GMAT Club

Melody Jones Reviews

Company: Vantage Point


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 23 reviews
April 10, 2018
DrFunkenstine

Joined: Oct 16, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q48 V44

A Free Consult Turned My Application Around

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After a round of rejection, I had one free consultation with Melody. Melody is an excellent listener and was able to take all of the information I gave her and focused in on a handful of ways I could quickly improve my applications. I wholeheartedly believe that her advice on how to frame a particular weakness in my application helped me get into every school I applied to in the subsequent round, including to an M7 school. Melody helped me describe why I struggled in one college quant course in a way that seemed natural, whereas my previous writing on the subject likely came off as excuse-making. It says a lot about the company’s integrity that they have refused even token compensation from me, even though the short time I spent with Melody was so impactful.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 08, 2018
jabass

Joined: Nov 24, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q45 V33

Vantage Point MBA

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had the great pleasure of working with Melody Jones for my five business school applications. I had conversations with quite a few consultants from various companies but I felt most comfortable with Melody as she gave me honest feedback and great advice from the onset.

As I run a start-up and was quite young at the time, she recommended that I push my application to the following year. She thought I would have a lot more to show which would greatly increase my chances.

I worked with her through the entire application process. From picking schools to going over my, CV, essays and finally sending off my applications. She was always happy to jump on a call with me whenever I was confused or unsure of anything along the way. When I received interview invites she set up mock interviews in order to ensure that I felt ready.

I was worried about my GMAT score of 640 but with her guidance on how to best tell my story, I was able to overcome this challenge. I have been admitted to three great schools and even received a scholarship at one of them.

I'm so glad that I worked with Melody and would highly recommend her service to anyone applying to business school.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 12, 2018
nyc123456

Joined: Mar 12, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

High Recommend Hourly Services with Melody!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I'm so thankful for Melody's guidance and support throughout this process. I had initially begun visiting schools and crafting my personal statement for pursuing an MBA without a consultant and found myself overwhelmed with only four weeks left before Round 1 deadlines. Fortunately, through online research, I found Melody at Vantage Point.

During our initial call, we aligned on how far along I was on my applications and school selection process, and she immediately worked with me to strengthen and shape my core story. I admit I was a bit nervous about how much attention I would receive as an hourly client compared to others with more comprehensive services, but I was highly impressed with and appreciative of Melody’s invaluable insight, along with her timely and honest feedback. I was out of practice with my essay writing skills and Melody showed me how to write authentically and in more compelling ways that I believe differentiated my application. In the end, I was thrilled when I was accepted into MIT Sloan and am excited to attend this fall!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 28, 2018
cbarringer17

Joined: Jan 28, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q48 V38

Vantage Point Hourly Services Review- Highly Recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

The hourly services at Vantage Point were the perfect fit for what I needed in the application process. Going into the applications, I felt I had a strong GMAT score and reason for applying to school but needed help with the essays. I had a lower college GPA, so knew I needed to write really strong essays to have a chance at getting in. Melody was great at helping me from the brainstorming process through multiple drafts on different topics to the final polishing to make sure everything was "submit" ready. She was also very helpful in answering my one-off questions as I continued through the process, even after we had wrapped up our final hour. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for help and direction with the overall application!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 07, 2018
dsr0702

Joined: Jan 07, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q48 V42

Highly recommend working with Melody!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had the pleasure of working with Melody on two Round 1 applications to top 10 programs. I had unsuccessfully applied to several top programs last year and was unsure of why I had been rejected as my GPA/GMAT/undergrad school were strong and I felt I had interesting work experience. While I had initially been reluctant to use an admissions consultant due to the cost, it was definitely a worthwhile investment. I worked with Melody on an hourly basis, which worked well for me as I already knew the schools to which I intended to apply. I was impressed with Melody’s efficiency, as well as the quality of her feedback, and appreciated her regular updates on the time spent on various items.
Melody helped me first by doing a quick review of a few my applications from last year and pinpointing that I stood to improve the most by strengthening my resume, stating career goals that better justified the need for an MBA, and writing more compelling and specific essays. We spent most of our time on resume edits, career goal articulation, and essay reviews and edits.
The previous application cycle showed me just how competitive it is to gain admission to top MBA programs, and not knowing many people familiar with the MBA process, it was invaluable for me to have Melody’s insight into the admissions process and candid feedback on my resume, goals, and essay drafts. Additionally, Melody was always quick to respond and open to answering any questions I had about the admissions process.
I was admitted to a top 10 program with a scholarship that more than makes up for the cost of working with a consultant and truly believe Melody’s help in developing a strong, polished application helped me gain admission with a scholarship. I highly recommend working with her!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 04, 2017
karan714

Joined: Oct 20, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
690 Q48 V36

Accepted to my dream school! - Thanks Melody

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

With only one month for Round 1 admits and after talking to numerous consultants, I finally decided to work with Melody Jones @ Vantage Point. Though the fees seemed steep initially, choosing to work with Melody turned out to be the best decision during my MBA application process.

