GMAT Club

Melody Jones Reviews

Company: Vantage Point


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 34 reviews
May 20, 2022
happymbastudent

Joined: May 20, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Happy Reapplicant Going to Dream School

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was a reapplicant who had tried to navigate the daunting process by myself before and had not gained admissions to the schools I had my heart set on. I had never considered working with an admissions consultant and found them generally intimidating until I met Melody. I was referred to Melody by a long-time friend who had just worked with her and valued her high standards of excellence, promptness, and kindness.

Melody was thoughtful and challenged me to do things differently, pushing me in the best way to stay motivated and make it through the finish line (through testing, the applications, and interviews). I appreciated her expertise and how she equipped me with the tools and knowledge to empower me to make decisions throughout my application process. Over time, I added more schools to our comprehensive package as I was impressed by our work together.

Ultimately, I had the opportunity to choose between my top 2 school choices, both Ivy League business programs that offered me scholarships, and I accepted the offer to my dream school. I’m confident it was because of my carefully crafted application and profile with Melody’s guidance. I highly recommend working with Melody or Vantage Point MBA to maximize your chances of success in your application journey and make your MBA dreams come through.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 26, 2022
yalco88

Joined: May 02, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q45 V44

The Perfect Experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

My journey with Vantage Point started with a free consultation phone call with Melody, after I found out about the company on GMAT Club. The amount of insight Melody gave on the call, her knowledge and passion about the entire MBA application process stood out, and shortly after I signed up for her company`s comprehensive package.

The package was worth every penny because Melody doesn`t approach what you do together as just another job. She is very hands on and an experienced and wise guide, not agreeing to any subpar idea. It was very easy to reach Melody. She is open to always giving feedback, and all conversations with her are very genuine: no sugar coating, brutal honesty - the right recipe that encourages you to think outside the box and inspire you to compose the best essays you possibly can.

If you are ready to do the hard work to decide between the multiple offers you`ll get at the end of the road, I recommend you work with Melody. After a lengthy thought process, I decided that this fall I will be joining Tuck`s class of 2024.

Read More

April 02, 2022
LineroXpulse

Joined: Apr 18, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
750 Q49 V42

Simply the best - Melody (Vantage Point)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

My partner and I worked with Melody on hourly package and we both got admits to all the 4 schools that we applied to including Kellogg, which was our top choice school. Melody is simply the best - she challenged us to get out of our comfort zones and motivated us to put our best foot forward. She helped us shape our essays in line with the American culture, all the while retaining their authenticity and bringing out key nuances of our stories. We loved how she always gave us direct and honest feedback on our essays. We would not have been able to craft our essays as well as we did without her guiding us through the self-reflection and essay writing process.

The process was sometimes overwhelming as my partner and I wanted to get into a school together. But Melody kept our morale high and motivated us at every step. Even when I struggled with GMAT, she not only encouraged me but also went out of her way to provide me great resources for my preparations. She is the nicest person to work with. I would highly recommend Melody and Vantage Point to anyone who wants to give their 100% to the application process.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 22, 2022
afrmn6

Joined: Nov 15, 2021

Posts: 2

Kudos: 2

A game changer - could not have done it without Melody and Vantage point

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

From our very first meeting, Melody managed to ease my nerves and help establish a timeline for my application. We started with a big-picture approach which was so helpful for someone coming in with little knowledge on the MBA landscape and process. From the GRE to my essays and recommendations, she made the process streamlined and stress-free, all while being kind and patient. I applied to only one school, so the stakes were high, but Melody helped me frame my story and my post-career goals perfectly. I could not have done it without her, and I highly recommend her to anyone who is intimidated by the process. Thank you, Melody - Vantage Point Consulting was the most worthy investment!

Read More

October 11, 2021
kjmacalinao

Joined: Dec 30, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q43 V35 (Online)

Melody & Vantage Point - Highly Recommended!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had the absolute pleasure of working with Melody Jones on a comprehensive package for my application to Columbia Business School. Melody was an incredible resource and advisor throughout the entire process. Her guidance and support enabled me to optimize and highlight the strengths of my candidacy, eventually leading to an acceptance to my first choice and dream school, Columbia Business School.

