GMAT Club

Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring Reviews

There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT.
Save up to $100 on Manhattan GMAT courses + $250 bonus with GMAT Club
4.9 /5 Average Rating
5 star
73
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 78 reviews
November 11, 2019
jroe

Joined: Dec 06, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q45 V41

Great Experience with Reed Arnold

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Reed at Manhattan Prep NYC from May-August 2019. I came in to tutoring scoring around 560-610 on a few practice GMATs I had taken. In September, I ended up scoring a 710 (45Q, 41V)! Reed's patience, clever strategies/tricks and expertise were a critical part of my GMAT journey. I am by no means a natural test taker, but with persistence and Reed's guidance I was able to exceed my target score. Not only is he fun to work with, but he is great at tailoring each lesson exactly to what you need (sometimes he knew what I needed better than I did) for both Quant and Verbal. I highly recommend working with Reed if you are looking to improve you GMAT score. I can genuinely say that not only did his expertise greatly help my score but also that I looked forward to every session! It's been a pleasure.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 13, 2019
wmorris

Joined: Sep 16, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q46 V41

Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring - Joshua Braslow

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I highly recommend private tutoring with Joshua Braslow. After scoring 650 (Q: 42 / V: 37) on my first attempt I signed up for private tutoring with Joshua and retook the GMAT after three private tutoring sessions (~4 weeks). On my second attempt, I accomplished my goal and scored 710 (Q:46 / V: 41). Joshua helped identify strengths/weaknesses and targeted strategic areas for improvement to help me raise my score in a short amount of time. In the tutoring sessions, Joshua coached me on content as well as strategy and I felt well-prepared during my second GMAT attempt. Could not have achieved the score I was hoping for as quickly as I was able to without Joshua's help. I highly recommend using Joshua regardless of where you stand in your studies. He will help set goals and provide useful insights that will help you accomplish those goals.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 06, 2019
jdy25

Joined: Jul 26, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q47 V40

Advanced Course & Private Tutoring with Mark Sullivan

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I've been working with Mark ever since I enrolled in his Advanced Course back in October 2018. At that point, my sister had already taken a regular course with him and suggested that I enroll in the Advanced Course to see if I could raise my score to the 700+ level. I'm not a great test taker and I think timing in the GMAT is especially difficult, but - after his Advanced Course and several private tutoring sessions - Mark really helped me get to the 700+ I was hoping for.

Mark is a GMAT expert (he'll be able to walk you through the best way to solve any problem you throw at him), but he's also excellent at helping you maximize your study time -- he really makes an effort to identify the areas of improvement that will help you achieve the largest score improvement on the test. In particular, I think the private tutoring sessions were especially helpful because Mark and I were able to look into my weak areas much more closely (i.e. advanced absolute value, inequalities, or geometry concepts that I was too shy to ask in class). He was also able to show me quant problem shortcuts that were tailored to my specific weaknesses and create a personalized study plan that allowed me to efficiently tackle low-hanging fruit given my tight timeline. And while the private tutoring sessions are a little pricey, Mark is willing to work with whatever budget you may have. In the end, I'm extremely glad that I decided to work with Mark and I thought the Advanced Course/private tutoring sessions were absolutely worth it.

My GMAT journey was not an easy one for me (scoring a 670, then a 680 in which my verbal and quant scores essentially flipped), but I'm glad I didn't give up. Seeking the right kind of help can really make all the difference and I think Mark was key throughout my whole process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 28, 2019
bpb57

Joined: Jun 15, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
700 Q49 V35

Improvement 40 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Marcus Hedahl

Location DC Area, DC USA

I had a very positive overall experience with Manhattan Prep and my specific instructor, Marcus Hedahl. I began my GMAT journey with Manhattan Prep in October 2018 when I started the in-person course. The course provided a strong foundation from which to learn the GMAT content and allowed me to better prepare myself for the official tests to come. After completing the course, I completed 3 tutoring sessions with Marcus, who was also my instructor for the course. This helped to further solidify my knowledge of the GMAT content and strategy for how to attack the test. Without the assistance that Manhattan Prep and Marcus shared with me, it would have been incredibly more difficult to experience success and achieve my 700 score.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 14, 2019
etcring

Joined: Nov 18, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
670 Q39 V41

Manhattan Prep GMAT Tutor - James Brock (500 - 670)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I could not recommend James Brock more highly as a GMAT tutor. I can confidently say I would never have achieved my target score without him. When I first started out with him I was scoring around 500 and over the course of several months he helped lift my up to my eventual goal of 670.

James' process driven approach to teaching the GMAT was the only reason I was able to lift my score up so significantly. The GMAT is a test that you can achieve the score you want with enough work and the right tools. James Brock is the best - make sure you request him.

