GMAT Club

Jessica Shklar Reviews

Company: mbaMission

After graduating from Harvard College with a degree in anthropology, Jessica Shklar worked in nonprofit education, first doing curriculum development for an adult education center and then in the admissions office of a small university in Los Angeles, where she advised applicants to both the undergraduate college and several graduate programs, including business school. While there, she developed and delivered workshops around the country on Selecting the Right College and How to Write an Effective Application Essay. Having been accepted to every business school to which she applied, including Stanford, Kellogg and Yale, Jessica ultimately chose to attend HBS, where she completed her MBA with distinction (graduating in the top 10%). After starting work, she volunteered in the New York City public school system, helping high school seniors with their college applications. She has worked at several Fortune 100 companies, including American Express and JPMorgan Chase, where she was the quality leader and a senior vice president for Chase Home Finance. Jessica is also a Six Sigma Master Black Belt, with specific expertise in Six Sigma deployment and initialization.

Source: http://www.mbamission.com/about/?display=team&name=jessica-shklar

5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 115 reviews
February 22, 2019
tkmba

Joined: May 20, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Jessica is amazing!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Jessica was critical in my admission to HBS—I truly feel I couldn’t have done it without her. I first spoke to Jessica during a 30 minute free consultation (I did these with all of the major companies). Right off the bat I felt Jessica truly believed in me, was my main cheerleader, and was invested in making me successful.

I honestly couldn’t have asked for a better experience working with Jessica. I was very daunted by the business school application process and how to tell my story (I had a series of jobs that seemed unrelated on paper and wasn’t sure about my career goals). I was blown away by our first brainstorming session—Jessica has the unique ability to ask the right questions and is a gifted story teller—I left our first brainstorming session with a clear story and direction for my HBS essay (none of which I had planned to write about!)

Jessica reviewed every word on my application including my resume, essays, and short answer with incredible detail and care. Her promptness and thoughtfulness while editing were simply incredible—she pushed me to think, clarify my goals, and suggested major improvements, all while preserving my voice. She kept me on track and stopped me from second guessing myself, all while making sure I was truly proud of and happy with every single thing I turned into the schools.
Once the applications were all submitted and I heard back regarding interviews, Jessica was critical in helping me prep for those as well.

I give Jessica my highest possible recommendation—she’s sincere, cares about her clients, and extremely good at what she does. Thank you so much, Jessica! I really appreciate it!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 03, 2019
burnslikefire7

Joined: Jul 03, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

WELL worth the investment

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was referred to mbaMission by my GRE counselor a few months prior to submitting my application to Stern's part-time program. I was a bit reluctant to spend more money on my application, but I decided to sign on for a starter package, and I'm so happy I did (I ended up extending my time). My initial hope was that I would receive guidance on my essays and other components of my application. I ended up receiving indispensable counseling on most/all components of my application, but my counselor, Jessica, also helped me to prioritize tasks for my application. She was also very responsive and helped answer all of my questions regarding the application process, etc. (truly all of my questions). Highly, highly recommend this service...well worth the investment.

Read More

May 19, 2019
ZYY

Joined: May 17, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Jessica made my ambitious goals possible!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

A year ago, I was really not sure if I could get any offer from S16 MBA programs, especially considering my low undergrad GPA and work experiences in non-traditional industries. Jessica trusted in me and helped me discover, articulate and fully utilize my unique strengths. As a result, I got full scholarship from NYU Stern, partial scholarship from Michigan Ross and an offer from Berkeley Haas.

Jessica fully captured who I really am right at our first call. This builds a very strong foundation for our collaboration afterwards. She helped me put my best steps forward by letting my most authentic self shine through while keeping in mind what the Admissions are looking for, a balance not so easy to find. The brainstorming sessions with her before I drafted my essays were very helpful—it gave me that initial momentum to get started and a clear direction which saved lots of time and efforts. What's more, her timely feedback and response was such a great gift, especially when I was under very tight schedules.

I also learnt a lot from Jessica throughout this process—her amazing writing skills, her efficiency and effectiveness, her direct communication with empathy. I am so grateful to have her as my consultant.

As far as I know, Jessica got fully scheduled by applicants quite early. So, if you are lucky and still have a chance to invite her to be your consultant, do it now!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 16, 2019
kbe05

Joined: Jul 04, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

JS in the clutch!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Although this review is based on my personal interaction with Jessica, my goal is to keep it as objective as possible to better serve its purpose.
Before going with Jessica as my admissions advisor, I had conducted several 30-minute consultations with other consultants/companies. What made Jessica standout was twofold: (1) her ability to establish a connection with me straight away and make me feel comfortable sharing my life stories and (2) her determination to add significant value to my application process within the initial consultation even though she wasn’t sure if I was going to commit. This showed me that she genuinely loves her job and excels at it, and that she cared about the applicants she takes on.
We all know how stressful the application process can be with deadlines looming right and left, recommenders to follow-up with, essays to write, resumes to fix, etc. Jessica’s organization, guidance, and help in prioritizing tasks tremendously reduced stress and anxiety levels. I felt more and more comfortable the closer deadlines approached.
In my opinion, the best way to qualify Jessica’s work is effective and efficient, in hindsight those are the best qualities for a consultant to have in an MBA application process. By effective, I’m referring to Jessica’s keen ability to link all the right dots out of ALL your life stories to sculpt the best possible story to get you into business school. By efficient, I’m referring to Jessica’s ability to come up with the best story for you in record time, saving invaluable hours to focus more on the development and refinement of the essay and on the multitude of tedious tasks involved in the process. I developed my best story with Jessica, that got me 50% acceptance into the business schools I applied to, within the first 30-min consultation!
You can’t go wrong with Jessica, thanks again for your invaluable help in achieving my goal!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 26, 2019
vasu214

Joined: May 21, 2018

Posts: 4

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Critical guidance throughout the essay and application process

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Applying to top MBA programs is, for most people, a stressful and worry-some process. When an applicant comes from a competitive background, the process can be even more difficult. It was for this reason that, after months of my own investigation, I decided to work with an admissions consultant. I booked a preliminary call with Jessica because her own pre-consultant professional background was similar to mine; I chose to work with her because I felt supported in a way not felt before. Jessica simplified the process for me and gave me crucial advice. She exceeded my expectations with the dedication and swiftness of her responses. I believe her greatest strength is in both listening to her client and frankness. I do recommend Jessica for clients who come from unusual, but also competitive backgrounds.