Due to the fact that I applied as a both a round 3 applicant and a reapplicant to CBS, I had the pleasure of working with Melody for over six months.

While the business school application process is naturally a long, introspective, and stressful time, Melody did an amazing job of being a true partner throughout the whole process. She constantly impressed me with her ability to provide direct, honest feedback in a polite manner. She responded to essay drafts and general questions very reliably and timely. Separately, I was pleasantly surprised with how much time Melody spent with me digging deep into my personal and professional background to help me effectively present my goals and story.

After being rejected by CBS following the submission of my round 3 application, Melody provided clarity as I was not fully sure if I wanted to reapply. She was not pushy and provided encouragement during a time when I was very discouraged.

During my reapplication process, her advice drove me to seek ways to improve my candidacy both professionally and through extracurriculars. After receiving an interview invite during my reapplication process, Melody thoroughly prepared me for my interview. I entered the interview fully prepared and I subsequently received an acceptance to CBS within a week.

In addition to Melody's guidance, the Vantage Point team also provided phenomenal resources that supplemented my research and preparation phase. The Vantage Point team's effective admissions committee trial run also provided amazing feedback from the perspective of an experienced former admissions committee member.

Overall, I highly recommend Melody and the Vantage Point team to anyone looking to apply to a competitive MBA program! Even if I had not received admission into my dream school, I believe working with Melody and her team put me in the best position to apply to my programs of choice. I cannot thank Melody and the Vantage Point team enough for helping me achieve my goal!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 03, 2020
cbsmvp

Joined: Jun 07, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Top-notched Admission Consultant- Fully Recommended

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Melody Jones (Co-founder) of VantagePoint on the comprehensive package and got accepted to my dream school CBS.

I never thought that I would be accepted into my dream school, CBS, for the Aug entry (ED round) when I started my MBA process early this year. But Melody MADE it happen. I CERTAINLY wouldn't have done it without her help, given that 1) I do not have a stellar test scores/GPA (right at average) 2) my competitive demographics . I feel very fortunate that I was able to connect to work with her from a mutual connection, who also worked with Melody and got accepted to CBS. Not to mention - Melody is also a CBS alum, so she understands ins and outs of CBS and the CBS process very well.

I worked with Melody on the comprehensive package. It is pricey like any other comprehensive consulting packages- make no mistake about it. BUT it's definitely WORTH every single penny. I chose the comprehensive package vs. hourly or essay services bc I wanted my consultant to be fully engaged and be able to shed his/her insight throughout the process. It turns out to be the absolutely right decision, bc Melody and I spent a lot of hours discussing about my background, personal stories, etc., that ultimately help put together a very coherent application. I don't think that could've happened if I decided to save a couple hundred or thousand dollars opting in for an essay coach/hourly chats services.

While I can't speak for other services, what I would highlight from my experience working with Melody is that she is extremely encouraging knowledgeable, and responsive. From time to time, she would listen to my vent about my average test scores and anxiety reading about forums etc. But she has remained reassuring throughout this whole time, motivating me to focus on what I can control. She also shared extensive knowledge on the admission and application process from her previous experience with other clients. During the process, she has also been much more responsive than what I would expect from a consultant, especially at the founder level. She typically responded my general inquiries/questions/emails/texts in 12 hours or less even though she was extremely busy.

Another thing I wanted to highlight is that bc I signed up for the comprehensive package, I was able to gamplan with Melody at the early stage on the process such as timeline, LoC, and other admission items. Throughout this couple months, I definitely had a bunch of follow up phone calls, emails, and texts just on items other than the essays.

As far as the services, Melody and her team has a wholistic process that really helps you dig deep into your personal story- and most importantly- challenges you to think about what really matters to you. While the story and working experiences are mine, Melody really did a great job in connecting all the dots and helped me craft a genuinely authentic story. I am extremely satisfied with the final essays that Melody and I worked together on after multiple drafts. I certainly would not be able to come up with the articulate essays/personal stories without Melody's help. Not to mention, Melody is also an excellent writer! After I got invited for an interview for CBS, Melody and I also had a mock interview, which was extremely helpful. I also got to speak with Alicia at VP as part of the package . Kudos to her for taking the time to speak even though I do not directly work with her. It just showcases how resourceful and approachable Vantagepoint and its staffs are.

