GMAT Club

MBA Admissions Hourly Services Reviews

Since 2001, Stacy Blackman Consulting (SBC) clients have been admitted to every top business school worldwide, often with merit scholarships. SBC has a complete panel of former Admissions Officers from every top MBA program in-house. The SBC team has MBA expertise at every top US and EU school, has graduated from the best MBA programs and understands career paths in every industry, traditional and non- traditional. 

SBC deeply values mentor-ship within its client engagements and limits the number of clients for each consultant, engaging with clients only after its Validation Team evaluates candidacy strength. Stacy Blackman Consulting delivers results, as shown through its record of the highest number of online reviews across multiple sites, such as YELP. SBC offers a limited number of free consultations weekly for inquiries who have been pre-screened by our tenured team. Contact us for a free consultation to request time with an SBC Principal.      
4.9 /5 Average Rating
5 star
121
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
Based on 128 reviews
June 07, 2020
yesla

Joined: Sep 09, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q50 V46

Highly recommended - admitted to HBS!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

From my initial free consultation with Bill, through each hour working with Kassidee, it was a pleasure working with SBC. I was accepted to HBS and could not have done it without Kassidee's help!

Based on Bill's recommendation, I chose an hourly package, rather than a comprehensive one. After the initial 'get to know you' call with Kassidee, we used the rest of the time to work through essay drafts and reserved one hour for a mock interview and feedback.

Through every step in the process, she was insightful, set high standards, and was both responsive and accommodating. During the brainstorming/essay phase, Kassidee always provided thoughtful feedback within 24 hours of me sending a draft or questions. Despite a significant time difference (~12 hours while I worked internationally), she always found time for calls almost immediately thereafter. She also struck an effective balance between giving me the space to write and holding me accountable for meeting our interim draft deadlines.

Her insights into the HBS experience were invaluable in helping me strategize, fine-tune essays, and feel confident going into my interview. Throughout, she was empathetic and friendly. I highly recommend working with her.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 19, 2020
Anonymous190

Joined: Apr 19, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Couldn't have asked for better

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

When you are looking for an MBA consulting firm, you want one that has a reputation which draws on the caliber of its consultants and has the expertise and experience across the schools that you are interested to apply to.

SBC demonstrated that from the beginning for me. Just speaking with Sarah for thirty minutes, she was able to provide insights and bring her expertise to bear on my application. SBC also stood out from other firms in that they cater to candidates coming in from every stage of the application process. In my case, they were willing to partner and go "all-in" with me even though I had only three weeks remaining for the R2 deadlines.

I worked with Alex L as my SBC consultant and I could not have asked for a better MBA consultant. Alex is one of the most professional individuals I have the pleasure of working with over my 12-year career. He was personally invested through the whole process and brought his considerable skills and expertise in each step of the application. His partnership helped to showcase my accomplishments and my personal story to its fullest. Even then, just by working with him, I was able to improve on my personal communication skills and bring that back to how I communicate at work and at a personal level.

Alex was a partner whom I could completely trust and rely on throughout the application process. He was responsive and would usually reply within a few hours. He worked with me on the deadlines and was available whenever I needed him. He added a personal touch as well, checking in on me and my recovery when I fell sick during the application process. Thinking back, I’m just floored by the level of effort and passion he brought in every stage of the application. Based on his dedication, I know it is not just a job to him, but a role where he is personally invested to help you achieve your goals. Alex is someone whom I am honored to partner with and hope to continue a friendship with even after my application process.

I applied to the Stanford GSB MSx program and it was a moonshot for me given how challenging it is to enter the program and how I had only three weeks to prepare the application, obtain letters of recommendations and study for the GRE. Yet, with Alex's help, I was able to overcome all these and obtain an admissions offer from the Stanford GSB. Thank you, Alex!

Read More

March 17, 2020
aferra18

Joined: Mar 17, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Stacy Blackman-Gina

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

It was an absolute pleasure working with Gina. She challenged me to think outside the box on areas of my essay(s) that needed work. She gave me guidance on refining areas that looked good. Most importantly, Gina helped me develop my story in a clear and concise manner. I appreciate the quick responses by Gina (even during the holiday season!) and am very glad we were able to work together on this project. She was always readily available, offered great feedback and was honest in her opinions. If something looked forced or cheesy, she called me out on it and I appreciate and respect that. She did not just give me a pat on the back and say good job, she brought the best out in me and that is all that I could ask for. I highly recommend Gina. :)

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 07, 2020
mavericky

Joined: Jan 09, 2011

Posts: 11

Kudos: 5

Kimberly Ge was fantastic!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Had got a reject from all b-schools previous year for Full-Time MBA applications. This year I was planning to apply only to 2 schools- Kellogg and Booth for Part-Time MBA. Got admit from Kellogg, so did not apply to Booth :)

Kim helped me
-convey story in my essays
-refine my resume which was earlier nowhere close to what bschools expect
-prepare for interview with sample questions and how to structure answers clearly
Kim was very patient and I took time to come up with improvement in my essays. I dealt with her from Oct 2019 to Feb 2020. Her suggestions brought clarity in my essays. She responded proactively to any quick questions I emailed her. She also suggested on what points from my profile should be emphasized and which ones to be hidden to provide the best possible version of myself. Without her help, my applications materials would have been vague, confusing and difficult to understand by adcom.

