GMAT Club

Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring Reviews

There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT.
Save up to $100 on Manhattan GMAT courses + $250 bonus with GMAT Club
4.9 /5 Average Rating
5 star
70
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 75 reviews
May 28, 2019
bpb57

Joined: Jun 15, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
700 Q49 V35

Improvement 40 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Marcus Hedahl

Location DC Area, DC USA

I had a very positive overall experience with Manhattan Prep and my specific instructor, Marcus Hedahl. I began my GMAT journey with Manhattan Prep in October 2018 when I started the in-person course. The course provided a strong foundation from which to learn the GMAT content and allowed me to better prepare myself for the official tests to come. After completing the course, I completed 3 tutoring sessions with Marcus, who was also my instructor for the course. This helped to further solidify my knowledge of the GMAT content and strategy for how to attack the test. Without the assistance that Manhattan Prep and Marcus shared with me, it would have been incredibly more difficult to experience success and achieve my 700 score.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 14, 2019
etcring

Joined: Nov 18, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
670 Q39 V41

Manhattan Prep GMAT Tutor - James Brock (500 - 670)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I could not recommend James Brock more highly as a GMAT tutor. I can confidently say I would never have achieved my target score without him. When I first started out with him I was scoring around 500 and over the course of several months he helped lift my up to my eventual goal of 670.

James' process driven approach to teaching the GMAT was the only reason I was able to lift my score up so significantly. The GMAT is a test that you can achieve the score you want with enough work and the right tools. James Brock is the best - make sure you request him.

If you have concerns about living in a different timezone to your tutor, you don't need to. I live in Melbourne, Australia and James was incredibly flexible with early mornings and late nights his time to work in with my schedule.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 02, 2019
Upreet

Joined: Jan 08, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
640 Q44 V34

Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring w/ Avi Gutman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Avi Gutman

Location Toronto, Canada

Avi was incredibly fast at understanding where my thinking was lacking and how I could apply tricks to overcome my shortfalls. By teaching me some tips and tricks for both the Quant and Verbal sections, I was able to increase my score from a 580 to a 640 in less than 4 weeks. If you want a quick increase Manhattan Prep private tutoring is amazing and if you just need a few tutoring hours they can help you set up your study schedule so you are not wasting your time on questions that rarely appear on the actual test. The wealth of knowledge that Avi and the rest of his team have is incredibly valuable and they give you the confidence to perform very well on the test day. I was able to get into both Canada's top MBA programs thanks to Avi's help. Also, Avi does not baby his students so you will be held accountable while getting tons of constructive feedback and he will know if you don't complete your homework between sessions. This helped me really get the most of the 10 hours we had together, HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 24, 2019
pjij1991

Joined: Apr 16, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q44 V38

Elaine Loh - Manhattan Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I did a 1:1 tutor with Elaine Loh through Manhattan Prep and feel it was instrumental to my score improvement. She took an advisory role in my progress, checking my study plans and guiding me through my progress.

Elaine taught the content, strategies, and general preparation needed to do well on the GMAT and helped me achieve a 150 point improvement from first practice test to actual score. I was still a bit below my target score in the end, but I feel that Elaine's teaching is the reason why I could even get as close as I did so far. I have decided to retake the exam with additional time with Elaine because I have confidence that she can help strengthen my testing strategies even further to achieve my final target score.

Highly recommend!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 21, 2019
cosmonv

Joined: Jan 14, 2019

Posts: 12

Kudos: 13

Verified score:
750 Q48 V44

Great option for those who need that last push

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

OVERALL: I recommend a private tutor if you're trying to get a top-percentile score, because you'll be able to go over topics that you just wouldn't have time for in a class. It is a much more expensive option, but if you are in a time-crunch I recommend it.

RESULTS: I hired a private tutor after taking the Manhattan Prep 9-week course. I got a 710 after taking the course, but wanted to get a higher score. I took the exam again after a few weeks with my tutor and got a 720. After another few weeks of working with my tutor, I got a 750.

PREPARATION: I had taken the exam once as well as taken a Manhattan Prep course, so I was familiar with the exam by this point. Similar to the class, this requires you to put in a lot of work outside of the sessions you have with your tutor.

RESOURCES: The Manhattan Prep portal is very easy and straightforward to use. You can set up and take infinite quizzes online and even specify them to subjects you want to test. My instructor would put together a plan for the week as well as assign me relevant problems to go through and then we would address them at our next session. My tutor also worked with me to set up an error log (which I blew off during the class). My one big regret is that I wasn't keeping an error log all along! It was SO helpful and really helped us hone down what subjects I was weak in.

COURSE SET UP: The best thing about having a private tutor is that it's flexible and that you can jump around doing whatever subject is relevant for you. I met with my tutor maybe once or twice a week for 2 hours at a time.

INSTRUCTOR: My instructor was incredibly helpful. I really don't think I could have gotten my score without him. He also really helped me narrow down what I needed to do to get to the score I wanted and he was very honest with me on what I needed to work on.

