GMAT Club

Jessica Shklar Reviews

Company: mbaMission

After graduating from Harvard College with a degree in anthropology, Jessica Shklar worked in nonprofit education, first doing curriculum development for an adult education center and then in the admissions office of a small university in Los Angeles, where she advised applicants to both the undergraduate college and several graduate programs, including business school. While there, she developed and delivered workshops around the country on Selecting the Right College and How to Write an Effective Application Essay. Having been accepted to every business school to which she applied, including Stanford, Kellogg and Yale, Jessica ultimately chose to attend HBS, where she completed her MBA with distinction (graduating in the top 10%). After starting work, she volunteered in the New York City public school system, helping high school seniors with their college applications. She has worked at several Fortune 100 companies, including American Express and JPMorgan Chase, where she was the quality leader and a senior vice president for Chase Home Finance. Jessica is also a Six Sigma Master Black Belt, with specific expertise in Six Sigma deployment and initialization.

Source: http://www.mbamission.com/about/?display=team&name=jessica-shklar

5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 151 reviews
April 17, 2020
excitedMBA2022

Joined: Apr 17, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Jessica Shklar – She’s the best!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I could tell from the very first time I spoke with Jessica, during my initial mbaMission phone consultation, that she’s extremely knowledgeable and experienced. Right after that initial phone call, I knew that if I were to hire a consultant that it would have to be her, so I immediately put myself on her list of upcoming clients (she fills up fast).

Even though the school packages are pretty expensive, once I started working with Jessica I knew I had made the right decision. None of the advice she gave me was ever cookie cutter, and she has the experience of having worked with countless clients over many years. This wealth of experience proved valuable on multiple occasions, as I had to navigate a few confusing situations and bumps on the road during my MBA application journey. If I hadn’t had Jessica to lean on, I’m not sure if I would have figured everything out.

Not only is Jessica extremely knowledgeable about the schools and the admissions process, but she’s also a master storyteller. You have to put in all the work, obviously, but Jessica provides endless feedback, suggestions, and input along the way. She was always there when I needed to ask how a certain section of my essay sounded or whether there was a better way to convey a certain point. And she doesn’t beat around the bush—if she thinks an essay needs work, she’ll tell you. I really appreciated that she was direct and straightforward, because I think a lot of other consultants (or friends, family members, etc) just tell you what they think you want to hear. In addition, even though I was living overseas in a totally different time zone, Jessica was always quick to respond and on time with everything, which is really important when the deadlines are so tight.

Throughout the process, I grew to see Jessica as a trusted friend. After all, the MBA application process involves deep introspection and takes place over a fairly long period of time, so I felt like we really got to know each other. I can’t recommend her highly enough, and anyone would be lucky to work with her. In the end, I got accepted to several top programs (and Jessica was once again helpful with bouncing ideas back and forth when deciding which school to attend). I’m excited to attend one of the top MBA programs this fall, and if I could go back in time I would absolutely hire Jessica again.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 17, 2020
numbersguy

Joined: Apr 17, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Jessica Shklar got me into the top-ranked MBA program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

If you are looking for a consultant who is an excellent communicator and has deep experience bringing together successful applications, look no further than Jessica Shklar at mbamission. She knows how to get applicants admitted into the nation’s top programs.

Her expertise resonated in every interaction with me, as she helped me focus my attention on the most important tasks and helped me polish my application. Her experience and ability to communicate her thoughts clearly are worth every penny and cannot be emphasized enough. I am a busy person and cannot afford to waste time on numerous iterations of my resume, essays, or general profile. Building on Jessica’s feedback, I was able to expeditiously polish all the above—which in some cases involved cosmetic fixes and in others broad rewrites. Jessica’s ability to quickly hone in on the important elements of the application and succinctly communicate how “ready” any particular deliverable was made working with her a pleasure.

I was extremely busy throughout the process and had to rely heavily on Jessica’s organization. Having done this numerous times, she has a birds-eye view of the process that helped me meet my deadlines and refine my approach to items such as recommender selection and interview questions in a timely manner.

