GMAT Club

Jessica Shklar Reviews

Company: mbaMission

After graduating from Harvard College with a degree in anthropology, Jessica Shklar worked in nonprofit education, first doing curriculum development for an adult education center and then in the admissions office of a small university in Los Angeles, where she advised applicants to both the undergraduate college and several graduate programs, including business school. While there, she developed and delivered workshops around the country on Selecting the Right College and How to Write an Effective Application Essay. Having been accepted to every business school to which she applied, including Stanford, Kellogg and Yale, Jessica ultimately chose to attend HBS, where she completed her MBA with distinction (graduating in the top 10%). After starting work, she volunteered in the New York City public school system, helping high school seniors with their college applications. She has worked at several Fortune 100 companies, including American Express and JPMorgan Chase, where she was the quality leader and a senior vice president for Chase Home Finance. Jessica is also a Six Sigma Master Black Belt, with specific expertise in Six Sigma deployment and initialization.

Source: http://www.mbamission.com/about/?display=team&name=jessica-shklar

5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 151 reviews
February 15, 2021
Runner262

Joined: Feb 15, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V45

If you are fortunate enough to get to work with Jessica, you would be making a huge mistake to do anything else. She is highly sought after by the world's top candidates and is absolutely best in class. I applied to six of the M7 and was accepted to all six schools including one with a full tuition scholarship. From the start of working together, Jessica took the time to really get to know me. She studied my intake materials and my story in detail, spending hours on the phone to learn more, ask questions, and genuinely understand who I am as a person. This is a critical and distinctive part of the process as she sees all her clients as unique and will never encourage you to put your story into a preexisting mold. She went further to help prompt my own reflective process so that I could personally explore better what it was I want to do with my life and career, something that was critical to communicating who I was effectively in my applications. (Many consultants I spoke to seemed ready to gloss over these more intangible components of the self-discovery process and leave you telling an uncompelling, half-baked story of who you are. Jessica, on the other hand, always had time for me.) She was a great encouragement in the process, but most importantly she would provide tough love when my stories didn't communicate who I really was and left a part of me out of what I was communicating. The last thing you want is a consultant who is not encouraging you to find and communicate the truest, most compelling version of who you are.

It is an incredibly big decision to trust someone to serve as a guide in applying to business school, a process that can have life changing outcomes. You can trust 100% trust Jessica in this role, and you will find yourself with someone who is a true partner in the process and who is genuinely invested in your success - something you won't find from many other consultants focused on churning through a higher volume of clients. I spoke to nine consultants before deciding who to work with, including some of Jessica's highly rated peers, and Jessica stood out meaningfully relative to the others. As someone who was in your shoes very recently, I can't recommend enough that you work with Jessica!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 28, 2021
csullivan

Joined: May 21, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Invaluable Feedback and Incredibly Helpful!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

When I first met Jessica during my free consultation a few years ago, she provided (what felt like brutal) feedback about where I could feasibly expect to get in based on my current resume and extracurricular experience. I felt crushed at first but she knew what she was talking about and I now completely agree that I was nowhere near ready to apply to the schools I wanted to go to at that time (I thought my 730 GMAT would suffice). So, I took the free advice she gave me to round out my resume and get involved in more community activities over the next year and reached out to her again once I felt more qualified.

When we met again, she warned me she was tough on clients and, while I can see what she meant, she always provided fair and helpful feedback. She's like the strict teacher/parent who's always hard to impress but when you do, you know she means it. She also knows when to take a gentler approach; when I was laid off three weeks before my applications were due because of COVID19, she immediately called to console me and brainstorm ways we could use the ostensible obstacle to my advantage :).

I found having her throughout the application process extremely helpful to not only keep me on track but to teach me tricks and provide tips on how to leverage stories/experiences I already had to create a compelling application. It's also incredibly helpful to have someone who just met you review your essays because just like the people in the admissions offices reading your applications for the first time, she has no background information on you and will ensure your story is clear yet concise.

Beyond keeping me on track, she provided great insight into where I could expect to get in. I had been working as a social media associate at a travel company that's not very well-known and didn't think my experience could measure up to other applicants coming from big finance companies. Despite my trepidation, she named one M7 program she thought would be perfect for me from the start and sure enough, I was accepted!!!