Melody is an exceptional professional and her attention to details is brilliant. Her feedbacks were always spot on and she urges you to think out of the box and come up with innovative ways to express yourself. Submitting 4 applications in 1 month was a huge task but Melody worked with me till the end and ensure that I brought my best out in every application.

The interview prep was, again, very helpful and thorough. Melody gave me a great insight on what to expect for interviews and how to bring my A-game forward.

I highly recommend Melody & Vantage Point as a MBA consultant. Applying for top B-schools is a stressful experience and it's highly beneficial to have a good consultant by your side.

Read More

November 18, 2017
vivek6199

Joined: Sep 21, 2016

Posts: 466

Kudos: 371

Self-reported Score:
200

Great Resume Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

I had availed this service thanks to the reward system of GMATClub. The service includes 1 round of review & feedback. However, if you have any questions or need clarification on any of the comments you receive, VP is happy to follow-up and answer them.
I was asked to submit my resume and an accompanying document with any notes, background information which could be useful for them to review my resume. I had also sent specific questions which I wanted them to address.
The review took just three days. The resume was transformed into a more action based. Most of the bullet points were edited or had some review comments. The end result was that the resume became more crisp and concise.
Also, all the questions that I sent via mail were answered.
I would recommend this service to anyone willing to have his review reviewed. Please remember that resume is the most underrated part of the application. However, it is as important as the essays.

Good luck to all!

Read More

October 11, 2017
yelu1988

Joined: Dec 22, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q50 V36

Amazing consultant!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I initially met Melody during Forte workshop kickoff event and was impressed by her candidness immediately. Since early May, I had been working with her on every aspect of my CBS application package - career goals, strength/weakness assessment, resume, essays and mock interview. Melody always provided to-the-point feedback on my writing and pushed me beyond my comfort zone to polish my career goals (I'm seeking to change my career vertically post-MBA, hence the challenge). On top of that, I really enjoyed doing mock interview with her: she offered super honest and constructive feedback on my responses, and helped me brainstorm prompts that I struggled with. I was eventually admitted into CBS during ED round within 5 weeks! I can't thank Melody enough for her directional guidance in the process.

Read More

June 15, 2017
fluffygmat

Joined: Jun 15, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

no brainer: best investment ever

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I can't say enough about my positive experience with Melody. I reached out to her when I knew I wanted to go to bschool but didn't have any other thoughts beyond that - what school, best practices on GMAT prep, what I wanted to do after school, how to tackle interviews, essay writing, how to engage with my recommenders, etc.

She walked me through the entire process step-by-step so it didn't seem as daunting, and pushed me each step of the way to make my application stronger than I could have ever thought possible. She was to-the-point and always available, which really helped me focus on specific areas I needed to focus on and be as efficient as possible.

I'm convinced that Melody's guidance and pushing me to improve my application beyond what I could have done myself is what led to my overall success in the bschool application process. I'm happy to note that I received 4 acceptances (of 6 schools applied), with merit scholarships to all I applied to!

Long story short: Best investment ever.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 07, 2017
sf6

Joined: Mar 07, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q47 V47

Admission and Scholarship with the help of Vantage Point!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Vantage Point MBA Admissions Consulting helped frame my story and provided the advice I needed to not only gain admission, but receive a full scholarship to a top-tier MBA program.

In our early sessions, my counsellor Melody quickly assessed my goals and helped me narrow down the field of schools to those that most aligned with my needs. She also gave me crucial advice when it came to developing an optimal application strategy (How many schools? Which rounds? Etc.) This was important because it allowed me to expend my energy more efficiently during the burdensome application process.

More importantly however, working with Vantage Point gave me perspective on myself as a candidate and helped me develop my story. After a few conversations and working through several thinking aids I had developed a solid understanding of how to present myself in my applications. Armed with a clear perspective of myself and my story, my applications became relatively straightforward.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.