I ended up getting accepted to Wharton and did not have to spend time applying elsewhere. Thanks to Jessica, I knew what to expect, got prescient feedback on my application and expectations, and was accepted into my first-choice school. If you are on the fence, don’t be. Call her and let her help you make your wishes a reality.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 06, 2020
jennk

Joined: Jul 27, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best decision I made during the application process!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Jessica was my #1 resource and advocate during the application process. Coming from a non-traditional background was intimidating, as I had no other guidance or friends who had previously applied for MBA programs. Jessica is a wealth of knowledge; from her insights into AdCom to the depth of her essay edits, she guided me every step of the way. Jessica put structure around what can feel like a very daunting process and helped me tell my story in a compelling way. I am thrilled to have gotten into my dream school! I truly could not have gone through this process without her!

Read More

April 05, 2020
BusSchool2020

Joined: Feb 24, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best in the Business – Successfully Admitted to H/S/W

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

To start, Jessica takes the success of her students as truly truly her own. I was shocked by the amount of dedication and energy she brought to presenting my application in the best light, and I can confidently say she does the same for all her students.
Besides having a profound insight into what admission committees are looking for in an applicant, she made it a point to believe in me and my story, allowing me to be proud of my application, and enabling me to put my best foot forward through the entirety of the process.
I applied to H/S/W. Never in my wildest dreams did I believe I’d get into all three. Words cannot express how grateful I am for Jessica’s help – an “admission’s consultant” sure, but also a special friend and coach! If you get the opportunity to work with Jessica, you will find yourself lucky for having done so and thankful you did.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 05, 2020
2022MBACandidate

Joined: Apr 05, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Good Consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Jessica was friendly to work with and returned drafts in a timely manner. Would recommend if you are looking for a more structured consultant. Jessica and the mbaMission consultants often work with many clients at any given time and have a process of their own to cycle through drafts and other deliverables. As a result, there is little to no flexibility on deadlines and process standards, but you will be guaranteed to receive feedback by a certain time.

I did appreciate that Jessica would always provide helpful ideas while respecting my decisions to take a different route several times. She was efficient in moving forward rather than debating when time was precious and we had different opinions. As with any process of this nature, expect to take ownership of your work and be realistic even if you are lucky enough to have additional leverage from a consultant.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 05, 2020
vasu214

Joined: May 21, 2018

Posts: 4

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
660 Q43 V38

Successful re-applicant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Jessica provided invaluable advice throughout the re-application process. She helped me decide which schools to focus on. Jessica was most helpful in reviewing my essays. She was quick to respond and met her deadlines. I am so glad that I got to benefit from working her. I'll be attending at top business program this fall! I would recommend that anybody work with Jessica. She has a special skill for understanding the heart of an applicant's story. As a nontraditional applicant, I felt uniquely supported by Jessica's abilities. She came from the nonprofit education world, as well. Jessica knows how to frame nontraditional stories in a way that speaks to top programs. Thank you Jessica!

Read More

April 05, 2020
ss12345678910

Joined: Apr 05, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Fantastic!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Jessica is an absolute dream to work with. I was extremely impressed by her diligence, organisation and thought that she gave my application. Her input was extremely helpful and extremely timely (something that should not be overlooked, given tight timelines for schools). I think her greatest skill is her input. Not only is it extremely well thought through, but it also is extremely simple to understand and actionable. Yes, MBA applications are stressful particularly when applying to multiple schools, each with tight deadlines, but from the moment we had our introductory call, I felt at ease with Jessica and knew she would help me achieve my goal of getting into my dream school (and she did!). If in doubt, just have the introductory call and you’ll see what i mean.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 03, 2020
arens93

Joined: Jun 15, 2016

Posts: 5

Kudos: 0

Jessica delivers

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

mbaMission has a collection of resources, templates and guidelines for its consultants. Its a great company because their standardization and databasing makes it so that a consultant that simply follows instructions and pulls on archived resources would likely be quite helpful. Jessica routinely exceeds the expectations set forth in the agreement by responding faster than prescribed, tailoring the already high quality templates to your story, and straight up creating content when it makes sense. Her veteranship in this space is valuable - anecdotes about past clients and wisdom from discussions with other consultants and adcom personnel help significantly. She's talented at synthesizing what she learns about you to help you answer the questions that these applications pose

Read More

April 02, 2020
2020GradApplicant

Joined: Apr 02, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Jessica must be one of the best admissions consultants out there. I came to her after an unsuccessful application process, and over the course of the ensuing year, she helped me to drastically improve my admissions story and my application materials to tell it.

