GMAT Club

Square One Prep Admissions Consulting Reviews

We have been where you are now - square one with the application process for business school. We know this juncture is critical to you and can help you just as we've helped hundreds of other MBA applicants since 2009. Our approach is immersive, methodical and proven.
Square One Prep Deal Page

Square One Prep Admissions Consulting Reviews

Square One Prep Premium Service
$5900
Reviews
284
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Square One Prep consultants

Kathryn Lucas
Reviews
155
Average Rating
4.9
Lara Avsar
Reviews
9
Average Rating
5.0
Crystal Nwokorie
Reviews
7
Average Rating
5.0
Kathleen Danoher
Reviews
6
Average Rating
5.0
Julia Kurnik
Reviews
6
Average Rating
4.8

Reviews:

321 Reviews
4.9 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
March 22, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Hands-On, Detailed Advice

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

"I am so grateful that I had the support of Square One Prep throughout my exhausting application process. Before starting it, I thought I would be fine putting my applications together by myself, but after working with my consultant for just a few days, I realized that she was a total game-changer.

The personalized attention she provided and her detailed understanding of the intricacies of each school’s application were crucial in helping me craft perfect applications. I can’t stress enough how valuable and self-assuring it was that she was always available, even on short notice, to provide such thoughtful advice and critique my work. She brought out the best in me and it worked - I am ecstatic to be attending Fuqua and I know I would not have had such success without Square One!"

Read More

March 21, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
600

Square One Prep is the Way to Go!!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

"I can't say enough about the team at Square One Prep! Kathryn Lucas and her consultants helped me to navigate my way to being accepted by both of the schools I applied to, one with a scholarship. As a non-traditional military applicant, I didn't have the technical resume writing skills, strategic insights or creative direction required to put together a strong application. Square One Prep educated and guided me through the entire process. They helped me define my career goals, refine my essays, polish my resume, and prepare for the interviews. I felt confident at every milestone, because of the time, energy, and personal attention that I received from Square One Prep. And to top it off, they were extremely responsive and flexible, often getting back to me in minutes and always free to work around my schedule which included a deployment.
If you're looking to put together a killer MBA application and to get into one of the top schools in the world, then look no further; Square One Prep is the way to go!"

Read More

March 21, 2015
GMATveteran

Joined: Dec 19, 2010

Posts: 25

Kudos: 14

Self-reported Score:
740 Q47 V44
710 Q44 V44

Solid advice without over charging

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I was admitted to the Ross School of Business & a few others to which I applied, thanks to Kathryn's help.

Kathryn Lucas is a wonderful admissions consultant who patiently mentored me and taught me the intricacies of the MBA admissions process. In my opinion, her most outstanding professional attribute is her ability to consistently refine and improve my applications essays (no matter how well-written they appear at first), yet allow me to stay genuine and maintain my own voice and sense of humor. Moreover, her detailed and thorough mock interviews prepared me to walk into any admissions interview with complete confidence.

One other thing I remember about Kathryn was that when she knew I was ready, she advised against any further unnecessary hourly services, even though that would've meant more fees for her. I respect Kathryn's integrity & recommend her without reservation.

Read More

March 18, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highest recommendation for Square One Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Working with Square One Prep has been amazing. I first did a free consult with the company's owner. On that same day, a Sunday, she aligned me with my consultant who, also on the same day, gave me a 4-hour assessment. I thought my consultant would simply help me improve my essays. Throughout the course of my assessment, I realized that he was going to get to really know me and was going to help me figure out what my goals were, what schools had the best fit, and what strengths I had to make sure to communicate, amongst other things. Given the time constraint (less than a month to apply to four top schools), I needed someone I could contact 24/7, and who would set the right pace. The owner said they were available 24/7, and she meant it! I was really impressed at how my consultant always made time for me, even when I had to talk to and work with him during weekends! What impressed me the most is that my consultant actually became my coach: he always brought out the best in me and helped me push through the hard times when I’d feel blocked.
Now I’m facing the tricky part of having to choose which school to attend, and even now I count my consultant to give me the best advice. My top choice was Kellogg. I got in there and at Darden. But then I got a scholarship to Fuqua. As far as dilemmas go, this is a great one, and I owe it to Square One Prep.
I can’t thank Square One Prep enough, and highly recommend their services for anyone applying to a top MBA program.