I would highly recommend her to anyone interested in pursuing his/her MBA. I had several friends applying concurrently with me and I always felt ahead of the curve even though I was applying to twice as many schools. If I had to re-do the process, I wouldn't change a thing!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 27, 2020
ColumbiaAdmit22

Joined: Mar 15, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q49 V38

A True Storyteller

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Jessica really helped my application shine. From my initial consultation, she gave me advice and really took the time to understand my background. I have a 2.9 GPA and never thought I could get into 1 of my target schools.

Jessica's core skill, besides knowing the ins and outs of the admission process, is storytelling. We spent hours carefully refining the story until it was perfect. Not only is Jessica a great storyteller, but also she goes the extra mile. If it were late responses or fast turnarounds, she was extremely reliable and helpful throughout by 3-school package journey.

I would recommend Jessica to any underdog applicant - a great story with Jessica's help will go a long way.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 13, 2020
KelloggG33K

Joined: Aug 13, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

The MVP of all MBA Consultants

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

When I started my process of looking for MBA consultants, I was pointed in the direction of Jessica Shklar at MBA mission.
A friend of mine said that he tried to get on her list, but she was already booked up during the previous application cycle. With that in mind - I hopped on her list very early. I was skeptical at first, but from our first phone call, I realized why Jessica was in such high demand. Her ability to help me open up and reflect on my own experiences to not only create the most comprehensive application, but also help me to understand my worth as a professional was something I never knew I needed until I worked with her.

Jessica is incredibly knowledgeable about the application processes at all of the top MBA programs and one of the many benefits of working with her is the consultant / admissions network she brings to the table. Because of her experience in the industry, she can use her network to get the perspective of others when she doesn’t have the perfect answer (which is rare 😊).

In addition to her support in helping me reflect and articulate my thoughts in my application, Jessica also helped me turn around an A+ application in less than a month. Due to COVID-19 I decided to apply round 3 rather than Round 1 this fall. Jessica quickly helped me adjust my game plan, and although she doesn’t usually work with R3 applicants, she adjusted, and we got to work straight away without hesitation. I knew it was a stretch and a rushed process, but with Jessica’s guidance, I was able to pull it off and got into my top school.

Not only was Jessica helpful in guiding me through the process, she was able to help me manage my stress and keep me motivated to accomplish the task of finishing a polished application in the shortest time possible. I honestly wouldn’t have been able to get through this time without her.

Overall, Jessica is much more than a consultant – over the short time that we worked together, she became a friend, confidant and source of support for me. Jessica also knows how to push you out of your comfort zone and gives incredibly thoughtful feedback when reviewing your work. If I had not worked with Jessica, to put it simply, I would have been lost without her given the short amount of time I had to turn a great application around.

If you can get on her shortlist – do it. You will take much more than an acceptance to your dream school away from the experience. Thank you, Jessica.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 08, 2020
mbamanclassof2022

Joined: Mar 20, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Extremely helpful, effective, and caring hourly services

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Jessica is remarkable at her job and is the best of the best among MBA admissions consultants. I had shopped around with 5+ different consultants before committing to her and I'm so glad that I did.

Jessica has a process down that really gets me to be reflective and think about who I am and what I want out of business school. She made the process so easy to engage in and streamlined a lot of the work. She's incredibly thorough and diligent, I never had any doubt that she was adding value each time we engaged. She also followed up with me multiple times to check in and see how I was doing...she really cares!

Even with the hourly services, I felt like she really provided a TON of value. She is incredibly quick and thorough at her reviews and spends time only on the things that I asked her to spend time on.

I will be going to the school of my dreams in the fall (HBS). I also got into other top tier programs as well (Sloan/Wharton).

THANK YOU to Jessica - I recommend that anyone who wants results should work with her.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 30, 2020
bk14md39

Joined: May 09, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Thank You Jessica!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I have tremendously valued Jessica's support over this past admissions cycle.

In my original consultation long before I even signed on for her services, Jessica provided concrete, actionable advice and steps I could take to improve my business school candidacy. After I signed up for a multi-school package, Jessica was extremely helpful in designing compelling narratives for my applications, building a superb overall story, and assisting with every little imaginable detail over the whole process. I think Jessica's greatest strength is her capacity to make a candidate's profile come off as truly special given the candidate's existing accomplishments. In this regard, her storytelling ability is remarkable.

