GMAT Club

MBA Admissions Hourly Services Reviews

Since 2001, Stacy Blackman Consulting (SBC) clients have been admitted to every top business school worldwide, often with merit scholarships. SBC has a complete panel of former Admissions Officers from every top MBA program in-house. The SBC team has MBA expertise at every top US and EU school, has graduated from the best MBA programs and understands career paths in every industry, traditional and non- traditional. 

SBC deeply values mentor-ship within its client engagements and limits the number of clients for each consultant, engaging with clients only after its Validation Team evaluates candidacy strength. Stacy Blackman Consulting delivers results, as shown through its record of the highest number of online reviews across multiple sites, such as YELP. SBC offers a limited number of free consultations weekly for inquiries who have been pre-screened by our tenured team. Contact us for a free consultation to request time with an SBC Principal.      
4.9 /5 Average Rating
5 star
121
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
Based on 128 reviews
January 16, 2016
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q48 V38

Outstanding re-applicant support

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I cannot say enough about the support I received from the SBC team. I chose hourly services as a way to help me appropriately tell my story. Erin's help was critical in allowing my voice to shine through in my essays. The team was incredibly responsive and met all timelines we agreed upon without fail and without a perceived loss of quality. Erin was completely transparent about agreed upon services that we would be using as well as an anticipated number of hours or half hours each service would deduct from our total hours prior to embarking on the service. I truly appreciated the transparency throughout the process not only with billing but also in giving feedback. I paid for real feedback from a professional who would help me achieve my objectives in a timely way. SBC delivered 100%. My experience felt tailored to me and what I needed. On the front end, we anticipated a set number of hours would be necessary to achieve my objectives, and we met that estimate. I did not have to re-buy time, nor did I feel like time was wasted at any point. I would whole-heartedly endorse SBC.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 29, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Thanks SBC & Mick, I'm Headed to Booth

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

My GPA, GMAT score, work experience and undergrad profile were all very good but not enough alone to slack on the essays. After a couple months of beating myself up over the essays and countless revisions, I lost focus and confidence. That is when a friend, who previously used SBC to help get accepted to Booth, referred me to SBC to give my application a leg up on the competition.

I was struggling to make my essays unique and my friend knew that I needed an outsider and professional to find a common theme to weave throughout my entire application. This is exactly what Mick with SBC was able to do after speaking with me on our very first call. He then helped me get rid of all the things that I had written (and that I was hanging on to for dear life) that were irrelevant to the theme, making room for the main story that I was trying to tell. In the end, it was just what I needed to tie my work experience, volunteer activities, and undergrad background together with my career goals and what I want to achieve at Booth.

I am happy to say that I have been accepted to Booth and may not have done it without the support of Mick and SBC. My total SBC experience was exceptional. The SBC contact, Esther Magna, whom I first reached out to, immediately matched me with Mick, also a Booth alum and who has very similar interests and hobbies as mine. SBC does a great job at finding the right person for you. Mick helped me take my essays to the next level, and even spent some time reviewing my resume and prepping me for my interview. He had very unique insights that only a professional would have. He was always available when I needed him and very prompt at answering my questions. The price was very fair and the value is endless.

Thanks Mick and SBC!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 19, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 22

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:

Couldn't Have Done it w/o Dawn @ Stacy Blackman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I evaluated multiple consulting firms when I first started my MBA application journey. Because Stacy Blackman had a strong presence and Dawn (from SBC) was highly recommended by a close friend who is now at Wharton, I chose to move forward with Dawn (fortunately she was available to work with me!).

When I started, I had a story and a ton of different ways to approach my applications. Dawn is very strategic in nature and was extremely helpful in guiding me to create a focused brand. She's very in-tune with what the top schools are looking for, which helped ensure I mentioned relevant information in each application. I applied to 4 top schools and was accepted to 3, 2 of which I received generous merit fellowships for. I have no doubt that without Dawn's help, I would not have been able to achieve this level of success.

I highly recommend Dawn!

Read More

June 02, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 3

Kudos: 0

Admitted to my top choice

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Had a great experience with SBC and Bill C. in particular. He was very framiliar with my top school and helped immensely throughout the process. It was worth the price and cost without question. I enjoyed working with Bill he helped me with resumes, essays, interview coaching, and kept my spirits up. Resume review and essay editing were the biggest value add. I would recommend him to any other prospective student. Greatest skill was knowledge and expertise. Bill was punctual and always on time which I appreciate very much. I was fortunate to be admitted to my top choice due to Bill's advice, help and support. Thanks again Bill!

