GMAT Club

Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews

Magoosh provides online test preparation with hundreds of video lessons and practice questions that cover every topic tested on the GMAT.  You can study anytime, anywhere on your laptop, smartphone, or iPad. Learn by watching short video tutorials that are tailored to you based on your performance.

Special $109 savings on Magoosh courses + $250 bonus deal for GMAT Club members
Magoosh Deal Page
4.6 /5 Average Rating
Based on 303 reviews
+ 1 non-voted reviews

Submit a review

Magoosh GMAT Course Reviews

Magoosh Premium
 $438  $249
Reviews
291
Average Rating
4.6
Buy Now
Magoosh Math
 $219  $219
Reviews
8
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Magoosh Verbal
 $219  $219
Reviews
4
Average Rating
3.8
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Magoosh GMAT Instructors

Mike McGarry
Reviews
3
Average Rating
4.7

Reviews:

304 Reviews
4.6 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
July 09, 2013
jainpiyushjain

Joined: Dec 11, 2012

Posts: 48

Kudos: 58

Self-reported Score:
640 Q49 V24
720 Q49 V40

Crispt Explanations and good practise for timed sets.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Great set of video explanations and lessons for each topic both in verbal and quant. The explanations are clear and to the point. I was able to do timed sets with adaptive difficulty similar to the real GMAT. For advance test takers, they have a number of high level questions, which will challenge your understanding. Each question is complemented with its explanations and related subject video to bridge the gap in the knowledge. Total they have over 600 questions of varying difficulty complemented with video and written explanations. Their support team is very helpful and the instructors reply to your query within 24 hours only.

Really gained a lot from it and highly recommend Magoosh.

Read More

June 23, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Ok

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

This course was pretty good for quants. I felt they had some really good tips and tricks that I definitely did not know before the course. However, the verbal was really nothing like the GMAT itself, so if I were you, I would only focus on the quants because the verbal is weak. I did not score too well on the verbal, it could have been that I was just not prepared enough, but I feel like if the verbal was closer to what the real gmat was then I would have been more prepared. You get alot of good tips with it, but it is more about how much you absorb and how efficient you are with your preparation time.

Read More

May 31, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great Course - Great Price!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I was very unsure of what online course to sign up with for my first stab at the GMAT. Working full time and with less than 4 weeks to go, I signed up with Magoosh after trying a few of the free lessons. I was very pleasantly surprised at how organized each and every lesson was. The User Interface on the site was excellent and there were plenty of practice problems with thorough explanations that helped me learn and fix my mistakes my difficulty level of the question.

Their iphone app was helpful for me to listen to while i was commuting to work - obviously this worked better for verbal study than for the quant study where you need to focus on the content on screen.

Using just Magoosh to learn the concepts from scratch, practicing Magoosh problems and the OG13, and finally using some Manhattan GMAT practice tests, I scored a 680 on my first official GMAT. I took the test again later with some tweaks in my study methodology and hit my 700. I'll be starting at Kellogg in the fall.

Thanks Magoosh for creating a great system to beat the gmat!

Read More

April 03, 2013
gmatprepab

Joined: Aug 08, 2011

Posts: 38

Kudos: 15

Magoosh helped me cross 700 in my 5th attempt

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I had given GMAT 4 times, scoring 650, and my preparation was at a phase in which I have exhausted pretty much all the official & other reliable materials available in the market. I have tried a couple of video websites such as e-gmat, gmatpill and grockit which were of no use either. Then, I came across Magoosh and decided to try it for 7 days since I had nothing to lose in this deal (Magoosh offers 7 day no questions return policy).

Magoosh is pretty straight forward and deeply honest test prep company. It allows a student to practice all of its content (400 Verbal and almost 450+ Quant questions) in the test mode (75 minutes for each section with 37 and 41 questions in the jumbled manner). That was the best part of this content. I used to do 2 Full length tests from Magoosh in a row and that strengthened my mental muscles for this test. I no longer felt fatigue during the Verbal section and I knew if I can do 2 in a row at home, I can easily do 1 on the test day.

Magoosh's video explanation's are short and specific, which is good for someone studying for a while and does not waste time in rambling unimportant things, unlike most of the other test prep companies. I thank Magoosh for offering their content at such an affordable price and a 7-day money back guarantee if one doesn't like their product. Though, its highly unlikely that you will need to ask for this guarantee but it just shows that these guys don't want to run away with your money. They are genuinely interested in helping you for the GMAT.

Try Magoosh and you will fall in love with the voice of gentleman who takes SC and CR video explanations. As a teacher, he has the best voice I have ever heard of.

Read More

February 24, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Good Course at a very competitive price!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Magoosh is probably one of the cheapest GMAT couses around. I signed for a premium account for less than a hundred bucks. Over-all the course was a great deal for such an amazingly low price . The customer support is superb as well. Queries are answered within a relatively short time, usually within a few hours.

Quant:

I would say that the biggest strength of the Magoosh course would be the Quantitative videos. The videos were very informative and provides a solid background of the topics frequently tested on the GMAT. The concepts are explained in a relatively clear and concise manner. I made notes from the videos, and those notes guided me all throughout my preparations. As for question types, I would say that nothing beats the OG, although the questions from Magoosh are good at reinforcing the concepts as well.

Verbal:

The Verbal part offers good practice. The content was acceptable and they offer some good practice questions to work with. I supplemented the verbal course with other references, especially for Sentence Correction.

I would definitely suggest Magoosh for those who are a bit budget conscious but still looking for a good course to prepare for the GMAT. When use in combination with other materials especially the OG, Magoosh is definitely worth a try.