Lastly, had I not get accepted, would I regret my decision of choosing Melody and VP? Definitely not. Coming into our first call, I expected my consultant to fully invest her time and to be the shepherd of this daunting process. Melody well exceeds my expectation regardless of result, as she fully invested her time and effort in my application. I truly feel that every dollar is well spent. Of course, the result speaks for itself. I STRONGLY recommend Melody and Vantage Point!

Read More

May 07, 2020
AndrewYates

Joined: May 07, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Absolutely Brilliant, Thoughtful & Detail-Oriented - Incredible Consultant!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

For context, I worked with Melody on a comprehensive package across multiple schools. From start to finish, Melody went out of her way to provide extraordinarily thoughtful coaching and guidance. The advising process began even before I had opened any applications, or decided on which schools I wanted to apply for. We spent weeks exploring my career goals, MBA goals, personality traits and past experiences, to refine down a wide list of potential angles to apply from, tailored to which school might receive each angle best. Once we started going back and forth on refined topics, Melody provided the most detailed, insightful, creative and well-articulated feedback I have ever received. It helped me brainstorm and craft well thought out essays that highlighted the most important facets of my applications and create applications well beyond what I would have otherwise crafted. To be clear, we worked well past version 25 on at least one of my applications, and I truly felt each turn was significantly better than the last. Furthermore, Melody is super nice, friendly and incredible to work with. She maintained a positive attitude throughout, which helped get through such a daunting process. She certainly earns the highest marks possible and I would recommend her to anybody taking a hard run at applying to business schools.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 16, 2020
harshpillari

Joined: Feb 11, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Melody - Admissions Consultant Extraordinaire

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Working with Melody on a comprehensive multi school package was the best decision I made as I started my MBA application process. Thorough and thoughtful, Melody was instrumental in me crafting and communicating a compelling story based on my background and experiences. She is extremely knowledgeable and had insights and tips for each school that I applied to. Melody strives for perfection – she made sure that I approached each application on its own and is not afraid to go back on her own advice. In addition, she is personable and a lot of fun to work with. She made sure that my personality shone through in my essays. Her mock interviews made me feel confident and comfortable as I walked into the real thing.
She is an excellent communicator and was always prompt with her responses. Knowing that my work was picking back up soon, she even worked double time with me to get my applications in order - an excellent example of her dedication to her clients. Thanks to her advice, I got interviews for 6/7 schools (All top-10) that I applied to and ended up getting multiple admits. I think the results speak for themselves. All in all, I could not have asked for a better guide and friend as I worked through the stressful application process.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 28, 2019
nycmba2022

Joined: Dec 27, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Worthwhile Investment

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Results speak for themselves: I was admitted to my dream school, HBS!

Melody has been an invaluable sounding board, copy editor and advisor for the past few months. I especially appreciated: her availability on short notice, her tirelessly critical eye on my essays (from version 1 to the final version 54 I submitted) and ability to continue to push me to dig deeper and demonstrate impact. I worked with her on an hourly basis on my resume and essays, and interview preparation. Melody was extremely helpful at helping me articulate my personal and work history, aspirations, goals, etc. and I consider both the money and time spent in the process as well invested.

I would strongly encourage others to work with Melody – I truly don’t think I would have had the same results without her expertise on crafting my application to showcase my story and personality.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 01, 2019
dps91

Joined: Dec 01, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q47 V44

A worthwhile investment

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Melody for over a year, from the initial phase of deciding whether to apply to business school, through a successful application to a top 10 program. I found her objective input and feedback to be a tremendous asset throughout the entire application process, both through providing a source of vetting for initial ideas as well as refining key themes and stories. From the outset of our work together, the structured framework she provided was extremely helpful in breaking down an otherwise daunting application process into manageable steps, while ensuring a high level of self-reflection throughout. In addition, coming from a professional background which did not require much creative writing, Melody’s insights were invaluable in translating raw ideas into a final product which was both more personal and well-polished. I would highly recommend her to anyone interested in applying to business school.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.