Read More

March 17, 2015
Risahuang

Joined: Jun 01, 2012

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excellent! Totally beyond my expectation

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

"I have to say Square One Prep is a very special service provider, totally beyond my expectation. It's highly professional and satisfied my needs through its caring, encouraging and inspiring service. If you like the service in a tailor-made suit store, you will like Square One Prep.
Before I chose Square One Prep, I did a lot of research and spoke to many large firms. Kathryn Lucas from Square One Prep hit me on 3 things -
1st, she was professional and super efficient. Right after our first call, she sent me an impressive professional timetable which was designed for me (one of the best calendars I have ever seen in my 8 years' project management experience. I said to myself: WOW!).
2nd, I was concerned that she wouldn't know how to work with Chinese clients. She connected me with 3 former clients from mainland China. They gave not just 'good' comments, but 'surprisingly good' comments. I wondered what was the magic that made those people recommend her in such an emotional way? Now I know the reason and am happy to endorse Kathryn in the same way.
3rd, she was sincere and candid. She addressed the imperfections in me and herself/Square One Prep frankly. Someone who is willing to address flaws is one who has a strong heart and confidence.
We worked together for 5 months. 3 obstacles constantly occurred and Kathryn always got me past them.
1st, I had insecurity. Even after I chose Square One Prep, I doubted that a stranger could know me and guide me to generate impressive essays about myself in such a short time. Then Kathryn gave me an assessment that lasted five hours and was very patient, learning my story. She is a good listener, a fun reader of my mind and an experienced analyst of people. She earned my trust in that call, which became the foundation of our cooperation in the following 5 months.
2nd, a lot of matters disturbed my essay-writing plan - sudden lost inspiration, recommendation letter troubles, and poor test scores. Kathryn handled those situations. She knew when she should let me be free for days to re-pack myself, how to adjust my timeline to fit changes and when to be strict to focus me back on my goals.
3rd, I felt low in mood sometimes after I saw some applicants' profiles and their impressive experiences. Kathryn sensed my worries, encouraged me, cheered for my good qualities, successes and dreams, and inspired me to carry my special parts onto the paper.
Kathryn solved all those problems because she used her heart to guide me. She once told me why she likes her job, which seems super challenging from my view. She said: I love to help others realize their dreams.
Now I have an offer and I truly thank Kathryn for helping me pursue and get my dream. I feel lucky and highly recommend Square One Prep!"
–client from: China
–admitted to: Foster

Read More

March 12, 2015
Ward2012

Joined: Sep 13, 2011

Posts: 572

Kudos: 146

Self-reported Score:
720

Square One Review -- Highly Recommended

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

I would like to recommend Square One Prep, which is owned by Kathryn Lucas, a Wharton MBA. Kathryn runs a tight ship and is very organized and encouraging, but honest. During our consultation, she immediately provided structure and examples from her own application experience as well as other clients with whom she has worked to show me how I could put my best foot forward and succeed.

         There are many excellent admissions consultants out there, and I think it’s impossible to name a “best” admissions consultant because every applicant has unique needs and different personalities can mesh in different ways. But one thing that stood out to me with Square One Prep is the structure that they provide.

Immediately after my free consultation (done on a Saturday!), Kathryn sent me a calendar with every day scheduled between my consultation call and the deadlines. As I was applying to several programs, this structure resonated with me.

         The organization, support, knowledge, and skill at listening didn’t stop with the owner. My consultant was also excellent. In addition to having a top MBA, he has a background in teaching writing and also in psychology. His edits on my essays were always probing and thoughtful. He also brought in a lot of business concepts but made them relatable so that they were expressed better in my essays. He was extremely responsive, even during the craziness of the hurricane on the East Coast in October – he and I both reside in New York City.

         Another thing that is unique about Square One Prep is that they have developed a system to streamline the recommendation process, which my recommenders loved. I did too, because the recommendations were stronger for it.

         I talked with over 20 consultants in my process, and worked with two others before calling Square One. When I started my partnership with them, I finally felt calm. I knew I was in good hands.

Read More

March 11, 2015
jack13

Joined: Aug 27, 2012

Posts: 2

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
730 Q47 V44

Excellent Results

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Square One Prep was essential to my securing offers and scholarships at top schools, including my top choice - Columbia.

My advisor's insight into the business world and the business school admissions process was greatly valued in my transition from the military to a top MBA institution. Throughout the application process my advisor helped me develop and refine a compelling story which tied my military experiences to my future career goals, and showed how each school could prepare me to achieve my career goals in consulting. Working with him, I was able to create a resume that effectively communicated my military experiences in terms that were attractive to MBA admissions committees. With his help I learned how to consistently weave "my story" into my essays, interviews, and various email and phone calls with admissions officers. I have recommended Square One Prep to my peers also considering an MBA when leaving the Military, and would not hesitate to use Square One Prep again.

Read More


83 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Square One Prep