. Second was 650, and third 680. I'm doing really bad on the quant. I got a 61%/96% on my last test. My test is scheduled 3 days from now. Wish me luck!
Anyone with questions about the course, instructor or books, please feel free to ask.

Read More

January 11, 2012
lia

Joined: Feb 08, 2004

Posts: 5

Kudos: 6

MGMAT -- Very Pleased

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I am currently enrolled in a Manhattan GMAT course (NYC), and I'm very pleased with it. The office is great, they treat their students very well, the technology is top-notch (new laptops with WiFi connections), and the teachers are _excellent_.

The workload is HEAVY, but of course you shouldn't spend all of that money to go and slack off. The homework is a very important part of the course, and they expect you to do it, no excuses.

I don't know if it is a fluke, but after two lessons my practice exam scores went up 40 points. We'll see...

Read More

January 11, 2012
nink

Joined: Nov 07, 2008

Posts: 2396

Kudos: 777

Self-reported Score:
770 Q44 V50

MGMAT -- Good

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

I took the MGMAT 9 week class prep course and all the online classroom recordings are available to me as part of the package I purchased. They are great but not as great as in class instructors.

In my opinion, unless you really need tips and strategies, one can do just fine with MGMAT + OG books. I mean, MGMAT class really was all about forcing me to study 30-40 hrs every week on homework. Most of the stuff they went over in class was strategy and tips. If you think these in class prep classes are going to teach you everything, including fundamentals, you are mistaken.I found this hard fact after spending $1400 in the course.

So to elaborate on MGMAT - my personal opinions:

* What did I expect from MGMAT 9 week course and was I satisfied with the program?
I thought for $1400 or whatever they charged me, I expected the course to teach me EVERYTHING, including the fundamentals in both math and verbal. However, this wasn't the case. The 9 week course is more about teaching you strategy for GMAT and also to provide overview of each section. You are expected to do all the studying on your own based on their syllabus. BTW - the syllabus is so unrealistic. No way in hell I can work FT and get all the stuff done.

You also get those online classes ($900 or so) as part of the 9 week course. Those recordings are boring and not as effective as class lectures. However, learning the GMAT strategy alone can increase your score by 70 to 100 pts in my opinion. So if that's worth it for you, then take either the online course or in class course. Otherwise, just buy MGMAT books and study by yourself. that's what their syllubus makes you do anyway.

* What's the quality of the lecturer in classes?
My lecturer was top notch. She had Stanford UG and Harvard MBA. She knew what she was teaching and her lectures were vivid and fun most of the time.

Read More


190 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Manhattan Prep