Read More

December 28, 2014
Anonymous

Posts: 5

Kudos: 0

Sherry Holland & SBC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Hello:
MBA admissions is not an easy process and it requires a lot of hard work. But hard work alone isn't enough. I realized it when I started writing essays and learned that I was not even close to writing a decent essay. Coming from a highly competitive pool made things worse. So I shopped around and after having mock sessions with different consultants, I finally landed up with Sherry Holland from Stacy Blackman Consulting. She impressed me from our first conversation. She was meticulous and prompt. Her turnaround time was really quick. Regardless of our time difference, she was always super timely with returning my essays or queries. Stacy Blackman has an incredible system where they guide you on a introspective path. I discovered things about myself that I had never thought of earlier. Thanks to Sherry Holland and Stacy Blackman Consulting, I will be attending Ross next year.

Read More

April 30, 2014
Anonymous

Posts: 45

Kudos: 1

Top Notch !

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Due to various reasons, I could only start working on my MBA applications in early December 2013. With most R2 deadlines fast approaching I chose to get the hourly services from SBC. Kevin was the consultant I worked with and he wasted no time in getting an idea of where I was and what would be the smartest way to go about my applications with the time constraints on hand.

A few months later, I am writing this review with offers from McDonough & Olin. I believe Kevin did a brilliant job and helping me in achieving the best possible outcomes in this situation.

He was extremely understanding and helped me a great deal in expressing myself in the best possible manner in my application.

Thanks Kevin.

Read More

June 25, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 21

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
740 Q48 V44

Pretty bad customer service with attitude

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I was waitlisted by one of my top choice schools. As I have to go back to school this year, I was eager to find help and support. Through referral, I chose Stacy Blackman for my waitlist support.

My first connection was with Esther Magna (she is the just contact person, not my consultant). She was nice over the phone. Since I had question regarding service fee and all other stuff, I emailed her afterwards. After a few email exchanges, she got annoyed and her tone sounded very angry. In one email, I felt like I got yelled at. But I was confident with the consultant she recommended and there was a lot of good reviews for the consultant, so I still chose Stacy Blackman.

After I paid the fee, she disappeared and I never heard a word from her. To me, I have contacted a few consulting services, and none of them are like her customer service. Just a piece of advise, if you are not patient and nice enough, people can feel it and the only harm is to the company you work for.

Maybe Stacy Blackman is great, but she needs to pick the right person to represent the company.

Regarding the consultant I work with, I have nothing but good about him. Patient, smart, and dedicated. My experience will be so much better if I only worked with my consultant from the minutes I signed up.

Read More

July 24, 2013
Sblackman

Esther's so sorry that she came off that way. Email can be tough - sometimes it's hard to interpret tone. However, I am thrilled that you were happy with Andy and I agree that he is a terrific consultant, very dedicated, thorough and talented. Esther's great too - so we regret that her email was interpreted in a way that you felt yelled at. We wish you the best!

April 03, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Haas-bound and couldn't have done it without Andy & SBC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

The MBA application process - with the help of my excellent SBC consultant Andy Pelletier - was incredibly revealing and rewarding in terms of self-discovery - regardless of the school I ended up choosing. With Andy's probing, pushing, and constructive criticizing, I learned so much about myself and the person I want to become - which not only helps me personally define my goals and a pathway to get there, but also helped immensely with crafting my applications.

I did the hourly service, and Andy was attentive and timely. He responded to my drafts very quickly (usually less than 1 hour, including off-hours and weekends). His advice was effective & efficient - he always started high level with what messages/themes are most valuable to get across to AdCom, then dove deeper to help me organize my thoughts around that central message.

I am on the young end of the MBA spectrum, so I wasn't really sure if an acceptance anywhere this year was feasible (I was half expecting to have to reapply next year). Clearly Andy's help worked, as I got into Berkeley Haas (one of my top choices!!) and received a $100k Forte Fellowship to Cornell Johnson! I am also on the waitlist at MIT Sloan, and Andy quickly and thoroughly helped me craft a campaign to improve my chances of getting in off the waitlist.

Andy legitimately wants you to succeed. I would definitely recommend working with Andy Pelletier at SBC on your MBA admissions applications!

Read More

March 05, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 37

Kudos: 11

Very knowledgable and helpful

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

They matched me up with Lisa because of her knowledge of the schools I was applying to. Lisa was great! She was very helpful and responsive and I liked that she gave me honest feedback. My process took longer than average and she didn't get frustrated with me and she really made me believe in myself and my story. I don't have a very unique background but she helped me think of little things to add that extra touch to my essays.

Stacy also helped calm my nerves whenever I had some freak out moments when I thought my essays weren't good enough or too boring. She assured me that I was answering the questions asked and gave me helpful advice for adds/tweaks. It certainly worked!

Read More


39 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Stacy Blackman Consulting