GMAT Club

MBA Admissions Hourly Services Reviews

Since 2001, Stacy Blackman Consulting (SBC) clients have been admitted to every top business school worldwide, often with merit scholarships. SBC has a complete panel of former Admissions Officers from every top MBA program in-house. The SBC team has MBA expertise at every top US and EU school, has graduated from the best MBA programs and understands career paths in every industry, traditional and non- traditional. 

SBC deeply values mentor-ship within its client engagements and limits the number of clients for each consultant, engaging with clients only after its Validation Team evaluates candidacy strength. Stacy Blackman Consulting delivers results, as shown through its record of the highest number of online reviews across multiple sites, such as YELP. SBC offers a limited number of free consultations weekly for inquiries who have been pre-screened by our tenured team. Contact us for a free consultation to request time with an SBC Principal.      
4.9 /5 Average Rating
5 star
121
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
Based on 128 reviews
May 21, 2018
visgmat

Joined: Dec 05, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

SBC - Booth Admitted - Enhanced Confidence & Fine-tuned Story

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

SBC is great as compared to their competitors, because they gave me the option to have 1 hour chat with a different consultant. So, I chatted twice with a Booth former adcom member and once with a Ross adcom member.

The SBC staff was in scheduling consultants with only 24 hour notice, as compared to the competitors which required one week notice.

I took SBC mock-interview for 1 hour. It was great because it gave me an opportunity to dry run my story. I got good feedback on how to slightly improve my story. I presented the improved story during the actual interview at Booth. The Booth admission com feedback later during the admitted call feedback was that I did very well in the interview.

I also obtained Booth essay feedback. The feedback was good, but, could have been better. The feedback was good because it prevented me from going down the wrong track. However, the consultant was unable to offer me ideas on how to improve the essay.

I also obtained Ross essay feedback. This was really good as the consultant both helped me improve the matter as well as we together brainstormed what stories to tell in the essay.

Overall, great experience. I owe some credit to SBC for helping me get into Booth. They helped me gain confidence and polished my story, which was beneficial for the interview and essays.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 15, 2018
HJL516

Joined: May 15, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q46 V37

Very Knowledgable

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Bill was very professional and knowledgable. During our first discussion, he helped explain to me the pros and cons for each of the program I was considering. His feedback helped me filter the list of schools I was considering and helped me save money on applications. That alone was worth every penny!

Throughout the process, I felt a lot more comfortable with the help from Bill. He was clearly knowledgable of business schools, and the application process. Bill made the process a lot less nerve wrecking.

Overall, I would definitely refer Bill and SBC to my friends and colleagues who are interested in business school admissions consulting.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 10, 2018
GMAT750+

Joined: Nov 19, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Margaret is AWESOME!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Let me cut to the chase: Margaret is the consultant you will never regret to work with! Margaret is the consultant who brought me to the next level, push me further, and keep challenging me on essays while I felt exhausted after 6, 7 revisions: three days before one school’s deadline, I thought my essays are final but Margaret kept pushing me to the next level. She clearly laid out the strategic applications plan for me and a lot of the information I had never thought about even after tons of research both from online and from peers who had applied MBA programs. Down the road, because of the enormous experience she has, she even predicted the “career goal confusion” I would face after networking with too many current students and alums, and gave me advice on how to handle it. She even predicted that the strategy some schools use to give offers and I was able to get admitted after her encouragement knowing that it’s one of the strategies the school uses. I did tons of research online before I finally decided to work with Margaret, and one of the questions I asked every consultant is: “what drives you to be a consultant.” Margaret’s answer resonates with me so much: “to help others make their dreams come true is also a dream come true itself, right?” She took time to understand who I am, in order to help my strengths, uniqueness, shining through both in my application materials and interviews: really focusing on who I am. I could keep writing the good things about Margaret forever… but to sum: I was admitted at two S16 schools, with scholarship at one of them: None of this would be possible without her help. I would recommend her to anyone: I recommended Margaret to one of my close friends who is also applying this year: “she is popular and GOOD, I MEAN GOOD! and you better get on her calendar quick!”

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 21, 2018
dashraymond

Joined: Sep 25, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q49 V38

Great Experience!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Being international and not having a vast network of colleagues/peers in top business schools, I knew starting off that I would need help with my application process. Additionally, considering my age and other personal factors, timing was critical from my side, and I absolutely needed to put my best foot forward in my application.
Going primarily off of online reviews, I decided to try out SBC. However, I was a bit skeptical initially given the high cost of services. I was paired with Bill, and at the very outset, was pleasantly surprised by his professional yet warm attitude. He was genuinely interested to build a good working relationship and he even suggested that I purchase hourly services to keep my costs low (and my costs indeed turned out much lower than I had initially anticipated). I was also very impressed by his knowledge of the whole admissions process. Quite honestly, although I knew I wanted to do an MBA, I was a bit fuzzy on my exact career path, and by way of the application process, Bill explained the business world really well and prepared/mentored me on possible career paths based on my background, interests & goals. I must emphasize that the interview prep session was especially helpful and I will carry my learnings from that throughout my career. I had only applied to one top business school and was thrilled when I was admitted to that program.
I definitely recommend his services to anyone considering consultation for his/her application.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 03, 2018
ccbyrd318

Joined: Mar 27, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly Recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I purchased a hourly package from Stacy Blackman Consulting in Oct 2017 and began working with Margaret to apply to four schools. I was a non-traditional MBA candidate and felt overwhelmed identifying "my story". Margaret was instrumental in helping me craft it. She was efficient and supportive with keen insights. I appreciated that she was also conscious of making the most of my hours - we were able to accomplish a lot with our time together. She was astute and excellent at breaking down the process into manageable steps. I am happy to report I was accepted to three schools and waitlisted at one. I highly recommend Margaret.

