GMAT Club

MBA Admissions Hourly Services Reviews

Since 2001, Stacy Blackman Consulting (SBC) clients have been admitted to every top business school worldwide, often with merit scholarships. SBC has a complete panel of former Admissions Officers from every top MBA program in-house. The SBC team has MBA expertise at every top US and EU school, has graduated from the best MBA programs and understands career paths in every industry, traditional and non- traditional. 

SBC deeply values mentor-ship within its client engagements and limits the number of clients for each consultant, engaging with clients only after its Validation Team evaluates candidacy strength. Stacy Blackman Consulting delivers results, as shown through its record of the highest number of online reviews across multiple sites, such as YELP. SBC offers a limited number of free consultations weekly for inquiries who have been pre-screened by our tenured team. Contact us for a free consultation to request time with an SBC Principal.      
4.9 /5 Average Rating
5 star
121
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
Based on 128 reviews
August 18, 2016
cama

Joined: Aug 16, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

HBS and HKS admits thanks to Andy at Stacy Blackman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I am starting at Harvard for my MBA and my Public Policy Degree thanks in large part to Andy Pelletier . I was a non-traditional MBA candidate and unsure how competitive I would be. Andy encouraged me and helped me hone my narrative. He was willing to push me to identify the key elements of my stories and to clearly communicate who I am, not just what I have accomplished. He was incredibly responsive, turning around his feedback quickly, and working around my schedule. When it came time for interviews, I did not hesitate to call Andy to prepare. He provided me with key feedback and helped me go to into the interviews with confidence. I would absolutely work with Andy again.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 08, 2016
bschooladmit20

Joined: Sep 27, 2015

Posts: 175

Kudos: 30

I Highly Recommend Using Stacy Blackman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I highly recommend using Stacy Blackman Consulting, if you're considering applying to B school. I chose SBC because my husband used them when he applied to B school a couple of years ago, and told me to not even consider using any other firm, because they were simply the best!

I had the pleasure of working with Erika Olson- and am excited to say that I will be enrolling in Stanford's MBA program this fall. I found Erika's guidance through the application process invaluable. When I initially contacted SBC in September, I hadn't even given the GMAT (bad idea!), but Erika was a calm and clear guiding voice through the fairly intense application process.

When it came to writing the essays, Erika helped me think through the personal/professional choices I had made- as well as articulate in a clear and engaging way WHY I had made these choices, and what really drove me. I also appreciated her honesty and very quick response times through the process. Her feedback on my CV and application form (don't underestimated how important this component is!) was also very helpful.

Erika always managed to make the process fun. Her experience of guiding a myriad of students apply to the top B schools definitely shone through. I'm happy to say I was invited to interview with all of the 4 schools I applied to- and while I didn't get into all of them- am SO happy and grateful to get into my top choice. I can't wait to move to the West Coast- thank you so much Erika and the SBC team.

Read More

June 04, 2016
dooooooug

Joined: Jun 04, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Fantastic Experience and Outcome

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Approaching the business school application process was nerve-racking and, to be completely honest, really scary for me. Working with Margaret at Stacy Blackman Consulting completely changed all of this. Margaret helped me through every aspect of the application, and with her help, I was admitted to my top choice school, HBS! The value she brought to me was tremendous, and I would describe it in the following three ways.

One, she understands how to communicate. Her background in broadcasting and publishing makes her, literally, a professional at crafting a compelling story. She helped me identify what was truly unique about me and communicate it in the most effective way.

Two, she kept it authentic. Margaret provided me with a wealth of ideas, perspectives, and guidance, but all of the tough decisions I made in my application were completely my own. That was so important when it came time to the admissions interview – how could I have backed up the stories in my application if they weren’t my own?

Three, she runs a tight ship. Not only did she turn around feedback within 12 hours, but she kept me accountable to my own deadlines. Margaret is extremely professional and at the same time likes to joke and have fun.

I really enjoyed working with her, and know for a fact I would not have gotten into my top choice school if it weren’t for her help. I am grateful to Margaret, and would 100% recommend her to a friend or family member.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 28, 2016
Bibicrosti

Joined: May 04, 2014

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Sbc hourly services

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I was nervous about the application process and felt like I needed an extra hand to submit my application with confidence. Karla was very kind and reassuring. She was extremely knowledgeable of the application process and had very smart and on point suggestions. I had written a first draft of the essays and she helped me review them and pinpoint places where they could be improved until I was reassured and submitted them with complete confidence. She knew by heart the interview process and gave me insights that I definitely could not have gotten in any other way. I have now been admitted to INSEAD, my first choice and can recommend her 100%!

Read More

May 10, 2016
Jlow14

Joined: May 10, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excellent and quality service!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

In Round 2 I was admitted the GSB, Kellogg, USC Marshall and wait listed at Haas thanks in large part to the support and skills of Jennifer Vargo from SBC. Jennifer helped me clean up my resume (it's beautiful now), went over draft after draft of my essays for all schools and most impressively made her self available as often as I needed it. Especially with the GSB question of what matters most and why it can be difficult to work with a stranger, the topic is so personal. Yet working with Jennifer was like working with a friend- she was kind and patient and critical. It was great to work with her, and it paid off! I highly recommend.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 26, 2016
scottdole

Joined: Aug 05, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Thank you SBC!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I did interview prep with many MBA prep firms before and I was not happy until I started to work with SBC and Lindsay. I purchased an interview prep (three hours in total) through SBC and Lindsay did an excellent job in preparing me for the interview. She is very friendly and professional. More importantly, she’s super effective in pointing out my weaknesses and her interview feedbacks helped me improve significantly. As a result of her help, I not only got an offer from my dream school (NYU Stern) but also received a lot of valuable interview advice that I can definitely use to prepare for my future job interviews. I highly recommend SBC and Lindsay!