Read More

April 18, 2019
JointGSBHKS

Joined: Apr 18, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Jessica - Counselor. Confidante. Friend.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I’m 30+ years old. I went to a small state school. I was out of a job for 15+ months. Before my current career, I worked blue-collar jobs. My GRE quant was <65%. I had a family tragedy in the middle of the application cycle.

Despite ALL that, with Jessica’s extraordinary guidance, these are my results:

Applied: Stanford, Harvard (MBA & MPP), Wharton, MIT, Berkeley, Yale, Virginia, UCLA, UNC, Georgetown
Interview invites: EVERY. SINGLE. SCHOOL!
Outcomes: 9 admits!!! 1 waitlist & 1 ding. Candidly, both non-admits were cuz I screwed up the interviews. C’est la vie :)
Funding offered: $257K (from various schools)
Attending: Joint Stanford MBA and Harvard MPP (with amazing named fellowship)

The results speak for themselves, but I'd like to share more about Jessica.

At heart, Jessica is a storyteller. She took a block of stone (over 30 pages of my stories/vignettes and hours of phone calls), and helped me sculpt a masterpiece.

One story highlights many of her strengths: for the GSB essay, I was struggling for an opener. Jessica mentioned a short phrase I’d written in my 30+ brainstorming pages. And voila, I had an intro which tied the whole essay together.

This small story shows her eye for detail, her work ethic, and most importantly, her tradecraft of shaping narratives that both tug at the heartstrings and engage the intellect.

To me, the goal of an application -- something more subtle than the explicit goal of getting accepted -- is getting the Adcom members to be YOUR advocate. Jessica understands that. And that is exactly what we did. The amazing and humbling outcomes I’ve had were only possible with Jessica on my team.

I enjoyed working with Jessica so much that, crazy as it sounds, I actually miss the hellish application process! That speaks volumes in itself.

Read More

April 04, 2019
ap539

Joined: Dec 06, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

I had a great experience working with jessica!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Jessica was the only consultant I felt truly understood me through the innumerable free consultations I did, and she was the one I decided to go for when the time came to apply. She proved to be quite a good resource through my application process. My biggest concern was my essays, and she gave frank feedback, and really pushed me to dig deeper and introspect when necessary. She always met her deadlines and through her diligence, I developed a really good schedule for myself as well. She is a really good consultant for mbamission and I recommend her to anyone looking to get help through the application process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 03, 2019
Mike2620

Joined: Mar 03, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Jessica Shklar FTW!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

From the first time I spoke with Jessica, I could tell that she genuinely cared about not only helping me get into a great business school but also letting my true character and personality come through in my applications. I realized immediately that I was working with a professional and I found it particularly reassuring to be receiving guidance from someone who really understands the admissions process and the expectations of the schools' admissions teams. I knew generally what I was going to write about in my applications but the advice Jessica offered on how to structure my ideas and concisely articulate my story was extremely valuable. I also have a pretty unconventional professional background and Jessica helped me to navigate this in my applications and highlight my unique work experience and qualities. By the end of this long and crazy process I was admitted to one of my top choice schools, thanks in large part to Jessica's help!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 27, 2019
j9y6l

Joined: Feb 27, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q39 V38

Still Valuable Despite All My Research

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I attended a mbaMission webinar about Harvard Business School's 2+2 program. It was a fairly small group (less than 10 people) and it was at 9PM but Jessica Shklar was able to keep the presentation engaging and relevant. She provided specific examples to show the differences between a strong and weak essay. She was extremely attentive to the specific group's needs by answering all of our questions.

I felt like she was able to provide immense help to my application despite the fact that I had done an extreme amount of research on the MBA admissions process at Harvard Business School, especially the 2+2 program. I decided to follow up with a 30-minute consultation with Jessica to discuss my profile. Within that half hour, she was able to help me craft a narrative for my holistic application and even provided me with structural tips on my essay - without even reading my essay. She wasn't afraid to point out the weakness of my application, which I'm glad she did because I have heard of some admissions consultants who do their best to only make their clients happy. I wanted someone who was honest and catered to my profile, which she was able to do!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 27, 2019
ShaMelul

Joined: Sep 26, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Rockstar Advisor!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

The 30 minutes spent with Jessica Shklar were, by far, the best 30 minutes spent in my whole MBA application process. I was astonished by how prepared Jessica came to the consulting session. She not only read thoroughly my resume and application details, but also prepared recommendations based on what I requested advice on prior to our meeting. The meeting was highly effective, touching on every single concern I had. I obviously wanted more after that meeting, and joined her 2+2 HBS presentation webinar. What can I say, she gave all the information I’ve been struggling to put together over the past 5 months in one hour. The presentation was both informative and practical, as every other interaction I’ve had with her. I’m very glad I found Jessica, and would highly recommend her to anyone.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

45 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Jessica Shklar