Read More

September 24, 2012
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
620 Q46 V29

Drastically improved my SC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I initially signed up for Magoosh for the 50 point guarantee to break the 700s. I was using Manhattan GMAT prior to that, but needed help with my verbal.

I found the sentence correction videos to be very helpful and pretty straightforward. All the videos are fairly short (3-12 minutes) and the instructors have a nice approach to things. The critical reasoning was good, but I would recommend complementing your studies with PowerScore (I did not use PowerScore but I've heard great things about it). The only drawback that I noticed was the Reading Comprehension. The passages in the problem set were wayyy too long and would never show up on the GMAT. The Problem Solving and Data Sufficiency questions and videos I thought were both great and they had a lot of difficult problems. I really liked the adaptiveness of the problem sets too. The biggest drawback would be that they don't have practice exams!

Overall, still a good course and I would recommend it for people who are taking the GMAT for a second (or third) time but also use other materials as this alone may not be enough.

Read More

August 21, 2012
chains1910

Joined: May 28, 2012

Posts: 130

Kudos: 47

Self-reported Score:
710 Q43 V45
700 Q42 V42
760 Q48 V48

Good value, but didn't work great for me

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Admittedly, I went into the GMAT prep process a little cocky. As a former SAT/ACT tutor who coasted to great scores on pre-college tests, I didn't feel I needed comprehensive prep, especially considering that I am strong in verbal (which held true on the real test). So I went with Magoosh due to the price and my enjoyment of the videos in the demo.

Turns out I did need comprehensive math prep, and I honestly didn’t get it from Magoosh. (Honest disclosure: I bought the premium program, but I mainly used the math so this review reflects that usage.)

There are some excellent aspects of the program. The practice questions are good and the answer screen that reviews each is phenomenal. There is a video breakdown, text breakdown and links to instructional videos relevant to that problem. It also is easy to create custom practice sections and target broad question categories.

My only issue with the practice questions is that I ran out of difficult questions fairly quickly, so as the test approached I had to look elsewhere (I used GMAT Club questions which came free with this).

The instructional videos, however, were a bit lacking. The tab to view them is called “lessons” but really it’s just a long list of videos loosely organized by overarching principles. There was really no progression to follow through the course, and my biggest gripe was that after you watched a video, there was no way to ensure you could try practice questions testing that topic. You really need to be the kind of learner who can watch videos at length and benefit.

Further the functionality of skipping forward through videos is poor. I would frequently click multiple places on the progress bar to land at exactly the same spot. They do load quickly though.

All things considered if you need a solid bank of practice questions with great reviews and a bit of direction of what to study, this is a good buy. If you need a comprehensive prep course or a lot of work in one subject, I would spend more elsewhere. I'm going to after the fact. It's a great value at $200 but you get what you pay for.

Read More

June 13, 2012
mirfan2

Joined: Dec 22, 2009

Posts: 97

Kudos: 18

Hidden Gem of the GMAT prep world

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

Magoosh offers a unique product, unique content at a unique price. Given that it is one of the smaller shops in the GMAT prep world some of you may have apprehensions and rightly so, because it is more or less an obscure GMAT prep company.

Thanks to GMATCLUB Magoosh will one day cease to be obscure as the content provided has been designed by accredited experts.

Most of the content videos (SC, CR, IR, RC and Quant) have been created by Brent Hanneson who is well known GMAT guru in Canada. Brent scored a 770 and he used to be an instructor at Veritas and now does private tutoring and a conducts a GMAT class at UBC. All the Math Questions video explanations are narrated by Brent. The Math questions have been inspired by old OG questions and not even a single explanation will leave you hanging.

Now for the not so great part, most of verbal questions are very good, but there are few out there that deserve to be done away with. Verbal questions have been created by Dave Scalise and are narrated by 'Verbal Lady' (well they don't reveal her identity). Unfortunately the Verbal lady is quite monotone and likes to rush through the explanations, but overall the Verbal content is solid. The RC passages are among the best out there at par with RC99, Veritas and MGMAT.

What really differentiates Magoosh is their customer service. Their response time for emails is almost none, if you email Bhavin Parikh he'll get back to you within 10-15 minutes. If you have any issues with the content you'll find that the Magoosh team has a real west coast work ethic. As they're easy to deal with and ready to roll-up their sleeves to help you out.

Overall, Magoosh offers an excellent product at a very decent price. I wish, I had found their website before I paid 1300$ for a prep course with a major test prep company.

Read More

May 09, 2012
rijul007

Joined: Oct 12, 2011

Posts: 17

Kudos: 26

Self-reported Score:
720 Q50 V36

GMAT-720

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

The video lessons were very helpful. All the GMAT topics were covered wonderfully! Also the OG video solution for maths came in handy.
The practice questions helped me a lot in finding out my weak areas. At the end of each session, it also suggested me some video lessons that helped me improving specific areas.
Another thing that really impressed me was their prompt response to my queries, be it related to specific questions or GMAT as a whole.
Magoosh played a very important role in my GMAT preparation.
I would certainly recommend this course to everyone, not just GMAT, but also for GRE.

Read More

January 27, 2012
Anonymous

Posts: 180

Kudos: 20

One of the best courses

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Magoosh Premium

Location Online

I choose this course because I love studying via videos. Almost all the important lessons on Verbal and Math are covered in quick videos. It makes easy to learn while watching videos.

Apart from 150 videos on lessons there are more than 700 questions on Math and Verbal section making this course worth money and time.

Read More


94 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Magoosh