I am thrilled to report that I will be attending one of my primary target schools. If you are looking to inject a genuine, affecting character element within your application, I highly recommend Jessica's services. It is an excellent investment in your own future.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 18, 2020
hc47

Joined: May 18, 2020

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q45 V39

Eye opening and tremendously helpful!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Going into the application process being almost 30, from India and with an ok score only served to make me skeptical if this was the journey I needed to pursue over the coming months. All it took was one consultation call with Jessica for me to dive in and avail a multiple school package with her. From my end I did everything wrong as I kept extending my GMAT exam dates or couldn’t get past the dreadful score but in the end Jessica stood by patiently and kept encouraging me to put my best foot forward and trust in myself.

Heading into December and with only a month left before the round 2 applications were due, I was tremendously impressed with the roadmap that Jessica created to get me back on track be it getting LOR/ editing resumes/ having a detailed brainstorm session and last but not the least creating an extensive structure for each and every essay. Over the next month we worked arduously on getting each and every application fine tuned to perfection. To this day I wish I could get a walk through of how she manages multiple clients and yet manages to churn out everything within the deadline proscribed and with impeccable perfection.

In using her structure and creating a thought process around what my story was, I was able to apply and get admitted into 4 programs. Even though I was waitlisted for the schools I had sought her help on, I would be wrong to not admit that they were stretch schools given my profile. The fact that I am still in contention is only a testament to how far Jessica’s expertise and help came handy during the process.

I have no qualms in recommending Jessica and her expertise about the MBA application process to any prospective student.

Read More

April 27, 2020
mbaco22

Joined: Sep 04, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Jessica is the best!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Jessica is hands down the best in the business! When beginning my search for the right admissions consultant to work with, my biggest concern was whether the investment would be worth it. After initial consultations with numerous admissions consultants, I still had my doubts. That was until I spoke with Jessica. I knew right away from that initial consultation with Jessica that she was who I wanted to work with. What immediately stood out for me was her genuine passion and excitement to work with me, and that enthusiasm never wavered throughout the application process, from that initial consultation to my acceptance to my dream school!

Jessica’s approach is direct and honest, so you’ll get the best advice and feedback without any sugarcoating. This is the approach you need if you’re aiming for a top school, and it’s amazing how her feedback helped transform my weak first draft essays to powerful and impactful essays that told my story in the best way. Along with this fantastic approach, Jessica has a great background and extensive experience; she’s seen pretty much everything there is to see, so she can give guidance in any scenario. This was especially helpful for me since I was a non-traditional applicant that didn’t have friends or colleagues in my industry I could go to for advice. She always had time for even the silliest of my questions. Most importantly, Jessica was dedicated and committed to my success throughout the entire application journey. It was a big confidence booster for me knowing that she was in my corner to help me navigate through all the stressful and tough challenges that the application process can pose.

I can’t say enough just how incredibly valuable it was working with Jessica. If you’re on the fence about an admissions consultant as I was when I started my application process, do what I did and schedule an initial consultation with Jessica. You’ll quickly see that Jessica is a cut above the rest – she’s truly the best in the business and you won't find someone better that can help you achieve your dreams!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 21, 2020
mm23

Joined: Apr 21, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Two years after working with Jessica, as I’m about to graduate from my MBA, I am still seeing what a value she has been to me, not only in the MBA application process, but in job recruiting and post-MBA as well. In my job search, the HR director for a multi-national company repeated over the phone how powerful and impactful my resume is. 85% of the resume is directly from what Jessica and I worked on, and for the other 15% I have updated since then using the skills and messaging she taught me. Additionally I have used a lot of points and messaging from the essays we crafted together for cover letters to companies and top consulting companies (MBB) that I got interviews for.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 17, 2020
1234testing

Joined: Feb 18, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Jessica was super helpful!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Jessica took a huge interest in my success and went through my application with a fine tooth comb. Jessica also made me feel less stressed throughout the process. Jessica's greatest skill is packaging your story and her attention to detail. I really appreciated her candid feedback throughout the application process. She was super responsive and I was able to use some of the materials from our sessions and MBAmission for other applications which was helpful (note a lot of the MBAmission resources are available for free on the website so you can access them there). I would recommend Jessica for other applicants navigating the process for the first time.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

45 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Jessica Shklar