Jessica works as a consultant full-time, which I strongly recommend over part-time consultants. Jessica will be your most valuable counsel and sounding board throughout, and she will ensure every word of your application helps to present the most compelling version of yourself. Along the way, she’ll also help you clarify and focus your own goals and plans. Additionally, the mbaMission team has a wealth of resources and knowledge that are available to you. Jessica is a valuable investment and I encourage you to consider working with her on your admissions journey.

Jessica knows the business school scene like the back of her hand and can also help you with joint degree programs too (e.g., MBA/MPP). Her depth and range of expertise will be especially valuable to you. Even if you think you have your plan figured out, you may surprise yourself. When I made a pivot mid-cycle on the type of joint degree program I was pursuing, Jessica was able to pivot with me and continue to guide me. I cannot over-emphasize the value of having an all-around elite consultant to manage through the many twists and turns you could encounter.

From start to finish, Jessica brought me into her world of professional admissions coaching and support. She has an extensive, organized process that sets clear expectations for her and for you and ensures everything gets done on schedule. Your engagement with Jessica begins with a rigorous brainstorming period involving detailed questions to help you gather the stories and experiences that will inform your application, which also helps Jessica really get to know you as a person. Then, you should expect to spend much of your time going back and forth with Jessica on essays. As application deadlines and interviews come up, you’ll have specific instructions to follow in order to ensure you submit a strong overall package and that you are prepared for the next steps. Throughout, Jessica is honest and direct, while still maintaining a comfortable and trusting space for you and her to work together on your grad school undertaking.

Jessica is very knowledgable and passionate about her work — a critical combination that you should demand from an admissions consultant. She is a talented strategist who can walk you through important decisions during your application process, such as recommender choices and more. Jessica even helped me evaluate whether to accept a new job I was offered during my application process. Jessica and her colleagues at mbaMission are a great resource for the latest thinking from admissions committees and accurate news/chatter on relevant developments in the world of admissions. Having access to good counsel and intelligence will only help your applications.

Importantly, Jessica and the mbaMission team do this job full-time…unlike many consultants who do admissions consulting part-time. I strongly encourage you to select a full-time consultant, like Jessica.

For anyone on the fence about whether or not to hire an admissions consultant, I encourage you to consider all the costs that go into graduate school, and that you think about paying for admissions consulting as a (relatively small) part of that overall cost. Hopefully, it will help you get into your top school; if not, at least you won’t have lingering doubts about whether you could’ve done more. Even before receiving my admissions decisions from schools, I was very pleased with Jessica’s efforts because I knew she helped me prepare the best possible version of my application.

If you are considering hiring a consultant to help you apply to grad school, I strongly recommend Jessica — commit to her early, before her spots fill up! She is someone you want on your side. Jessica has been a true partner on my application journey. I will be forever thankful to Jessica for helping me achieve one of my dreams.

Read More

April 02, 2020
ZY123

Joined: Aug 06, 2019

Posts: 4

Kudos: 6

Verified score:
720 Q49 V39

I highly recommend Jessica!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Before deciding to work with Jessica, I had free consultations with other admissions consulting firms. I left all these consultations disappointed - they didn't provide any valuable advice and most of the time discouraged me from applying to my dream schools. And then I came across mbamission, and immediately felt a connection to Jessica after reading her bio on their website (and the reviews on gmatclub)
After my initial, 30-min free consultation with her, I was beyond excited to work with her! The packages were way above my budget, but I took the risk of buying a 3-school package and drowning a big chunk of my savings as an international student from an emerging country. However, I'm glad I did it.

Today I can happily say that working with Jessica was the best decision that I've made in a while. She not only helped me gain admission to Wharton, but she also helped me see the worth in myself. I've now also become more skilled at articulating my thoughts as a non-native English speaker, and this has helped me greatly at work too. I've come to know myself much better, am so much more confident. It's all thanks to Jessica - she had confidence in me, and showed me that I had strengths that I wasn't even aware of before.

A few more things - Jessica doesn't sugarcoat anything, but she'll be your biggest supporter. Whatever you dream of - she'll be there to support you and make sure that you put forward the best application possible. I can't recall the times I've sent her emails at awkward times of the day, about random things that I was freaking out, and she was always there to respond! She almost most of the time responds before the 2-day deadline - I haven't met anyone as committed to her job as she is.

I can't recommend her enough to anyone considering working with an admissions consultant. Jessica will always make you feel as if you're her only client, and will be your best friend throughout this tough process!

Read More


45 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Jessica Shklar