If you have concerns about living in a different timezone to your tutor, you don't need to. I live in Melbourne, Australia and James was incredibly flexible with early mornings and late nights his time to work in with my schedule.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 02, 2019
Upreet

Joined: Jan 08, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
640 Q44 V34

Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring w/ Avi Gutman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Avi Gutman

Location Toronto, Canada

Avi was incredibly fast at understanding where my thinking was lacking and how I could apply tricks to overcome my shortfalls. By teaching me some tips and tricks for both the Quant and Verbal sections, I was able to increase my score from a 580 to a 640 in less than 4 weeks. If you want a quick increase Manhattan Prep private tutoring is amazing and if you just need a few tutoring hours they can help you set up your study schedule so you are not wasting your time on questions that rarely appear on the actual test. The wealth of knowledge that Avi and the rest of his team have is incredibly valuable and they give you the confidence to perform very well on the test day. I was able to get into both Canada's top MBA programs thanks to Avi's help. Also, Avi does not baby his students so you will be held accountable while getting tons of constructive feedback and he will know if you don't complete your homework between sessions. This helped me really get the most of the 10 hours we had together, HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 24, 2019
pjij1991

Joined: Apr 16, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q44 V38

Elaine Loh - Manhattan Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I did a 1:1 tutor with Elaine Loh through Manhattan Prep and feel it was instrumental to my score improvement. She took an advisory role in my progress, checking my study plans and guiding me through my progress.

Elaine taught the content, strategies, and general preparation needed to do well on the GMAT and helped me achieve a 150 point improvement from first practice test to actual score. I was still a bit below my target score in the end, but I feel that Elaine's teaching is the reason why I could even get as close as I did so far. I have decided to retake the exam with additional time with Elaine because I have confidence that she can help strengthen my testing strategies even further to achieve my final target score.

Highly recommend!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 21, 2019
cosmonv

Joined: Jan 14, 2019

Posts: 12

Kudos: 13

Verified score:
750 Q48 V44

Great option for those who need that last push

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

OVERALL: I recommend a private tutor if you're trying to get a top-percentile score, because you'll be able to go over topics that you just wouldn't have time for in a class. It is a much more expensive option, but if you are in a time-crunch I recommend it.

RESULTS: I hired a private tutor after taking the Manhattan Prep 9-week course. I got a 710 after taking the course, but wanted to get a higher score. I took the exam again after a few weeks with my tutor and got a 720. After another few weeks of working with my tutor, I got a 750.

PREPARATION: I had taken the exam once as well as taken a Manhattan Prep course, so I was familiar with the exam by this point. Similar to the class, this requires you to put in a lot of work outside of the sessions you have with your tutor.

RESOURCES: The Manhattan Prep portal is very easy and straightforward to use. You can set up and take infinite quizzes online and even specify them to subjects you want to test. My instructor would put together a plan for the week as well as assign me relevant problems to go through and then we would address them at our next session. My tutor also worked with me to set up an error log (which I blew off during the class). My one big regret is that I wasn't keeping an error log all along! It was SO helpful and really helped us hone down what subjects I was weak in.

COURSE SET UP: The best thing about having a private tutor is that it's flexible and that you can jump around doing whatever subject is relevant for you. I met with my tutor maybe once or twice a week for 2 hours at a time.

INSTRUCTOR: My instructor was incredibly helpful. I really don't think I could have gotten my score without him. He also really helped me narrow down what I needed to do to get to the score I wanted and he was very honest with me on what I needed to work on.

CLASSES: I'm not sure if every instructor does it the same (I assume not!) but at least for my sessions, my tutor and I would make a list of goals, go through problems, talk through problems, then log errors in the error log and write reflections on what we learned (the overarching lessons).

Read More

February 04, 2019
dpr1013

Joined: May 10, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
720 Q49 V40

Best Tutor Ever

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was referred to Josh by multiple friends and relatives who had great success with Josh and were admitted to T7 MBA programs. The common theme when speaking to every single referral was that Josh is a miracle worker and each person credited his work ethic and patience as a major reason why they did so well on their GMAT.

Josh lives in Cyprus which I found to be a plus while studying for the GMAT while working full time in NYC. We would video chat for two hours once a week early in the morning before my work day,

I feel as though a written review for josh isn't enough to convey how good of a tutor he is. If you're lucky enough to work with Josh, take advantage of his knowledge and if you work hard, you will succeed. He is hands down the best tutor I've ever worked with.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 18, 2019
allyl12

Joined: Dec 29, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V44

Amazing Tutor — Jeff Vollmer

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Jeff was wonderful. This was my second run at taking the GMAT — the first time I never actually took the test after my studying got derailed by my job, which has crazy hours and a lot of travel. Jeff was very patient with my schedule and non-judgmental when I would drop off the grid for weeks on end, even though that obviously didn't make me the dream student. He helped me hone in on the specific things I needed to improve and gave me concrete homework assignments and study methods to address it, which helped me fit in studying on days when I didn't have a lot of time. Timing on the test was a big issue for me, and he was really helpful with strategies to address that.

Most importantly, he was a really reassuring presence to be around as I studied for this — from the beginning he expressed confidence that we could get my score to where it needed to be, and he never wavered in that, even when I was pretty down in the dumps of how it would go. I ended up doing even better than I'd been aiming for.

I would recommend Jeff as a tutor to anyone.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

8 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Manhattan Prep GMAT