Read More

March 14, 2016
Duke234

Joined: Apr 16, 2015

Posts: 46

Kudos: 15

Verified score:
730 Q48 V41

Ryan Barba - Awesome

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I purchased hourly services from Stacy Blackman and was assigned Ryan Barba for help. Ryan helped me craft a story line and provided essay editing. Although these were both great, what I really enjoyed about working with Ryan was the advice and guidance he was willing to provide. Applying to business school is a stressful, exciting, and incredibly introspective. There is a lot of "soul searching" to figure out career paths and school selections. Ryan was willing to stay on the phone for an additional 30 minutes here and there and answer e-mails to help me with process. His insights were very helpful.

Specific to his essay services. Ryan and I worked up against a tight deadline for one school. Ryan accommodated this by reviewing/editing essays and turning them around within 24 hours. His edits were very good, both grammatically and suggestion wise.

I think Ryan is a perfect consultant for someone looking for a bit more than the traditional services. If you're looking for someone who can provide a bit of mentoring throughout the process and will be there after the fact to answer questions, Ryan is a great option. He knows the admissions process well and has a lot of experience with it. I highly recommend him.

Read More

February 28, 2016
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Wonderful experience with Becky!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was hesitant about working with a consultant - I had planned ahead, taken the GMAT early with a high score, and used some other resources, but a few friends at competitive b-schools convinced me a few hours with a consultant would be well worth my money. They were right!

I purchased 5 hours, and worked with Becky. She was incredibly helpful at helping me define my career goals and story. I consider myself a strong writer, but Becky helped me focus my writing and polish the message to align with what business schools want. She was responsive, available, and encouraging.

In the end I was admitted to two of my top choices, with hefty scholarships at each. Becky made me feel like she was my partner in this process, and it helped immensely with my preparedness and confidence.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 08, 2016
happycorgi617

Joined: Dec 01, 2015

Posts: 4

Kudos: 6

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

Totally worth it!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was initially unsure if working with any admissions consultant would be worth the price but I'm so glad that I took a chance with SBC!
I first applied to business schools two years ago and got dinged or waitlisted at every school. This time around, I worked with Margaret to really hone my essays and polish my application. Nothing else in my application changed- same job, same extracurriculars, same recommenders and I even had a LOWER GMAT score than the first time around (first score expired). I ended up getting into 3 of the 4 schools I applied to, with fantastic scholarship offers at all of them!
Margaret was fantastic to work with, very professional and super responsive. I only signed up for a 5 hour package but Margaret was very efficient and respectful of the time (I think I got closer to 6-8 hours of help). I was an English major in college and would consider myself to be a fairly good writer so I was really on the fence about whether it was worth getting a consultant to help me with my essays. Margaret knew exactly what each school was looking for and really helped me tailor my essays appropriately, in ways that I had never considered on my own. Even if I could have gotten in, I am sure that I never would have been offered the scholarships without Margaret’s expertise. Highly recommended!

Read More

February 05, 2016
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q48 V36

Great Experience with Bill Chionis at SBC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

A little over a year ago, I began the search for a consultant. SBC’s informative blog postings resonated with me the most, and so they were the first (and only) consultant group I had reached out to.

A couple of hours after I had filled out the applicant form, I was paired with Bill Chionis for my free consultation session. We had a great conversation. I shared with him my profile, desired career trajectory and target programs. Bill, being the insightful person that he is, was able to quickly narrow down the strengths we needed to focus on and the areas that could probably use a little more tending to, to create a strong application. In fact, he made a convincing enough case, that I decided to hold off applying for a year so I could work on the weaker areas of my application. We both agreed that if I could achieve these new targets, the best EMBA programs would be within reach.

A year later, I applied to three EMBA programs at the best business schools in the country, and was admitted to all three of them. I reached out to Bill when I was ready to work on my application. Working with Bill was edifying, pleasant and seamless. While Bill was there to guide me through every component of the application process, I relied on him the most for my essays. The essays make for an extremely important component of the application. It is where you are granted the most freedom to put forth your story and your goals. It is also an area where it becomes imperative to have another set of eyes, a sounding board. In the beginning, I tasked Bill, my family and my Harvard and Wharton MBA grad friends to review my work. About a week into it, Bill became the sole voice I relied on. I knew Bill was all I needed to get me to where I wanted to go.

Bill is sharp, responsive and thorough in his work. And to top it all, he is also an eloquent writer. Now Bill won’t be able to write your essays for you. That is your job to do. However from the tiniest interview detail to neatly weaving together my essays, Bill was on top of it. And without a doubt, he’ll do the same for you.

Good luck with this intense process, but know that there are resources out there who will work with you to present you in the best possible light! Ask for a call with Bill!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

39 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Stacy Blackman Consulting