GMAT Club

Square One Prep Admissions Consulting Reviews

We have been where you are now - square one with the application process for business school. We know this juncture is critical to you and can help you just as we've helped hundreds of other MBA applicants since 2009. Our approach is immersive, methodical and proven.
Square One Prep Deal Page

Square One Prep Admissions Consulting Reviews

Square One Prep Premium Service
$6100
Reviews
311
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Square One Prep consultants

Kathryn Lucas
Reviews
158
Average Rating
4.9
Lara Avsar
Reviews
9
Average Rating
5.0
Lee Kaplan
Reviews
8
Average Rating
5.0
Eva Leung
Reviews
8
Average Rating
4.8
Mary Winograd
Reviews
7
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

349 Reviews
4.9 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
September 01, 2015
fgarnel

Joined: Mar 14, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q49 V38

A priceless experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I must say that investing in a partnership with Square One Prep was without any doubt one of the best decisions I ever made. My main objective on this partnership with SOP, and with Kathryn Lucas specifically, was to have someone keeping my focused as I was starting a new project and had recently moved to a new country. I didn't know I needed as much strategic and editorial help until I began to see Kathryn's edits to my work, starting with my CV and going all the way through to my final essay! I never thought that the quality of my profile and applications would reach such a high level as they did. The commitment to our goals, the rhythm of work imposed, the discipline and the constant challenges that Kathryn "surgically” created during the process were impressive and can only illustrated what an enormous expert she is in this kind of process.

We, I mean I, ended up getting offers from 2 of the 3 business schools we applied to, INSEAD and IMD. I say we because it was such a team effort. With the third application, LBS, considering my profile as a civil engineer and the fact that we applied in the final round, I must say that reaching the waiting list was in fact a achievement by itself. Therefore, the experience of working with SOP can be resumed to one word: priceless.

Thank you so much.

Read More

July 13, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
750 Q51 V40

Best Choice I've made!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

As a younger Chinese applicant with a low undergraduate GPA, few extracurricular activities and a post MBA goal to switch my career, I know I never would have gotten this far without the help of Square One Prep. After I finished my GMAT, I did some research online and connected with Square One Prep. On my first free consultation, I spoke with Kathryn, the firm's owner. She spent longer than expected time listening to my story and assured me that, despite my challenging metrics, admission to a top business school was still feasible. She said she felt that way because of my story. No other firm I talked to took the time to learn my story. She actually did two calls with me to ensure she understood me and my needs.
Square One Prep helped me with my application strategy and differentiate myself from other candidates whose educational and occupational backgrounds are similar to mine. My counselor was very responsible and insightful. When we worked together, we sometimes edited my essay to a single question back and forth for as many as six times until he believed the essay had no more room for improvement. Throughout the application process, with the help of Square One Prep, I not only got admitted to two top schools - Stern and Johnson - but also discovered the true goals I’d like to pursue in life.
I will recommend Square One Prep to my friends when any of them decide to pursue a top MBA program.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 07, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Worth Every Penny

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

As a reapplicant to H/S/W, I knew I HAD TO get it right the second time around (GMAT: 720 GPA:3.81 Industry: Consulting). I had worked with Stratus Prep the previous year and was disappointingly not admitted into any program. Even though Stratus offered to work with me again at no extra charge, I felt that if their standard cookie-cutter, factory produced applications didn't work for me the first time, it probably wouldn't work again. After shopping around, I chose Square One Prep because I was keen on their sharp-tongued founder, Kathryn. She was just my style - to the point, personal, and demanding. Kathryn was the most expensive counselor from Square One but I decided to make the investment because the last thing I wanted was to become a 3rd time applicant. The journey was as personally rewarding as the destination. In working with Kathryn I learned that bschool apps are not just a "process" but a creative exercise that is meant to be reflective and growing. Kathryn encouraged me to dig deeply and take risks, helping me tease out stories that highlighted my personality and unique experiences - what makes me, me. She was just as invested in my final product as I was - even providing feedback on Christimas! When I was invited to interview, Kathryn upped the game and challenged my answers with excruciating detail, sometimes even making me a bit frustrated. Ultimately, I'm glad she did because I was admitted to Wharton! I definitely recommend going with Square One Prep. The boutique style is much more conducive for personal, memorable applications than bschool factory shops, which wear an all-too-familiar style that are turning bschool schools off more and more.

Read More

May 01, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 290

Kudos: 75

Self-reported Score:
740 Q47 V45

Highly Recommended!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

I spoke with many MBA consultants before deciding on Square One Prep. After my initial call with the owner (Kathryn), who would eventually become my personal consultant as well, I knew I had found the right partner and signed on shortly thereafter. Starting from the initial call, I could tell that she really cared about her clients’ success and went above and beyond in order to ensure it. Once I officially signed on, she took the time to really get to know me – my background, personal experiences, and future goals. When it was time to tackle essays, she pushed me on our topic calls to really get me to open up and create the best possible narrative to put forth in my application. Kathryn was also firm when it was necessary and kept me on a strict and rigorous schedule in order to make sure I would be able to get everything done by the deadlines. As I came from a unique background, Kathryn and I knew it was crucial to tell my story in a compelling way that aligned with my overall narrative; she did not disappoint in helping do that. I can say with confidence that my applications would not have been nearly as effective without the help and guidance of Square One Prep.

I have already recommended Square One Prep to several of my close friends and will continue to recommend them to anyone who asks me about hiring an MBA consultant. Take the initial call with Square One Prep and you will see what makes them different and why the decision to work with them is an easy one.