Read More

March 23, 2018
MJDMBA

Joined: Mar 23, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Bill is THE BEST

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I applied to business school and was considering hiring a consultant, but due to a tight timeline, I decided to take a go at it independently. During that time, I had a free consultation with Bill. My solo-attempt at navigating the application process resulted in being waitlisted at my top-choice schools. I was discouraged and frustrated.

While waitlisted, I had many free consultations with numerous companies, all of whom seemed informed and knowledgeable. My gut told me that I should revisit Bill, and after speaking with him a second time, I knew that I wanted to work with not only with the Stacy Blackman Consulting but specifically with Bill.

I am so happy I made that decision. Thanks to Bill’s help and advice I was accepted to my top choice school with a full scholarship. I also received 2 additional scholarship offers from top 15 and top 25 b’schools.

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Bill. He’s a true professional. His edits and advice were simple, yet incredibly insightful. He is an unbelievable writer. My essays were so much tighter and more impactful once Bill worked his magic.

During the interview process, he really helped instill confidence in me and helped me develop skills which I now use while recruiting for internships and will continue to use during my professional career.

Lastly, I really appreciate how Bill didn’t try to sell me more hours than necessary. He could have easily convinced me that I needed the all-In package, but instead, suggested a very modest hourly package, which he stuck to.

I truly cannot say enough wonderful things about Bill. I wish there was someone like Bill at school that could guide me through the process.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 21, 2018
ptc5ua

Joined: May 22, 2017

Posts: 17

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
710 Q48 V40

Sherry was a huge help in getting accepted to Fuqua!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I hired Sherry for the 5 hour package to assist in selecting essay topics and putting the finishing touches on my applications. Fuqua was my top choice school so I selected Sherry based on her previous career in Fuqua's admissions office. Sherry has a framework for drafting Fuqua's essays and evaluating your "25 Random Facts" which was helpful in selecting what helped tell my complete story. She was also instrumental in editing my essays for Darden and Goizueta. I applied and was accepted in Round 1 to Darden, Fuqua, and Goizueta with $48k scholarship from Goizueta! Even if you have a solid application strategy and essays, I would recommend at least a few hours with Sherry to ensure your application is sound before hitting submit!

Read More

March 20, 2018
atsj

Joined: Jun 26, 2012

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Hiring Bill Chionis was one of the best decisions I've ever made

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I’ll start off by saying I’m absolutely a miser - I over-research every purchase over $100. I say this to give you some perspective when I say that hiring Bill Chionis of SBC was some of the best money I’ve ever spent in my life.

- From the very first call, it was immediately obvious how experienced and knowledgeable he was of the entire process. I never once doubted he knew exactly what he was talking about. He would say things like "I think you have a very strong shot at x, y, and z, but you should go for z and y because your background is more of a fit for what their adcoms are looking for" And he was right.
- He made every single minute count - he was a fountain of information that was clear, articulate and confident. He answered questions I didn’t know I had. We got it done with far less hours than I expected. In the end, his services cost me a third of what some other consultants wanted.
- I’m a fairly neurotic person. Bill answered all my questions patiently and expertly, no matter how small or nitpicky. I didn’t realize how important it would be when I started, but working with Bill made the anxiety of the whole process so much more manageable. Just small things like whether a certain experience was worth putting down in my essay or not, how to word or represent a certain story, etc. I knew exactly how to represent different aspects of my life without second guessing myself.
- He responded FAST. Very important and helpful while I could only snatch an hour here or there to work on my apps.
- I am starting at H/S/W in May and I fully believe I would not have been able to get in without Bill

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 19, 2018
jmonsen

Joined: Jan 20, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Helpful and professional advice, I got accepted to NYU Stern

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Bill took his time to understand my professional and career goals and help me to refine my application materials to make them superb. He and his wife are both MBA's so he's an insider helping. He's successfully placed others into NYU Stern so he knew how I paired up w/ others.

After a few emails and a calls, he was patient and constructive in terms of helping me identify trouble areas. We'd walk thru issues he believed would be critical to the Ad Com and noted best practices in how to over come them.

He was also genuinely curious to get to know who I was and my rationale for applying. He would question me and try to pulled insights I hadn't mentioned, this was really a great method.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 19, 2018
businessfanatic20

Joined: Oct 18, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 5

You won't regret it

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I knew I had a strong application, with the exception of limited quant background and a low GRE score. I wanted a consultant to help share my best self with admissions committees, and navigate around my "weak spots". Not knowing where to start, I decided to book some consulting hours with SBC to get support for essay writing and general application process guidance. I worked with Sherry to create an ASD (application strategy document) and then write essays for the 5 schools that I applied to. Look no further for essay and application expertise. Sherry has been on the other side of admissions - she helped me quickly identify my strengths and weaknesses both as a B-school candidate and in my essays, and used a critical eye to help me effectively communicate my story to each MBA admissions team. She also was an incredibly useful guide - a candid and thoughtful one at that - to have throughout the application process regarding one-off questions I had about admissions, etiquette, optional essays, etc. I highly recommend SBC and Sherry in particular. I was accepted with a full scholarship to one of my top choice schools and could not have been as successful without help from SBC! The services are worth every penny and you won't be disappointed.

Read More


39 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Stacy Blackman Consulting