CLASSES: I'm not sure if every instructor does it the same (I assume not!) but at least for my sessions, my tutor and I would make a list of goals, go through problems, talk through problems, then log errors in the error log and write reflections on what we learned (the overarching lessons).

Read More

February 04, 2019
dpr1013

Joined: May 10, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
720 Q49 V40

Best Tutor Ever

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was referred to Josh by multiple friends and relatives who had great success with Josh and were admitted to T7 MBA programs. The common theme when speaking to every single referral was that Josh is a miracle worker and each person credited his work ethic and patience as a major reason why they did so well on their GMAT.

Josh lives in Cyprus which I found to be a plus while studying for the GMAT while working full time in NYC. We would video chat for two hours once a week early in the morning before my work day,

I feel as though a written review for josh isn't enough to convey how good of a tutor he is. If you're lucky enough to work with Josh, take advantage of his knowledge and if you work hard, you will succeed. He is hands down the best tutor I've ever worked with.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 18, 2019
allyl12

Joined: Dec 29, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V44

Amazing Tutor — Jeff Vollmer

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Jeff was wonderful. This was my second run at taking the GMAT — the first time I never actually took the test after my studying got derailed by my job, which has crazy hours and a lot of travel. Jeff was very patient with my schedule and non-judgmental when I would drop off the grid for weeks on end, even though that obviously didn't make me the dream student. He helped me hone in on the specific things I needed to improve and gave me concrete homework assignments and study methods to address it, which helped me fit in studying on days when I didn't have a lot of time. Timing on the test was a big issue for me, and he was really helpful with strategies to address that.

Most importantly, he was a really reassuring presence to be around as I studied for this — from the beginning he expressed confidence that we could get my score to where it needed to be, and he never wavered in that, even when I was pretty down in the dumps of how it would go. I ended up doing even better than I'd been aiming for.

I would recommend Jeff as a tutor to anyone.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 04, 2019
chenliyeah

Joined: Jun 15, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q50 V33

200 points improvement within two months thanks to Dan Bernstein

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I really appreciate Dan Bernstein's help! He made my GMAT score improve significantly (by 200 points) in only two months. I don't think I was able to get into my dream school without his mentoring. He was really good at listening to my concerns and pointing out the issues and directions for me very effectively. More importantly, he was also great at encouraging me during the most difficult time. He was not only dedicated in the class but also very responsive after class when I wrote his emails. I was very lucky to have Dan as my GMAT tutor! I would highly recommend you to try him as your GMAT tutor.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 26, 2018
JasonTiendo898

Joined: Jun 21, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
660 Q42 V38

Private Tutoring with Ryan McGorman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After struggling to improve my GMAT score on my own, I decided to try private tutoring sessions with Ryan. Ryan helped me make great strides towards hitting my goal score by breaking down problems and material to their core. While I knew nearly all of the content in the Manhattan Prep guidebooks I couldn't seem to apply all of the information to problems until Ryan came along. Ryan has an uncanny ability to make GMAT material, which can often be dry and boring, fun and engaging. He also helped put certain problems into a context that I could more easily understand by drawing relevant analogies or even employing certain voices and characters in problems to more easily illustrate what was going on in a problem. In doing so, Ryan created several eye-opening moments for me. My favorite quality about Ryan is how he challenges you in tutoring sessions. Even if I got a question right, Ryan would force me to explain WHY it was right and other answer choices were wrong. It sounds simple, but being able to articulate why exactly certain answer choices are wrong can be tough but super rewarding. By painfully going through that exercise with Ryan, I started to recognize certain patterns and traps in problems, particularly on CR. In only a few sessions Ryan helped me raise my overall GMAT score by 60 points. Ryan is extremely smart, patient, understanding, entertaining, and can help anybody improve their score on the GMAT. If anybody is considering taking a 9-week M. Prep course or Private Tutoring, I fully endorse Ryan and his teaching abilities. Ryan will do everything in his power to help you reach or surpass your target score and will make the whole process fun and insightful.

Read More

September 24, 2018
MBAshark77

Joined: Jun 19, 2018

Posts: 9

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
680 Q47 V35
710 Q48 V40

Chris Gentry - ATL (710 Q48 V40)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Chris Gentry was a fantastic tutor and GMAT advisor. First of all, Chris is a verbal whiz, he was able to raise my verbal score from a measly 31 to a 40+ in just a few sessions. His sessions are carefully thought out and he does his best to personalize the experience. My problem with quant was more on the strategy side than the material. Chris helped me formulate a strategy that raised my score from a 44-46 to a consistent 48+. Additionally, Manhattan Prep offers fantastic quantitative prep work. Their questions are as challenging as can be and the best way to quickly improve your quant score.

All in all - fantastic tutor, fantastic material. I was able to raise my score from 580 to 710 in just a few weeks!

Read More


8 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Manhattan Prep GMAT