Read More

April 10, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Square One Prep For International Students

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

The first thing that struck me about Square One Prep was their personable nature yet efficient, no-nonsense approach! Throughout the application process, my consultant never minced words or hesitated to challenge me, be it by identifying weaknesses that I needed to address, tearing apart my
resume to showcase more impact, or going through 10+ iterations on my essays to convey the right ideas and emotions. She was always committed to helping me perfect my applications regardless of how long they took to craft!

My consultant was also a great fit for me given my working style and professional commitments I had a grueling and unpredictable work schedule, travelled 80% of the time, and was in a time zone 10.5 hours ahead of her. Despite all this, her turnaround time for essay reviews was amazing, and I often felt like I was her ONLY client! Finally, the nuanced feedback I received during mock interviews proved invaluable when I went through the real thing!


–client from: India
–admitted to: Chicago Booth

Read More

April 06, 2015
LisiSD

Joined: Jan 16, 2015

Posts: 41

Kudos: 4

Square One Prep - Essay Review Hourly Services

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

On paper, getting into a top 30 MBA program was….a longshot, to say the least. I had a below average GPA (3.1) and a way below average GMAT score (under 600). Nonetheless, I still thought I could have a shot at top 30 schools. I really believe that the story that I was able to tell in my essays, thanks to Square One Prep’s revisions, was a critical factor in getting interviews and being admitted.

From the beginning, I knew I needed help. I shopped around for an MBA consultant for a few days but Square One quickly became the apparent choice. Kathryn immediately set up a phone call with me to discuss my process, what I had done so far, and what still needed to be done. She was extremely knowledgeable and knew all the due dates, essay questions, and specs from all the schools I was interested in. I told her from the start what my budget was (not very much) and she was able to work with me and prepare me (by sending me previous examples of successful applications) so that I gave her my very best draft before she started to edit. This essentially reduced costs and resulted in a better product since she wasn’t starting with a very rough draft.

And, of course, her essay revisions made my words come to life. I am extremely satisfied with her services and have since recommended Square One to a number of fellow applicants.

For being so intelligent, efficient, and available, I also found Kathryn to be extremely human and feel like she genuinely cared about me being successful. She kept checking in with me long after her services had ended, and offered gratuitous advice simply because she cared. The investment in Square One Prep has been hands down the best I have made throughout the application process.

Read More

March 31, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Thank you!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Kathryn has been instrumental in assisting me to get into two amazing schools - Chicago Booth and London Business School. I chose to go to London Business School at the end which has been fantastic and life changing experience.

With a demanding job at the big four accounting firm, I had only five days during the holidays to prepare for my mba application essays, where Kathryn helped me with the edits, now I look back her advice was great and increased my chance of being accepted.

She also helped with preparing for interviews, which help to calm me down and structure my responses nicely. Her advice was invaluable.

I am really happy i have gone with Kathryn as my MBA application coach and my MBA experiences have been memorable.

-an MBA 2012 from London Business School

Read More

March 30, 2015
artemlexx

Joined: Mar 23, 2011

Posts: 6

Kudos: 0

Excellent service

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Being an international applicant, I was seeking guidance from a professional who could help me through the challenging application process and get an offer from a top MBA program in the US. Fortunately for me I chose to work with Square One Prep. They helped me with every aspect of my application - from choosing the right schools and developing a strong resume to shaping my essays and working over mock interviews. My consultant was available every day, every hour of the day. The 10-hour time difference between us never played a role. When I was developing my resume and writing essays my consultant suggested which strengths I should emphasize and why - they changed depending on the school. She then helped me refine my ideas until my essays were as compelling as possible. When I started to get interview invitations, she gave me a very thorough 3-hour mock interview. As a result, my actual interviews with admission officers were not stressful at all.
As a result of Square One Prep's assistance I got three offers, two of which included $40K scholarships. Here too my consultant helped me choose the school that would best fit me and my goals. This summer I start my studies at Ross, and I can't thank Square One Prep enough.

Read More

March 22, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Hands-On, Detailed Advice

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

"I am so grateful that I had the support of Square One Prep throughout my exhausting application process. Before starting it, I thought I would be fine putting my applications together by myself, but after working with my consultant for just a few days, I realized that she was a total game-changer.

The personalized attention she provided and her detailed understanding of the intricacies of each school’s application were crucial in helping me craft perfect applications. I can’t stress enough how valuable and self-assuring it was that she was always available, even on short notice, to provide such thoughtful advice and critique my work. She brought out the best in me and it worked - I am ecstatic to be attending Fuqua and I know I would not have had such success without Square One!"

Read More

March 21, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
600

Square One Prep is the Way to Go!!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

"I can't say enough about the team at Square One Prep! Kathryn Lucas and her consultants helped me to navigate my way to being accepted by both of the schools I applied to, one with a scholarship. As a non-traditional military applicant, I didn't have the technical resume writing skills, strategic insights or creative direction required to put together a strong application. Square One Prep educated and guided me through the entire process. They helped me define my career goals, refine my essays, polish my resume, and prepare for the interviews. I felt confident at every milestone, because of the time, energy, and personal attention that I received from Square One Prep. And to top it off, they were extremely responsive and flexible, often getting back to me in minutes and always free to work around my schedule which included a deployment.
If you're looking to put together a killer MBA application and to get into one of the top schools in the world, then look no further; Square One Prep is the way to go!"

Read More


83 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Square One Prep