Read More

February 14, 2020
adityashantanu

Joined: Feb 16, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q50 V41

Bill is great.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I reached out to Bill pretty late for the Booth and Kellogg spring batch deadline. He convinced me that I had a good candidacy and I could complete the application in time. That gave me the confidence to apply and as promised Bill was there to help at every step of the way. He was very responsive and clear with his feedback. His tips on handling different aspects of the application including the interviews were invaluable in helping me get through. I applied to three colleges and got a positive response from all. Thanks Bill. I would recommend him to anyone thinking about consultation for part time MBA programs.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 12, 2020
ArmyGuy18501

Joined: Feb 12, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Excellent Support (H/S Admit)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Joey helped me gain admission to several M7 programs. He helped me with a complete overhaul of my CV that better highlighted the achievements that would most stand out to an adcom - and spent time helping me re-write my personal statement.

I signed up with completed applications, confident in my products, but Joey helped take those products to the next level. He was almost too generous with how he calculated time billed - always giving me extra chunks of time to get my products where they needed, and he was crucial to my interview preparation. Several of the questions that Joey asked me during our mock interview that seemed off the wall at the time were asked word-for-word by adcoms - and the line by line review we had done during our interview prep helped me deliver strong answers to the questions that adcoms would have no reason to believe that I had rehearsed.

Regardless of how confident you are with your application materials, I can guarantee that Joey will help you deliver a stronger product. Asking for Joey by name is probably the best thing you could do right now for your admissions chances.

Read More

January 20, 2020
bajaM2020

Joined: Dec 11, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q48 V40

Yvette is amazing!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Yvette was a fantastic resource to have during the entire application process.
From the first interaction to the last, she is engaged, committed, and thoughtful. She was more than willing to hop on a call at any moment during the application process to talk through anything. At no point was she unavailable. She is incredibly kind, and particularly talented in helping you brainstorm your story and tell it in a concise way. The application process can be stressful at times, and having access to an expert like Yvette makes it much less daunting. I could not recommend her more highly!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 04, 2020
tylersteil

Joined: Jan 05, 2019

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Carrie@Stacy Blackman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

When I was going through the business school application process, I was on the fence about whether or not hire a consultant. Some of my friends who were already in business school encouraged me to do so, but the price point forced me to consider to going through the process without external help. I am happy to say I am beyond thrilled that I went ahead and chose to work with Carrie. She was extremely flexible with her time, and helped me get the personal brand messaging on my application in a good place. I ended up getting into my number one choice school, and I am not sure that would have been possible with Carrie's help. I especially appreciated how Carrie was able to help me mold my application to hit all the points admissions offices were looking for, while still putting forward an accurate description of my career and career goals going forward.

Read More

December 18, 2019
easterngod

Joined: Oct 18, 2019

Posts: 45

Kudos: 24

Verified score:
730 Q48 V41

Helpful but maybe incrementally

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

One of the reasons I chose Stacy Blackman was to get cost-efficient time with various consultants, and they were able to deliver that. Some were better than others and at the end of the day I think their cumulative opinions helped me be successful in the process, really enjoyed working with Erin K.

If you are a traditional applicant like me who is honest with yourself it may not be necessary, in any other case I would recommend getting close friends or colleagues to read your essays. If you are a nontraditional applicant or have stats you need to mitigate I can see it being a great investment.

Read More

June 05, 2019
midnight7

Joined: May 23, 2017

Posts: 6

Kudos: 8

Verified score:
780 Q50 V48

Disappointed

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Chris Van Nostrand on my Kellogg application. At first I thought he had done a good job challenging me on both broader topics and specific anecdotes in my essays. He was prompt and direct with his comments, which I appreciated. We also did a mock interview over the phone that was enjoyable. When I had my on-campus interview in R1 I felt well-prepared.

Ultimately, however, I was rejected from Kellogg in R1. Perhaps the biggest disappointment in the entire process wasn't that I was rejected from my dream school despite a 780 GMAT score and otherwise competitive profile but that I received zero follow-up from Chris or the SBC team after my rejection. No condolences, no sympathy, nothing. The last thing an applicant needs when juggling rejections and waitlists and figuring out R2 applications as the holidays approach is radio silence from their consultants.

I was accepted at a T10-15 school and will be matriculating there this Fall, but I did that application entirely on my own in R2 and without the help of any consultants. Bill Chionis of SBC actually told me not to apply to the school that I'm going to now and I'm glad I went against his advice, otherwise I would have come up completely empty. Overall I felt ripped off by the entire admissions consulting process and consider it a waste of time and money. It was extremely poor client management to ghost an applicant after they are rejected.

Read More


39 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Stacy Blackman Consulting